FB Twitter

Crab-apple Cottage

Crab-apple Cottage

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


Crab-apple Cottage has lovely views and its own enclosed south facing garden.
It is a semi-detached cottage with laminate flooring throughout. It has a very comfortable lounge with leather sofas and an open fire,
It has a fully fitted kitchen with dining area and a utility area which has a washing machine, tumble dryer and fridge freezer.
Crab-apple cottage sleeps five in a double, twin and single bedroom and has a bathroom with a shower enclosure. There is also a cot available to put in the single bedroom.
This single storey cottage has oil central heating and being fully double glazed and insulated, is ideal for winter breaks.

Wonderful place

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a lovely stay at crab apple cottage, from even before we arrived Margaret was the perfect host everything organised and very accommodating. Cottage was very homely, comfortable and thoroughly cleaned, all essentials provided. The surroundings and garden were perfect for our little family to explore and play and close by to lots of Northumberland attractions. Highly recommended.



Lovely, well equipped cottage in quiet rural location.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with very comfortable living room, perfect for evenings in. The double bedroom is large and very comfortable. The kitchen is very well equipped with everything we needed to cater for ourselves. Everything was very clean and well looked after. There's a lovely garden for sunny days. Margaret and Hugh are very friendly and were available when we needed them. The location is lovely with walks from the door or a short drive to coast or country. We enjoyed trips to Holy Island, Berwick, Bamburgh, Yeavering Bell, the College Valley and Ford and Etal estate including the railway. Wooler is very close and Doddingtons Milk Bar is recommended for ice-cream. We would love to stay here again very soon.



Another lovely stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again, thank you to Margaret and Hugh for a lovely peaceful stay at Fenton Hill. Although we were only here for a few days this time, it provided a welcome escape from the reality of 2020.

We have stayed many times and the cottage was a haven as always. We felt totally safe as it was obvious that cleaning had been done to an even higher standard due to the current restrictions.

We are booked to return!




Wonderful Cottage stay

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Crab Apple Cottage and it is a comfortable, well-equipped cottage and cannot fault it at all. Spotlessly clean, fabulous views, and Margaret and Hugh make you so welcome and are always on hand if you need them. It is a great base to explore Northumberland and the distant Cheviot Hills provide a beautiful backdrop. Birds including Great Spotted Woodpecker, are regular visitors to the feeders just in front of the lounge window ,and you can occasionally hear a Tawny Owl at night. We all had a wonderful time and hope to return again soon.
Thank you for a wonderful break.
Colin, Julie, Johnny and Jess.




Comfortable cottage, friendly hosts.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable cottage in a beautiful setting. Margaret and Hugh were very welcoming whilst keeping socially distant and the little touches of fresh flowers , home made biscuits and fresh milk were very welcome.
The garden is completely secure so Bunni and Ellie were safe to potter about. Everything was spotlessly clean and all in all we had a wonderful time.




Great repeat stay

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love visiting crabapple and even some wet weather did not dampen our holiday. Everything was spotless and Margaret clearly knew what she was doing regarding Covid. Thanks for an amazing holiday and look forward to seeing you next year.



A very comfortable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having been let down by another property, I found Fenton Cottages prior to lock down.
We were grateful to be able to journey to Northumberland post the 4th July to enjoy our holiday and we were very grateful for privacy and a quiet location throughout our stay. Surrounded by fields and animals we had a very happy and comfortable weeks‘ holiday.
Thank you very much and we look forward to returning.




A relaxing, enjoyable and safe holiday in the Cheviots

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Crab Apple Cottage, and we once again had a relaxing and lovely holiday in this excellent, well-appointed cottage that has all you need for a family self-catering stay. The location is wonderful, with views to the Cheviot Hills, and the cottage is very peaceful and with a lovely garden. We were able to go walking, cycling and running from the cottage, and also enjoyed long walks in the Cheviots and on the Northumberland Coast. The cottage is also very well located to visit Alnwick, Bamburgh, Flodden Battlefield and other special places. In this year of pandemic, we were very grateful to Margaret and Hugh for their careful attention to social distancing, government guidelines, and ensuring the utmost cleanliness of the cottage, all alongside their usual welcome and hospitality. Many thanks from us all.



A Gem in the Northumberland Countryside

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a warm and comfortable cottage close to the coast, the national park, the history of England and Scotland, and the cities of Newcastle and Edinburgh, then look no further. The cottage is in a beautiful and peaceful location not far from the lovely little market town of Wooler, and is warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean, with everything you need to enjoy your stay, including a lovely garden that your children can play in safely while you prepare a meal in the kitchen or on the barbeque. Your hosts Margaret and Hugh live next door and will be there should you need them but otherwise will let you be to enjoy your stay. If this is your first visit to this part of Northumberland then Margaret and Hugh can help you with finding out all about the things to see and do locally. We have now stayed here many times. The cottage is never a disappointment, and we always discover something new with every visit to this stunning part of the world.