FB Twitter

Oysters, Bosham

Oysters, Bosham

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.5


Spacious detached cottage to sleep 6 in stunning location overlooking the water.

A Return to an Early Career Location and Rejoining Old Family Friends

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back in the early 1970s, IBM Canada transferred my wife and I to Havant for a three year assignment. During that period we lived on Hayling Island across from the Mengeham Rythe Sailing Club and then at Woodend up near West Stoke / Funtington. My wife taught in the Havant school and our first son was born there. So we came back to attend a wedding in Bosham of the son of one of our friends who lives in Bosham. We knew the Anchor Bleu very well back then and I raced a Finn all over Chichester Harbour. So the Oysters location could not have been better bringing back many memories of the beautiful shoreline and the Downs.
We found the Oysters fit our needs very well. The two boys, 8 and 5 had their room, their father slept in the large bedroom with the Queen bed and my wife and I had the room with the two double beds. Three bathrooms worked out well. Everything was clean and in working order. The week that we were there was very hot so being on the shore was great as we could open the main doors wide as well as the windows to get a good breeze and keep the inside livable. We did not cook in the kitchen but the fridge, the dishes and cutlery were very nice. Having a television helped us to wind down in the later evenings and keep up with the Boris Johnson saga.
While there, we found that the wooden latch that keeps the outside door to the path along the back of Oysters had been broken. I fixed it with some Gorilla Glue so it is in good working order. In addition , I watered all of the outside plants and cleaned some of the spotted areas on the carpet in the living room that I believe were there when we arrived. Just wanted to keep everything in good shape.
We really had a great time staying at Oysters. Thoughts of improvements would be few other than a need for a fan on hot days might have been helpful. We did have a challenge in finding the light switches for some of the rooms but once we did everything was fine. In addition, it was unclear just what the procedure is to get the garbage picked up. Where does the trash or recyclable can need to be located so that the garbage men see it and on what days do they come? I placed the trash can outside the door on the path when the garbage truck was nearby but nothing was picked up.
I hope this review is helpful but let me say again that the Oysters was perfect for our week long stay for 5-6 people in Bosham. Having the Anchor Bleu nearby was also very convenient for meals and an evening pint.
Best Regards, David & Sharon McKay




Location perfect, let down on cleanliness

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Such a perfect location let down by poor cleanliness. If you rent this house then make sure to bring your own pillows, disinfectant wipes and if possible your own carpet cleaner. We did inform the agent on the state of three badly stained pillows (with photos) and the state of the carpet in the master bedroom was so bad that we did not want to walk barefoot. Disgusting. Again, the location is the greatest and the house is old but lovely. Simply checking the pillows and cleaning the carpets would have made this the perfect vacation.



Twin Beds.

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The only downside to Oysters are the noisy, uncomfortable and unstable twin beds in the middle room. The headboards had to have pillows pushed behind them to stop them banging against the wall. It was such an enjoyable stay that no other comments could be made. ( We did mention this issue to Henry Adams last year)



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied 82 days ago
Thank you for coming to stay again and for taking the time to leave a review. I will bring your comments in respect of the twin beds to the property owners attention and let them know you still had the same problem. I hope you enjoyed the sea front in this gorgeous weather we have been having. Please do get in touch if you are visiting the area again.

Nice Easter Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a nice week at this beautiful spot. Fantastic view from all rooms. Nice trips to Brighton, Goodwood Race course, the Isle of Wight, the pub next door...
Enjoyed it very much.




Location! Location! Location!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Oysters has a fantastic location directly on the waterfront at Bosham. At very high tides the sea will be up to the property's terrace. When we stayed the tides were all low but still all the windows and the terrace have a beautiful view of the harbour. The house is large with three bedrooms, two bathrooms and three toilets. The kitchen has everything one needs and it was fun using the Aga. The sitting room is very comfortable and having the objects collected by the (former) owners makes it feel extremely homely. The bedding and towels are of good quality adding to the comfort. We parked in the Bosham Lane car park which is £18 for a week as the shore road in front of the property can flood at high tide. There is no street lighting in Bosham so having a torch is essential. Wellington boots are a good idea too for exploring the harbour area as the roads get muddy from the sea. All in all a great place to stay.



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied 165 days ago
We are delighted you had such a lovely break at Oysters and you enjoyed all that Bosham has to offer. We do hope that you will book again soon. Kind regards Henry Adams Holiday Lets team.

Big house with fabulous views of the estuary, bring wellies!

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Nov 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
House was easy to find, and and on the whole comfortable, although cold on arrival. Night storage heaters still hadn't kicked in by 1 a.m. so bedrooms didn't heat up until following day.
Carpet in downstairs loo was wet around the toilet suggesting a leak, and cloakroom was smelly, so we avoided using it.
Gutters along front of the house are in bad state of repair, so we had sounds of rain water pouring down side of house during the night.
On the plus side, house was spacious and light, beds were comfortable, lovely deep hot bath, kitchen was warm and well equipped, and fire in front room made it cost.
Excellent views of estuary with charming patio, would be great in summer months.
When tide comes in, it comes up past entrance to lane at back of house, can't access road without getting wet feet! Wished we had brought wellies.
Good walks around area.
Lovely pub The Anchor Bleu right next door, ate there twice.




Lovely place. very spacious. Pub next door.

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place is lovely. Very spacious & very comfortable beds. Very good kitchen although a pub is next door. Will consider coming again. Chair outside fell apart when seated & nearly caused a serious accident. A very relaxing holiday.



