FB Twitter

4 Wester Delfour

4 Wester Delfour

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 85 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.3
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.5


4 Wester Delfour is a semi detached Victorian farm cottage overlooking the farm fields and woodlands of Alvie. Tremendous views of the Cairngorm Mountains, good access to the Monadhliath hills directly behind. All linen is provided (except towels); there is television/DVD, CD player & WiFi in the cottage. Upstairs are 2 bedrooms (double & twin) & a Bathroom with bath & shower, WC & wash basin. Downstairs is a large fully equipped kitchen/diner including a washer/dryer & dishwasher, and superb views towards Cairngorm. The living room has a wood burning stove.

Absolutely gorgeous

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My son and I had a really lovely four days at the cottage. It was super relaxing. The cottage was absolutely gorgeous, very homely and so cosy, it was very clean and tidy. It had everything we needed and more including dvd's board games & books. There is also wifi.
The views were beautiful and there is lots to do in and Around Alvie and Aviemore.
We are most definitely booking again for next year and we have already recommended it to others.. Thank you Alvie estate.


Angela from Banchory stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 3 nights in September 2021


The views to die for

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come back every year to get away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life to recharge our batteries. The views are to die for and the quietness, it is so relaxing, Oh and don't for get the wild life. If we could we would live here

Carole from West Bromwich stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in September 2021


A great cottage with picture perfect views

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay here, the cottage was spotlessly clean and in a great location. The layout of the house is ideal for friends or a family with well equipped kitchen, charming bedrooms each with views to the Cairngorms, and lots of space. The lounge is spacious, my only criticism would be the sofas were pretty worn and a bit uncomfortable:(
A private garden area behind the cottage was perfect for enjoying drinks with stunning views.
You’ll need a car to get around, bikes are useful for exploring the tracks and walks within the estate. Overall great value.


Sheena from Hove stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in July 2021


4 night break

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time staying here,the cottage was a perfect base for exploring the Cairngorms and very cosy.
Kitchen was very well equipped also and the beds were really comfortable.
Would recommend and return


Lisa from Bo’ness stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in July 2021


Great views, lovely cottage, perfect base for activities around Kincraig / Aviemore

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I booked the cottage for an anniversary weekend when COVID made overseas travel impossible. Even then the weekend was rescheduled due to COVID [Alvie Estate was very flexible and helpful here]. The cottage is very spacious - we could have brought the rest of the family and still had plenty of space - plus it is very clean, comfortable, with great views across the valley towards the Cairngorms. We used it as a base for walking in the hills and some canoe trips down the Spey, for which it was perfect. Would definitely use it again.

Jack from Edinburgh stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 3 nights in June 2021


Just fabulous!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of the cottage was just brilliant on the glorious Alvie Estate! So much wildlife and open space to explore. Great location in the heart of Cairngorms. Plenty of walking and hiking routes right on the estate and in the immediate local area.

If you're visiting in the winter, you probably need a good 4x4 to get around! The cottage itself was super clean, cosy and complete with everything you need from a weekend away to a longer break.


Ruby from London stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in June 2021


Lovely cottage in even better surroundings

Review submitted on Wed, 19 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in 4 Wester Delfour. Typical Scottish weather in that we had some snow in early May but with the wood burning stove and a full stock of wood and coal we were kept warm. The cottage had everything that you would need and all staff were friendly. The estate was great to walk around and a lot of animals to see as well. We went to the Alvie Forrest Food for a takeaway one evening and it did not disappoint. It was lovely. Hope to be back soon.

Andrew from Edinburgh stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in May 2021


A perfect place for self-isolation

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had to travel to the UK to assist my son and his partner with the birth of their first child at the height of the COVID-19 pandemic and needed a place to safely self-isolate for 10 days. I couldn't have chosen a more perfect location to stay! The cottage had everything I needed to be comfortable, and the views out of every window are spectacular. I ordered groceries to be delivered before I arrived and staff received and stored them so that when I arrived it really felt like coming home. I hope to bring my family back during better times when we can more fully enjoy the place and the people.

Rebecca from Madison stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 9 nights in January 2021


We keep coming back

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth visit to the Alvie Estate and our second time in 4 Wester Delfour. Such a lovely location and a comfortable, clean, and well-equipped cottage. We are fairly sure we will be back again next year!
Thank you.


