FB Twitter

Tystie Cottage

Tystie Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.5
Location
4.5
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.5


Tystie Cottage, Halistra is a spacious holiday home on the Waternish peninsula with superb sea views over Loch Bay. The cottage has a large kitchen / dining room with lounge leading off from it, a snug with a sofa and a double bedroom with ensuite leading off from it. There are two further bedrooms with ensuite shower rooms upstairs; a double and a twin.

spacious house in a stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As above perfect spot for exploring north Skye within a week, quite location with beautiful sunset views.



I&HCottages replied 12 days ago
Thank you so much for your review, it is greatly appreciated! The owners and ourselves are keen to keep Tystie Cottage's standards as high as possible, and in order to do this, we need feedback from guests. If you noticed anything that could be improved at Tystie Cottage during your stay, we would be grateful if you could send us a wee email and it will be taken on board! Our email is [email protected] Thanks again and we hope you had a lovely holiday on Skye!

Excellent accommodation for a Christmas break with family

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Dec 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was all we could have asked for and more. We arrived to Christmas trees lit up in the windows and some lovely extra welcome gifts from the owners which was the perfect start to a wonderful xmas week here. Everything has been thought of that you could possibly need at Tystie there are also a multitude of books, games and local information about the area. We cannot fault anything and would not hesitate on recommending Tystie as a get away from it all relaxing place to stay it really is a home from home with fantastic views !!



Brilliant!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The views from Tystie were mesmerising. It was a beautiful cottage that we felt very at home in. We would highly recommend a stay here.



Tystie Cottage!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My friend and I really enjoyed our stay at Tystie Cottage! The views from the front of the cottage are amazing! I could look at that view all day! The cottage itself was quite spacious and very good to have 3 en suite rooms! It was very comfortable and great having 2 sitting rooms! The kitchen was well equipped and had everything we needed! We will definately be returning to Tystie Cottage!



a really super, well equipped cottage. we had a delightful week and a very comfortable stay.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
super cottage, well equipped, the most stunning view - hard to tear yourself away every day. good location. highly recommended



No complaints perfect situation

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is very roomy with lots of storage the kitchen is amazing. In a beautiful quiet position for a tranquil holiday.



Back again

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
So love this house,the views,the peace and quiet.We were blessed with sunny warm weather and sat outside soaking it all up.



Skye Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed at tystie Cottage for our family holiday, there was Four adults, two children, and our dog Ollie. The cottage was perfect for us, spacious, modern and clean with a great view and position. Skye is a great place for walking with the best views you can imagine. Loved our holiday there.



Lovely property in great location but needs some attention to detail

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Tystie Cottage is a lovely spacious property in a fine (if exposed and very windy!) position. The kitchen is very well-equipped, the sofas and the beds are comfy. It was great to have the selection of maps, books and brochures and there are many interesting original paintings of the local landscape on display.However some things were missing that would have added to the overall sense of comfort. The upstairs bathrooms had no mirrors above the washbasins - the double bedroom had one tiny mirror in the bathroom on a dark wall too high for me to see in and no mirror at all in the bedroom. This bedroom was extremely large but had hardly any furniture in it, just one wardrobe and two small bedside tables. It could have done with something - table, chest of drawers - to provide a surface to put things on, and also perhaps a chair to make the space feel less cavernous. I have to say that the bedding didn't smell too fresh - I think the pillows and duvet were ready for cleaning. The bathrooms have seen better days - the plugs didn't work in either of the upstairs bathrooms. Also, despite the instructions we could get neither of the TVs to work. We weren't that bothered so perhaps might have succeeded if we'd persevered, but got too frustrated!



I&HCottages replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted to hear that you had a happy stay at Tystie. Thank you for alerting to us to the parts of the house you found disappointing- we were most sorry to read these. Your comments have been passed to the owner who apologises and is keen to address these issues when she is at the property this weekend. An upgrade of the bathrooms are scheduled for this winter.

Amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week at this cottage. It is clean, well equipped, and in a stunning location. The layout of the house makes it great for a group of couples, or an adult family. It is very remote, so be prepared for quite a bit of car travel during your stay.



Lovely house with plenty of room peaceful location

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay here was wonderful - very relaxing and peaceful location with excellent views. Very spacious and well equipped, the house is fitted out to a good standard. Be prepared for a remote location, not a problem for us as we took all our food and were prepared but you will need to take everything as there is not a shop on this peninsula (nearest local shops Dunvegan or Co-op in Portree) The pub and restaurant are about an 8 minute drive but about a 45 minute walk. The Loch Bay restaurant nearby is a 1* Michelin restaurant and a nice treat but be sure to book well in advance during peak periods. Perfect place to tour the island from and some lovely walks nearby. We had fantastic weather so a lovely mix of walking, swimming, touring and relaxing. The only downside was there was no outdoor furniture to sit on.



Little bit of heaven

Review submitted on Sat, 19 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was blissful.The views,the comfort of the house add to that the sun shining we had the best time thank you



Magnificent view in stunning home

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a privilege to be the first people to rent Tystie House.
It’s a remarkable home. The owners have created a most beautiful home with everything you could think of to make your stay comfortable. We stayed over New Year as a family of 5 with one dog. There were lots of large dinners made and enjoyed in a kitchen that was equiped with everything- and I mean everything- you would ever need. Imagine cooking in a large kitchen with stunning views with quality kitchenware in a practical layout!
Bedrooms were large and bright with comfortable beds, good quality linen,ensuites and great views. The master bedroom had picture windows with a snug room just off it. This was my favourite room to have morning coffee and watch the ever changing views through picture windows.
The living room was bright during the day with yet more picture windows ( what’s not to like ) and comfy sofas with evenings cosy round the stove.
The owners have done a great job blending practical usage with comfort and beauty. Jaine the house keeper was also most helpful with a wee query we had a few days after arriving.
Highly recommended.