FB Twitter

Melfort Cottage

Melfort Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 45 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


  • Open plan sitting room/dining area
  • Wood-burning stove
  • TV with Sky Freeview, DVD, CD or Ipod dock
  • Spacious twin bedroom with Zip n Link beds (to double on request)
  • 2 single sofa beds (in sitting room)
  • Bathroom with bath, over bath shower, wc & basin, under floor heating
  • Large shared garden plus shared Courtyard garden

Bliss

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 2 nights of peace and quiet in this well equipped cottage in beautiful surroundings. We didn't use the facilities on site but will hopefully be back in the summer months.



Short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely short trip again. We knew we would return after our last visit but didn't expect it to be so soon !! Lovely wee get away. Look forward to returning.



Short break

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cosy cottage. Very well equipped. Very dog friendly. Loved having the swimming pool with sauna and hot tub near at hand. Would definitely recommend the Swedish massage too. Looking forward to returning.



Very enjoyable Autumn break

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Melford Cottage. The place was very clean and tidy on arrival and a few basic cleaning products were supplied too. Our bed was so warm and comfortable. Big disappointment was the on- site restaurant who didn't provide the meal which we ordered from them and they gave us an unbelievable excuse why this had happened. Thankfully we had soup & sandwiches in our cottage to fall back on. The staff in reception were so nice and helpful. Swimming pool was great as was the jacuzzi. Enjoyed the putting too and great facilities for our small dog.



Holiday stay

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay restaurant very good we felt that paying £9.25 for 3 days electricity expensive we did not know that this would be an extra charge.



Review

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We greatly enjoyed our stay and we will come back, we have considered purchasing and we may well do so. Our dog thoroughly enjoyed his stay and this made it a pleasure for us as well. We will be back in some form or another even a 600 mile journey would not be a deterrent. Thanks to all who made it such an enjoyable stay. we have already recommended Melfort to some Dutch friends who are looking to come to Scotland with their pets.



First visit to MelfortVillage

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a weeks break at Melfort and it was first clas, very enjoyable, everybody was so friendly and helpful and it is very dog friendly. Even the weather was great considering the time of year, sunny blue skies every day except one day which was misty with drizzle, but cold outside.We went to the welcome meeting on Sunday morning which was excellent, with an abundance of information about walks and places to visit and a printed synopsis to keep!It was a lovely social event to meet many of people staying that week, and some with their dogs, all shapes and sizes and all very well behaved. And no mentions of sales!
We had several meals at the Shower of Herrings restaurant on site- first class and again very friendly rand relaxed and informal.
First class facilities for children of all ages, some were playing tennis in their tracksuits!
Our only regret was not viewing the indoor swimming pool until the morning of our departure,a first class facility and lovely bright and warm and very inviting!




Enjoyable and comfortable stay in the cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Mar 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Condition was excellent with no complaints and other feedback pertinent to the cottage was completed as per the provided form.



Perfect for a quiet break

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent three nights in this beautiful spot. Cottage was great, comfortable with the best level of crockery Ive ever seen in a rental property! Staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient. We hope we'll be back with the whole family soon



Very beautiful resort.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful resort. Nice surroundings. Lovely and well equipped cottages. Very friendly and helpful staff.



An unexpected pleasure!

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Melfort Cottage was small but perfectly formed! It has everything you want for a short stay and more than you need. The log burner was a real bonus and made our evenings a pleasure.
There is little or no mobile signal unless you are on O2 or Vodafone and the wiFi is a bit slow but free so can't complain.
Oddly, there is no telephone in any of the cottages so you can't phone the office or make a call on a landline. You have to physically go to the office which wasn't bad for us but a little inconvenient for those in cottages farther away at the Pier or in the Walled Garden.
The bed is very comfortable, the settees were not but you can't have everything! Everything is of good quality and well maintained.
We loved it and we will be back to Melfort one day soon.




Great holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Melfort was all we expected and more. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the setting is stunning. The fact that we had wonderful sunshine all week helped but we really enjoyed our week and will definitely be back.



Very comfortable cottage in beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Melfort cottage was clean and cosy and perfect for 2. It was great to find such good accommodation which was also dog friendly. The welcome was excellent and everyone was so helpful. Meals at the Shower if Herrings were delicious home cooked bar food.
The only addition I would make in the cottage would be a footstool to get the feet up at night infront of the fire. We moved the large coffee table as it took us too much room. Remember to take your own groceries. Ideal place for families and dog owners.