Hereward from Isle Of Lewis stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in October 2020


Another great stay at Alvie

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We love staying at Alvie. We are always warm, the beds are comfy, we love the views from the cottage and the location is brilliant. Just a couple of less positive things to mention. We found dirty crockery in the cupboards and some of the info provided was confusing. Two different arrival and departure times in the correspondence and then other info in the cottage itself

Dorothy from Penrith stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 8 nights in October 2020


A happy stay

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a wonderful 4 night stay, cottage is cosy and the location speaks for itself.

Hope to be back


Chris from Edinburgh stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in October 2020


A Peaceful Place to Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed in no. 4 West Dalfour for three successive years - just the two of us and our collie. It's a perfect place to stay. The cottage may be a little shabby, but it's comfortable, warm, and welcoming. It's a wonderfully peaceful place, with beautiful views and surrounded by cattle, sheep, horses, and deer. We spend most of our time walking in the Cairngorms and Monadhliath hills, but there are some splendid walks behind the cottage suitable for the rest days. The Wi-Fi works well, and the mobile phone signal was fine.

Mary from Skipton stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in September 2020


Peace and Quite

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a pleasure to come here every year the views are outstanding and the peace and quite of the area is so relaxing. It is nice just to get away from the everyday rush and madness of what is going on in the world. It was nice to recharged your batteries

Guest from West Bromwich stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in September 2020


Perfect home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for the Cairngorms National Park, only minutes away from Aviemore by car with all the facilities you need.
The cottage is situated on the side of a hill facing the magnificent view of the Cairngorm mountains in a working estate.
Large rooms and cosy atmosphere with a log fire. Well equipped kitchen with large dining table, washer dryer, dishwasher, fridge & freezer. The bathroom has the best view.
Very comfortable bed, best sleep in ages, perfect stress free location.
Walking in to the hills from the doorstep or Zip line area 250 mars away, or cycle straight on to the West Highland Way. Horse riding available, and plenty of motorised attractions, quads and buggies.
WiFi is excellent if you need to keep in contact with the rest of the world.
Plenty of wildlife on the doorstep and the farm animals in your front garden. Superb location for any time of the year.


David from Leicester stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in July 2020


2020 Local Staycation

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful four days on Alvie Estate enjoying the Cairngorms. Walking, Cycling, Water sports and chilling. The cottage was perfect for family of four plus dog. Large kitchen well equipped kitchen, cosy sitting room and comfortable bedrooms. Lovely and quiet with easy access to the Speyside way and other great walks. Amazing views of the mountains and Estate wildlife.

Vanessa from Dingwall stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in July 2020


Long weekend at Alvie.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would highly recommend staying here. Every comfort is catered for, with access to a wide and varied range of activities on site. It's very central to the area....Aviemore, Inverness, Wildlife Park and much more.

Alison from Dundee stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in January 2020


great place to spend Christmas

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
great place, great views, loved the fire after hikes in the Cairngorms, peaceful place, lovely kitchen, thank you

Tanya from Manchester stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in December 2019


Good value for money in a great setting

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wester Dalfour is a lovely little cottage with all the amenities necessary for a week-long stay. You might say it’s a bit frayed around the edges but we found that added to its rustic charm.
The view is sensational!


John from Harrogate stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in September 2019


Alvie Estate

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely quiet cottage with stunning views to the Cairngorms, comfortable and clean. Estate staff were very good, available if needed, approachable and helpful. Great location to either do lots of activities or just enjoy the peace of the cottage. We intend to return!

Lisa from Loftus, Saltburn stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in July 2019


Alvie ten years on

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our last stay at Alvie was ten years ago, hopefully it won't be as long until our next visit. What's not to like? The cottage was clean and well equipped, fantastic views, a very peaceful and relaxing place to stay for a week in Scotland. If you like it busier just drive into Aviemore,

Guest from Accrington stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in July 2019


A pleasant short-stay

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was nice and cozy with much to do in the area. We have specially enjoyed the working Sheepdogs .

Gerarda from Boechout stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 3 nights in June 2019


Hiking Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We stayed a week and found the house ideal for supporting our walking in the Cairngorms . Kitchen has all we needed, house warm, fire in sitting room is excellent, quiet situation and comfortable beds. Easy to wash and dry gear. Daily weather updates using the WiFi . Enjoyed sitting outside of an evening. Authentic and satisfying.

Michael from Glasgow stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in May 2019


a cool and showery week in Alvie in late May

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was warm and welcoming, and well equipped as always, though we are still waiting for the bathroom refurbishment to allow for a proper shower with decent pressure. The weather was mixed, some sunshine, a lot of rain, and most especially quite cold when damp, which gives you a wholly different impression of the Spey Valley, rather more Arctic than early summery. The cottage was well kitted out with logs and kindling to keep us warm though, and the heating was effective when needed.

