FB Twitter

The Big House @ Sound of Harris

The Big House @ Sound of Harris

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 45 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Sound of Harris is situated in the township of Borrisdale at the southernmost tip of Harris, overlooking the Sound, which separates the Minches from the open Atlantic. The location provides a stunning panorama - from Skye, across the mountainous spine of the Uists, the myriad islets of the Sound, to Killegray, Ensay and Pabbay beyond. Expect to see the resident otters in the kelp at low tide, plus porpoise, grey seals, common dolphin, gannets and the local breeding pair of golden eagles on occasion. The accommodation comprises two separate adjoined lodges. The Big House, at 120 m2, is based around a spacious loft-style living, kitchen and dining area - with full glazing to the south and west elevations to make the most of the views. The Other House (65 m2) maintains a cozy feel, with views south across Langay, Gilsay and Groay from the vaulted living space. Both units feature interiors based around bespoke Tweeds by Donald John Mackay, which complement vintage mid-century furnishings. Facilities include Japanese style soaking tubs and rain showers in the en-suite bathrooms, well appointed kitchens, smart TVs, DVD players, quality hi-fis, fast fibre broadband and extensive libraries of books and DVDs.

Amazing

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spend three very relaxing nights in this house. We were amazed by its cleanliness, stunning views and decoration. Double bed very comfy. Luxurious shower, kitchen well equipped. Practically all the tools are there and more. Nice job. Thanks!



Short October Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful place to stay and escape from it all - the views really are incredible and the house has everything you could possibly want.



Perfection

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We must start by saying this is the best self catering accommodation we have ever stayed in.
Carol & Rob welcomed us, giving great local information on everything from the best walks, beaches & places to eat.
The property is simply stunning, the attention to detail and guest comfort is outstanding.
The mid century pieces work so well in the space, the wall of triple glazing frames the uninterrupted views perfectly.. and the lovely little touches make it feel extra special.
This really is a truelly guest focused experience.. we just couldn’t find any fault.
We only wish we had longer to relax and enjoy it.




September 2019

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

Fantastic accommodation.
Extremely relaxing...
... a peaceful holiday with absolutely mesmerising
sea views!!!
OUTSTANDING
Thank you Rob & Carol




Excellent Location

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've been 4 days in this awesome house (The Big House) and we absolutely loved every moment! The house is in an awesome location in front of the sea and with a beautiful view. Everything inside was clean and perfect. High quality furniture and in perfect conditions. The house is cozy and you feel at home immediately. Rob and Carol have been very kind and welcoming!

We will be back again in the future! :-)




Stunning Property in a Unique Location

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in The Big House at The Sound of Harris in August/September 2019. What a stunning property! It's been created with great attention to detail by Rob and Carol, who are on hand if you need anything but otherwise leave you to enjoy the space, solitude and peace of this unique location. The house itself is huge and very comfortable, fitted out with mid-century furniture and vast windows affording a spectacular view over the sound of Harris and its many islands. You'll want for nothing whilst staying here; it's extremely well equipped and we'd highly recommend it.



Looking out the window for hours...

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked The Big House for our first wedding anniversary weekend and it was everything I hoped for ...remote and away from the throng but near interesting monuments and scenery. The house had big windows and we sat reading and drinking Harris gin purchased in the distillery on the way ...and watched the clouds moving and the gannets playing on the thermals. So relaxing and then 5 minute drive to the harbour for a wonderful boat trip to St Kilda. There’s a community shop nearby with everything needed to prepare a meal. Chris Loye came to cook for our anniversary and he prepared local produce to the most wonderful standard and cannot come recommended highly enough - chatting to him gives you lots of local insights and the food sublime. The Big House is tasteful, well appointed and spotlessly clean as if redecorates just for you. And then I popped next door and bought lots of beautiful tweeds some of them the owners’ own designs and work. Perfection.



A peaceful and elegant haven

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Big House is a lovely place to stay. The décor and furniture is very stylish and comfortable. The view over the sea is amazing - we spent much of our time just looking out of the window. The Big House is incredibly peaceful and relaxing. Harris itself is a beautiful island with great beaches and scenery. Rob and Carol were on hand to help if needed but not intrusive. They sourced us some great local seafood. The Big House is very well equipped and we had all we needed. We are hoping to go back to the Sound of Harris very soon.



