FB Twitter

The Old Cheeseloft

The Old Cheeseloft

5.0
out of 5
Ratings from 60 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0


The Old Cheeseloft is a comfortable spacious two storey dwelling, sleeping up to five, with a Sumo Dowling multifuel burning stove, and central heating throughout, by means of radiators and underfloor heating downstairs, and radiators upstairs.

A lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to the Old Cheeseloft and just as enjoyable as the first! Sue looks after us and the house perfectly.
A real pleasure to stay.
Thank you!


Richard from Castle Douglas stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 4 nights in November 2018


Sue replied 12 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review. We like our guests to have a pleasant stay and feel looked after - its what holidays are all about!

Superb cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, very clean and everything that you would need in a cottage. This is the 7th time at we've stayed at Ross Bay and the 3rd time in this cottage I think that speaks for itself. Sue and family are always welcoming nothing is too much trouble for them. I've already booked for my next visit.

John from Darlington stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in November 2018


Sue replied 20 days ago
Thank you for this great review, it takes a lot of effort to keep our cottages nice, and we are very pleased that our returning guests are still pleased and enjoy their stay with us here at Ross Bay. We look forward to seeing them again next year.

Perfect Autumnal Stay - Cosy

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Regular visitors to Ross Bay now and it never disappoints. The cottage was as clean and cosy as ever with excellent facilities and beautiful decor and comfiest of beds, the cake that Sue makes for her guests just gets better each time, a perfect little touch of indulgence with the Cream of Galloway ice cream that Sue provides too. The bay and surrounding area at this time of year is a wonderful Autumn spectacular with many colours on the trees that are just beautiful. There is plenty to see and do in the area or just as nice to sit with a cosy cuppa and watch the day go by, so much wildlife to see. Already planning our next stay for next year. Thank you Sue and family for such a lovely time. X

Joanne from Darwen stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 10 nights in October 2018


Sue replied 32 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review. Our regular guests who visit throughout the seasons can really enjoy the different colours, weather and wildlife during their stay. We look forward to welcoming our guests back next year!

Rossbay retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing as always. This is the place to relax and unwind . The view of the bay is heaven we could watch the sea all day.

Catherine from Littleborough stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in October 2018


Sue replied 36 days ago
Thank you for the lovely review, it is pleasing for us that our guests still enjoy their stay after 6 visits, bringing more family members along too.

Wonderful holiday in a first class cottage and lovely setting - perfect for lovers of wildlife

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our second holiday at Ross Bay and our first stay at The Old Cheeseloft. The cottage itself is beautiful - stylishly furnished, well equipped, spacious and airy, and the patio area at the back is very attractive. We loved sitting out on the two balconies, making most of the wonderful views and listening to the bubbling call of the curlews. We were lucky enough to experience two glorious and dramatic deep pink sunrises over the Bay, enhanced on the first morning by skeins of pink footed geese flying over the cottage. On our last night with the clear skies we stood outside and marvelled at the absolutely breathtaking sight of millions of stars, and the Milky Way spread across the dark sky.
Sue’s warm welcome and attention to detail makes for a perfect, relaxing and very comfortable holiday. We have already booked our next stay - that says it all !


Jonathan from Hamilton stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in October 2018


Sue replied 47 days ago
Thank you very much for this super review. Our guest enjoyment whilst holidaying here is most important to us, and their experiences of nature are told wonderfully well in this review.......need we say more?

Yet another brilliant holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd visit to the cheese loft at Ross Bay and again it didnt dissapoint.

Sue and her husband do a wonderful job.

I'd say it was a home from home but my house doesn't come anywhere near this wonderful house. We'll be booking again soon.


Les from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in September 2018


Sue replied 53 days ago
Its a great feeling when our guests enjoy a 3rd stay with us, as we always hope they enjoy it a second time around! We look forward to hopefully welcoming them back again.

Another excellent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another lovely quiet holiday, totally relaxing. Great location, very nice attentive owners. Loved the cakes and ice cream. We would recommend anybody to stay there - our friends have already booked for next year. We will be back.

Stephen from Halifax stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 14 nights in September 2018


Sue replied 67 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review, relaxation is what we like our guests to experience when they stay here with us, cake and ice cream to boot! Thank you for recommending us, we really do appreciate it!