Double bed a bit small for two people, and not quite long enough for me (at 6 ft 3 inches).
Sofas need replacing in due course, as all the comments in the visitor's book are right about them being a bit hard.

I find there to be quite a bit of price inflation in activities like clay-pigeon shooting, making you think twice before booking for several people.
Hard for us to enjoy this stay as much as last year, since the weather made outdoor activities more difficult, but the cottage is still a reasonably priced base for the area.


Guest from Kidlington stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in May 2019


Sensational holiday at Alvie Estate

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very good equipped cottage. Breathtaking viewpoints. Much activities.
One bad thing we have to say is the sofa has no comfort maybe it's to old.


Maurice from Cologne stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in May 2019


1st time

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage, very clean, fabulous location. Excellent value for money. Only negative is the sofa (not very comfortable). Would definitely recommend.

Thank you

Sarah & Tony


Sarah from Saltburn-by-the-sea stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in March 2019


A long weekend break

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here a number of times, ostensibly for the sled dog rally held at the foot of the Cairngorms, and each time, we have had an extremely relaxing time. Stunning views of the mountains and surrounding countryside. Easily highly recommended.

Alison from Dundee stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in January 2019


review of 4 Wester Delfour

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay. Although dogs are allowed in the cottage there were no signs of dog hairs etc so the cottage was clean and well kept. There is a wood burning stove which was set and ready to light when we arrived. Also, we had the use of a wooden shed where there were at least 5 large bags of blocks, lighters and coal if required. we were also able to keep our bikes in the shed. Kitchen had all facilities including dishwasher, washing up liquid, tea towels and dishwasher tablets. Cottage is very cosy and comfortable - will definitely return!

Stephen from Gilford stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in December 2018


A great stay at Alvie

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Nov 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We love staying at Alvie and had a great week of walks and wildlife spotting. The location is great, peaceful with wonderful views. The cottage is very warm and the kitchen well equipped, the beds are comfy and there is plenty of hot water. On the down side the cracked bath panel and ineffective flush in the bathroom are a bit off putting. We also found the sofas in the lounge very uncomfortable. There is no bounce at all in the seat cushions so you feel the frame. This is something you notice more in the long winter evenings.

Overall though these were not things that stopped us enjoying the holiday.


Dorothy from Penrith stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in November 2018


Great Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location and comfortable base for exploring the Cairngorms. All necessary amenities and close to Aviemore.

David from Edinburgh stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in October 2018


A relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is our second time here, it is a joy to stop here due to the fantastic views, the peace and quietness and the wild life.
The location for us is very good because we like to a have tour round the area.
There is so much to do on Alvie Estate and in the surrounding area. Berwick (the dog) loves it for his walks.
The people are so friendly and like to suggest places to go and see


Guest from West Bromwich stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in September 2018


Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A caracteristic cottage with all modern equipment located in a beautiful area, lots of fun family activities to do, we had ourselves a perfect holiday.

Pieter from Papendrecht stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in August 2018


A great location for visiting the Highlands.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage has a beautiful view overlooking the estate. Its central but quiet location allowed us to enjoy many different activities. For our teenagers, canyoning and horse riding could be arranged onsite, while we enjoyed a trip to a nearby distillery.
The cottage was comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped. We would definitely stay here again, but 4 days was too short for all the great things to do and see in the area!
Note: the cottage was very clean, but I deducted a point because of the dirty windows, which unfortunately detracted a bit from the great views. The general condition was in keeping with the age of the cottage. The antiques in the kitchen are a nice touch!


Marie from Weilrod stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in July 2018


Short break in the highlands

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked the cottage at Alvie mainly because of its location to several mountain biking centres we wanted to visit. It was perfect. It was quiet and secluded but not in the middle of nowhere although it had the feeling it was. The cottages are on a working estate and we were pretty much left to our own devices which is what we wanted. Easy to get to both Perth(A9) and further North/East. We will definitely book again. THANK YOU

Belinda from Norwich stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in July 2018


Great cottage in amazing setting, would love to come back!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very comfortable stay with a well equipped kitchen which we used most nights. The living room was warm with the well stocked stove and had amazing views of the Cairngorms. The bedrooms were great with very comfy beds and lovely bed linen. The cottage was charming and spacious and the garden was perfect for sitting in the sun watching the birds, deer and horses all around. Our two dogs also had a great time and we were pleased this cottage let them stay, the estate was perfect for dog walking and exploring. The only set back was the shower which was a wee bit wee for our tall son to get under and could of had more power.