Holiday House Harris

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect, modern & luxurious holiday house.
Super clean & well equipped.
Stunning location & views.
Very friendly owners.




Outstanding

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have travelled a in my life and stayed on many nice places. The „Big House“ is one of the most beautyfull accodomation I have been.
What a view over the sound. Peacefull and breathtaking! Very friendly hosts!
You‘ll find everything to feel at home, and everything is beautyfull, even the bag for the clothes peg!
We‘ll defenitly be back!




The Big House Review

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is very difficult to find anything negative to say about the Sound of Harris Big House. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the all-round level of comfort the house offered.
Stewart Adams




Amazing house and location - an absolute retreat.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sound of Harris is a wonderful home in a perfect location on the Isle of Harris. The house is well equipped, as well as being both beautifully designed and furnished. The owners are on hand, friendly and excellent hosts.

It's a great spot from which to explore the island, or to simply relax and breathe.





A superb place to stay - stylish, comfortable, superbly well equipped - a real treat!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just enjoyed our 3rd visit to Harris staying at 'The Big House'. Every time we come away refreshed and relaxed after a wonderful break at this superb property. In a stunning position on the sea cliffs in the South of the island this is a place where you are truly away from it all! The house is beautifully furnished and decorated which makes it a really special experience and certainly one up from the average 'self catering' property. Harris is a really special place - isolated, remote and staggeringly beautiful. Highly recommended.



Setting to die for

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an absolutely stunning property in a stunning location. It’s immaculate and stylish yet very comfortable and homely with many beautiful personal touches. I can’t recommend it highly enough. Superb.



A beautiful place

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rob and Carol made us very welcome indeed and made sure we had everything we needed and more. The house is in a beautiful location and the attention to detail on the interior is wonderful. A stunning place to stay whilst we discovered Harris with all home comforts to return to each day. The walks from the door also mean days of not driving and just chilling are a super treat. Thank you Rob and Carol.



Fantastic place!

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay here and really can’t fault it - the attention to detail was great and the house was immaculate. It was a pleasure to spend a few days admiring the stunning views from the window and exploring the area, and to enjoy some delicious fresh local fish courtesy of Rob! Would happily return any time.



Wedding Week

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at the Big House and would love to return visit. Carol and Rob were incredible hosts and made sure that our stay was comfortable. They took great care of us while we made plans for our wedding and were on hand to help move furniture and get ready for our big day. Carol and Rob have created a property that is a real haven: the views are incredible, the decor is tasteful and well thought out and there are loads of books, ceramics and mod cons to discover. The telescope was super to have and we took great pleasure in spying seals, birds and boats during our stay. We had a magical time at the big House and came home fully rested and relaxed.



Excellent Couples Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have loved our stay at the big house. It has everything you need for a short or long break. Rob and Carol were extremely helpful and made us feel very welcome. Would highly recommend.



Some Fantastic Place!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second trip here to stay at Carol & Robs beautiful holiday home and we enjoyed it just as much this time as last. The property is clean and comfortable and no detail has been forgotten, from Egyptian cotton sheets to Hebridean soap to eggs, milk and bread in the kitchen on arrival! There is no gadget that this kitchen does not have! There is plenty of space whether you want to sit quietly with a book, watch tv or look out to sea through the telescope standing at the window; the views are beautiful from the windows and the japanese style bath feels quite a luxury.



Pure delight....relax & enjoy the view

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm welcoming, lovely accommodation with amazing views.
A space to enjoy, .sit back relax and unwind.




Everything You Need

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully designed and decorated self-cater, The Big House afforded a wonderful and restful stay. The hosts were friendly and very knowledgeable about the tweed industry, recommending two shed weavers to visit. The views from the house are fantastic. Walking sticks included!



Perfect Retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just to our taste, stunning accommodation, amazing views and location.

Perfect hosts whose attention to detail is to their credit.

Our first call when returning to Harris will be to rebook.




