FB Twitter

Rose Cottage

Rose Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 57 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.7


Just perfect for a romantic break away in one of the most historic towns in Southern England.

One double bed and an external day room with a fold out chair bed.

Lovely little cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage close to centre of Arundel, able to walk to shops, restaurants, pubs and the lido. It had everything we needed, except parking could be a bit of a problem some nights.



Lovely little cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely little honeymoon stay here, with our little dog. after having our wedding reception just up the road at South Stoke. It was perfect for us and a lovely location, close to the town and with lots of lovely walks near by. Only a short drive to the beach too which we've missed since moving to the midlands. Really comfortable and clean cottage with everything we needed and we loved the log burner. My husband knocked his head a few times on the stairs but we were aware that this could be a problem before we came.



Great stay

Review submitted on Wed, 05 May 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is well kept and in a great location, close to everything. It was perfect for us, family of three, but it's not large and spacious (which we knew and were fine with, we weren't planning on spending lots of time inside). The wood burning stove was great and kitchen well equipped although was unable to find a cutting board.
The only negative comment is the cleaning could have been to a higher standard, for example some knobs in the kitchen were grimy, hair in the cutlery tray, calc build-up on the taps. We weren't fussed but some guests (esp in these covid times) might be a bit more fussy. There also wasn't any hand sanitizer (Amberley cottages said this would be available in the property) but we had our own so again, not that fussed.




A Cosy Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Apr 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rose Cottage is conveniently situated close to the centre of Arundel. It is 5 mins from the Castle Estate where you can walk your dog or just walk. It is less than 10 mins to the town centre.

The cottage is small but has everything you need. The description does not do it justice. The kitchen is very well stocked with every utensil you can possibly need. The sign of a good cottage, there are champagne glasses as well as wine! The lounge is comfortable, there is good heating and a wood burner.

If you are tall you may find doorways a problem and the staircase is steep and not suitable for the infirm. If pressed the one area for improvement is the mattress. Parking is free but occasionally you have to search for a space which can be awkward but then you are in town and on a hill.

Overall a lovely place for a few days holiday.




Comfortable bijou cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Dec 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage is fine for a couple but a third person would have to sleep in the studio across the back yard. We had hoped to use the studio to work on some projects but there was insufficient room there and no table. Nevertheless we had a good week and enjoyed our stay.



A long awaited week away.

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A delayed week away in a delightful Cottage. Well equipped and spotlessly clean. A good base for exploring the area with lovely walks. Arundel is lovely with lovely places to eat, especially the Black Rabbit pub and Osteria Pappardella.



Our stay at Rose Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd time staying here. Great location with the main town easily accessible. Lovely walks and other places within driving distance.
The cottage is lovely although at 6'3 it did present a minor problem for me but not my wife when coming down the stairs but then I already knew that !
We both really enjoyed this lovely cottage as did the dogs. We'll be back!




Highly recommended.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable little cottage in a convenient location. With plenty to do locally. We had a great holiday.



Rose Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in this wonderful, pretty, well located cottage which was 6-7 minute walk into the centre of Arundel. The cottage was small but perfectly formed and had everything we needed for our week long stay. When we arrived, it was welcoming and very clean. It's really very difficult to find any negative points - I suppose a larger cafetier for 2 cups would have been useful. Would highly recommend.



A very pleasant stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tastefully refurbished cosy little cottage for 2 people. The kitchen is well equipped apart from the lack of storage.



Lovely short break at Rose Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great stay at Rose Cottage. It is a charming cottage in the beautiful town of Arundel. It was very clean and well equipped. We had everything we needed and we had a comfortable stay. It was nice to have some outdoor space too. Appreciated the coffee/tea/biscuits provided. As Amberley mention in the cottage description, the stairs are a bit steep but my four year old managed fine and just need to take your time. Parking can be tight in the hill but we never had an issue getting a space. It's such a great location. Close to pubs and restaurants walking distance and 20 min drive to the beach. We would happily recommend others to stay and hope to return.



