FB Twitter

Forge Cottage

Forge Cottage

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.3
Location
4.9
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.3


A beautifully detached house in a central, yet very peaceful position in Thornham. Overlooking fields, the house provides sunny, light and spacious accommodation and has enclosed gardens.

Barry's stay at Forge Cottage, Thornham

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Dec 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Forge Cottage to be very clean and comfortable with everything we needed to enjoy our stay. The only comments I would make where small improvements could be made are:-
Provide instructions before arrival as to how the lock on the front door works.
Little things like washing up liquid, liquid soaps, fuel for a first fire would have been appreciated.
How to operate/adjust the electric heaters. It took us quite a long time to get the house warm, maybe because it had not been occupied for some time but once we got it warm it was really toasty.
Taking everything in to account we would be very happy to stay there again.




Norfolk Hideaways replied 5 days ago
Dear Barry, Thank you very much for your feedback. This can be invaluable as sometimes unless things are reported to us or an owner as being faulty, we are unaware that things need dealing with. We do take all the constructive criticism on board and it is very important for us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope we can welcome you back to Norfolk soon.

Would be excellent value if a few repairs were attended to .

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We reported problems with the cottage to head office in Wells on the first day of our visit and was assured they would be sorted as soon as possible. We had not seen anyone from the maintenance team or heard from head office through out the week so we left the cottage with the same problems we found it with . !!!!



And dog came too!!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely Cottage, with a great location - walking distance from excellent pubs and fabulous walks with our dog. Phone signals not brilliant, but a small price to pay for peace and tranquillity! It was useful to have a small garden especially to sit in during a warm September evening. A lovely break and we hope to return!



Lovely location disappointed in lack of provisions and no high chair for two days .

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jul 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Familiar with the area and the location was lovely and quiet with lovely local walks with the dog . The accommodation is lovely with lovely garden . Disappointed in no high chair provided for two of the four days our grand child was with us . I really feel a washing machine should be provided it is a basic necessity especially with a baby . I also think more cleaning products should be provided especially if you want the accommodation to be left in perfect order , and hand wash in all rooms not just the master bedroom .



Ideal

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Forge Cottage was the ideal property for our family group and we would recommend it to friends and family.



Overview

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Location, position, parking, outside space are outstanding. My mother 98 managed very well even though she is frail and unsteady. One of the main attractions is the downstairs bedroom, also being able to take our dog. We have stayed at Forge Cottage before and have booked for September as it more than meets our requirements. Lovely that there isn't a long list of don't do this or that. We have been staying at Thornham for several years in different properties before Forge Cottage was let as a holiday cottage. I would suggest that a separate book of " helpful suggestions" was provided for the guests who use the visitors book to moan and find fault. Kind regards Linda Lineker.



A dog owners delight!

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Mar 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent location and cottage. My husband, children and two grandchildren hired the cottage for a long weekend which was ideal fir our Jack Russell, Hollie. The garden was enclosed and all walks were from the doorstep. Three lovely dog friendly pub/restaurants in the village and a wonderful Deli within walking distance. The bedrooms, bathrooms and linen towel were cleaned to a high standard but, my only criticism, is that the kitchen was not as clean as the rest of the cottage and although we only heated croissants, the oven had not been cleaned at all. But, that aside, we all had a wonderful time.




Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This beautiful light-filled cottage looks better in reality than in the photos. We had a lovely week here over New Year 2017/8. Sadly we had to work on some of the days but the desk area was a good place for quiet work. Enjoyed the conservatory too even though it was a little chilly before we put some extra heat on.



Nice cottage, but cold!

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Forge cottage is clean and comfortable in a great location. Loads of good walks and great pubs right on your doorstep.
We booked the cottage because it was dog friendly and had a downstairs bedroom. Although it was a double bedroom, it was a small double and was a bit cramped. The bed was comfortable enough, but not when you are both used to larger. However, the upstairs double room was lovely and spacious - but unused by us.
The garden was nice, the dog loved it - especially all the rabbit poop of a morning!
The biggest downside was the heating and hot water. The cottage got cold in the evening and the hot water ran out really quickly. Two quick showers was all we could manage, even with the booster on.
On balance if we'd used the upstairs room and stayed in the summer it would have been fine, but it's still a well looked after, well appointed cottage in a great location.




A Lovely cottage in great position in Thornham

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a family break that we have done over many years in Thornham and was one of are best stays in this village, position was perfect with lovely views.The cottage was very comfortable and ideal for us with two family facility's .



Beautiful cottage, full of light.

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We used the cottage for a family reunion with grandparents, two other couples and two children plus a baby. Very warm and welcoming despite cold weather. Coal fire. Plenty of kitchen equipment, room to sit 6 around a table either in the kitchen or in the open plan living room. Good value. Views of the sea from the secret attic room! Great food at the nearby pub, the Chequers.
Heard owls hooting and geese flying over. 45 minutes walk to Thornham beach.