Third visit to The Old Cheeseloft.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just what the doctor ordered. Peace and tranquillity. A warm welcome from Sue and her family. Kick off your shoes, sit back, watch the world go by with a slice of delicious cake and ice cream.

Paul from North Ayrshire stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 14 nights in July 2018


Sue replied 67 days ago
Ahhhh, I like the sound of this myself! Thanks you for this lovely review from our guests after their 3rd stay with us in Cheeseloft..........we look forward to welcoming them back next year.

A rare find

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, warm, very clean and extremely well renovated property that exceeds all expectations. Great views and walks from the door.
Sue very welcoming, delicious cake and ice cream waiting for us on arrival.
To sum up a luxurious and relaxing stay. This was our third visit and we hope to return.


Trish from Wolverhampton stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in August 2018


Sue replied 88 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review. It is always an aim to exceed our guests expectations, and it is rewarding for all when they feel it does! We are glad that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and hope to see them in the future.

July break

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place to stay. This was our third visit and we have booked again for next year - as well as a stay at Helmsley Hideaway so that says it all really! It is always difficult to find a nice place that will accommodate us and our three dogs - but Ross Bay is perfect - lovely properties and beautiful countryside.

Mick from Goole stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in July 2018


Sue replied 124 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review, and we are really please that some family and pet time was enjoyed together at Ross Bay. We hope our guests enjoy a different stay in our cottage in Yorkshire - Helmsley Hideaway, but we will look forward to seeing them again at Ross Bay next year too.

Our 3rd delightful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This has been our 3rd stay at The Old Cheeseloft and can not fault our stay one bit so much so we have booked again for 2019!

From initially booking all the way to leaving after your stay the customer services it’s excellent. Nothing is a problem.

The house is spotless with everything you need for your stay.

The weather we had was amazing making our stay even more enjoyable as we could sit out on the lovely patio, have BBQ’s, explore the lovely countryside and genuinely have a very relaxing holiday.

I would highly recommend The Old Cheeseloft and have done to friends and family who are hoping to book in the near future.





Sharon from Livingston stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in July 2018


Sue replied 145 days ago
Thank you so much for this great review. The weather has been wonderful for the past weeks and makes for super BBQs, lovely walks and happy holidays. We look forward to welcoming our guests back next year.

Another brilliant week

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had another brilliant week at Ross Bay Retreat, this time we had relatives with us and they enjoyed it just as much as we did, they will be back.
We have been a number if times and always enjoy our stay.
Sue is brilliant at pointing places and restaurants to visit, her recommends never disappoint so we were out and about every day but it was always lovely to return to the peace and relaxing quiet of Ross Bay.
We will be back and also want to visit the cottage near Helmsley.


Derek from Morpeth stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in June 2018


Sue replied 150 days ago
Thank you for this super review, we always like to welcome our guests back, hoping their stay is as good as the previous one! The weather this season has been wonderful to add to a relaxing Ross Bay stay. We look forward to opening our new cottage in Yorkshire www.helmsleyhideaway.com so hopefully our gusts will enjoy a little bit of Yorkshire-ness!

Harder to leave

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another stay at Ross Bay comes to an end and each time we come to this beautiful place the harder it gets to leave.
The sun shone on a beautiful traquil bay , Sues wonderful chocolate cake was eaten and we were fully relaxed and refreshed.I can not recomend this beautiful retreat more, top class accomodation, superb friendly and first rate service from Sue. Home from home with a five star feel.Thank you Sue.



Irene from Harrogate stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in June 2018


Sue replied 162 days ago
Thank you for this fabulous review, which speaks volumes and makes us proud - we are so pleased our guests have enjoyed their stay again and we look forward to welcoming them back soon.

Wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were there for 3 weeks running a course and had everything we needed. Sue was brilliant, taking care of our needs and providing wonderful cake. Perfect!

Highly recommend staying, we'll be back next year.


Amanda from Gloucestershire stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 21 nights in June 2018


Sue replied 162 days ago
A wonderful stay is a great review to receive - thank you. We look forward to seeing our guests again next year.

Back 'home' again.

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Its difficult to put into words just how amazing this place is. The location and accommodation is first class. So peaceful. Sue and David will give you a very warm welcome and are always at hand if you need anything. We have visited many times and have 2 more visits planned this year. Just perfect!

Janet from Tyne & Wear stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in May 2018


Sue replied 178 days ago
Thank you for this super review, we always try to make our guests welcome and feel like they are at their second home. We look forward to welcoming our guests back later in the year.

