FB Twitter

Laimhrig on the Shore

Laimhrig on the Shore

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.5
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.4


Laimhrig on the Shore is a spacious holiday home on the shores of Loch Ainort, Luib. It has two double bedrooms, an open kitchen / dining / lounge area and a sun lounge, the perfect place to watch the wildlife go by! Otters and herons are frequently spotted as are the occasional seal and porpoise.

Ticks all the boxes for a visit to Skye

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Laimhrig on the Shore is warm, clean and very well equipped cottage. Super comfy beds, with a great power shower.

The gorgeous views from the conservatory were ideal way to enjoy the evenings after a long day of exploring. We Saw an otter, white tailed sea eagle, herons and many other birds.

All in all, a great base from which to explore the wonderful island of Skye.
We would definitely be happy to return to this cottage in the future.




Great base for exploring sky and relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great week staying at Laimhrig on the shore. Superb property in great location for exploring Skye.

When not out we spent most of our time in the conservatory looking at the scenery and wildlife. Spotted otters in the garden a couple of times which was great. Plenty of bird life.

Very well equipped property with plenty of space and useful guide books and maps available.

Good size garden with access straight onto the shore of the loch.





Fabulous week at Laimhrig on the Shore

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous week at Laimhrig on the Shore despite the weather. Lovely cottage, home from home, very cosy and comfortable but spacious. Everything you’d need covered. A very comfy king bed and lovely power shower. Excellent wifi coverage throughout which was great, as this is sometimes a sticking point with other places we’ve stayed at, AND there was even a landline which could be used to make free uk calls up to 59 minutes and only 6p per minute if calling a mobile plus a 16p connection fee! which was a first and a fab extra!! as mobile coverage can be hit and miss. A fantastic conservatory overlooking the loch at the rear which is a stones throw away and accessible. Fabulous views, wildlife galore including a resident otter. Peaceful location, but close enough to amenities such as supermarket and fuel etc in Broadford 10 mins one way and Seamus’ Bar serving a good choice of food at reasonable prices and over 400 whiskies! 10 mins the other way. What more could you want! A fantastic location for exploring Skye!! Will definitely be back!!!



Beautiful - even in the rain!

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Weather was mixed but it was lovely to relax in the conservatory on the comfortable armchairs with footrests watching the mountains come and go in the mist. We found the bed extremely comfortable and slept well.The kitchen is well equipped. The settees in the lounge were comfortable. We had one each so that we could stretch out! Enjoyed the huge modern Smart TV in the lounge and the one in the bedroom was great for watching the news before we got up. Two toilets were a bonus.
The drive is quite steep but fairly straightforward to drive down as long as the clear directions for the approach are followed. Going up the drive was fine but great care is needed to come out onto the busy road. There is a certain amount of noise from the road but it didn't bother us.
We like self catering and don't mind cooking simple meals. We did find the gas range somewhat of a challenge!




It doesn't get much better than this!

Review submitted on Sat, 11 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful cottage, right on the loch shore, with stunning scenery to enjoy. The fact that it is near a good road does not detract from it at all and makes days out a lot easier. Access is fine if you follow the owner's advice.
The accommodation is immaculate and very spacious. It is one of the best equipped cottages I have ever stayed in.




House with a view..!!

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the most wonderful place to stay at Skye. The house has everything you need with many comfort. The view at Loch Ainort is great and the only thing you want to do is looking around and spotting for some otters or seals or other wildlife. Broadford is nearby and you can find lovely places to eat over there. We loved this week at Skye, many thanks tot the owners of Laimhrig on the Shore.



A nature lovers paradise.

