FB Twitter

Cottage 183 - Ballyconneely

Cottage 183 - Ballyconneely

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
82% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.1
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.0
Location
4.4
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.4


4 Bedrooms – Sleeps 7. This spacious bungalow on a large site is located just 2.5km from Ballyconneely Village. Located just off the Wild Atlantic Way, the property is close to a sandy beach, and offers lovely views of the surrounding countryside and Errisbeg Hill. Nearby activities include pony trekking, surfing, golf, fishing, boat tours, sailing and lots more.

Comfortable bungalow in great location

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jul 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely holiday in this bungalow, thankfully the weather was great. The location is near Ballyconneely, which is what we wanted as there are great beaches within easy access. The property is spacious but would benefit from a second toilet. The kitchen area is large and has a dishwasher and a large table for meals. A separate utility contains a washer and dryer. There is central heating if needed. We like this, as other cottages without central heating can be musty. There is a dormer flat in the roof space with a separate entrance via external stairs. There was no-one there when we stayed, but I believe it may be used by family members from time to time. The living room has a large TV with Irish channels running off an internal aerial. The wifi is a 4g mifi - adequate for emails etc but probably not for streaming. We brought our own eir 4g dongle which registered higher speeds and could handle netflix, so you might get away with the hotspot on your phone.



Sandra - Love Connemara Cottages replied 359 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return in the future

A good base for exploring Connemara

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here during a rainy week in Connemara and it was good during Covid-19 restrictions to have a house away from towns but close to amenities. The house was thoroughly cleaned when we arrived and there were lots of notices taking account of the Coronavirus protocols. As a result we didn’t meet the owner until our morning of departure but everything was in order and we didn’t need to contact her about anything.

The weather didn’t deter our three kids from swimming at a number of beaches and as such it was useful to have a tap outside to rinse wetsuits and a utility room for hanging clothes in.

The house is spacious enough for a family of five or six with room to invite visitors for lunch or dinner. Cooking facilities are top-notch and the sitting room is relaxing.

The lawn out front gives space for kids to run or play ball games and there is also ample room on the gravel that surrounds the house. Like anywhere in this part of the world there can be a problem with flies but thankfully the midges stayed away.

Ballyconneely and shops/café/playground are only five minute’s drive away but Roundstone and Clifden aren’t too far away either.

You will need a car for this property or at least a bike, but there are so many beaches a short spin away. There is also horse riding and pony trekking nearby and a lovely walk around the area of bog where Alcock and Brown landed after the first ever transatlantic flight.

We’ve been to Connemara many times as we have relatives from here and the place is beautiful, especially when the sun comes out and you can see for miles. But even when it is pouring there is plenty to do, just prepare.

The Coronavirus period has definitely restricted the activities available. That said most of the pubs serving food, restaurants, cafés etc were open when we visited in mid July 2020, with visors and masks aplenty.

Understandably the locals working in the retail and service industries are a bit wary of tourists right now; they have to make a living but are appalled and alarmed by the lack of social distancing amongst a minority of temporary visitors. Be thoughtful. Customer service levels are excellent but don’t take advantage by being careless or rude.

Whether the virus is contained soon or not for a year or two, treat the area with respect and you will have a lovely and memorable time.




Sandra - Love Connemara Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and detailed feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return in the future

Wir hatten 4 schöne Tage

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wir hatten einen angenehmen Aufenthalt. Die Lage ist herrlich ruhig und wunderschön - enfernte Berge und das Meer. Nachts ist es dunkel ohne Lichtverschmutzung - wir hatten eine Nacht in der man wunderbar die Sterne sehen und die Milchstraße erkennen konnte. Die Küche bietet dank zwei großen Fenstern einen wunderbaren Blick aufs Umland bis zum Atlantic. Ausstattung der Küche ist ausreichend - (wir hätten uns einen Handmiixer gewünscht, der nicht vorhanden ist, oder wir haben ihn nicht gefunden). Töpfe sind gut, Pfannen könnten in einem besseren Zustand sein.
In den Schlafzimmern sind die Matratzen in Ordnung (bei einer kommen allerdings die Federn zum Vorschein). Die Heizung in einem Schlafzimmer ließ sich nicht abdrehen.
Mit dem Wifi hatten wir am ersten Tag ein Problem, da ist wohl jemand von uns aus versehen an den Stecker gekommen und hat damit den Sicherheitsschalter ausgeschaltet - danach war die Verbindung weg. Ich hatte bei der Eigentümerin/Verwalterin angerufen und sie hat mir geholfen - danach war alles prima - gute schnelle Internetverbindung.
Alles in allem ein gepflegtes sauberes Haus (ein Punkt Abzug da in einem Papierkorb noch etwas vom Vormieter drin war und wir die Waschmaschine und den Trockner noch leergeräumt haben).
Vorne der Garten ist sehr gepflegt - Tipp: Tautreten im Rasen
Wir würden jederzeit gerne wieder hier Urlaub machen.







Sandra - Love Connemara Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Guest Thank you for your review and detailed feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will return to the region in the future.

Good Location and nice size house

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Although functional and comfortable, the property and gardens could do with a bit of TLC to make it a very good holiday cottage



Sandra - Love Connemara Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and feedback. Should you wish to return or require a cottage in the future please do not hesitate to contact us

Lovely bright house

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely people in charge of the house. So obliging.
House lovely and cosy. Highly recommended.
Just be careful with shoes around the house as the dog from up the road tends to take any that are lying round as what happened to our daughters expensive trainer!! The owner managed to find it for us although a bit eaten but wearable for the rest of the week. They were lovely about it and all helped look for it!
Had a really enjoyable week in the house.




Sandra- Love Connemara Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review and feedback. Should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact us

5 Night Stay in Ballyconneely

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is really nice. Our family loved it and Bridget was very nice to deal with.
We would certainly book this cottage again.




Sandra - love Connemara Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and feedback. Should you wish to return please do not hesitate to contact us

ballyconneely is great

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was in good shape, and Bridget the caretaker was extremely helpful. There was an issue with the water not being reliably available between 11-3 during the day, but apparently this was a local issue (due to tourist influx in August) and not specific to the house. Ballyconneely is a great part of Connemara, wild with beautiful beaches and bog.



Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely house,very remote and quiet.very well equipt. Beds very comfy. Very central for Roundstone, Ballyconneely and Clifden.



Great spot!

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic time. The house is very warm and was extremely clean. Very safe for a family with kids. Would recommend no problem!



Wonderful stay in this cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a fantastic week in this lovely bright cottage. The location was perfect, near to the beach and halfway between Roundstone and Clifden. The property has been modernised with features such as WIFI, filtered water tap, new wooden floors but retains that cottage feel with the open turf fire. It had a great heating system so even though it was November we were warm and cosy. The landlady Bridget greeted us warmly when we arrived, she was so helpful throughout and provided lovely extra touches such as leaving turf for us. The cottage is well equipped, the kitchen was really big and there were plenty of linens and towels provided. It was so peaceful and we witnessed the most beautiful sunsets and sunrises from the cottage. Ballyconneely is a truly gorgeous spot and we really enjoyed our stay.



poor

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The bathroom was in a poor condition. Especially the bathtub.
No warm water in the kitchen.
The closet were filled with stuff and smelling.
No one felt comfortable in the house.
Only the kitchen was well equipt.