A lovely holiday in Thornham

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely, well equipped cottage with bags of room so we could spread out. Very helpful having a double bedroom and bathroom on the ground floor. Quality linens throughout and two very good bathrooms. Only issue was lack of hot water first thing in the morning. Lack of washing machine would be an issue if we had children with us. Thornham is very convenient to visit lots of costal and inland locations. Wonderful beach walks and excellent pubs nearby. Thornham Deli not to be missed. Excellent support from Norfolk Hideaways team.



Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely thank you. Hot water available would have been nice. house in good location and close to amenities




Norfolk Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Forge Copttage. Of course had we known your were struggling with hot water we would have asked the owner to send someone to the property to see to this for you! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay however and hope we can welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, The Norfolk Hideaways Team

Lovely comfortable cottage in an excellent location

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an great holiday in Norfolk and Forge Cottage was a very comfortable and well appointed cottage in a great location. We will definitely be using this cottage again and the only minor issue was the heating and hot water were a bit hit and miss but think this was due to the settings being disrupted before we arrived with a major power cut.



Comfortable cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thornham is a lovely village and Forge cottage in a beautiful position, tucked away up a gravel drive and facing out over fields. A great place to enjoy the wildlife, pidgeons cooing down the chimney, rabbits and squirrels passing through the garden and owls hooting at night. Quiet and peaceful but in a great location to enjoy north Norfolk coastline. Comfortable cottage with recently refurbished bedrooms, bathrooms and conservatory. The dog had a great holiday too and the large enclosed garden was great.



Lovely house, Ideal location

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Forge Cottage is a beautiful house in an ideal location. Lots of great pubs to eat out in and plenty of walks and runs from the house. Kids loved the Narnia room and rabbits in the garden. Only criticisms is no washing machine, 13.5 tog duvets in the summer = very hot, towels on the small side and the spiders had been very busy. But we didn't let these stop us having a great week.



nice cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
On arrival at Forge cottage we were pleasantly surprised. Its set back from the road down a side track and the outside space was great for the children and dog, you can hear the road but its pretty quiet during the week. The inside of the cottage is nicely decorated and the beds are comfy, the showers are nice too, powerful with plenty of hot water.
We had a problem finding the travel cot as it wasnt out in the bedroom, after a few calls to the office we found it in the cupboard under the stairs (which Im sure was superglued shut)!. Other than that the cleanliness wasnt bad but not amazing either, there were long blonde hairs all around the house and dead flies on the bathroom floor. Our main trial was the lack of washing machine.
Thornham is a nice village with its own deli, which is handy for essentials and coffee and cake (thats possibly and essential)!. Theres walks from the door down the village and onto the marshes or along to Thornham bay, an amazing beach that is surpisingly quiet.
Drove orchards is just up the road with a nice fish and chip shop and a very nice homewares shop in case anyones missing the shops.
Overall a very nice place to stay.




Norfolk Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback of Forge Cottage, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Thornham. Thank you for informing us of the housekeeping issues, we have raised this with the housekeepers and will spot check the property to ensure this does not happen again. Forge Cottage is not advertised as providing a washing machine. The Hideaways office is a big fan of the cakes from Thornham Deli- we quite agree that it an essential! Best wishes, The Norfolk Hideaways Team

A real home from home.

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely house in a really idyllic village. Only downside was the heating which is very hard to control and did not work at all in the Narnia room.



lovely cottage in beautiful Thornham.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 May 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The only reason we did not rate excellent for comfort was that we were rather cool in the evenings as it was a cool week and the night storage heaters did not seem to be sufficient,particularly in the lounge.



Norfolk Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback from your recent stay at Forge Cottage. We have passed your review to the owner so they can check on the storage heaters. We hope to welcome you back to Norfolk soon!

comfortable cottage, close to local amenities

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Forge Cottage is well situated both in the village of Thornham (excellent deli & restaurants) and North Norfolk. the cottage is very well equipped and comfortable.



Norfolk Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for your break at Forge Cottage. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Norfolk Easter break

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage in thornham was absolutely perfect. The cottage itself was lovely. Really enjoyed it in Easter would be even better in summer with the lovely garden. The house was a good to high spec/ decor. My children loved the narnia room as did my wife and I love our large bedroom. Thorn ham itself is lovely. I would say that the restaurants are a little upmarket ( I would have struggled to get the children to eat some of the food) however there are plenty of other resteraunts like the jolly sailors 2 mins away which was really nice.

We took 3 small dogs and the beaches were perfect with plenty of space to stay away from other dogs. This was the perfect house in the perfect setting.




Norfolk Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in such a lovely review of Forge Cottage. We are so pleased you enjoyed yourselves and the owner will be thrilled to get such lovely feedback. I do hope we can welcome you back sometime very soon. Best wishes.