FB Twitter

Poplars Farm House, Almodington

Poplars Farm House, Almodington

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
86% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.1
Location
4.7
Value
3.7
Customer
Service
4.4


Secluded 17th century cottage in the heart of the West Sussex countryside (Sleeps 18)

A beautiful, well-situated property ideal for two families sharing

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This property is excellent for two families who want some privacy (being able to have breakfast separately with individual kitchens and sitting-rooms) but share main meals in the large dining-room. Caution is required to avoid banging heads on the roof beams upstairs! The very spacious, safely enclosed outside areas and gardens were ideal for our six grandchildren to ride their bikes and play. The conservatory was a lovely meeting point and we sat there most of the time, also using the garden furniture and barbecue. A really good location, close to the beautiful West Wittering beach. We enjoyed a visit to spectacular Arundel castle, and our son-in-law took his two little boys to the Military Aviation museum in Tangmere. We were blessed with good weather, so the play barn was not much used, but certainly could have been useful in wet weather. So often holiday homes are cramped, and it was nice for everyone to be able to spread out and relax in the different areas of the house and gardens. It was great having a piano that was actually in tune (unlike so many holiday home pianos) and it was played and enjoyed every day of the holiday!



Poplars Farm

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A beautiful property that provided a great place as a base for my family preparations over my wedding weekend.



A Family celebration

Review submitted on Fri, 18 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The stay at Poplars Farmhouse was a surprise for my wife which the whole family including children and grandchildren kept meticulously and the surprise was augmented by the presence of our daughters from abroad. My wife was thrilled with the location and the celebration. Like us she loved the place and its ability to allow everyone to gather together at times and yet to be away from the others at other times. A most enjoyable stay thank you.



Family Christmas at Poplars

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were only 11, so there was plenty of room, and we didn't need the twin room on the way to the dairy. This felt damp as it rained into the veranda; coats on the hooks got wet. The next two rooms on the way to the dairy are comfortable but in fact a corridor which could be inconvenient (though not to us).
All the rooms in the farm house were good and comfortable.
The snooker table in the barn was not usable as it sloped to one end.
We never recommend anything to anyone as they need to find out for themselves. The "No" in the next section is not a criticism of the property.




Wonderful for a group getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, easy to book and the letting team were really helpful. Perfect for our big group of friends getting together for the weekend. Accommodated the kids well. Highly recommended.



Family Weekend Break

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Dec 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely weekend break. Beautiful setting. The house was very cosy and accommodated our family perfectly. The aga and open fireplace gave the house a lovely glow. Many games of table tennis kept the family entertained. Fantstic pubs just a short drive. Chichester is a great place for shopping,restaurants and sightseeing.



Very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house. Well equipped. Plenty of space. Rooms are a bit of a maze but somewhat expected in a property this size. Thanks for a great stay!



An honest appraisal of our stay at Poplars Farmhouse

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Firstly, the Poplars Farmhouse complex is an idyllic location for a large group of people to come together. The gardens are both beautiful and enjoyable. The accommodation is on the face of it ample and from the write up on line it looked just what we wanted.

However, there are certain aspects that need to be addressed and this is the subject of my review.

The farmhouse itself was good but the annex area was not unlike a third rate youth hostel. When we arrived and family were sorting out where they were going to sleep, there were certain things that stood out:

The general cleanliness of the annex was a disgrace. Although the rooms had only just been 'cleaned' there was an abundance of accumulated dirt especially in the corners of the bedrooms and the bathroom. The wet room was very unattractive and when using the shower, water was leaking into the side entrance of the covered area between the annex and the main building. In the bedroom nearest the bathroom dirty towels were still in evidence hanging behind the door into the next bedroom. It appeared that the bedding on the single bed in the afore-mentioned bedroom next to this door had not been changed, as there was a strong scent of perfume emanating from the pillow and duvet. Likewise in the section of the annex where there were four beds, the older teenagers refused to sleep in these, as when they shook the pillows and pulled back the duvets a number of beetles fell out!
The annex bathroom was very unsavoury. The tiling was cracked and chunks were missing on the corners of the window reveal/threshold. The toilet bowl was filthy and needed a good clean. Again the corners of the bathroom floor required a thorough clean and it was in these that I noticed some beetles that only appeared after dark. To my mind after consulted with my family they looked like cockroaches. At this juncture we decided to call the managing agents who very promptly sent a vermin expert from Eradipest. He confirmed that in his opinion the whole house and annex required a deep clean. Although he could not identify the beetles I am taking the samples I collected at the scene, together with the video evidence shot at the time to my local environmental health department for analysis. Irrespective of the outcome, finding beetles in one's bedding is unacceptable! I am unable to load photographs onto this review panel but will certainly be doing so on Trip Advisor.