September on Harris

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in The Big House the first week in September, 2018. It was absolutely wonderful. Rob and Carole are lovely and respond to any and all quires we had for the week. The house has an incredible view and is equipped with everything you need. I don't believe we wanted for anything. We were able to cook in for several nights, no need to go anywhere as the view and house are so wonderful. The Isle of Harris is a remote place, simply beautiful. The weather is unpredictable which adds to its mystic. Things not to miss...walk to the top of the drive and find the trail to the church dated to 1520. The walk is simply magical. Green landscape and right along the sea, not to mention the sheep! Drive to The Isle of Lewis, the Standing Stones and Black houses are really interesting, Stornaway is uneventful. Take a drive on the Golden Road (not far from the house) to art galleries and have lunch at Skoon Art Cafe. The roads are narrow to say the least but worth the journey. The Isle of Harris is a glorious experience, Rob and Carol and The Big House in Borrisdale, help make it so. We would love to return someday!



Stunning house in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent five nights in September 2018 in the The Big House. The house itself is brilliantly designed and stylishly decorated, with a mix of vintage and modern furniture. The kitchen was excellently equipped and, like the rest of the accommodation, scrupulously clean. We used the house both as a base to explore Harris (there are great walks from the doorstep and some of the best beaches within 15 minutes' drive) and as a place to while away peaceful hours when the weather wasn't so great. We certainly plan to return.



Stunning holiday house

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a truly spectacular house and location. We were so impressed with the care and attention to detail. It is immaculate in every way and we felt extremely comfortable and welcome.
The views are magnificent as is the sound system. Listen to Ludovico Einaudi as you watch the gannets dive into the broiling sea below. A holiday to treasure and returning is a must!




Perfect place

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sound of Harris is the perfect place for everyone seeking after tranquility relaxation! The house is perfectly equipped with everything you might need and nicely decorated, so that you immediately feel home. We really hope to go back one day!



Sound it is...

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a brilliant place with spectacular views over the Sound. Of course, we have already booked for next year.



A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is in the most wonderful location with ever changing views across the Sound of Harris and, because it is right beside the water, you can even see wildlife from the house. The interior design and furnishings are, quite simply, the most stylish and attractive we have ever seen in self catering accomodation. A great place to stay.



Blissful comfort and stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were slightly worried we would be a bit out of the way in Borrisdale, but after our weeks stay decided it was the best place to be in Harris. The view over the Sound of Harris is stunning and constantly changing and amply taken advantage of by the ‘window walls’. Could have just sat looking out for a week, but e plored the whole island as weather stunning - lucky us! Rob and Carol were excellent hosts and although living next door were unobtrusive yet there for the odd query.

The cottage is very spacious, well designed to take advantage of its position and full of up to the mark equipment. Extremely comfortable, cannot fault it really. We will return I hope.




Superb

Review submitted on Thu, 24 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect self-catering cottage with a lot of space. You almost beg for some bad weather to spend more time in this stylish but very comfortable house.



Beautiful Harris

Review submitted on Wed, 23 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Views you can only dream of and
fabulous accommodate with such attention to detail. Thanks to Rob and Carol for their fabulous hospitality. We will definitely be back!!





Wonderful Harris Experience

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carol n Bob you run a fantastic place and we have to say a big thank you for creating it but an even bigger thank you for being such nice folk and you both deserve every success thank you



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house and location were just perfect. The attention to detail in the house was incredible. It was so well stocked with everything you could wish for to be truly self sufficient. The views from the house were stunning and we loved the island as a whole. Wonderfully relaxing. We will be back!



Stunning!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Big House at Sound of Harris is a simply stunning place to stay - superbly located with breathtaking views and beautifully furnished with every convenience you could ever wish for. Carol and Rob are warm, welcoming and very accommodating hosts. We enjoyed our return trip just as much as the first - this place is our sanctuary from the busyness of everyday life - a treat for the soul!



A beautiful property in fabulous setting with every home comfort you could wish for . Great owners !