Relaxing holiday in The Old Cheeseloft

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the sixth time we have stayed at Ross Bay Retreat and the second in The Old Cheeseloft - I believe that says it all. The cottage is very clean,comfortable and spacious with everything you could ask for in a holiday cottage. I never tire of the views no matter what the weather is, looking out to sea over the Solway Firth and to the Lake District, they change with the time of day and the quality of light. We will be making a return visit in the near future.

John from Darlington stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in May 2018


Sue replied 203 days ago
Thank you for this wonderful review - it really means a lot to us when our guests return and enjoy their return visits. We look forward to welcoming them back in the future.

Never Fails To Be Fabulous

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can we say, this is our second stay this year alone at Ross Bay and Cheeseloft Cottage, we've lost count on previous years, we simply love it here and these cottages never fail to impress. Home from home comforts with added luxuries, Sue's attention to detail and her hospitality is just lovely, nothing is too much trouble and her cake is now legendary. If you need to escape, relax, unwind and take in the beauty of the sea and countryside Ross Bay Retreat is for you, not forgetting the wonderful surrounding towns. We'll be back soon.....trust me this place is addictive. Thanks Sue and family again for another memorable stay.

Joanne from Darwen stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in April 2018


Sue replied 203 days ago
Thank you for this wonderful review, we try hard to keep things well and find it rewarding when our guests really enjoy their stay at Ross Bay.

Fabulous stay in a beautiful property

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at Ross Bay and we enjoyed it so much we have booked again for next year. The cottages are immaculate and finished to an exceptionally high standard, the views are stunning and the welcome cake on arrival was to die for. Sue and her family could not be more helpful.

Madelaine from Edinburgh stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in April 2018


Sue replied 232 days ago
Thank you very much for this super review - it makes all our effort worthwhile to make a family holiday a happy one! We look forward to seeing our guests again next year.

Great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at The Old Cheeseloft last week with 2 toddlers and had a wonderful time. House so clean and comfortable and there was so much to do around and about - soft play and swimming so kept the children very happy.Lots of lovely places to visit too - everybody had a great holiday.

Peter from York stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in April 2018


Sue replied 232 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review. It is such a lovely area in which we live with many places to go and things to see and do for all ages.

Easter 2018 Ross Bay Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a nice place to stay with our two young children and our two Labradoodles. Very relaxing and plenty to do even when it rains. Plenty space in the house so you can all relax.

Anna from Kendal stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in March 2018


Sue replied 244 days ago
Easter away is a nice thing to do, daffodils popping up, cakes and easter eggs getting ready for the better weather (or heres hoping!). Thanks for this lovely review, glad you enjoyed your Easter here at Ross Bay.

Beautiful Cottages, Amazing Scenery, Wonderful People

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been regular visitors to Ross Bay Retreat cottages over the past few years, that in itself should speak volumes knowing that you can't wait to visit again. The cottages are faultless and always of a high standard in every aspect. Sue is a very kind, thoughtful person who always adds a little personal touch for her visitors to make their stay more memorable, her cake is legendary. The beauty of the surrounding bay is forever breath taking, the sea and countryside rolls into one its stunning. Plenty of wildlife to see, amongst our visit this time and not even having to leave our cottage we saw, deer, red kite, buzzards even seals in the bay, not forgetting the new lambs and calves in the fields. If your looking for peace, tranquility and want to be in touch with nature in the most friendly place......Ross Bay Retreat is it. Thank you Sue and family for another perfect stay. See you soon.

Joanne from Darwen stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 4 nights in March 2018


Sue replied 257 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review. Its great when our guests manage to experience lots of what goes on in the bay on a typical day if you just have time to stop and watch! We look forward to welcoming our guests back soon.

Wow! Wow! Wow!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I have never stayed in such a well presented and equipped, warm and comfortable holiday cottage. The ever changing view over the bay captures your attention and makes it hard to move. The warm welcome from Sue really set us up for the week and the cake and ice cream lasted 4 days! We have already recommended Ross Bay Retreat to friends and family and will return first chance we get. Many thanks.

Guest from Cramlington stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in February 2018


Brilliantway to spend New Years Eve

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect holiday. 2nd time we have stayed and have already booked a third. Need I say more. We felt extremely safe and warm in the beautifully built and furnished Cheese Loft when storm Eleanor was raging.