Edmund from Dunfermline stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in July 2018


very nice indeed

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
thereis only one small thing I found awkward, which is how to get the oven hot. The oven booklet said turn it to the appropraie setting, so I turned it to the fan sign plus turned the heat to 180C, but it had not cooked the lamb at all when we got in, so perhaps a wee note about which setting heats the fan oven option?

Sandra from Edinburgh stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 3 nights in July 2018


Cosy cottage stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Characterful cottage & it’s deceptively big, the photos don’t do it justice. It’s very well equipped - we cooked every day and there was everything we needed, plus with two young kids having a dishwasher and washing machine made the holiday a little easier! We loved the tranquil setting and stunning views. Our kids liked playing in the garden and riding their bikes outside as there’s no traffic. Negatives - the shower was temperamental and often went freezing cold and took a couple of mins to heat up again. The sofas are past their best and the one opposite the fire is especially uncomfortable so we always sat on the other. All in all for the very reasonable price for July we would definitely return!

Jonathan from Livingston stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in June 2018


Beautiful cottage stay

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Booked for me my husband 1year old and my parents for 4 nights. Location was beautiful son enjoyed seeing all the animals on the estate and less than 15 minutes away from all other activities around aviemore we wanted to do so perfect. Cottage was comfortable and clean inside very handy with cot and high chair provided.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in June 2018


Great holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage and area was fantastic the views from the cottage was breath taking I would defiantly return to the same area and rent the same cottage we felt very confurtible home from home

Lee from stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in June 2018


Comfortable Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great Cottage for a weekend away. Location is lovely and Cottage is very comfortable with everything you need. Wood Burning Stove was a bonus.

Scott from Muir Of Ord stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 3 nights in June 2018


A wonderful stay at 4 Wester Delfour, Alvie with friends, with some glorious warm weather in June.

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We very much enjoyed our five-night stay at 4 Wester Delfour, the cottage was comfortable and well-equipped, and it was useful to have a dishwasher and washing machine too. The beds were comfortable and the accommodation clean and tidy on arrival. It was warm and sunny, so we didn't need to use the fire, but everything was there and ready, logs, kindling, coal etc.
The views from all the windows were superb across the mountains, and the activities on the estate were excellent (horse-riding, clay pigeon shooting etc). Not everything was available that particular week (archery for example), but it was a wonderful place to simply relax and cater for ourselves, eating out occasionally, and enjoying walks on the estate and in the surrounding area. I'd thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting a complete break. The estate office were very helpful replacing a bulb in the bathroom and with other general enquiries, and the guide and visitors' book spoke for themselves. Thanks very much for a great holiday.


Rob from Kidlington stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in June 2018


Great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 25 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
4 Wester Delfour is fantastic little cottage ideally situated a short drive from Aviemore. Perfect for those with dogs as lots of walks on the estate and only a short drive to Cairngorm and other walks.
Cottage itself is clean tidy and has all kitchen utensils needed. Beds are comfortable and clean.
My wife our dog and I had a fantastic holiday staying here.


David from Edinburgh stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 9 nights in May 2018


Easter break

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stunning house in an even more stunning location. Has everything you would need. I will definitely be coming back nect year.

Craig from Catterick Garrison stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in April 2018


Nice and peaceful

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Feb 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very nice apartment, peaceful and beautiful location. Shower runs hot water but with small pressure. Kitchen floor cold. Otherwise everything was very good. Would definitely book again!

Mikko from Tampere stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in February 2018


A great week in the Highlands

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come back every year and every year it is great, warm, comfortable with all that you need. The only thing you have to do is relax and enjoy the fantastic views, walks, food and of course the weather!

Sally from Basildon stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in February 2018


Winter break in cairngorms

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely stay in Alvie. Cottage was rustic but had everything you could need and was very comfortable, plus perfect for the dog. Location is incredible and excellent value considering how close to Aviemore. Only minor criticisms would be; it was very very cold on first night - minus 7 outside. Only a couple of the storage heaters were on when we arrived, so it took a long time to get warm - maybe worth turning them up in preparation for guests arriving so the first night is more comfortable. Once fire and heaters on, the cottage was cosy the whole time. Secondly, there were no towels, which is worth telling people prior to arrival. Luckily we had 2 with us, so only the dog went without! Overall great value cottage in incredible location. Will be coming back!

