FB Twitter

The Coach House

The Coach House

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 23 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


A delightful Victorian Coach House offering beautifully presented first-floor accommodation with wonderful views over unspoilt countryside. It is well furnished and fully equipped to provide a cosy holiday home for two. There is a south facing garden with furniture and BBQ. Downstairs – entrance hall with utility area, separate drying room, integral garage. Upstairs – kitchen/dining room, spacious lounge, double bedroom, bathroom/WC with overbath shower. Heating & electricity included in price. Linen & towels provided.

A lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the Coach House four times and it has always proved excellent value for money. It is very comfortable, off the beaten track and very peaceful. The cottage is spacious and very well equipped. The owners are always very welcoming, helpful and friendly. I would recommend The Coach House to anyone who wants a quiet country holiday within easy reach of major towns and attractions.



Jean Stephens replied 86 days ago
Thank you for your review, it is always a pleasure to see you and we are pleased that you enjoy staying here.

Cosy and warm in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is cosy and warm, and furnished and equipped to a high standard. Set in beautiful surroundings there are many walks to be had, including directly from the cottage, and many things to be done within a short drive. Equally warm and welcoming were our hosts, helpful and very interesting to talk with but also leaving us to our privacy. Thank you - we'll be back !



Jean Stephens replied 109 days ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay - it was lovely to meet you both. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here and look forward to seeing you again.

Lovely little retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coach House is a great place to spend a week away from it all. The location is so peaceful and idyllic, yet convenient for day trips and shopping. The house itself is immaculately clean and has everything you need for your stay. The views from the windows and the little garden are stunning and we've been able to observe owls, kites, deer and other wildlife directly from there. It's just a lovely place to be.



Jean Stephens replied 123 days ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and being able to see wildlife from the cottage and garden.

An ideal place to stay and rest for a week or more

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very quiet location with plenty of opportunities for hikers and places to visit within a short distance.
We recommend to people who are looking for a very pleasant place to rest after the turmoil of modern life.

Pol & Véronique




Jean Stephens replied 130 days ago
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you found our farm to be an ideal place to rest.

The best cottage I have ever stayed in.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful location for wildlife, history and all round interest. The hosts were friendly and helpful and the cottage immaculate and comfortable. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a quiet break.



Jean Stephens replied 170 days ago
Thank you for your reviewing your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed spending time here.

Comfortable

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
For the second time we stayed a week in this comfortable and nice cottage. We have no negative remarks,




Jean Stephens replied 304 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed staying here again.

Lovely quiet place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After more than 12 stays in this cottage, it remains a favourite of ours! It has changed little in that time (over 10 years!) and we shall go there again, I'm sure.



Jean Stephens replied 353 days ago
Thank you for your review - have we really seen you that many times? We are pleased that you love staying here so much and always enjoy seeing you.

Review

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A charming little cottage equipped with all basic requirements. Everything was clean and well presented if not a little old fashioned. We were made very welcome and the lemon cake was much appreciated



Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay. It was lovely to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed the cake.

A perfect place to discover Hampshire. ery friendly owners.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coach House is a very nice, comfortable, warm cottage in a wonderful and quiet location. Very firiendly owners.



Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was lovely to meet you.

A break away in Hampshire

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coach House, set amid tranquil rural surroundings, provided a cosy, comfortable base from which to explore the wonders of Hampshire. There are many interesting places to visit within reach or the opportunity to relax in a peaceful environment. A warm welcome awaits you at Stubbs Farm.



Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased that you found plenty to do and also time to relax and enjoy the environment.

Review of The Coach House, Stubbs Farm, near Alton, Hants

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property and surrounding area was as described on the website and in reality even better. We were made very welcome by the owners and found the cottage comfortable and well equipped. Plenty of information is available on places to visit and things to do, including a lovely walk around the farm. A very peaceful and relaxing place for a holiday.



Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you had a good holiday and enjoyed your stay.

A country idyll

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were made very welcome by Jean and Robert when we arrived at the Coach House. We were delighted with the accommodation and the setting ....... with the added thrill of hot air balloons flying past! The house is well furnished and well stocked with crockery, cutlery etc. It is an ideal country setting for those wanting to "get away from it all", but it is only a short drive to "civilisation".



Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

A week at the Coach House

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a relaxing holiday at The Coach House.
The location was beautiful and the views were amazing.
The rooms were comfortable and the facilities were good.
Jean and Robert were friendly and helpful.
Thanks to our hosts, we had an enjoyable break.




Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - thank you for your kind words.

Lovely cottage in a lovely spot

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Coach House is such a comfortable little retreat away from it all that we would thoroughly recommend it to anyone seeking a quiet and peaceful holiday. The cottage itself is not only very cosy and clean and has absolutely everything you might need for a week, but it is also surrounded by beautiful fields and has a sunny garden from where you can watch red kites, bats, geese and hares. Despite this tranquillity, the location is excellent with easy access to all of Hampshires attractions. One of the best places we've been. We're already planning our next stay there.




Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Wow, thank you for your great review. We are so pleased that you had a good stay and look forward to seeing you again.

Feel comfortable and relaxed from the first moment of arrival to the end of the stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cannot imagine a better place to stay at any time during the year. Lovely cottage with helpful and welcoming owners! Beautifully
situated and a really interesting envir0nment.




Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and pleased that you enjoy staying here - it is always good to see you both.

Lovely stay on North Hampshire working farm

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The coach house had everything in it that was needed for a weeks stay. It was peaceful with a pretty setting & friendly hosts. We would be happy to stay there again.



Jan Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Environmentally friendly farm

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I liked the environmental credentials of the farm - a member of the environmental stewardship scheme, harvesting rain water, composting, recycling etc.
It's a convenient place for getting to various places in Hampshire such as Winchester, Gilbert White's House, Jane Austen's House. Buses go from Alton to various places, and train to London.




Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you liked our environmental policy - if we all do a little it all adds up to a lot.

STUBBS HOLIDAY COTTS

Review submitted on Mon, 23 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
GOOD LOCATION VERY COMFATABLE EVERYTHING YOU NEED HOME FROM HOME.LOTS TO DO AND SEE LOVERLY COUNTRYSIDE GOOD WALKS.GOOD HOASTS MAKE SURE YOU HAVE EVERY THING YOU WANT.



Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and had everything you needed. It was good to meet you both.

The coach house

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely surroundings enjoyed watching the wildlife especially the kestrels which were nesting in barn, everything was very clean and tidy and jean was as helpful as ever and her cake is a lovely touch, we would definitely stay again



Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time here and it was lovely to see you both again.

Wonderful, quiet scenic location in the South Downs National Park

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect cottage, very accessible for visiting family and friends in the
area, but set in a quiet rural location. Near many interesting historical
sites.




Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. It was good to see you both.

Lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The farm is in lovely countryside, with footpath nearby. There are lots of lovely villages near by. Although there is no wifi it is available in the nearby community shop.Spacious and well equipped for two people.



Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed discovering this lovely area of Hampshire. It was lovely to meet you both.

escape to the countryside

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very restful location a very happy and comfortable stay . with wonderful views of the countryside .first time for us self catering and it works so well on arrival jean had baked lemon drizzle cake which was delicious a lovely peaceful stay



Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it was lovely to meet you both.

Exemplary!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the Coach House for many years now and the standard in all respects has always been very high. No particular frills or luxuries but very good value for money. Very friendly and welcoming hosts!



Jean Stephens replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to see you both.