Les from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in December 2017


Sue replied 323 days ago
Bringing in 2018 down at Ross Bay, we are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay, even with Storm Eleanor joining them! Look forward to welcoming them back later in the year.

An absolutely wonderful home from home for Christmas.

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely amazing a accommodation, a warm welcome on a working farm with lovely walks from your doorstep.

David from Pittenweem stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in December 2017


Sue replied 337 days ago
Thank you for this lovely review, we are pleased that our guests enjoyed their Christmas break with us at Ross.

November break.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual Ross Bay retreat was wonderful, we had a very relaxing week.

We have rebooked for 2018.

Thank you Sue.


Ian from Sunderland stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in November 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this review, really glad our guests enjoyed their stay again, and we look forward to seeing them next year.

A place to relax

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 5th time at Ross bay in just 12months! We love it, it really is a place to relax. All 3 cottages are lovely but I think this one is our favourite .
This time we survived storm Brian but the next day a seal was seen on the rocks ☺


Catherine from Littleborough stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in October 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for this great review. A place to relax is a nice thing for our guests to enjoy in the ever busy world we live in - just a little time and peace. We look forward to seeing our guests in the New Year.

A quality cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again it was a delight to stay in a cottage at Ross Bay Retreat. The Old Cheeseloft has everything that you could ask for in a holiday cottage, it is very clean, comfortable and spacious but at the same time very cosy. The views from the cottage are excellent looking out to sea over the Solway Firth and over to the Lake District and are forever changing with the time of day and the quality of the light. This was our fifth time at Ross Bay Retreat and our first in The Old Cheeseloft, however we have already booked for a return visit which I believe speaks for itself about the quality of the cottage.

John from Co. Durham stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in October 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing us this super review. It is pleasing that after five visits our guests enjoyed their stay enough to book another. Each of our cottages has a similar theme yet is different from the other two, and even though they all look out to sea the views are slightly different. We look forward to welcoming our guests back next year.

Beautiful cottages, beautiful location

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my second stay at Ross Bay with friends and family. This is an idyllic place with beautiful, pristine cottages. Everything you need and more is provided for. Sue and the family are so hospitable and friendly yet not imposing in any way. The amazing scenery, peaceful, quiet location and local walks are all you need to relax even in the harshest of weather. I would recommend the retreat to everyone, even those on a tight budget as its such value for money for a stunning holiday. I cannot wait to return.

Thank you again Sue and family


Kay from Sheffield stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 4 nights in October 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for this super review, beautiful is lovely and value for money is great. It is always rewarding when our guest recommend our cottages to friends and family and enjoy their stay, it makes all the hard work worth while.

There is nowhere better to stay than Ross Bay

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always, everything was perfect for us. The Old Cheeseloft is a credit to you Sue, your design and attention to detail have made the cottage beautiful. We had a lovely time and can't wait to return in 2018, looking forward to it already! xx

Liz from Shifnal stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 10 nights in September 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for this super review - really like the title. We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay in The Old Cheeseloft and look forward to welcoming them back next year.

Luxurious Accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recent very high spec refurbishment. Lovely light and spacious accommodation. Relaxing sea views and local walks. Luxurious bathrooms and kitchen.

Trish from Wolverhampton stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in September 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this complementary review. Our location, gives us the lovely sea views and peace and quiet to relax and unwind.

Perfect in Every Way

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed along with our two cocker spaniels quite a few times in the cottages at Ross Bay Retreat and find we just want to come back more often. Perfect location with stunning views peace and tranquility but close enough by car to explore the surrounding area and further afield. The cottages are stunning, warm, cosy with added luxury of high standard finish in decor and utilities. Perfect views of the Bay and the surrounding farmland from each cottage just sit back relax and watch the day go by. The owners are so kind and friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them, always happy to help where they can with any reasonable requests, Sue bakes the most amazing cakes which she leaves as a welcome with warmed kettle ready for your arrival. We can't wait for our next visit we find everything simply perfect, you could not fail to enjoy your stay at any of the three cottages no matter what the weather they have every comfort you would need they are pure luxury. See you soon our beautiful Ross Bay Retreat a place that will capture your heart. Thank you Sue, David, Stephen & Pip for making our stay this time an even more memorable one with your kindness.

