FB Twitter

Fingle Caban

Fingle Caban

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


"Enjoy the simple pleasures that being surrounded by nature bring in this luxury hand-crafted glamping caban for two, in a secluded location on Dartmoor with wonderful views up a wooded valley to the moor. Recharge your batteries away from the stresses of every day life"

Wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful magical place. The caban was a perfect retreat but the surrounding area with its views, wildlife and sense of tranquility blew us away.



Perfect civilised comfortable camping for a couple.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely relaxing get away, in the woods almost. Civilised, warmed by a wood burning stove if needed, great for toasting marshmallows (provided!). Lane up starts steeply. Can drive up with care if it’s dry. Turning difficult...so walk!
Leave your mobile phone (but good reception if you must...)
Wonderful!




Brilliant

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay at Fingle Caban. Off the beaten track in a secluded area where we were not disturbed by anyone. Extremely peaceful and quiet with exquisite scenery. The walks and lake are breathtaking and the hosts were very helpful and friendly. The perfect retreat for the outdoors lover.



Wonderful!

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The caban has a wonderful view! We really enjoyed our stay! There was more then enough to do. The only thing we mist was Some extra kitchen utensils. Vicki had lots of tips to do, wrote down in a book in the caban. Thank you!




Fingle caban was a delight

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fingle caban is perfectly situated on a hill overlooking a valley with rolling hills behind. It offers a great opportunity to get away in an intimate setting



Perfect country escape!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Caban is amazing, with stunning views and excellent facilities, you really feel tucked away on your only little hill! Really lovely extras like a great stack of wood for bbqs, fully equipped kitchen with fresh eggs and marshmallows and the best view from a loo in England! Loved swimming in the rivers nearby, and we can't wait to return!



Little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite only being a short drive away from Exeter, the Caban felt a million miles away from anywhere. Sitting in the hammock with a good book and those views was just perfect.
The Cavan was very cosy and comfortable and we loved the fire pit outside where we cooked a couple of meals.
We went down to the Weir for a (chilly!) swim - we’re so glad we did.
The location was great too, and from there we went to Plymouth, Torquay etc with no problems.




Splendid place

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderfully peaceful couple of days, walking along the river and wobbling around on bikes. We thoroughly recommend it.



Perfect getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quiet and picturesque - perfect place to spend time away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The Caban was comfortable with a great little wood burner for a chilly evening. Outdoor fire pit was a good size for cooking and to warm up after a long day of walking. Surrounding area has plenty to offer - we enjoyed exploring a few of the local walks through Fingle woods, Castle Drogo and Moretonhampstead. A welcome book was provided to inform of many more walks/activities which are available.



Family Getogether

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great time when family from Ireland, OZ and England got together at beautiful Clifford Barton. The Caban was a lovely addition to the accommodation in Buttermere, down at the farm. Lovely peaceful location with gorgeous views. Simple living at its best.



Fantastic weekend getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Caban over a weekend, it was beautiful weather which added to the amazing views surrounding the Caban. The caban has everything you need and further facilities are a short walk down the lane. Vicki was a brilliant host, kept her distance to ensure the Caban was private but on hand if we needed to ask questions. There are labels on everything which is a great way to ensure you know what is what and keep yourself secluded around the Caban. The information folder included had lots of great ideas and detailed directions to get the river paths. Wild swimming in the river is a must, refreshing but lovely and clean and calm. Brilliant stay and would love to go back again.



A weekend in paradise

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Oh what can u say about this beautiful caban. The beautiful setup, the hammock, bbq and cooking facilities are just excellent.
When u r not rocking on the hammock u are alive with nature.
The views and absolute gorgeousness of the place is superb.
Hosts are brilliant and the weekend was something we will never forget.
Thank you Vicki
Xxx




Amazing weekend break

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely lovely weekend staying in Fingle Caban - despite arriving in grey drizzly weather, we were taken aback by the amazing views of the valley from the cabin and the cabin itself.

Outside there is a natural toilet, picnic bench, lounge chairs, a covered cooking area (fitted with a double gas cooker and all plates, cutlery, pans etc. provided) and a fire pit. The toilet is as glamorous as a natural toilet can be - very clean and well kept with fairy lights for a little spruce. We absolutely loved the fire pit which had homemade chairs and tables to sit around the fire.

The cabin itself is incredibly clean and cosy with a small wood burner and heaps of blankets. The bed was comfy and could fold into a sofa and it seemed the hosts had thought of everything as there were board games and even a jar of marshmallows to toast on the fire.