Ed from Birmingham stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 6 nights in January 2018


Alvie Estate replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You may be interested to know that we are currently looking at plans to install a central heating system into the Wester Delfour Cottages, which will mean we can remove the storage heaters. Hopefully the heating system will be able cope with the colder temperatures of below freezing that you experienced during your stay, without losing the cosy feel of the cottages. With regard to towels, this is mentioned in the terms & conditions, as well as on our website with an offer to hire them from us when you make an online booking. However, We will look at trying to make this more prominent to try & avoid this in the future - thank you for bringing this to our attention. Meanwhile we are glad to see that you feel we offer great value & we look forward to seeing you on your return visit.

Wonderful, relaxing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful, quiet location. The cottage is clean and comfortable with everything required for your stay. The log fire in the winter months was an added bonus and all fuel was provided. Only thing that would improve your stay would be a shower with faster pressure but that's not really an issue.

Gareth from Wirral stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in December 2017


Home away from home

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wester Delfour 4 has been our place to stay in the Highlands for about 6 times over the last 13 years. We feel quite at home there, that's why we keep coming back( and will do at our next vacation in Scotland) . The Alvie staff is always friendly and willing to assist if needed. We love the view over the mountains and the animale in the paddocks from the windows. The estate and nearby town Aviemore are in the middel of the Highlands and it is easy to acces a large part of Scotland by car. In the last couple of years there were some attractions added to Alvie, such as Zipwire and Segway tours. Great fun!
There were some minor points this year. One of them was the age of the livingroom furniture, wich we adressen with the staf. Hopefully it wil be replaced, and comfort added. Because of the roadworks on the A9( building Dual Carriage way) there was a lot of extra worktraffic on the estate roads. That wil disappear When the road is ready.
So are you planning to Go to Scotland? Why not Go to Alvie easte!


Peter from The Hague stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 14 nights in September 2017


Can't beat those views

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely, charming traditional cottage (the kind I like the most) , all wood- panelled walls and very comfortable inside.The views of the Glen Feshie Cairngorm mountains across the meadow, was just riveting.The changing light in the evenings had me out with the camera constantly.Stunning.

Very well located for easy access to Aviemore, Cairngorm hikes, golf courses and the A9.

Nice to come back to Alvie's peace and quiet after a long day out and about.



Anne from stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in July 2017


I want to live here!

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've lost track of how many times I have stayed at Alvie. So much to do without ever leaving and cosy cottages that are better than home. Fantastic and helpful staff. I never want to leave! Animals, beautiful nature, and stunning views make compelling return journeys as frequent as possible.

Carrie from Edinburgh stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in April 2017


Perfection

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I first stayed at Alvie on my first visit to Scotland in 1991, and stayed in Mid Delfour. Ever since then I've wanted to return and decided this year to take my new family to the place I remembered falling in love with all those years ago. I have to say that the place has lost none of its magic and this time around my wife and our children aged 2 and 5 fell in love with the place too.
The cottage is comfortable, very warm, very clean and there's plenty of room for the kids to run around. If I wanted to nit pick - the shower water pressure could be higher, I'd have preferred the back garden to be flat so that the kids could run around there too, but that really is looking hard to find faults which I don't want to do here.
The estate is beautiful, very quiet and secluded, lots of space to walk around on the Mondliath mountains and in the woods where if you're quick you'll often spot the resident deer, red squirrels and oyster catchers. Beautiful views across to Cairngorm too. The other guests and the people who live and work on the estate are very welcoming and friendly, a real pleasure to walk around.
We didn't part take of any of the outdoor activities, but when the kids are a bit bigger I'm sure we'll take a horse ride and maybe even a zip wire ride! In the meantime there was plenty to do for us and the kids in the area. The estate is a good base for the highland area and there were attractions close by that the kids loved - the Highland Wildlife park at Kincraig and the Landmark Forest Adventure park at Carrbridge to name just two.
We will definitely be back and I would recommend this place to anyone without hesitation.


Ian from Bromborough stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in April 2017


Second short stay

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay here and although I made a mistake booking number 4 instead of no 1 (I have a dog so no fenced in garden )not disappointed . Cosy clean and well equipped accommodation with plenty of space. Good to see the road has been resurfaced.
I loved the fact you can just get key at the cottage when you arrive feels more private and having a key safe stops the worry of loosing a key or blaming each other when it can't be found!
A really good location for touring around although running in the Newtonmore 10mile road race I didn't have a lot of energy left for touring
Would definitely recommend this to friends both couples on there own or with children for a short break or a longer stay.
Will be booking for next year.
Many thanks


Mandy from Edinburgh stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 3 nights in March 2017


Why go there?

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Because it is a wonderful place to relax, unwind, and enjoy the countryside. That's why we come back every year!