Joanne from Darwen stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in September 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely humbling review. We are pleased that our guests have enjoyed their visits to Ross Bay retreat and like the idea that it captures the heart. Thank you.

the old cheese loft

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, beautiful cottage and excellent hosts with the added bonus that we can take our Goldies to enjoy the holiday too!

Mick from Goole stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in September 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review, we are really glad that your Golden girls enjoyed their stay too, like their photo on the balcony.

Another fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Cheeseloft is immaculate, the views over the bay as beautiful as we remembered and Sue and family as welcoming as ever (still can't prise the chocolate fudge cake recipe out of her though we are getting closer, experimenting at home as I write this Sue!). We spent a lot of time swimming or paddling this holiday, having launched the 50th birthday kayak in Ross Bay. We can't think of a more perfect place.

Liz from Wigton stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 14 nights in August 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
A great review for The Old Cheeseloft, thank you very much. The weather always makes a place nicer and a holiday more enjoyable. As for the cakes, Thursday is baking day, whether it be chocolate fudge cake, Victoria sponge cake, lemon drizzle cake, banana loaf, or fruit cake........Mary Berry, experimenting, and grandma's have a lot to answer for!

The Old Cheeseloft

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Awesome place to relax and unwind. Beautiful , tastefully furnished cottage with fantastic views, and to top it all you get delicious cake and ice cream on arrival. Thank you. This was our second stay and we have already booked our third. Sue and family are very friendly and helpful. Cannot wait to return.

Paul from North Ayrshire stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 14 nights in July 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
A great review for The Old Cheeseloft, thank you very much for taking the time to write it for us. Awesome is a strong word but we like it, we look forward to our guests returning next summer.

Gorgeous!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quite simply the most outstanding holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. The house itself is immaculate and we truely enjoyed our time there. The location is lovely and the balcony to the side of the cottage is a sun trap, so many lovely hours spent watching the sea. The owners are really helpful and the cake left for us was delicious. Thank you for a wonderful holiday in your stunning house.

Louise from Durham stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in July 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for this super duper review, we are so pleased that our guests had a wonderful holiday staying with us. Family holiday time is so precious and we are happy to be part of the holiday memories for our guests.

Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to go for a two week stay this year (3rd time at Ross Bay) and we are so glad we did. The Old Cheeseloft is the perfect home from home. It has everything you need, beautifully decorated, fantastic location with lots to do nearby and Sue and family are just so lovely. The cake on arrival was superb ( much better than mummys!) and I don't think I have ever felt so at home in holiday acccomodation.
Thank you Sue for another fabulous stay.....see you next year x


Donna from Taynuilt stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 14 nights in June 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
It is always lovely when our guests return and still enjoy their stay with us. Home from home is what we aim for and its great that that is what our guests have experienced. There is always lots to see and do around the area whatever the weather. We look forward to welcoming our guests back next year.

Ross Bay Retreat, the name exactly describes the perfect location of three cottages.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came for peace and solitude, to be away from the turbulence of this modern world. The Old Cheeseloft on the edge of the bay is tastefully appointed, comfortable and well-equipped. A note of welcome, homemade cake and Cream of Galloway ice cream together with a visit from the owner is a lovely start to the holiday. For us, it is a perfect place to while away time.

Peter from Darlington stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in June 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
This is a lovely review for The Old Cheeseloft from our guests who have stayed with us a few times, and still appear to enjoy some time away from it all down here at Ross Bay - thank you.

Aperfect holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fifth visit to Ross Bay with a further three already booked.What more can I say!!!A fabulous cottage with amazing views bettered only by the chocolate cake that sits invitingly waiting for you on arrival..A warm kettle and a welcoming smile from Sue and her adorable family make you more than at home.We fell in love with this area when we first saw it and you will not find better accommodation or a warmer welcome anywhere.

Irene from Harrogate stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in May 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for this lovely review, it makes us really happy that our guests return and feel a home from home, along with planning return stays with us in the future. The beautiful area in which we live is always a draw to return we are sure!

Fantastic

Review submitted on Sat, 13 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about Ross bay was fantastic, the house, views, walks, the hosts and luckily for us the weather.
Can't wait till we go back.


Les from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in April 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this delightful review, short and simple, the weather always makes a good holiday even better! We look forward to our guests return.