Kitchen well equipped but.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Feb 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good overall but no storage space for food,cans ,cereal etc.Tea and coffee provided but would be nice if a pint of milk was in the fridge,



Great location

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jan 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed several times and there are never any issues. Peaceful, quiet and relaxing. I love the log burner for cold evenings and the patio for summer days.



Not ideal for a romantic break...

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Whilst it is a nice cottage and well maintained the bed is really not suitable for two adults. It is far too small and very soft. We spent 3 nights of having really disturbed sleep before giving up and going home early.

Advice to management - invest in a bigger bed!




Amberley House Cottage olidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing Rose Cottage. The bed is a standard double and is advertised as such.

Our stay at Rose Cottage, Arundel

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful find! Booking with the company was straightforward and staff extremely helpful. The cottage was gorgeous. Clean, stylish and comfortable. Close to the town centre, a matter of minutes, made our stay accessible to all the amenities. All the pubs are dog friendly, a bonus, and the food served was lovely. Because of its location it meant exploring the area was easy especially if you enjoy walking. The Black Rabbit is a good walk along the river but well worth it.
We came away feeling refreshed and ready to plan our next stay at the cottage.
Thanks to all the staff at Amberley House Cottage Holidays group.




A lovely weekend retreat for two

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a sweet little cottage in a lovely quiet situation, as long as you don't mind hills! We were concerned about parking, but in fact street parking was never a problem. The cottage is extremely well equipped, warm and comfortable, spotlessly clean, and decorated in a way which is modern yet completely in keeping with the building. Just one thing to note: there is no proper handrail for the very steep open-tread staircase (we were surprised that the people who approve cottages hadn't insisted on one) so you need to be very sure-footed - or come down backwards as I did! Overall, the perfect place for a quiet weekend.



Beautiful Cottage in quiet corner of historic Arundel.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hard to fault this lovely little cottage. Easy parking close by. Beautifully appointed in every way and only a short walk from everything in Arundel. We enjoyed a lovely stay.



A pleasant stay

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I spent a very pleasant week at Rose Cottage. We felt completely at home there and the high standard of the amenities provided ensured that we were very comfortable and happy. The location was ideal for local walks and visits to many valuable cultural centres nearby.



Small, but perfectly formed!

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in Rose Cottage! It’s small, but it has everything that you need. The kitchen is very well-equipped, the shower is powerful and the bed is comfortable. The cottage was lovely and clean; we also really liked the ‘mid-stay freshen up’ that was offered free of charge during our two week stag. It was nice to have the towels and bedding changed halfway through our time there. The location is great - very close to Arundel’s Main Street. We got fit walking up and down the hill after eating all the delicious food that’s on offer in the area. As well as eating lots, we enjoyed the walks close to the cottage for our dogs. The lake walk was beautiful and got the muscles moving. We loved every minute of it and will be back for a visit!



Cosy little cottage in a peaceful location.

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is in a quiet location within walking distance of Arundel town centre.It is has everything you need and is nicely furnished, comfortable bed including the one in the annexe which is a proper single bed (not a chair bed as in the details) Courtyard garden which gets the morning sun. Perfect for a relaxing break away from it all. Arundel has some good individual restaurants, cafes, shops including antique shops and of course the castle and cathedral and plenty of green space with the coast 20 minutes drive away.



Andrew Gardner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and we are glad you had a comfortable stay at Rose Cottage. We have updated our records regarding the single bed, so thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Easter break

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful cottage and good to sit outside in sunny spot. The outside bedroom was even better than in the photographs and a very comfy real bed.



Lovely cosy contemporary cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage, everything we needed and very organised inside. The studio room was great,esp with its en suite toilet room, and very warm. Location in heart of arundel was fantastic, lovely garden patio. We had a cosy log fire easy to light. Would definitely recommend. I will be going back.



Small Beautiful Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay as it is close to where we live but we could be hundreds of miles away.
Nice seated area outside at the back for sunny days but also lovely log burner for cold evenings.
Bed comfortable and everywhere sparkling clean. A new sofa has appeared this year but I found that it wasn't very 'cosy' however that is my only negative point.
Would certainly book again (we go to several cottages throughout the year but this is the only one we return to)




New Year Break

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous little cottage in an ideal location for exploring the local area. Rose cottage was kept very clean and in good condition. The only tiny little downside was that it is only a small place and so storage in the kitchen and the bedroom is limited, this in no way spoilt anything though as it is a lovely cosy little place and we loved it and would recommend it.



Weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Location was great and the cottage was well equipped generally but the bed was soooo uncomfortable! A new mattress is needed. You cannot solve this by putting a horrible memory foam topper on it and please lose the rubberised mattress protector!!!!



Thank you Amberley House Cottage Holidays!

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With a family wedding on the horizon, why drive across south east England to Arundel Cathedral just for a quick stop. Why not trawl the cottages in the town via Amberley House Cottage Holidays? Having already had good service from the company for previous South Downs holidays, I booked a super home for a five-day stay and by luck it was a two-minute stroll to the cathedral. Perfect! Comfy super clean cottage, sun shine in the garden and perfect for visits to Parham House, a South Downs walk and six hours strolling around Arundel Castle. The wedding was brilliant too!



Pleasant stay in Arundel

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Pretty little cottage in a lovely little town. Within walking distance to the Castle so able to avoid parking fees! The cottage itself was good for me as I was having a solo break. Space wasn't issue although if there was more than 2 guests, they might struggle as it is a very small cottage. The stairs/steps are small and you have to walk sideways down them as they aren’t very wide. I had a bit of an issue getting my large suitcase up them but I saw that as a part of the quirkiness. The cottage was warm and comfortable and had all the things you would need for a stay. I loved sitting outside the back of the cottage and having the annex is a great idea.

However, a couple of niggles - one being the smell of dog. It was noticeable for me every time I sat on the sofa and did put me off a bit. But, this was only on/by the sofa and nowhere else. It would also be massively helpful if guests could be left some milk (at least) for their stay. I had to go back out when I arrived to find a shop and then lost my parking space. If you get back later than half 4....there isn’t anywhere to park in the road outside the cottage. I didn’t have a problem as I was back before this time most days but others might. Also please get rid of the sponge pillows! I loved the bedroom but these gave me neck ache by day 2.

However, I would definitely stay again now I know the area a bit better.

Tip - if you buy the gold plus ticket for the castle, they give you a £4.50 voucher to spend in the shop and cafe.






Rose Cottage, a home from home.

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rose Cottage is a gorgeous small cottage in Arundel. Good location for visiting the attractions in Arundel with easy access to main roads for going to Chichester and the coast at Selsey. Arundel has lovely restaurants which we enjoyed visiting, especially China Palace and Osteria, whilst the cottage contained everything we needed to cook with. It was a welcome home from home whilst officiating at the Goodwood Revival race meeting. It was our second visit to this cottage and we hope to return again next year.



Arundel Festival week

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy cottage, very comfortable and well furnished. The 'out building' was very useful. Great location - only a walk up the hill to the park and a walk down into town. So nice not to have to get into the car (apart from getting to the beach). Arundel is a great place to holiday.



Small but lovely cottage in a beautiful small town

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
- Rather small but very cosy cottage but we were aware about the size already when we were booking (taller people have to mind their head though due to the low ceilings ;-)
- clean and tidy
- Arundel itself is a nice small town with a large castle and beautiful landscape, good as a homebase for exploring the southeast of England, the sea, Brighton and London are all good destinations for trips
- we were very happy to find out that the cottage actually has free Wifi although it wasn't advertised online
- nice customer support, free cleaning on midstay




Lovely little cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time that we have stayed at Rose Cottage and we enjoyed it more than the first
We had the hottest April and so were able to sit in the garden. Then towards the end of the week we had heavy April showers and the temperature dropped so were able to enjoy the wood burning stove. We had the best of both worlds.
Arundel is a short walk away (some steep streets to climb but good exercise!) and has plenty of good pubs and coffee shops as well as book and antique shops.
The cottage is small but ideal for two or three people. We will certainly return for the total tranquillity of it.