Sally from Basildon stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in February 2017


A long weekend break.

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Feb 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We went for the sled dog rally in Glenmore. Our Malamute Keira, just loves coming here. Very relaxing with beautiful views. Every comfort and amenity are provided for. All estate staff are very friendly and very helpful.

Alison from Dundee stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in January 2017


A review!

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My family and I had a lovely stay. The location was superb and the accommodation was very good indeed. We'll be back!

Jonathan from York stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in October 2016


Nice place

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice place, nice hiking, ok kitchen, zip line looked fun, very friendly staff, love the family dog, enjoyed our stay with family friends.

Betty from Pope Valley stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 2 nights in September 2016


Lovely stay at Alvie Estate for the 3rd time!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable beds with warm bedding.
Good wood burner with logs and coal.
Adequate kitchen facilities.
Stunning views.
Easy access to Aviemore, but also remote enough to have peace and quiet.



Guest from Leicestershire stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in August 2016


feedback on cottage no one

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
My partner and I stayed in number one cottage better for him with his mobility problems my daughter Kirsty and family stayed in four, we found furniture in sitting room ok my daughter found hers very uncomfortable. Would have been nice if member of staff had pop in during stay just to say hello, disappointed to be told could not fish even if golden eye ducks were not nesting as we were not staying in big house, between both cottages we paid the same as big house, this is why I said poor value for money. My partner and I had all inclusive holiday for ten days in may for fifty pounds more. hope this feedback helps. Davina Mcpaul

.


Craig from Beith stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in July 2016


Alvie Estate replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We always appreciate receiving a response from our guests. We are sorry to hear that your daughter found the sitting room furniture in 4 Wester Delfour uncomfortable, we can confirm that it is due to be replaced. It is normal practise for a member of staff to contact guests during their stay & can only apologise if we didn’t manage to catch up with you during your stay. With regard to fishing, we have a choice of Loch Alvie & Loch Insh as well as 3 beats on the River Spey which we understand you declined. Unfortunately Loch Bourne (the private loch in front of Alvie House) is reserved for guests staying in Alvie House. For reference there were guests staying in Alvie House at the same time you were in the cottages. We trust that you still enjoyed your stay & that we can look forward to seeing you again in the future.

great location for walkers

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had everything we needed at this house which was a perfect location for walking in the Cairngorms. We didn't make use of the activities on the estate but the zip wire looked amazing!

Lesley from Edinburgh stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in July 2016


Just perfect!

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Alvie Estate is the perfect accommodation for every Scotland travelled. It exceeded all our expectations. It's lovingly furnished and very well equipped. There was all we needed to feel welcome and at home. The surrounding area is marvellous and has so much to offer. We really enjoyed our stay and we'll definitely recommend Alvie Estate!

Anna-maria from Frankfurt (main) stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in June 2016


Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable Cottage with everything you need for a short break. The Lounge has a wood burning stove which is nice on a cold evening. The Beds were very comfortable. The Cottage is situated in a very peaceful location with great views. I will definitely return next year.

Scott from Muir Of Ord stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 3 nights in June 2016


A fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at 4 Wester Delfour twice now with our two children and we absolutely love it. It's a spacious and well equipped cottage situated on a private estate in the Cairngorms with terrific views of the Cairngorm mountains. Children can play safely outside, there is a fabulous zip wire park within walking distance and the location is very central for most Of the western Cairngorms ( glen more, glen feshie, Kingussie, Aviemore etc). There is also a woodburning stove- well stocked with free wood- should the weather turn for the worse.

Fiona from Bolton stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 8 nights in May 2016


holiday at Alvie

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in great location close to Aviemore but peaceful spot with lots of farm animals to keep the children amused. Just a shame the double bed was so small I was looking forward to getting home for a good night sleep.



Paul from Leeds stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in April 2016


Short Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We currently stayed at one of the cottages in Delfour, we did have difficultly in finding the accommodation especially in the dark. The cottage was very comfortable, clean and well furnished. However, the sitting room heating wasn't working and we used the wood burner but it didn't generate any heat so it was cold in this room.

We did appreciate the Estate find us something at short notice and reasonable priced too. So thank you for help.


Susan from Plumstead stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 2 nights in March 2016


Lovely week in chilly weather at Alvie

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is located on the Alvie estate, with spectacular views over the Cairngorms. It is well equipped and handy for the A9, but far enough from it that you don't get any noise. Our family enjoyed the bike trails from Kincraig to Aviemore and Loch Morlich to Aviemore, sledging at Cairngorm, the walks up to the Gordon Monument and at Loch an Eilein and Uath Lochans, Treezone in Inverdruie and the Zip Trek on the estate. The log fire was great and there was a good supply of logs and coal, though the downstairs rooms were quite chilly at times even with the heaters on and fire lit. The upstairs rooms were very cosy though. Overall a great place to stay close to Aviemore.