Unique Timeshare Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed stay here....beautiful setting and very comfortable apartment. Well located for exploring the area. We went to the information meeting on Sunday. We don't usually go to these because, at other resorts, they are mostly used to gather people so that a sales pitch can me made. Not so at Melfort Village. Olwen provided so much info that it was hard to remember it all (but we asked her later). We joined up with another couple and went on a spur of the moment boat ride to the Carroyvreckan Whirlpool. We had a fabulous time...all thanks to the info Olwen provided. She also gave us hints on restaurants and areas to explore and local walks.

Olwen also sings in group of local musicians who plays in the Shower of Herring on Monday night. What a fun night we had!!!!

Olwen also has organized an wonderful Whisley & Gin tasting evening. She brought in Fergus who used to work at Oban Distillery to deliver the Whiskey side of the event. Olwen shared her knowledge of a variety of Gins that we had never tried. I learned so much and will be trying some of her ideas. Her love and in depth knowledge of Gin really shows.

It was a great experience. Thank you, Olwen, for making it so special! You are a Gem!!!





Small friendly timeshare

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Melfort Village is a small timeshare giving it a friendly feel. Melfort Cottage was well equiped, although the storage heating system could benefit from an update. The small heated pool and the gym were adequate for our purposes. There are plenty of varied walks from Melfort Village and lots to visit within easy driving distance. We enjoyed our day trip to Iona, our boat trip to the Corryvrechan whirlpool and a visit to the 5000 year old standing stones and stone circles in Kilmartin, with its superb little museum. Also recommended is the fine dining experience in gracious surroundings next door in Melfort House and a visit to Easdale, the slate village and island with its fascinating little folk museum..



Respite & Recharge

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I am a ship's master on a two weeks on two weeks off system. My two weeks on duty was full on high tempo operations with meaningfull rest made near impossible by poor weather conditions. When I came off duty I knew I was running on empty and really needed somewhere to go and recharge. I am an owner at Melfort Village and know of it's healing powers so it was an obvious choice to come for a short stay and recharge. At work I was averaging four hours sleep per night, at Melfort I averaged nine, no phones, no noise, no traffic......bliss! Good rest, good food & good exercise in familiar, friendly and comfortable surroundings, says it all really.




Great venue for a visit to the West of Scotland

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This venue, with its splendid micro climate is a brilliant place to base yourself for expeditions into the west of Scotland.



A peaceful and beautiful part of Argyll.

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect quiet getaway with stunning scenery. Ideal for exploring so much of what Argyll has to offer at any time of the year.



Christmas at Melfort

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was lovely and very coy with the log fire. Weather was damp but that did not detract form the lovely scenary around the area. It was unfortunate the restaurant was closed but everything else was very nice



A short break on the west coast.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are long standing owners of week 20 at Melfort cottage. We also try to rent a cottage at another time of year. There are a good range of cottages for rent throughout the year. Renting another week gave me the flexibility to take a vacation with my daughter during our off duty time.
The cottages are maintained to a high standard and you can see the upgrades in furniture and fittings year on year.
The staff are courtious and friendly and striving to make the place better. It is good to see some young faces at reception.
For me, Melfort village is one of the few places I can truley relax from the hussle of working life. The clock ticks slower. We rest well, eat well and exercise well and shall return in May 2017.




Melfort cottage Sept 16

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would have been excellent throughout except my wife and i found sofa's etc too low backed for us but other than that - brilliant and would have no issues recommending Melfort as a base particularly if you like walking or sailing



A wet week at Melfort

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to Melfort Village and despite choosing a week of almost wall to wall rain, we loved it. The accommodation is superbly comfortable and equipped to the very highest standard, the staff are wonderfully helpful and friendly and the Argyll coastal scenery is magnificent - particularly when the rain stops and the sun comes out. Lots of good places to eat at reasonable prices locally and within a short drive of the village.

In summary, despite the rain we just loved this place and we are booked to go there again next year - hopefully with just a bit less water!





Fabulous retreat.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Melfort village may be a bit of the main road but is a beutiful retreat with fabulois walks. By far the most comfortable cottage we have ever stayed in the UK. Clean well equipped with everything you could want.