Wonderful cosy cottage in great location

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Near the Cathedral and wonderful parkland 2 minutes walk away this was ideal for us and our dogs. Loads to do and see in beautiful Arundel



Weekend break at Rose Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Rose Cottage was very enjoyable. Good location although it was difficult finding suitable parking near the property.
The facilities provided were of a very high standard and the log fire was a delight. We hope to return for a longer stay in the new year.Highly recommended.




Ideal for two and very handy for enjoying Arundel.

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Nov 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely little cottage ideal for two. The stairs need care especially going down. Otherwise can highly recommend for a stay in Arundel.




Home From Home

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely peaceful stay at Rose Cottage.
Cottage small but perfect with a well stocked kitchen and an inviting wood burning stove.
Great walks and scenery and handy local shops including a butchers, a deli and plenty of tea rooms and pubs to choose from.
Unfortunately the castle wasn't open (we went for my birthday in November) but not to worry as we have rebooked Rose Cottage next year when the Castle will be open and we are looking forward to another week of relaxation.




Visit to Arundel

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Oct 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely quaint cottage. It is small but perfect for 2. Ideally positioned for walks and town centre



A September visit to

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a great location, although car parking was a bit of a problem at times.
We stayed here primarily to attend the Goodwood Revival but also had a few days holiday and found it much more cost-effective than staying in a local hotel or one of the national chains of hotels.
Rose Cottage made a great base for exploring the West Sussex area with easy access to the A27 and down to the coast, with some lovely local walks.
Inexpensive local tea-rooms and restaurants to eat out in but also had everything we needed in the cottage to cook our own meals and relax in front of the wood-burner.
Hopefully we will return.




Staying at Rose cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice cottage and great surroundings, however the stairs are very very steep and headroom was a real problem, particularly when descending. Also there was very little storage, for hanging clothes there was only one small landing cupboard from which we had to remove the hoover and bucket in order to get our clothe in it, and three very small sets of drawers (bedside cabinet size) which you could get hardly anything in.



Stay in Arundel

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely but the stairs are very steep a little bit scary no coffee/table in front room we also didn't realise Arundel was so hilly!!but still a great stay



Fab holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage in ideal location. Quiet and relaxing. Perfect cottage for 2. Stairs were steep and shower cubicle a little small but did not impact on the enjoyment of the holiday



Rose Cottage Stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable stay in this cottage. It is well positioned for the town. The stairs took a bit of getting used to and definitely not good for someone who is tall. The parking was slightly difficult at times and took some skill to get into the small spaces that were available. That said this cottage is charming & was worth the hassle.



Great cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cottage for a couple. Facilities in the cottage were perfect and location brilliant for all of the many local attractions. Only down side were the stairs. .. not recommended for use by anyone tall. With no hand rail it didnt feel very safe.
This is onky a minor point in an otherwise fabulous cottage.




A happy experience.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well planned and highly equipped cottage with a tiny outside space. The Housekeeper (Christoher Hill) very quickly sorted out a couple of glitches and made us feel welcome. Location suited us very well for quick access to the Downs and to the Arundel Wetlands Centre, great features of our stay.



ROSE COTTAGE ARUNDEL

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay in the cottage. Its in a lovely location to explore Arundel and the surrounding area.
Would recommend a trip to Portsmouth Historic Dockyard which includes the Mary Rose exhibition which was excellent.
What we would say is that parking could be a problem at busy times of the year as it hasn't got its own parking space. Parking is in the road adjacent to the cottage.
Also the plug in the bathroom basin doesn't keep water in the sink so that is something that should be fixed.
Having said that we would definitely stay here again.




An Arundle Gem

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Arundle simply because I used to drive past it on business years ago and thought it looked nice - what an understatement. Absolutely fabulous historic town (you MUST take the historic walking tour) and Rose Cottage is the perfect base.
Stunningly restored and equipped cottage which is totally perfect for a couple to stay in the heart of town. Hard to know what to stay other than we always stay self catering and have done so all over the UK and abroad and Rose Cottage is up there with our favorites. We will be booking again at some point in the future.




Second time in Rose Cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love the cottage, its surroundings and the village. Still not done hiking and walking the dog in the neighborhood.



Quite positive

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely town, Arundel.