Fantastic holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage in a brilliant location. Very clean, spacious and well equipped. The cake and ice cream were a welcome treat. We have already booked our next holiday in the cottage. We have also recommended the cottage to friends and family.

Stephen from Halifax stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in April 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for this super review, we are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay, treats and the location, and look forward to welcoming them back!

We will be back

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to Ross Bay retreat and once again it was brilliant. The view from the properties is stunning and everything was spot on. We will be back

Ruth from Thornton Dale stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in April 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this great review, we like the phrase "everything was spot on!" Look forward to your return.

We thought the best couldn't get better...

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
..but it just has. We had an amazing stay in The Old Cheeseloft. The cottage is beautifully furnished and kept, the area is amazing and the country was waking up for Spring - we saw hares, red deer, red kites and numerous birds, and that was just from the balcony! Friends were staying in Creel Cottage and they fell in love with the area as we have. We bumped into a Galloway Wild Foods foraging tour on Carrick Shore which was fascinating, and did a printing course at Kirkcudbright print studio. Sue's chocolate cake, and the warmth of the whole family's welcome are wonderful - to be honest, you'd come back just for the cake...

Liz from Wigton stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in April 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
What a review to have received - thank you so much. Springtime is rather special at Ross Bay, we have an abundance of wildlife along with the new farm life, lambs and calves! There is always plenty to see both at Ross and lots to see and do locally too.

I will return

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been before, and I will go back again, I am already looking forward to my next visit. Can I say more? ,

Christine from Birstall stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in March 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Short, sweet and to the point. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, see you again soon!

Weekend retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rossbay is a wonderful place to relax we love waking up and seeing the sea. The cottages have everything you need and are really well maintained and they are lovely and warm. Truly a place to relax.

Catherine from Rochdale stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 3 nights in February 2017


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this super review, we like the title of a weekend retreat, that short stay away to recharge your batteries on the darker winter months, enjoy some peace at Ross Bay.

Warm, winter hideaway!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I love to give feedback to service providers and the like... and often do it whether they ask for it or not! I rarely have no little nugget of constructive feedback for improvement. Not here though..Sue has thought of everything...it is perfect.
My top tip...pack your flip flops and t shirts whatever the season...the heating system is incredibly efficient...I was baking in sheepskin slippers and a fleece!


Claire from Keighley, stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in December 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Warm, winter hideaway - we really like the title for this review for The Old Cheeseloft. Thank you for taking the time to write us this review and we are overwhelmed that our guests thought that it was perfect - we do like to try hard though!

A very Happy New Tear

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thus was our third visit to Ross Bay Rettreat this year, although our first to the Old Cheeseloft. What has brought us back to these unique cottages, so beautifully situated is a) the warmth of the welcome by Sue, the owner, who is never faraway when you arrive. The heating was on, the kettle boliled ready for a cup of tea to have with the homemade cake and local ice cream. As it was still the Christmas season, the house was decorated, complete with large, lit tree with presents underneath; b) a cottage which can be described, not as a home from home, but as a home you dream about living in some day; c) the magnificent, unspoiled view of the bay and, when there are no clouds, the awesome night sky, seem in the darkness which is a rare occurrence in these times.

We had taken over by this cottage and the next Door Dairy House for a family New Year celebration. There were 11 of us, including 5 active children and everyone remarked on the privilege of being together in such a beautiful place.

With so many happy memories we can now begin to prepare for our next visit tto Ross Bay Retreat in June!















Neil from Darlington stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 3 nights in December 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this superb review to kick off the 2017 season. We are really pleased that our guests enjoyed their New Year celebrations down here at Ross Bay. It is always a delight decorating the cottages for the festive period and buying some presents with the hope of making someone smile. The great weather we have had down here have meant walks galore and great star gazing opportunities. Look forward to seeing you again in June.

location location location

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful, well equipped cottage in absolutely amazing location. Very helpful owners. Would love to stay again in the near future.

John from Pickering stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in December 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
A little break away before Christmas, and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Ross Bay. A chance to relax before the big day! We thank you for taking the time to write us this lovely review and look forward to seeing you again.

A Real Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect away from it all retreat - perfect for dog owners - plenty of walks from the house,
and facilities for hosing down Fido outside after a muddy walk


Janet from Easingwold, York stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in November 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this review. We like to think of it as a quiet retreat, walkers paradise and pooches welcome, so that all the family can enjoy some time away!