The cost of a week's stay at Poplars Farmhouse was £3,430 and for this amount of money I expected higher standards of cleanliness and decoration. I shall be expecting back more than just the £200 deposit money to cover our distress and discomfort!




Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Poplars Farm House is situated in an amazing spot and is surrounded by wonderful scenery. Thank you for your feedback regarding the cleanliness of Poplars Farm House, this feedback will get passed back to the cleaning company, however, you moved into the property on the 25th August and the issues were only raised with us on the 30th August only giving us 2 days to rectify the problem before you were due to check out. After your phone call telling us that there was cockroaches in the annex we had got pest control over within 2 hours who had confirmed that they were not cockroaches but were garden beetles and due to the age of the house we are unable to stop the occasional insect coming in without having to knock the house down and rebuilding it. Poplars Farm House is a 17th century building which does have its quirks, however, gives it the charm of the house and for a large family home, the price does reflect this fairly. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your review, we appreciate every review we receive and always look to improve our houses for future guests.

Good house with poor level of comfort

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Many items were missing in the house e.g an iron, ironing board and an ice bucket, to name but a few. Altogether it was very poorly equipped. None of the duvets fitted their covers and there were a great many niggly things like this. A pity as it is a very pretty house in a lovely garden but the standard of comfort was not up to its billing and not fitting for the number of bedrooms it provides.



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry the iron and ironing board were not out for your stay. Unfortunately they were locked in the cleaning cupboard. We will ask the cleaners to bring these out for future guests. Unfortunately our properties do no not have ice buckets but we will certainly put this suggestion forward to the owners. I’m sorry to hear you did not find the property comfortable. The house was built in the 17th century and does have some quirky aspects to it. I do feel our photographs represent the holiday cottage well though. All feedback will be sent to the owners of the property and I know they will have a look to see how they can make things more comfortable. We will also speak to the cleaners to make sure they are putting the correct linen on the correct duvets. I hope that you enjoyed your stay though and I really hope we might be able to help you in future if you visit the area again.

Brilliant facilities

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful half term week had by all for a much needed family get together. The space was perfect for all the kids to run around, play ball games and the games barn was a hit. There was also enough space to sit and read a book in peace while the children were busy doing other things.



Great for larger groups of family & friends

Review submitted on Thu, 04 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay here. There were 15 of us and a dog. The communal rooms were good for big parties, though we did have re-arrange the furniture in the sitting room! Having a table that sat all of us at meal times was terrific. The arrangement of bedrooms in the barn conversion bit of the property was not clear from the advertising blurb and would not suit those that require privacy. Three bedrooms are accessed by walking through the previous one and unless you want to access this part of the house by going outside and walking around the whole building, you get to it directly through a bedroom from the conservatory of the 'main house'. It was OK for us as we were mostly family, but the description of the arrangement should be clear when booking. The location and garden are brilliant.



Excellent property

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very adaptable space worked extremely well for our large group of 20, great location and very helpful agent and staff.



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Poplars Farmhouse and look forward to helping you again with future stays

Excellent family gathering

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an excellent week-end family get together with 20 of us at peak. There was plenty of space and we especially appreciated the flexibility allowing for the warm kitchen, the comfortable sitting room with log fire, the extension area with 2nd sitting room, the games barn with table tennis, and the garden; we even managed a game of cricket!. We enjoyed good weather with a cruise around the harbour, walks to the beach and East Head, a visit to Pagham Nature Reserve, and some cycling.

There were difficulties with the heating in the extension, and one bedroom.





Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your feedback. Poplars Farm House is the perfect holiday let for a family gathering, it is a great size to accommodate so many people. Sorry to hear you had difficulties with the heating during your stay, this has now been checked and thank you for bringing it to our attention.

lovely grounds, great house

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the perfect hour for a big get together with adults and children.
The outside space is stunning, and inside does not disappoint either.
The play barn was a great addition too.
We will be back.




Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you had such a lovely stay at Poplars Farm House and we look forward to you booking with us again.