Great for dog owners

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to Melfort Village and we are never disappointed. Our cottage this time, Melfort Cottage, has a lovely large light bedroom although the living area is rather smaller and darker, but very cosy with the log burner. Everything is provided and the staff are friendly. This is a great resort for dog owners with lovely walks locally.



Beautiful Argyll !

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have now visited Melfort Village twice! Both times , late Winter and Spring, have been relaxing . The cottages have been so comfortable in lovely surroundings. The staff can't do enough to make your stay one to remember. Super walks, fabulous scenery. The dog loves it....we are hooked!!




Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was really cosy with nice furnishings and décor. Everything you would possibly need was supplied. Staff were efficient and friendly. Melfort Village is about a 30 min drive south of Oban and 1.5 miles off the main road driving along the side of the loch. The weather was changeable but it did not keep us in. We managed to visit Mull, Iona, The Crinnan Canal, Campbeltown, Tarbert and Seil. The surrounding scenery is beautiful and I have no hesitation in recommending this for couples or for families.
Note: The drive over Mull to get to the passenger ferry to Iona is not for the faint hearted.!! 37 miles of single track with passing places and takes at least an hour.




Melfort Village

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely setting in the hillside. Plenty toys and games for the kids in the play and games rooms. Although small the swimming pool is great for the kids and there are plenty of toys and floats. the Staff were very helpful and obliging. A great wee place and a great holiday



Hidden treasure

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were really impressed with the quality of the fit of the cottage, with a fully equipped kitchen should you chose to use it. We also had a log burner, with kindling, fire lighters and logs already provided (paid for at the end of the rental), which was a delight to have on. The staff were very friendly, quick to check us in and exceedingly knowledgable on the local area. We would certainly stay again, although it took some getting used to the darkness of the skies whilst driving down some very narrow and twisty roads!



One of our best Exchanges yet in 25 years.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Big thanks to ALL Staff at the Village, from Ground Maintenance, Admin & Housekeeping. Nothing was to much trouble, especially giving advice on the surrounding area, very Dog Friendly, also advise of Eating Places that accept dogs. It's A MUST for us to return in the very near future, even though it is 400 miles from us it's worth every mile.
Don't miss Ganavan Sands, go through Oban and then take a LEFT at the last Roundabout SP Ganavan.its a dead end ( Parking £1 for 4 hours OR £2 all day from 9am to 4pm)




Melfort Village - A truly lovely place to relax.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a delightful week at Melfort Village at end of August. The accommodation was of a high standard and very comfortable. Staff could not have been more helpful and the overall ambience of the village was lovely. Good facilities and a great base for seeing the beautiful scenery on the west coast of Scotland. Looking forward to returning next year.



A few days at Melfot

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My 2 friends and I made a last minute booking with Yvonne at Melfort Cottage for 3 nights. My friends had never been to Melfort before and were over the moon re the location, the comfort, the facilities and we had a really excellent meal in the Shower of Herring on Monday evening along with the follow-up group who played some superb music - a great night.

Thanks to Duncan Philips who took us out to the Corryvreckan and through the whirlpool which was a very novel experience for my friends.

A great few days with not-too-bad weather and - as a former owner - it was really great to see Melfort looking so good.

Congrats and thanks to all.




Nice to be back at Melfort Village

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a time share at the village when our family were young but sold it in 2000 when they were all at university and travelling abroad. We returned this year with our grandchildren and the magic of the place had not changed. A very special holiday spot with lots to do and many interesting places to visit in the area.



Short vacation but Long on Memories.

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So happy that I booked an RCI exchange to Melfort Village and did not missed the beauty of traveling to Oban. Although Melfort Village is approximately 30 mins. from Oban, I had no difficulty making arrangements by taxi from Oban to the Village. However, a vehicle would be helpful if you are interested in visiting other areas away from Oban Center, and due to the cost of a taxi. It would be nice if the Resort provided limited service to the bus stop - even once in the morning.

The staff at Melfort Village were very helpful before arrival and during the stay. In fact, the staff was very welcoming and provided us with tea and coffee. The Cottage was clean and comfortable. The cottage had ample supplies and everything worked adequately, including the heaters when it was cool and rainy. The staff was always professional, offered assistance and provided information on local restaurants, services and tours. The only downside (if this is one), the Wi-fi was not accessible in the cottage, however it was available in office. The small grocery store close to the Village also has a small restaurant. The owner was very nice and the food (and cappuccino) were good.