Ross Bay Retreat -the perfect antidote to life's stresses

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You know as soon as you arrive at The old Cheeseloft that you are a welcome guest and not just another customer. Owners Sue and her husband farm next door, and no sooner have you reached the door then Sue appears carrying a homemade cake and a tub of local ice cream. We stepped into the recently converted, professional designed house which was to be our home for a week. It took some effort to go and explore the area, so reluctant to leave the cottage. The view over Ross Bay was constantly changing and my wife and her friend settled themselves in window seats and painted.

The Old Cheseloft is one of 3 indivually designed cottages, all possessing that subtle touch of luxury which you are reluctant to jleave. The area, though, is worth exploring There are walks, beaches and, for me, Kirkcupbright, 4 miles away is a gem. It has become an artists' town but retains the charm of its past, and fishing boats are moored in the harbour. There are now large stores but enough small shops to keep a browser happy for a week.

This was our second visit this year to Ross Bay Retreat and our 2,daughters and their families are spending new Year there. We have booked for next because I know I shall be ready to Retreat again. Warm welcome, cosy,comfortable cottage and beautiful vistas sum up our stay at The Old Cheeseloft. I almost forgot to mention the spectacular night skies, awesome with no light pollution to mar the view,



Neil from Darlington stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in November 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this brilliant review. We are really pleased that our guests feel a personal welcome from us on their arrival as we try hard to make all our guests feel special and individual. Its very rewarding that our guests return to stay, and tell friends and family about their stay with us at Ross Bay. Look forward to getting the Christmas decorations up!

Absolutely lovely!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay at Ross Bay. The house is even better than the last one! Stunning location, fantastic house, nice and warm with beautiful furniture, fittings and decor in every room. Sue and family are very friendly and welcoming and make you feel at home. Seeing the deer almost every morning having her nibble of grass at the front of the house was brilliant! We will be back soon! Thanks again Sue.

Joanne from Dewsbury stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in October 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this humbling review. It says so much, means so much to us, and makes it very rewarding. The deer playing her part is something so special down here at Ross Bay. See you again soon.

Holiday hide away

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent time we had here relaxing great place to unwind so much to do if you are active or chill out watching the tide coming in and going out hope be back again soon

Sheila from Gretna stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in October 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely review. We like the phrase holiday hideaway, we are just out of the way at Ross Bay yet Kirkcudbright is only a short drive away. Hope to see you again soon too.

Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our holiday at Ross bay, the cheeseloft was absolutely fabulous. The view was spectacular and everything about it was very relaxing. Probably the most relaxing holiday ever. The cheeseloft is very comfortable with everything you need even ice cream in the freezer! We will be back as soon as possible.


Catherine from Rochdale stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in October 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Location, location, location and relaxation, relaxation, relaxation is the aim of a stay at Ross Bay! We are please that our guests enjoyed their stay in The Old Cheeseloft and look forward to welcoming them back.

Always a joy

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0



On Monday, 10 October 2016, 17:45, IRENE MCGIVERN wrote:


Staying at Ross Bay Retreat is always a pleasure.Just when we thought things could not get any better we find The Old Cheese Loft.Sue has really excelled herself here and the results are breath taking.Like homing pigeons we just keep going back.A warm and genuine welcome, boiling kettle and to die for chocolate cake is your first introduction to your chosen property and things only get better.Listening to the waves as you snuggle in bed, beautiful walks, a beach close by.Animals, great pubs and lovely shops. Pure perfection.


William from Pateley Bridge stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in September 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Homing pigeons is a great expression for our returning guests to use! It is comforting that our guests have enjoyed staying in our other cottages and still enjoy returning to Ross Bay. The sound of the sea and the breeze along the coast make for a great walk, or wildlife spotting. Thanks for this super review.

Excellent stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely week at Ross Bay Retreat, it's our 4th visit in the last 10 months and won't be our last. The. Cottages are always excellent and Sue and her family are delightful and can't do enough.

Kathleen from Morpeth stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in September 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
We always try and look after our guests and try and make their holiday special. It is great that our guests appreciate our efforts, and lovely when they return. Thank you for this lovely review.

very good

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage and area, Sue is very helpful and her family so friendly, nothing is too much trouble.

Guest from Birstall stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in September 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for this lovely simple review which makes us smile!

