FB Twitter

The Coach House

The Coach House

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


As the Gitcombe Estate appears through the dense trees that border its long drive, it’s clear you've arrived somewhere very special. The setting, in its own private valley, is both magical and instantly relaxing with beautiful rural views stretching as far as the eye can see. Recently listed in The Times' 50 Best Cottages for Summer feature, the cottages themselves are stylish, luxurious, and, despite their high level of sophistication, wonderfully child-friendly. The location is pretty special too being less than five miles from the bistros and boutiques of the yachting town of Dartmouth and roughly the same to the award-winning and beautiful bay at Blackpool Sands. The eight stylish cottages boast luxurious bathrooms and designer kitchens and share facilities that could rival a five star hotel with an elegant pool house complete with indoor heated pool, Klafs sauna and steam rooms, outdoor sundeck with hot tub, outdoor pool, tennis courts and pre-bookable beauty treatments. Gitcombe is as enchanting for kids as it is for their parents thanks to the carved wooden playground, indoor soft play room and opportunity to play spot the moo cow across the valley whilst splashing about in the outdoor hot tub.


Accommodation Overview:

The Coach House was the original farmhouse at Gitcombe and is now a chic country cottage blending charming architectural features with contemporary style and luxury. The open plan living, dining area boasts slate flagstone floors and original inglenook fire for atmospheric, cosy winter evenings but is backed up by full central heating. There's a TV, Freeview box plus CD and DVD players. The spacious kitchen area features both an Aga and a Fisher Paykel conventional oven with hob in an island unit. There are granite work tops, stainless steel American style fridge/freezer, Miele dishwater, Miele washer-drier and microwave. There's a ground floor cloakroom and lobby with gently curving stairs (stairgate provided) leading to the first floor bedrooms which comprise a super-king double and a twin, both with space for a cot. They share a large bathroom with sunken bath (shower over) and limestone floor. French doors from the lounge lead to large patio with wooden table and chairs, plus a miniature Lutyens’ style garden bench for mini guests and a charcoal BBQ. Sleeps 4 + 2 infants.

PLEASE NOTE: Gitcombe provides un-assembled ‘pop up’ style travel cots, so please be aware that you will need to erect the cot before bedtime.

A slice of heaven in Devon!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at Gitcombe and would thoroughly recommend it for any family seeking a relaxing place to spend time. The facilities for kids were fantastic, our toddler loved the playground, basketball net and of course the indoor and outdoor swimming pools. Having access to an indoor pool was especially good, given we stayed in a week of wet weather, but despite this we could easily have not even left the Estate! Although there was plenty to see and do nearby, with a short drive to great beaches, castles and small towns. We wished we had booked an extra week! The owners had dealt with the Covid restrictions very well, everything was spotlessly clean and there was a system for getting hour long slots in the pools and tennis court, which all of the families respected and meant that everyone got a go on everything each day. Plenty of sanitation points and sprays everywhere so everything was cleaned between uses. We can’t wait to go back!

Guest from Hemel Hempstead stayed at The Coach House for 7 nights in August 2020


Lovely Devon Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The coach house was very comfortable and well equipped, with good downstairs space to spend time as a family when the weather was less good. The Gitcombe estate was immaculate and a very nice place to spend time. The on site facilities were great and very clean.

Jonathan from St Albans stayed at The Coach House for 7 nights in July 2020


A relaxing week at Gitcombe

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are a family of four (two sons aged 24 and 21) just returned from a wonderful peaceful week at Gitcombe. We stayed in the Coach House, which was the perfect size for us. The cottage was lovely, spotless, comfortable and of a very high standard. The kitchen had everything that you could need and we lit a cosy fire every night. We all loved the indoor pool, steam room and sauna and spent many hours in the outdoor hot tub gazing at the beautiful views and cows on the hill. The pool complex was like a luxury spa and super clean. It is amazingly quiet, with no distant road or airplane noise. We had a wonderful time exploring the area, renting a boat in Dartmouth, hiking in Dartmoor, visiting tiny villages, Agatha Christie's home, Powderham Castle, and eating lots of great seafood, sampling wines and cheeses at Sharpham Winery and enjoying local ales and gins at the Malster's Arms. Peter couldn't have been more helpful and his dad chased after us when we left, worried that the bike wasn't secured to the back of the car well enough! Great customer service! We would return in a heartbeat.

Sara from Winchester stayed at The Coach House for 7 nights in September 2019


Nowhere Better

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been going to Gitcombe every Summer now since 2013. We simply love it here. The location is idyllic, the houses all have their own individual styles and the facilities are first class. Add to these the friendly and attentive owners Peter and his Dad Rodney then all the ingredients are there for a top stay.