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied 337 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Oysters. You are right, the pub next door is excellent! I am sorry to hear you had an accident with the chair, as per our phone call this morning I will ask the cleaners to check this and remove if broken. Thank you for bringing to our attention. Please do get in touch should you visit the area again.

Excellent location but a few niggles.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful property to holiday in. Spacious accommodation and well equipped
Now the niggles.
Unable to get a good nights sleep due to the poor quality of the twin beds in the middle room which were noisy and unstable
We could have done with clear instructions on how to best use the Aga cooker displayed in the kitchen.
A welcome pack would be useful containing information on, nearest food supplies, papers etc, also addresses of nearest Doctors, Dentists etc.




Three generations stay at Oysters

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Watching the tide, kayaking, walking and swimming something for everyone at Oysters including great WiFi!



Enjoyable visit

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We love Oysters and hope to keep returning! The location is wonderful and our children love it! It is not as modernly decorated as many holiday houses but that doesn't worry us. My only (minor) feedback is that there is relatively little hot water - even when using the 'boost' button.

But overall - another wonderful holiday! Thank you!




Wonderful Location

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Mar 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Oysters is rather dated, however the location more than makes up for this, we experienced cold and at times snowy weather but it was still pleasant to watch the goings on at the harbour, the wildlife and the tide coming in and out.If you are wishing for a quiet relaxing holiday than Oysters is for you.However we have been later in the season, and especially at weekends it can be very noisy from the pub customers who are only a few feet away,as the pub is next door.



Weekend stay at Oysters, Bosham

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location, great pub next door...internally Oysters could benefit from some modernisation but this should not detract form the overall experience which was excellent



Great location

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location for those who love the sailing scene. Lovely walks around the area. Buy a weekly parking ticket for the nearby car park. All the pubs in the area serve good food but the views from the house make it just as nice to eat in and watch the tide rise and fall just outside your windows.



Such a perfect location.

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed at Oysters many times and keep returning it is unique in its location and Bosham is such a lovely relaxing place to stay.
The staff at Henry Adams have always been superb and most and are so obliging.




location location location

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our time at Oysters. We love Bosham and the location and the views could not be beat. The flat was clean but definitely had a musty smell. The main bathroom had some peeling paint and the tub of the shower can not come clean. The door was off thr cabinet in the 1st floor bathroom with no note so we didnt know if we could use it or not. The linens were all clean and the beds were comfortable. It is very spacious but the bathrooms do need some attention. Overall, we enjoyed our time here.



Another wonderful stay in Bosham

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have returned to Oysters for many years, and in never fails , the location is wonderful, with fabulous views across the water,even in poor weather there is something of interest to view.
The pub next door does great food, however it can be quite noisy especially during the summer months with customers drinking & eating on the outside terrace which is only a few feet away from one end of Oysters.
Need to have care car parking outside Oysters as the tide comes in right up to the property wall, we saw one unfortunate lady's car ruined as the tide went into her vehicle. One needs to park in the public car park about 5 to 10 mins walk away, £18 for 7 days.
No local shop within easy walking distance, nearest The Co Op a short drive near the main road.
Hint to avoid the very busy Fishbourne round about, turn off in Fishbourne at the signpost for the Roman Villa, follow the road over the fly over, at crossroads turn right which takes you to north end of chichester ,and you can park at the Festival Theatre.




Stunning

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The position makes this house worth every penny! Right on the harbour with the water coming right up to the walls at high tide. Lovely warm house with nice atmosphere. Bosham is a lovely village with lots of walks from the door. Had great time and will be back.



A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time. The location of the house is peaceful and gives amazing views of the tides coming in and out . There are opportunities for walks and bird watching. The house feels homely and spacious with all one may need, and was warm.



Extended our stay

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Oysters is s very comfortable house in an amazing location right at the waters edge . Very peaceful with lots of swans and ducks at high tide . Great kitchen is very well equipped and the Aga makes it cosy .
Good pub next door to the house if you don't want to cook .
Lots of nice walks in the immediate area . We extended our stay by four days as we were reluctant to leave this peaceful spot .




Xmas stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jan 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Beautifully positioned cottage . Clean, tidy, very spacious and comfortable.
Views spectacular.

A great Christmas break




Oysters, Bosham

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The main disadvantage is that the car park is a good 5 minutes walk away. This should be mentioned in the particulars. It would have been nice to have a welcome note explaining the house information. Most rentals have a welcome box of food, bread, milk etc. The photos on the internet do not do the house justice, especially no pictures of the lovely large sitting room. It was very comfortable and warm.



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. There is a welcome set of teas and coffees on arrival at Oysters. We are glad you had such a comfortable stay.

Summer stay

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It's a great location, but the noise from the Anchor Bleu did disturb some of the (elderly and young) guests. The Aga is a bit fierce in the middle of the summer, but the location is really quite magical.



Henry Adams Holiday Lets replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. The location is truly wonderful and we are glad you had a lovely stay.

A good place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excelent location. Interesting house a bit dated but comfortable and with great views and a nice patio. Had to get used to cooking on the AGA . Parking is a problem. The car park is about 400yds away and Bosham is very busy so can be difficult to get to the cottage to unload. The car park costs about £6/day or about £30 for the week but the machine only takes coins, no card or phone payment system - so take plenty of coins. Could have been cleaner but was OK for a large older property. Bit of noise from the pub next door but not significant.