A fantastic cottage and location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Cheeseloft surpassed our expectations, which were high having viewed everything on the website. The location is quite wonderful with glorious sea views (in all weathers!) from the front, the fantastic balconies to sit on and the curlews and herons on the beach just outside. Sue has furnished the cottage with lovely calm colours and the latest, modern fixtures and fittings and there's lots of space. We couldn't have been more comfortable and the fact that you can take your dog with you is just perfect. We loved it - and will be back!

June from York stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 14 nights in September 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write us this splendid review. Our aim is to try and exceed our guests expectations and it is delightful to achieve. Listening to and seeing the local wildlife is a privilege and a great experience which we hope our guests relish.

Wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in the Old Cheeseloft for a week in August 2016 - such a beautiful cottage - there has been so much attention to detail with everything - from the fabulous decor and furnishings and sumptuous bed linen to the luxury soap and hand wash in all the bathrooms Added to this the location is stunning - fantastic views out to sea and the countryside around is teeming with wildlife! Cannot praise the Old Cheeseloft highly enough.

Peter from York stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 14 nights in August 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
It is very rewarding to receive such a lovely review, as we do try our hardest to make our guests feel welcome and cared for during their stay! It is perfect when our guests have time to stop and appreciate the countryside, seaside and all the wildlife just tootling around.

Another great stay at Ross Bay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We discovered Ross Bay a couple of years ago and decided to try out The Old Cheeseloft this year, we were certainly not disappointed. What a beautiful place to stay, it has everything you would need, plenty of space and is spotless. It is obvious that a lot of thought, time and effort have gone into creating such a fabulous haven. The furnishings, fixtures and fittings are all top quality, it is obvious that Sue takes pride in each house and rightly so. We enjoyed the homemade cake, which was amazing, and coffee on the patio with the children (safe and enclosed garden and patio) and a glass of wine in the evenings looking out over Ross Bay. If you are looking for quality accomodation with beautiful and peaceful surroundings with plenty to do near by this is the where you need to be. We enjoyed it so much we took some time out on our last night and booked for next year!! Thank you for a wonderful stay Sue and we will see you next time xx

Donna from Taynuilt stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in August 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
This is a lovely review for The Old Cheeseloft which is just up and running. We have tried to make each of the cottages slightly different but similar, and really enjoyed thinking of our guests, previous feedback and ideas when we were planning it all! We hope that our guests can arrive, relax, unwind and enjoy their stay with us so it is perfect for us when they book a return visit.

Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first time in The Old Cheeseloft, we have stayed in The Dairy House previously, the properties are excellent Sue thinks of everything her customer service is second to none, we always have a restful and lovely time.
We love the area the countryside is beautiful and Kircudbright is a very friendly town with everything you need. We are in The Old Cheeseloft again for a week in September, our fourth visit in ten months so I guess we must like it.


Kathleen from Morpeth stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in July 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
The Old Cheeseloft is just up and running so we are extremely please to receive such a lovely review from guests who have stayed with us before. We like to try and make our guests feel welcome and their happiness during their stay is very important to us. We look forward to welcoming our guests back again later in the year, and wonder which cake they may wish to sample on this visit?

The loveliest place we will ever stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had wonderful holidays in Creel Cottage and Dairy House (returning to Dairy House later this year) and are struggling for superlatives to describe The Old Cheeseloft. Each cottage at Ross Bay Retreat has its own character, and is perfect in its own way. Sue and family have worked wonders with the Old Cheeseloft. It is like staying in a luxurious show home, which manages to feel very welcoming, with everything you need for a perfect holiday thought of, including of course delicious chocolate cake!
The three cottages are very much secluded from each other, and the bay is such a tranquil spot that it's easy to relax really quickly. We settled in immediately and had a great break! There's loads to see and do locally if you can tear yourself away from watching the sea and the wildlife in the bay, and loads left on the list for next time!


Liz from Wigton stayed at The Old Cheeseloft for 7 nights in June 2016


Sue replied more than 1 year ago
We are bursting with pride at our first review for The Old Cheeseloft. When we look back to that empty shell at New Year and read how our guests have enjoyed their stay 6 months later we are pleased with the result. We have tried to have differences in our trio of cottages but maintain the same quality, along with a slightly differing style and theme. Our area is so great for exploring with many superb local attractions for guests to visit, and experience then return to Ross Bay to reflect, relax and idle the time away.