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm, comfortable and spacious cottage thoughtfully equipped and prepared for our visit. A bit pricey compared to others. It's a perfect location for nature lovers to watch sea life, birds and sunsets, even from the conservatory in poor weather. There are otters and eagles are of particular interest. The traffic on the road is very fast and the driveway entrance difficult. There is direct access to the shoreline but it's not easy walking along the rocky shore. Some lovely scenic drives and walks to enjoy. Would have liked some starter kindling, more tea towels or dishwasher tablets, a shower squeegee and some garden chairs. Prefer a property with a bath as well as a shower. The property would benefit from some Spring cleaning and TLC. Had to wipe out food cupboards and sweep up millipedes. A few small kitchen lights, 2 window locks and toilet lock not working. Two conservatory windows mist up when it rains spoiling the stunning view. Having said all that, we love Skye and Laimhrig on the Shore, will return and recommend to others. It's easy to book with Islands and Highlands Cottages who provide loads of information. The owner also phoned at the end of stay which was thoughtful.



A lochside idyll

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From our first contact with Islands & Highlands cottages every step of the way has been a delight, all staff have a professional yet personal attitude when dealing with our requests.
Prompt response and follow up made it an effortless transition from request to arriving at the cottage
The location is stunning, right on the lochside with a backdrop of mountains surrounding us, some days dusted with snow on the peaks
The cottage is superb, every eventuality and comfort is well catered for at all times, a lovely thought was the Christmas tree, completely decorated and lit, in the sun room overlooking the water
The next day both Islands & Highlands, and Gordon the owner, phoned us to check all was ok and if we needed anything else, an appreciated gesture, thank you, made us feel very welcome
The comfort provided was excellent and we loved every moment of our stay in this beautiful cottage, thank you to all who made it the highlight of our 4 month holiday through the UK

MICHAEL AND JEANNIE CARLYLE - Sydney Australia




Location Location Location

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Laimhrig on the Shore has to have the best outlook of any property we have stayed in. Stunning views of the Loch and the varied wildlife. We were lucky enough to see Otters and Seals from the conservatory, one otter even came into the garden ! A White Tailed Sea Eagle flew over the bungalow too....wonderful. The bungalow is very spacious and extremely comfortable. Great shower and very comfy bed. Large sofas and a really good tv. Kitchen is large and well equipped and superfast broadband too !
Spent so much time taking in the massive views from the house, we hardly wanted to go out. We filled the bird feeders in the garden and were rewarded with flocks of Goldfinches, Chaffinches and Greenfinches. Also Robins, Wrens and Dunnocks. Even had a stoat visit twice. Nice touch on our last evening was a call from the owner to check that all was well and that we had enjoyed our holiday. We would definitely recommend Laimhrig on the Shore.




Beautiful conservatory

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very spacious holiday home with well-equipped kitchen, a large bedroom and a slightly smaller bedroom.
Great view of the bay.
Dangerous exit from the courtyard to the street.
The house is located directly on the main road, but the two bedrooms are aligned to the bay.




A stunning view on a relaxing place.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We strongly recommend this place to everyone who needs some peaceful days. It’s in a good position to various services (market, cafe, bars are reachable by car in <10’) and fully equipped for a long time staying.



Recommended.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a really lovely week here. The cottage is well appointed, with very comfortable furnishings and beds, and a stunning view. It is well placed to access all sights and activities on the Island, and to venture further afield if you can find the time. One week was certainly not long enough to explore and enjoy Skye. It is very easy to lose time sitting in the conservatory and lounge, and watching the weather and the light change, and the activity across and on the water, and the diverse wild life (and the occasional friendly and curious sheep). The cottage provides exactly the mix. I would love to visit again in the autumn or winter and “hole up” for a few weeks, maybe fitting in some walks as well as stunning drives with less summer Skye traffic. A highly recommended cottage.



stay at Laimhrig on shore

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
house in great location with amazing views. house could do with a wee bit of care: the roof in the sun room leaks and the mice in the kitchen is likely to put some people off.



Islands and Highlands Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Laimhrig on the Shore. We are sorry that you experienced a couple of issues. These were both new developments and the owners of the cottage and ourselves would have been able to resolve the problems during your stay for you if it had been reported at the time. Please be assured that these matters are now being dealt with for future guests. The mouse issue is being resolved. A builder is also dealing with leak in the conservatory which seems to have been caused by the recent hot weather. The roofing material expanded in the heat and then contracted suddenly when the temperature dropped causing seals to leak. This is being repaired today. Thank you for your feedback as it helps us to maintain high standards at the property. We hope that you can visit us again.