Cottage was quite nice, it is small, as advertised. It would get an Excellent if the mattress had been better. We picked up extra blankets from the "Annex" and lay them on the mattress to disguise the springs.

Yes I did hit my head on the stairs, going up not down. Maybe they need a sign each way.

Value for money would have been very good if we didn't have to deal with Goodwood Pricing, which is a problem throughout the area.

FWIW we have decided that Goodwood Revival has become a bit of a circus and the motor racing isn't worth the cost and crowds any more.




Lovely property and location

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Absolutely charming and well equipped property. Brilliant location in Arundel. Very good bathroom and shower facilities with great water pressure.

Very glad that the property is dog friendly.

Feedback for improvements: The cost to change the booking was, in my experience, quite high. Also it would have been nice to have at least one spare towel provided.

Parking can be a problem, which could have been highlighted better in the description.




Quaint country cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Dec 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
i stayed at Rose Cottage for a little over a week while I had some building work done on my house. It is quaint and nicely restored in keeping with the town. I had a couple of issues early on but these were corrected immediately by Christopher so no problem there.
As some previous reviewers have mentioned, the staircase is tricky, especially if you are taller. The kitchen is well stocked and the log burner is a delight.
For Arundel the huge bonus was being able to park outside and it's only a short walk into town for shopping, sightseeing or meals out.




Great weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Rose Cottage to be a cozy, comfortable wee cottage in the heart of Arundel. We stayed for a long weekend in November. It was the perfect size for my husband and I and our small dog. The stairs are not the easiest if you have any mobility/balance issues. Local events notated on the calendar was a nice touch and the Cottage itself is well presented and kitchen well equipped.



Relaxing break in Rose Cottage, Arundel

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic 4 nights in Arundel. Rose cottage was in an ideal location, clean and cosy and had everything we needed.



Lovely long weekend accommodation with a friendly pub very close by. Would recommend.

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A most accomodation with all the necessary comforts for a short stay. A very welcoming feel.
Would recommend




A perfect location to stay in Arundel

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage but the heating did not work on our second day so we did not have any warm water or heating. We phoned the caretaker and he came and topped op the Central heating so that we could have a shower. The heating could not be repaired during our stay and the caretaker offered us another cottage 50 yards away from Rose cottage, and we moved into Daisy cottage in the afternoon. There was also a problem with the heating at Daisy cottage, the thermostat didn’t work and luckily there was an override switch that we used. A few days later there was a new thermostat installed and the problem was resolved. A tip for the owners, do more maintenance to ensure that the heating is working and do something about the draft from the back door.
We enjoyed our stay in Arundel and Daisy cottage, the cottage was fully equipped, had everything we needed and was very comfortable, we had a great time in and around Arundel.
Overall a lovely property and destination, a Perfect base for exploring Sussex and the south coast.




Great cottage in great location

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice cottage located on the edge of Arundel and within walking distance of both the town and superb countryside walks. We stayed for 3 nights in early October and would thoroughly recommend both cottage and location. Very relaxing!



Great location, clean, well stocked and cosy for 2, possibly 3 people.

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Rose Cottage. Christopher was very prompt to respond with a few questions and issues we were having which were resolved. The cottage was warm and cosy, quite small but fine for 2 people. The 2nd bedroom is not attached to the property but only on the other side of the courtyard. Its a very quiet location but still only 5-10min walk to the centre of Arundel. The cottage was clean, had a well-stocked kitchen, good internet and netflix for rainy nights. The main bedroom was comfortable and with a nice sized fairly modern bathroom. The stairs are quite steep and narrow so you need to concentrate! If you have a car there is free on street parking nearby if not out the front.We would stay again and enjoyed our time very much.



Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very cosy cottage with all amenities on hand. Excellent shower room and comfortable bedroom. The location is perfect for Arundel and you can walk to all restaurants and Pubs. Very close to the castle and gardens. An excellent break for the two of us and our two small dogs.



Small but comfortable.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have to adapt to the size, but a small cottage isn't a problem. Parking has always been available reasonably close by. The facilities and equipment are good quality and we have always had a comfortable stay.