FB Twitter

Bridie's Barn

Bridie's Barn

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 72 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


A romantic, contemporary barn for two with gorgeous double aspect views of the surrounding countryside and the sea in the distance.

Beautiful accommodation all on one level. Enjoying a south facing patio which becomes part of the living space when the triple glass doors are opened. Spacious open beamed living area with large leather chaise sofa, designer kitchen and comfortable dining area.

The large bedroom has a 6ft ultra comfy bed with soft cotton bed linen. Big fluffy bath sheets are provided to ensure you enjoy the luxury bathroom with a freestanding bath big enough for two and a large walk-in drench shower. Underfloor heated throughout to ensure it's cosily warm at any time of year. Peaceful and quiet surroundings.

excellent property, beautiful area.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had great holiday. Accommodation had everything you could possibly need. Carolyn, Richard & family all very friendly & helpful. Will definitely be visiting again.



Relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accommodation in a beautiful setting. Very peaceful looking out on horses in the field. Great place to unwind and recharge your batteries. The barn has everything you could need and the bed is huge. The owner is friendly and helpful. It was worth the long drive from London



Excellent accommodation; gorgeous location; lovely hosts

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a last minute break to Downs Barn Farm because having stayed here many times before we knew that it would be a peaceful and restful break. The barn we stayed in was pure luxury and had everything we needed for a relaxing hassle free few days. The breakfasts are delicious and we had a cream tea on arrival. Carolyn and Richard are wonderful hosts and we will continue to return year after year,



The highest standards as always here

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve returned to Bridie’s Barn many times. The high quality of the accommodation and help provided by the owners has never diminished. We can, without hesitation, recommend this as a great place to stay if you want a worry free break in very comfortable, high quality accommodation.



A great Spring retreat

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderfully comfortable place to stay, with good quality furnishings. Perfectly placed for visiting both north and south coasts. And near enough to leave the car behind and walk to the south west coastal path. There are sea views from the accommodation and even dogs to walk if you wish. A delicious cream tea is provided on arrival. I hope we are able to return one day!



Great location and accommodation near coast

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay in Bridie’s Barn and yet again another excellent holiday. For walking the SW coastal path it’s ideally placed, with walks from the accommodation. We used local busses this time and were really impressed with the service . This meant we were able to do linear walks along the coast and get a bus back to collect our car. Also some great Cornish gardens nearby. The accommodation has everything you need, is super comfortable, warm and has lovely bi-fold doors making it light and airy. Carolyn and Richard are extremely helpful and knowledgeable about the area - their Cornish cream teas are absolutely delicious! Penzance and Newlyn are very close by and have a good selection of places to eat and both have good cinemas. Highly recommend Newlyn’s Filmhouse both as a venue and as somewhere to eat. We hope to return.



Fantastic place!

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about Downs Barn is fantastic! The apartment is modern and contemporary with all the equipment you could possibly need. It is light and airy with views out to the front of open countryside and the sea in the distance. Carolyn and Richard’s hospitality is excellent - cream tea on arrival and anything else they can help you with.The apartment is in a great position for visiting some beautiful places in the south of Cornwall. Already had 3 visits here and will be back again in the future. Would highly recommend to anyone.



Home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth stay at Carolyn and Richards Bridie’s barn.
Everything was perfect once again.
Carolyn and Abi work so hard to keep the barn immaculate.
We were so pleased with the fresh flowers and cream tea on arrival and for all the extra luxuries that Carolyn provides.
The barn is ideally located for visits to the beautiful Cornish coastline and beaches and is also close to St Ives for days out when the weather closes in during the winter.
Bridie’s is a warm haven which we would fully recommend for a quiet relaxing break.
We are already looking forward to returning next year.




Beautiful stay in a beautiful barn

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed with Carolyn and Richard many times over the last few years (both in their B&B and their cottages). The fact that we keep coming back really says it all - we love it!

Bridie's Barn is a very special place for us - it truly is a haven of tranquillity away from our normal hectic lives. The barn itself is beautiful in every way and has everything you could ever wish for. On top of that, Carolyn and Richard are wonderful hosts and truly make you feel part of the family.

Hopefully, we can keep visiting for many more years to come.




Another level of comfort and cleanliness

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here several times and the standard of this accommodation remains at a consistently high level. Everything we need to make it a very comfortable stay is here, in great condition and spotlessly clean. The environment is quiet and relaxing.

The owners are always on hand to help and provide advice. We’ve always received a warm welcome and felt that this is somewhere we will feel valued and well looked after.