Mark from Running Hill Lane stayed at The Coach House for 21 nights in July 2019


Brilliant House, stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the best self catering cottage we have ever had, mattress was a touch lumpy but we are fussy because we both have different pain issues! That is me being super fussy, the cottage was very well equipped, clean and had very large rooms. We loved the location and proximity to the river and coast. Gitcombe is a stunning complex nestled in the elbow of a beautiful valley, the peace is unrivalled and leisure facilities are all anyone could ask for, it was lovely to have access to beach stuff meaning we didn’t need to bring it.
Overall a huge success, if we ever come back to Devon we will certainly come back to stay at Gitcombe, it is unbeatable.


Sarah from Harrington stayed at The Coach House for 6 nights in June 2019


Amazing location and house

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing and relaxing, amazing location very peaceful team could not have been any more helpful to make the weekend unforgettable

Christina from Birmingham stayed at The Coach House for 2 nights in June 2019


Jolly good holiday break.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not find any fault with this holiday let. Excellent in every way.We would definitely recommend this place to any one who asked.

Eileen from Tenterden stayed at The Coach House for 5 nights in May 2019


Family celebration

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife & I booked Coach House & 2 other cottages at Gitcombe House for a week at half term to celebrate a 70th birthday with our children & grandchildren. The combination of comfortable, well equipped & furnished accommodation in beautiful surroundings plus the wonderful facilities - especially the pool complex - perfectly suited all age groups in our party. It was a very memorable birthday celebration.

Stuart from Amersham stayed at The Coach House for 7 nights in May 2019


The perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gitcombe is in the most stunning location, it's beautiful, tranquil and immediately makes you feel that you are on holiday somewhere special.
The Coach House was well equipped for both of our children, 7 months and 4 years old, and was still luxurious yet homely. The facilities were fantastic, our eldest child loved the playground (which was amazing) and the tennis/basketball court. The swimming pool was also enjoyed by all of us. Thoughtful extras were what really set Gitcombe apart for us, including the toy shed which had everything possible to be used freely by guests.
Finally, Peter and his team were friendly, accommodating and so helpful both in their communication before our stay and during.
We had an unforgettable holiday and would highly recommend to others.


Katie from Ripley stayed at The Coach House for 7 nights in May 2019


Wonderful

Review submitted on Thu, 09 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great time had by all, the children loved the facilities specially the hot tub. Peter and Emma were so friendly and helpful we couldn’t have had a better time in such beautiful surroundings.

Lynda from Petworth stayed at The Coach House for 4 nights in May 2019


Outstanding

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of four had the pleasure of staying at the Coach House, Gitcombe from 19th - 24rd April (Easter 2019 weekend). We were greeted by the adorable Rod and son Peter, whose warm friendly approach made us feel immediately home.
Gitcombe is the most stunning of places to visit with breathtaking views worth seeing.
Facilities on site are amazing with tennis court, playground, indoor and outdoor swimming pools, sauna, wet room, soft play and enough grass to roll around in.
Gitcombe is located close to Dartmouth and the beautiful village of Dittisham and The stunning Blackpool Sands beach.
There are plenty of wonderful places to eat including Rockfish (Dartmouth).
Overall, we had the most wonderful weekend, helped by the amazingly hot weather. Gitcombe is on our list of places to return to and someone we would highly recommend to others.


Kerry from Saffron Walden stayed at The Coach House for 5 nights in April 2019


"in a world of it own"

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Advertised as "in a world of its own" well what can I say - a hidden gem in a Devon valley. This is one of the best boutique holiday cottages I have staying for a very long time. Hidden away as you drive down the entrance to a cluster of different size cottages to suit all. Indoor and outdoor pools and much more for all the family. I'll be back

Mike from stayed at The Coach House for 2 nights in February 2019


Happy short Devon break

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a very happy relaxing stay at Gitcombe country cottages. We stayed in The Coach House which was very cosy with an Aga and wood burning stove. We made good use of the wonderful indoor swimming pool. We will be returning for a family holiday in August next year .

Claire from Dinton, Nr Aylesbury stayed at The Coach House for 4 nights in December 2018


Summer 2018 stay in the Coach House

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location, great facilities and very friendly & helpful staff! Would definitely recommend and we hope to come back!

Alistair from London stayed at The Coach House for 7 nights in July 2018


Peaceful week in an idyllic setting

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay very much
The house is very well equipped for toddlers and babies
The houses and grounds are stunning and the owners are very friendly and responsive
We wouldn’t have needed to leave the place had it not rained on a couple of days
We hope to go back again


Rouba from Poole stayed at The Coach House for 7 nights in June 2018