First stay on skye

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect location if you want to explore the island. The most stunning views from the cottage.
Bungalow good for people with poor mobility. Just 2 steps up to property then all level.
Owner telephoned midweek to check all was fine which was such a lovely touch.
Difficult gateway to access property but nice turning spot close by to enter gateway at better angle.




Nature and Tranquillity with comfort

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was so relaxing and peaceful watching the sun setting behind the mountains, the low and high tides of the Loch Ainort by the back garden. Enjoying nature and the company of the uninvited flock of sheep munching the grass right outside.
Laimhrig is very well equipped with everything we need to spend such a wonderful time in the Isle of Skye. The superfast broadband is a bonus, not expecting high speed internet at such remote location.
Good location with easy reach to all attractions in the Isle of Skye, it is 2 hours drive to Fort Williams and Loch Ness, two major locations that you should not miss.
On arrival it was difficult to find the entrance to Laimhrig, beware the entrance is very narrow and steep, you need to approach it with care, it is best to enter on your left-hand side travelling from Portree towards Broadford. If you are travelling from Broadford, it is better to pass the house when you arrive at the village of Luib and then turn around at the next turning, this way you will be able to enter Laimhrig safely. Once you are in, there is plenty of parking space, in fact you can comfortably fit 4 cars outside.
We have a very good stay at the Laimhrig and will definitely recommend it, it is spacious for a couple but will comfortably accommodate up to 4 people. The house keeping could be improved, and the cleaning could be better as we found the house had not been thoroughly cleaned before we arrived, there were quite a few dead flies and midges on the window sills.
It was a nice touch that the owner Gordon called us on the evening when we arrived making sure everything was alright. Really appreciated that personal attention.




Enjoyable place - notably in poor weather

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, spacious, and comfortable house. Gordon, the owner, though living at a distance, cares about the well being of his guests. The conservatory is an asset - making a stay enjoyable even when it rains, which it occasionably does in Scotland.



All the reviews are correct

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We chose this cottage based on the reviews that others had written although I was a little cynical that they were a bit too 'perfect'.
I needn't have worried, the cottage was indeed perfect. The views are magical, the cottage well equipped and there has been no expense spared in furnishing it. We live in a very quiet part of the countryside so I wasn't sure how the road that runs just beside the cottage would affect us - it wasn't a problem and was only noticed in the conservatory on occasion. It is obvious that the owners have taken great care and pride in ensuring their guests want for nothing in the cottage - even down to providing a landline phone and Wi-Fi. If you could take your ideal house and place it in an idyllic situation....Laimhrig on the Shore is it.




Relaxing

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the perfect place from which to explore Skye, The week that we were here went way to quickly, we could have easily stayed for another month!!!



Great Place awsome

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The best house we ever rented. Great view with a private shoreline. Everything we needed was available in the house.



Review of stay at Laimhrig in August 2017

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a wonderful time at Laimhrig. A handy location close to Broadford with stunning views. The property itself is very spacious and comfortable, like a home-from-home with everything you could need. We would definitely come back.



Wildlife watching heaven

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We chose this house because of its situation - not too far to get to the amenities of either Broadford or Portree - and for the views, which certainly didn't disappoint. Early morning light on the Cuillin - late evening light on the Cuiilin - always dramatic. We also hoped to spot wildlife, and while there were no eagles (viewed elsewhere on the island!) or whales, we did see seals and otters and a whole range of wild fowl on the water. Perhaps the best thing was keeping the bird feeders topped up and just sitting in the sun lounge watching goldfinches and siskins and wagtails feeding their myriad young.
Once you've accustomed yourself to the drive, the house is fine, well equipped, with very comfy furniture - and certainly warm enough, though after two days of constant rain the corridor was starting to smell of damp. The rear porch is very useful for outdoor stuff, and wet coats in general.
With the second bedroom being so full of bed that there's nowhere to put anything I'm not sure I'd want to stay here with four people, but it was just right for us as a luxurious cottage for a couple.