FB Twitter

Shepherd's Cottage

Shepherd's Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Shepherd's Cottage, Eynort is a charming traditional stone property located centrally on the Isle of Skye. It is a cosy holiday home ideally situated for guests to enjoy forest walks, hiking and mountain biking as well as the peace and quiet of its waterside location. There is a modern kitchen/dining room, lounge with wood burning stove, a double and a twin bedroom and a shower room. A welcome pack of logs and kindling is provided for guests and Wi-fi is available throughout the cottage.

Our Eynort experience

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb location - views to die for, especially if you are into bird / animal / coastal photography.
Somewhat isolated yes- but true tranquillity is only obtained at a price !
Great local walking from the door. Perhaps a location to avoid if you want to allow your dog to run off lead locally- as could cause issues with surrounding livestock tho' property is fully fenced.
Consideration should also be given to parts of the approach track , as some serious potholes could lead to issues on some cars particularly those with low suspension !
All of the various guide book photo's & descriptions were accurate and lived up to our expectations of both the cottage and indeed the Isle itself . One of the very best holidays we've experienced.
All you need to avoid are inexperienced campervan drivers and midges !




Simply loved it!

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in Shepherd’s Cottage. Loved the cottage with all the details and available supplies, its settings the animals outside the property, and the lovely caretaker we met at the end of our stay. We could not wish for more. H&I’s Cottages also is a very good organisation with lots of information.




A place I keep coming back to

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Shepherds Cottage. This year we stayed for 2 weeks. We keep coming back because it is peaceful, quiet, and secluded. We love the landscape of Loch Eynort, and it is a fascinating to have so many sheep for company. Internet speed seemed a bit better this year - reaching 2Mb - and the farm track was busier than in previous years. A lot of sheep herding going on. The cottage is well equipped. Our only gripe is that the clothes horse is a bit fiddly to use.We'll be back next year.




A Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at the Shepherd's Cottage in Eynort. The cottage is charming and well looked after, the setting is incredible. Appliances and furnishings are all quality and on the newer side. The kitchen is stocked with whatever you may need to cook and serve meals. Plenty of guide books and maps for the area and beyond. There are walks nearby and around the cottage, and an old graveyard to explore at the end of the track. We loved having sheep as our only neighbors, and the loch to gaze upon. We will definitely book again, hopefully soon. I miss it already. Thanks for sharing your lovely cottage with us.



A nice and cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is really nice and cosy. It's comfortable and well kept. The large sleeping room is a wee bit smelly - this may be due to the house’s age.
When staying at the cottage don't forget to pay the old cemetery a visit. It's also worth googling its history.




Another fine week at Shepherd's Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to Shepherds Cottage again this year. Once again we realised how much we enjoy this cottage and the area of Eynort. A wonderfully isolated location (yet not for from Glen Brittle, Carboost, and Talisker) and a comfortable cottage with all modcons. We did miss speedy internet - but that's Skye for you.

A great place to chill out and relax. We will be back again next year.





fantastic location

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing location with views across the Loch to the spectacular Cuiilins behind Glenbrittle forest opposite. Peaceful yet easy to access some amazing walks and also the lovely village of Carbost with the Talisker Distillery! Very well appointed cottage, cosy and comfortable. Highly recommend it and hope to go back soon.



A great cottage in wonderful location - sheer bliss

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wondeful week at this cottage. It is a very nice, clean, comfortable, and peaceful cottage. It is in a very good condition. We slept like logs and had invigourating showers in the morning. It has wonderful views across the loch from the seating outside. We would spend the day watching the tide coming in and out, and watching the sheep as they formed lines as they wandered around at low tide. There is plenty to explore - a ruined church and graveyard up the track a bit, further up there is a fishermans hut. I walked around Glen Brittle forest. Graham cycled round it. Eynort is close to Carbost and just round the corner from GlenBrittle. It is just a great place to be. I heartily recommend this cottage to everyone. I will stay again next year for two-weeks, if it is available.



A week of peace

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place, warmly recommended, especially if one wishes peace and tranquillity. It is a traditional cottage with full comfort.



Excellent for a family holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a very rainy week here with our two young children (aged 1 and 3) and had a fantastic time! The house was well stocked, and the owner had obviously thought about what guests might like. The cottage is very remote, which we enjoyed a lot, and the only neighbours we saw were of the wooly variety! Bed was really comfortable, shower was great, and all in all we would highly recommend it!



IH Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for leaving the review! It is greatly appreciated! Glad to hear you had a lovely stay!