I would enourage others to visit the area. The seafood was great, the people were friendly and the scenery was beatiful. I look forward to returning and staying at Melfort Village.




Best ever holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow!! What a setting for a holiday. The whole place was spotlessly clean. All the staff were so helpfull in teception. The folk night was brilliant. A big WOW



Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jan 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, accommodation and helpful staff. A great place for walking, particularly given the guidance provided by the office staff. Would use this location again.



Good Holiday break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A pleasant week in great surroundings. Fortunate with good weather to allow walking, and travel.
Small cottage good for 2 people, dining room closed. Self catering only.




A beautiful place to stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Melfort Village is a perfect place to stay. The surrounding area is beautiful with many places to visit. Should you wish to remain on site there are plenty of activities for young and old. The staff are all most helpful. We shall return!



A little bit of heaven

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Sep 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in the Milford cottage, one bedroom with all the comforts you would expect. Location in the village was excellent with beautiful views to the surrounding hills. More than enough activities to keep you occupied should you wish yet still retains peace and quiet. Only thing missing was the facility of obtaining basic groceries eg. Bread and milk. Looking forward to our next visit, a real home from home.



Lovely, clean well equipped cottage.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely weeks stay in Melfort Cottage. We found it to be be very clean and extremely well equipped. Whilst the cottage is 2/4 people using the 2 sofa beds we found they took up the whole living room whilst in use and would really consider this a 2 person cottage. We also had lots of outdoor gear with us and found space a bit lacking. Having said that we booked the cottage at the last minute and would liked to have something bigger but options were getting limited. For a 2 person cottage or 4 people travelling lighter than we were, I would highly recommend. Beautiful area and well run complex. WiFi was better than we had hoped but intermittent at times. Double bed was a zip linked twin so super large and very comfortable. Sofa beds not so comfortable I am told.



Easter week at Melfort, wonderfully relaxing and restorative.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Apr 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our week, have been many times before. Postives - Beautiful scenery, peaceful, relaxing, staff very attentive, Shower of Herring restaurant excellent. Downside - Wifi-Very poor and despite paying hardly any access, pool unfortunately closed due to problems, road in to resort rather more potholed than I remember and payphone out of order and this was not ideal considering reception for EE, 3 non existent and 02 quite temperamental. Please don't be put off by the downside as it will definitely not stop us returning again year after year.



First Trip to Melfort

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Mar 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyed our short stay at Melfort Cottage in the Melfort Village resort, weather very unpredictable but that's Scotland in March for you.
The staff were helpful and friendly and the cottage was nice.I did notice that a number of things in the cottage could have been better.
The hearth of the log burning stove was very dusty and looked as though it certainly hadn't been cleaned or polished for our visit.The curtains on the front door were in dire need of a good wash although there were right down to the ground so they would pick up dirt.
We had slugs coming in the doors front and back which said to me that both doors needed sealing properly.The hall and stairs were absolutely freezing a curtain on the back door may have helped.
The bedspread had a stain on it which looked suspiciously like blood and had to be taken off the bed.That should have been noticed when the bed was made.
Last but not least the paintwork especially in the hall was needing redone.The first impression you get when entering a property is something you always rememeber and having grubby paintwork facing you when you take suitcases upstairs isn't what you want to see.




Tthe usual high standard

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The site was well kept, and, despite the weather trying to disrupt all. the holiday went according to planned arrangements. A few more available channels on the house TV would be good, as my wife likes to watch Murdoch Mysteries, and was stymied by other folks watching sports channels all day. The staff were friendly and helpful (thanks for the ceilidh tickets)and the pool was well used.
Looking forward to next year.
Malcolm T Robbie




Excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful first visit to Scotland, which was made even better by the lovely cottage at Melfort Village. The woodburner was an unexpected but welcome surprise.



The perfect break

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second stay my partner and I have had at Melfort village, and as always the staff could not do enough to make our stay special ! The cottages have a warm, cosy feel and have everything you need to have a very comfortable stay. The log burning stove, traditional country decor, and stunning scenery are just a few of the features that sets this establishment apart from other companies. With a quality restaurant on site, live music, and childrens entertainment, I cannot think how Melfort Village could be improved and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. Well done !



melfort cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
excellent location, warm friendly staff, went the extra mile to provide us with a first class service cottage warm cozy extremly clean and tidy and excepational value for money 9cheaper than some hotels)