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in this beautiful house in amongst the best scenery Harris has to offer .
The owners can’t do enough to help , even offering lifts when our car was out of action . They live on site but are not at all intrusive - just incredibly welcoming and kind .
The house is stunning . Every attention to detail with lovely retro furnishings and lots of tasteful Harris Tweed accessories from Carol’s pop up shop . The kitchen is superbly equipped and you are provided with a starter pack of food plus quality toiletries and everything you could think of for a self catering holiday .
Just sititing watching the ever changing view made it hard to get up and leave each day to get out to enjoy the walking and lovely places to eat / have a coffee / watch the sea...
It is really well placed too. You feel remote ( bliss !) yet you are only a few mins away from Leverburgh village with the shop and great fish and chip van !!
It’s also only about half an hour to the ferry at Tarbert .
We are very sad to leave but will be back . This place deserves every accolade it gets !!
Thanks Rob and Carol for a fantastic week.




Perfect Honeymoon on Harris

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Big house for our honeymoon in October and couldn't have hoped for a more wonderful stay. Rob and Carol were so welcoming and friendly but equally unobtrusive - we were able to completely relax and unwind after the whirlwind of our wedding. We loved the interior of the house, all done with such thought and taste - we had everything we needed and more. The house was warm, cosy and comfortable to return to after being out walking in the Autumn wilds of Harris. But the thing that will stay with us, and which made our stay so unique and unforgettable, was the incredible view of the Sound. What a treat it was!! We were happy to stay in the house and just watch it change throughout the day, spotting wildlife (eagles hunting!) and the weather rolling in. The local Co-op was well stocked so we mainly cooked for ourselves in the fabulous kitchen. It was our dream honeymoon and we will forever have such wonderful memories of our stay. We would love to come and visit again, thanks to Rob & Carol for sharing their little corner of paradise with us!



undoubtedly the best accommodation on the island - and probably far beyond

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No, I'm not exaggerating. I did my homework. I searched many, many accommodations - even after booking, out of curiosity. Nothing comes even close.

The location. It's conveniently located: close to Leverburgh, about a five minute drive from the ferry pier and, amongst other things, a supermarket. It can even be reached by public transport. The house overlooks the sea - a beautiful view with island on the horizon that can be seen from almost everywhere in the house, including bed and bath. It's very easy to find. It's quite a bit off the road, meaning no other cars (or people) apart from the owners and other guests will come close to the house. Parking is right at the house, behind a gate. Even without using a car, there is enough of interest close to the house: the remains of the RAF radar station, St. Clement's Church an Renish Point, the most southern spot of Harris.

Then the house itself. Where to start...? It's very spacious, very stylish and very comfortable. Thought is put into every detail and everything is immaculate. The colour scheme is beautiful: Rob’s father used to design wallpaper patterns and the colour scheme of the accommodation is created around his framed, hand-painted (!) originals from the 60s/70s. The colours of the Harris tweed used (cushions, curtains, upholstery, throws, etc.) were especially designed by and for them, and weaved by well-known weaver Donald John MacKay. This is one of the things that set Rob and Carol, the owners of this wonderful place, apart: they make the most stylish Harris tweed products I've ever seen. I love Harris tweed, but sometimes cringe when I see what is made of it, especially at shops on the islands. I love the design-conscious choices they make for the many tweed items in the house (and in their shop). The rooms are a wonderful combination of sleek, modern interior architecture (white walls and kitchen, black floor, high end fixtures) and warm furniture and accessoires. Modern yet comfortable. Everything you see is curated by Rob and Carol themselves, they've scoured the land for a beautiful collection of vintage English design furniture and bits and bobs, down to tableware, wooden statuettes and vintage multimeter we wanted to steal. The house has everything you need and more. Fluffy slippers, bathrobes, literally everything you can think of for cooking, more than enough storage space, fireplace, books, washing machine, dvd's, picnic basket, cleaning supplies, dishwasher, kettle, coffee maker, toaster, a hot water bottle, great sound system, Netflix, lighting as hard or soft as you want, outside furniture for beautiful days, additional wood for the fire... and I can go on and on. I could have left my camera tripod at home, because the exact same tripod was provided in the house. The fireplace and design heaters can warm up the place surprisingly quickly. The sofas and chairs are comfortable. The bed is spacious. The bath is a great, luxury touch and it smartly placed outside of the bathroom, so you can sit and enjoy the view. The towels are fluffy. The telescope works. Everything is spotless. The only sounds you'll hear are birds, the occasional sheep, the ocean and the weather.