The location is around a five minute walk from the cottages up a hill path, however you felt as secluded as if you were hours from everyone. At the bottom of the hill path there is a lovely, clean shower/bathroom and a games barn which is located alongside the other cottages. It was lovely to be able to walk to the shower/bathroom in 5 minutes but be far enough from people to have absolute privacy.

We had a great time on the bikes that can be used and there are heaps of walks and rides to do in the area, the hosts were great for recommendations. The hosts were great, they were there if we needed any help but just left us to it. We had a great time and we will definitely be staying again! Thank you!





Relaxing, peaceful break

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a real treat to spend time at Fingle Caban. The owners have really thought the set up through and it all works very well. Perfect location for walking and we spent our days walking to a village for a pub lunch and walking back. The owners were never intrusive, being there if you needed them. Having a fridge, shower and toilet available were a real bonus (although the compost loo was perfectly fine). We did not really use the kitchen area, except for boiling a kettle, but it has everything you would need.



A great weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The caban was really lovely and comfortable inside. The marshmallows were a really nice addition and we enjoyed toasting them in the fire pit. The location was perfect for a romantic weekend away and we had a really lovely time staying here. The compost loo was great as well and the view from it was definitely something. We'd definitely love to stay again.



Fingle caban

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time, So peaceful and a lovely setting. Caban had everything we needed for our stay.



Cosy cabin with wonderful outdoor kitchen and amazing views

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We very much enjoyed our 6-night stay at Fingle Caban. The cabin is a lovely and cosy hut with a comfortable bed and an amazing view through the panoramic window. We've never experienced such amazing privacy in an accomodation. The kitchen is well equipped and its view is just as beautiful. And we very much enjoyed the sustainable composting toilet. Highly recommended!



Fabulous luxury

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place in every way. The high end of glamping without paying high end prices.
If you like nature and luxury and total privacy and camping minus the privations this place is the ultimate winner.




A glorious break in nature, to reset the clock.

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful, clean, and comfortable Glamping site. Perfect for anyone who wants to reconvene with nature and fully chill out, leaving the stresses and strains of modern life to simply wash away. Highly Recomended.



A perfect patch of Devon

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent two nights at Fingle Caban and only wish it could have been longer. Everything we needed for cooking, comfort and exploring was provided: we cooked on the gas stove the first night and used the fire pit the second night; the bed was comfy and snug;and we borrowed a couple of bikes for a lovely cycle up the river. The views from the caban were spectacular, across the Teign gorge and towards Castle Drogo. Despite the fact that we were staying here because I was taking part in a trail run at Fingle Bridge, this was the most relaxing weekend I've had for a long time. Highly recommended.



Relaxing country getaway with a great view

Review submitted on Sat, 13 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted to escape to the country for a long weekend to de-stress from working and commuting in the city. We came across the Fingle Caban and thought it would be a great place to stay to do just that. The caban perches on the side of the valley looking down on a sea of trees and up on buzzards, owls and skylarks. The outside kitchen was well stocked with everything you could need and the fire pit was a perfect way to end an evening after a day of adventuring. Secluded and nestled in nature the caban offered an escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Vicki and Gavin made sure we had settled in well and offered us the use of the many bikes kept in the barn, places to visit in Devon and the local area.




Easter break at Fingle Caban

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, very private and peaceful. The perfect get away for a couple!! Everything has been thought of, all you need is food and clothes!!! I can still smell the fire pit that kept us warm at night while we sat outside cooking chicken. Highly recommend and we are returning in the summer for sure!!



Simply Stunning, an absolutely fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We fell in love with Fingle Caban. The Caban is so cosy with a little red woodburner which churns out the heat. The
Caban is beautifully decorated with panoramic views over the valley. Sitting out by the fire pit watching the sun set across the valley, glass of Chablis in hand cooking our steaks, not a soul in sight, bliss! The stars are wonderful too. The next morning we got up early and watched 8 deer gallop across the field in front of the Caban. We borrowed bikes to cycle to a great wild swim spot and on to have a look around Castle Drogo. Vicki and Gavin were lovely and helped with planning walks/cycles. Can't recommend it highly enough. Go and try it for yourselves!




Fingle Caban - Glamping at Clifford Barton,Dartmoor

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked the caban as a present for my wife Mary, staying in April! The caban is situated up the hill from the main cottages and has wonderful uninterrupted views across the valley. A wood burning stove in the caban and a huge fire pit (which doubles as a great bbq) kept us lovely and warm in the evenings. Vicky was a great host and provided good local information about walks, pubs etc. The caban itself is lovely and comfortable and surprisingly spacious, but the main thing was the views and the quiet, only interrupted by the birds.