FB Twitter

1 Dix Cottages

1 Dix Cottages

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.9
Condition
4.0
Location
4.9
Value
3.6
Customer
Service
4.4


A superb, stylishly furnished gorgeous little cottage right in the heart of this popular coastal village.

Short mid week break in Feb 2020

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Feb 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good location and condition of cottage. Nice box of chocs and bottle of wine on arrival. Whole area is wonderful. Only 1 point to raise, lounge electric heater fan very noisy, could not use whilst sitting in lounge.



Very good but it’s the little things that make a cottage great

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We’ve stayed here before and it’s an excellent cottage in a great location.
This visit wasn’t however as good as our previous visit.
The cottage was quite cold on arrival and relies primarily on overnight storage heaters; it took a full day to get the property up to a reasonable temperature. One log for the wood burning stove felt a little mean. The extra electric heater was missing it’s feet and felt unsafe to use.
We had to purchase items for the kitchen too. There were no dishwasher tablets and no washing up liquid for us to use. It’s the little things that count.
Only one spare loo roll too and this had suffered damage from damp, and the loo could have been cleaner!
The two bedside lamps were still not working in spite of a previous visitor flagging this up.
At over a £100 a night in November, perhaps the marking should be “Could do better”. And this was perhaps highlighted by the wonderful Orange Tree Inn over the road from the cottage who were trying to tempt customers with their offer of a standard double room with breakfast at £49 during our stay.
That said, it is a lovely little cottage and we will probably be back. Please just try harder!





Lovely cottage in an excellent location

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week in this cottage. Although it is well situated for the beach and other places along the coast it is on a busy main road so if you are a light sleeper take earplugs! We have stayed in many cottages over the years but unfortunately this one was not as well equipped. We did not expect to have to buy cleaning equipment/foil/cling film/hand wash etc although we realise these items are not necessarily provided - they have been previously. The air con unit outside the cottage next door is very noisy. The chocolates and wine were a lovely gesture. When the smoke alarms were faulty they were fixed very promptly. Thornham is a lovely village with 3 pubs within walking distance that do delicious food. Would recommend this cottage.



Lovely cottage, beautiful village

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage, road a lot quieter than we expected. Comfy bed. Shower and bath great, fills quickly and water nice and hot. Towels big and fluffy. Good equipment and appliances in kitchen ( toaster browns unevenly and may need replacing?) Beautiful scented honeysuckle around door and lovely flower border. Wooden garden Furniture- lovely for a sunny lunch or dinner. Some minor improvements we'd like to suggest are : a pair of kitchen scissors would be useful, a couple of hooks in the kitchen for t-towel and hand towel would be useful, another shelf in bathroom and a new blind would be good, maybe put the back door key in the key safe with the front door key? Thornham is a beautiful, quiet village and we would definitely stay at 1 Dix cottages again.



Norfolk Hideaways replied 238 days ago
Thank you for your review of 1 Dix Cottages. Reviews like yours are invaluable to us to ensure that we offer the best experiences for all our customers. We will certainly speak to the owner regarding your suggestions and we welcome these as they can only make the cottage better for future guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday and we welcome you back to Norfolk in the near future.

Homely stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Generally very good and only no welcome pack, only a few cleaning left out and no courtesy call from Norfolk Hideaway was main negatives.
Lovely cottage in a great location though and would recommend it.




Norfolk Hideaways replied 238 days ago
Thank you for your review on 1 Dix Cottages. We are sorry to hear that you had issues with the welcome pack and cleaning products. We will speak to the owner and ensure that these are addressed as soon as possible. However, we are happy to hear that you had a good holiday and look forward to welcoming you back to Norfolk in the near future.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful week in Norfolk at Dix cottage. We have stayed in the larger cottage before but this was also great. Had fabulous weather wonderful walks wells to Holkham , various parts of Pedlars way. Great food at the pubs and the deli



Enjoyed our stay at Dix cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location was Excellent , opposite a pub that did delicious suppers! So convenient. Everything that one needed,although perhaps some cushions for outside chairs would be welcome in the summer months?
So many places to visit within the locality.




Lovely location, but creature comforts sadly missing

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We couldn't fault the idyllic location - Thornham is lovely and the perfect place to explore the coast.

But there were a myriad of issues with the house which marred our holiday...

The master bedroom was unbearably hot - no great surprise when we discovered the hot water cylinder for the house was in one of the cupboards. A heads-up, or the provision of a fan, during this heatwave would have been very welcome. As it was, we had to go and buy one. Also, dishwasher tablets and bin liners are a very strange welcome pack to receive on arrival. A pint of milk would have been appreciated more, and prevented a mad late-evening dash to Lidl on a Saturday night!

Ignoring the broken cooker switch and window sash lock (both speedily dealt with by the Holiday Let company), the only shower in the house was awful - either scorching hot or freezing cold - the internet connection is patchy at best, and the TV reception packed up right in the middle of England's World Cup semi-final, which did not go down well!




Norfolk Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to complete the UpFrontReview following your recent stay at 1 Dix Cottage. Your feedback is invaluable whether constructive or positive as without this we are often unaware of the issues that may arise hence customer feedback being something we look at very closely. Once again many thanks for taking the time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to North Norfolk sometime in the future.