Carol and Rob couldn't be nicer. Fell in love instantly. They are smart, warm, funny and rather cool. They are there when you need them, for a chat or any help you might need, but if you don't, that's fine as well, you'll be left alone.

There are two disadvantages though. First: the slight pang of envy you might feel when staying somewhere that is your taste but more beautiful than your own house. Also: the hard choice between leaving the accommodation to explore the island or staying in. You have been warned.




Stunning views from Lovely cabin

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful Accommodation at the end of Isle of Harris. The home is beautifully decorated with bespoke furnishings. You will find everything you will need for your stay including a fully kitted gourmet kitchen. Large glass windows provide stunning views from all of the rooms. Ron and Carol are very freindly and helpful with any needs. There is also a lovely Harris Tweed pop-up shop. Even if you are not staying the accomadation be sure to drop by the pop up shop.



We loved the Big House

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Completely smitten with Harris and despite some dodgy weather we had a fantastic week. The Big House turned out to be every bit as good as we hoped it would and the stunning views across the Sound made staying in on the rainy days no hardship at all, particularly when we had golden eagles flying past at eye level. Rob and Carol were excellent and very helpful hosts and we learned a lot from them about the island and the things we could do during our stay. Although the Big House is almost the last point of habitation on Harris there is plenty to do without having to drive; we particularly liked the walk to nearby Rodel church and there is plenty of scope for cycling through some astonishingly beautiful scenery. Our week flashed by and there's lots we still want to do so we'll be back - we can recommend the Big House without reservation.



A week on Harris

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful house in a superb location. The views from the full height triple glazed windows allowed us to enjoy spectacular ever changing views across to Uist regardless of the weather. The house is very stylish and incredibly well equipped with everything you could possibly need for your stay.



Heaven on Earth

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location, smartly designed and furnished house, and excellent and responsive hosts. The Sound of Harris is a hidden gem.



Hebridean Paradise

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having just spent an idyllic six nights with my wife at Rob and Carol's remote island getaway, we're already planning our return.

No amount of words can do justice to the view from the main windows in the Big House, with it's ever changing perspective depending on the light.

The house is spacious, light and airy with every comfort and convenience for relaxing after big days out or warm and cosy on wet days in.

The perfect hosts, Rob and Carol are always on hand to impart excellent local knowledge on every aspect of the islands be it restaurant recommendations or the best boat tours. Rob was even kind enough to drive us all the way to Tarbet for a meal on Sunday night and collect us again afterwards. If that's not going the extra mile, I don't know what is.

In fact the only difficult part of our stay was having to leave the tranquility of our retreat to return home....did I mention the view...





A house with a view

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We has a wonderful 4 day break staying at The Big House, Sound of Harris. The location is utterly superb and views breathtaking. The house is beautifully designed and furnished and provides a fantastic base from which to walk, explore the island or just 'be'! The house is well equipped, beautifully clean and a design gem. Wraparound floor to ceiling windows fill the house with light and days can be spent staring in awe at the wonderful seascape that surrounds the property. Rob and Carol are great 'hosts' - and a wonderful source of local knowledge. The house is situated in Borrisdale, a short 2 mile walk from Leverburgh where, in season, there is a great restaurant,'The Anchorage' and the Butty Van which does tasty fish and chips on a Friday and Saturday evening. Harris is an island of contrasts - from the glacial lunar landscape of the east coast to the stunning turquoise sea and golden beaches of Hushinish, Luskentyre and Scarista on the west coast. Harris was the very special place that we hoped it would be and The Big House was a joy to stay in. We enjoyed it so much we have already booked a return visit - we can't wait. Until then I will think often of the wonderful views and the peace and tranquility of Harris and the wonderful Big House. Thank you Rob and Carol for creating somewhere so special.



Perfection at sound of Harris

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful house in a stunning location. Rob and Carol were extremely helpful - getting us fresh fish and providing a taxi service to a local restaurant! Superb!



Excellent all round

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not have better. Top quality fittings and fixtures. Especially loved the slow cooker. Top notch.



Rob English replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mary and Doug, Sincere thanks for taking the time to write our first UpFront Review and for your kind words. It was lovely to meet you both and so glad you enjoyed your stay (and the slow cooker!)