Chris from Edinburgh stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in February 2016


Short Stay at Alvie

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always, it is wonderful staying on the Alvie Estate. The cottage is well equipped, warm and cosy--- the wood burner is a great asset--- even when it is not cold, the comfort of having a real fire is wonderful. The views from the cottage are stunning and the activities are varied to suit everyone. I thoroughly recommend staying at Alvie-- you will be warmly welcomed and cared for by the friendly staff.

Audrey from stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in January 2016


Wonderful!

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best time at Alvie Estates! Heidi really went out of her way to make us feel welcome and our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. I would say you need a full week at a minimum! We will absolutely be returning in the future! There were plenty of activities to do as well as many local trails. We hiked up to The Duke of Gordon Monument, went ziplining (amazing!!), and also went horseback riding! The view was amazing from our cottage and it was a great getaway to unwind and enjoy nature. I am so glad we found this wonderful place to visit!

Michelle from Grayslake stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 3 nights in September 2015


Quiet and a stunning view

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First time I rent on my own after coming for year with the family. The place is clean and well equipped and the view from any window of the cottage is stunning. We can with a one year old who had a blast walking around (we were very lucky with the weather.)

Guest from 4900 Doue La Fountaine stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 8 nights in September 2015


Mary from Northolt

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very good 7 days and would like to come back next year if possible.It's a great place to stay in..,Mary baseley and family. very best wishes to you all.

from Northolt stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in August 2015


Lovely quiet place to enjoy the country

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed in number 4 for a week and enjoyed every minute. We had such a relaxing time.Loved the fire as the weather wasnt the best so it was lovely and cosy.We also took our dog Lola and she loved the walks as well.

Guest from Midlothian stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in July 2015


good location

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jul 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
4 wester delfour is in an idea location for exploring the cairngorms and visiting a wider area of Scotland the cottage whilst comfortable is in need of an up grade I am not talking major work ,re jig bathroom, lick of paint throughout and new sofsa would be good start

Guest from Holmfirth stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in June 2015


Excellant weekend on the alvie estae

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Jun 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Booked on the alvie estate as I was riding the 2 day highland Classic motor bike trial, could not of been any closer to the start, the accommodation was very good, clean & tidy, with everything we needed, we had good wifi & mobile phone reception, excellant base for any activitys or short breaks.

Guest from Redcar stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 3 nights in June 2015


Great get away - remote idilic location to relax and explore the outstanding scenery

Review submitted on Thu, 28 May 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good Bits:
Location (remote on Alvie Estate) easy access to all you would need
Views - Stunning
Well appointed relaxing character cottage
Great value
Log burner and fuel
WIFI
unintrusive hosts (did not see them once!)

Bits that could be better:
Bed was a little short for a 6ft 2"
Bathroom a little small and not the clean/freshest

Ultimatley would have no hesitation in recommending or going back ourselves.


Guest from Cavendish stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 3 nights in May 2015


An Easter Break on the Alvie Estate

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We've just come back from a wonderful stay at 4, Wester Delfour over Easter. It's a magical spot and was perfect for our family holiday. The views from the kitchen and lounge are amazing - watching the ever-changing light over the mountains - and the cottage itself is really cosy. Highly recommended!

Guest from Hove stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 4 nights in April 2015


4 Wester Delfour

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Mar 2015
2.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Arrived late on the Friday to find the cottage with no heating on and infested with flies. Had to spend most of the night killing flies and even having to remove them from the beds. The cottage was very cold and the fly issue was a major problem.
I used to rent this cottage, and later Park Cottage, on this estate for the winter and have to say we looked after them significantly better than they are now.
I love the area and would like to return, however the rest of the family are, to say the least reluctant.
We will not put this on to the sites that Alvie has asked us to (Trip Advisor etc) as I hope that they can act on this criticism and change things without loosing more customers than they already have from what my wife has said to friends who were interested in staying later in the year.


Guest from Edinburgh stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 2 nights in March 2015


Alvie Estate replied more than 1 year ago
We thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, however we are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and consequently we have looked into the matter. The Housekeeper has confirmed that the storage heaters were left on as is normal practice prior to guests arrival; after investigating, it appears that the “output” had been left on high, and as you say you arrived late it is possible that the cottage had cooled down by the time you arrived for which we can only apologise. For future reference it is our intention to install a new heating system in the cottages that you stayed in. With regard to the flies we can only apologise, however it is unfortunate that you did not bring this to our immediate attention in order it could be dealt with. The housekeeper assures us that the cottage was cleaned prior to your arrival to our usual high standard & there were no flies at that time. On speaking to our pest controller we understand they could have appeared from within the window frame with the warmer, brighter weather that we have just had. We are looking into getting the window frames treated to try & prevent this reoccurring. You will see from the previous reviews we have received for this property, as well as the others on the Estate, that this is not a common occurrence & that our guests are usually very happy with their stay. We hope this does not deter you from returning to Alvie in the future.

Snowy break

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Feb 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My partner and I stayed at Wester Delfour for a long weekend - which happened to coincide with heavy snow - perfect for our cross country skiing up at Glenmore. The house was comfortable and warm and the Estate were quick to deal with queries etc. It was great to be able to bring our two dogs.

Guest from Crieff stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 6 nights in January 2015


Yet Another Great Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You can always enjoy your holiday because you know you will have not problems with the accommodation. It is always, clean, comfortable and like a home from home. All you need to do is relax and enjoy!

Guest from Basildon stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in October 2014


A fine break

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay at No 4. The location was perfect - peaceful, fine views and dog walks from the door. The cottage was well equipped for our needs and we particularly appreciated the spaciousness of the kitchen.

Guest from Hawick stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in September 2014


visit

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Sep 2014
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The cottage was clean and tidy for our arrival, and as good views. We had a great holiday the weather.good

a visit from the agent would be nice idea.


Guest from Holmfirth stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in August 2014


Bathroom and toilets

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is comfortable and very well situated but we would very much appreciate to have toilets separated from the bathroom. Service thoughfull and perfect.

Guest from Allonnes stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in August 2014


4 Wester Delfour

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Jul 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the cottage clean and comfortable on arrival, with all amenities working. We found Sarah very helpful with any queries we had, both before and during our stay. The young estate worker who cut the grass was very helpful in putting up a washing line so we could put our washing outside instead of using the tumble dryer and another employee told us where we might have a chance to see an otter, another advised where to see the red squirrels on the estate and suggested they might be enticed with peanuts!

The cottage is situated in an idyllic location with views of the cairngorm mountain range right outside the door. There is a problem with the shower, but we feel this is due to lack of water pressure, not faulty equipment, and given the location of this lovely cottage it is a small compromise.

Overall, a place we would love to come back to in the Autumn or Winter, providing we can face the weather conditions that may face us at that time of year


Guest from Farnham stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 14 nights in July 2014


Our home away from home

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth stay at Wester Delfour 4, we just love being there, the view is wonderfull, the Alvie Estate staff can help you when you need to know where to go. The cottage has Internet, Aviemore is a nice town and nearby. But why don't you go and look for yourself...you"ll see We are right...

Guest from The Hague stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 14 nights in June 2014


Weekend break at 4 Wester Delfour

Review submitted on Tue, 27 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at 4 Wester Delfour was very enjoyable. The cottage was cosy and comfortable with a great log burner. The view from all the windows was really impressive and it was lovely to watch all the newborn lambs and calves in the field in front of the cottage! Walking, cycling and a whole range of activities offered by the Estate are all on your doorstep. Wouldn't hesitate to come back.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 2 nights in May 2014


Our short break at 4 Wester Delfour

Review submitted on Mon, 26 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay. We were lucky with warm dry weather so did not require to light the sitting-room fire, but we noted that everything was ready for putting a match to it, had we wished to do so. The cottage kitchen is better equipped than our own home! In every way we thought it one of the best holidays we'd had in years. David and Joan Bennet from Denholm, Roxburghshire.

Guest from Denholm stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in May 2014


Relaxing stay in a lovely house!

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Apr 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely week in the cottage. The location is excellent and close to Aviemore but on a quiet, child/dog friendly estate. The wood burner was a great addition to the cottage, as was the washing/drying machine and dishwasher. The only negatives I can think of are the shower which was either too hot or too cold to use and not very powerful, and the bedroom curtains were very thin so the light woke me up very early. We will definately be back to the estate!

Georgia from Cullompton stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 7 nights in April 2014


Sled Dog rally weekend.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Mar 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual, we had an extremely relaxing extended weekend. Fantastic scenery. Pity there wasn't more snow, but a perfect break, nonetheless. Cheers Alvie.

Alison from Dundee stayed at 4 Wester Delfour for 5 nights in January 2014