I would strongly recommend this accommodation if you are looking for a base to explore this part of the country or if you simply want a place to chill out and relax. We have already made our bookings for next year.




Excellent Accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridies Barn is wonderful holiday accommodation fitted out to a very high standard. Carolyn and her husband were extremely helpful and welcoming.





A great stay in a beautiful place

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were pleasantly surprised by Bridies Barn. The reality was even beter than the pictures on the internet. All modern comfort was there, a fantastic bathroom and a very comfortable bed. There was salt, pepper, oil, toiletpapier, etc, so you didn’t need to buy all these things for a few days. . And the welcoming cookies en scones were absolutely gorgeous.
The view over the fields to the sea was amazing. Our hosts were ever so friendly and helpfull. The was a lot to see and to do in the surroundings and there were some great pubs nearby. If we come back to Cornwall, we will absolutely return to Bridies Barn!




Review submitted on Mon, 13 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a superb week at Downs Barn, helped by excellent weather. Accommodation was second to none. Carolyn has left no stones unturned, creating a truly 5 star establishment in a beautiful setting. Views to the sea in the distance, lovely horses in the field next door and friendly dogs looking for attention!
A tasty cream tea on arrival and masses of information supplied in the cottage regarding places to eat, to visit and even printed directions for the best walks.
We would certainly love to come again.
Jes & Barbara




Carolyn replied 309 days ago
Thank you very much for your review. It was a pleasure to meet you both and we are delighted that you enjoyed the surroundings and comfort of Bridie’s Barn. We(and the dogs) would love to welcome you back again in the future.

Just... perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth highly enjoyable visit to lovely Downs Barn Farm. That, in all probability, says it all!



Carolyn replied 317 days ago
One of our most regular customers and always very welcome. Thank you for choosing to stay with us each year it is very much appreciated.

Brilliant Bridies Barn at Downs Barn Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is first-class accommodation of the highest spec, with hospitality beyond compare.
Carolyn and Richard are the perfect hosts, making your stay so comfortable and welcoming.
Having stayed in many S/C and B&B establishments, we cannot praise Downs Barn Farm highly enough.
IT IS TRULY BRILLIANT!




Carolyn replied 317 days ago
Thank you both, it is always lovely to welcome you and what fabulous weather you had this time! Come back and see us soon.

Very lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wir haben uns sehr wohl gefühlt. Die nette Gastgeberin hat uns sehr herzlich empfangen. Bridie's Barn ist hell und freundlich, sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet und komfortabel, es fehlte wirklich nichts. Auf den bequemen Matratzen haben wir sehr gut geschlafen. Durch die breite Fensterfront im Wohnbereich hat man einen tollen Ausblick über die Felder bis zum Meer. Die Lage ist absolut ruhig, dennoch sehr zentral, man kann von hier aus viel unternehmen ohne lange Anfahrtzeiten.



Carolyn replied 317 days ago
Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Wir freuen uns sehr, dass Sie unsere wunderbare Lage und die Ruhe genossen haben. Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder zu sehen.

Stunning

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for all the creature comforts you can think of but in a wonderful rural setting then you've found it, we have been holidaying in Cornwall for the past 20years and can honestly say that this place is one of our favourite finds. We will definitely be back.



See below

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No further review required, the above ratings cover all relevant aspects of our very enjoyable stay. Thank you.



A lovely base from which to explore West Cornwall.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is bright and clean with lovely views across the fields to the sea. We stayed for a week and did not want to leave! Two friendly horses and several dogs welcomed us home each day and Carolyn was very friendly and helpful, and the welcome cream tea was gorgeous !
A lovely home from home very well equipped and close to lots of beautiful walks on the coastal paths.




A Lovely Week at Bridie's Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 20 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just spent a week in this lovely part of the country. Bridie's Barn was the perfect place to stay, it is extremely comfortable, well-appointed, and luxurious, and has views across fields to the sea. There are some fantastic walks from the property itself, one in particular through woodland down to a beautiful cove. The owners couldn't be more helpful, with suggestions for walks and pubs etc, and greeted us with a cream tea on arrival. We highly recommend Bridie's Barn, and hope to be back sometime.



What a lovely venue

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting. Considerate & caring hosts. I have
No hesitation in recommending Bridie's cottage for a holiday base. There are innumerable beautiful places around you to visit scenic gems of Cornwall.




Everything was perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week here. The barn is beautiful and there is everything you could possibly need. The owners really do want their guests to enjoy the stay and do everything possible to ensure that is the case.
Wonderful position for exploring the area both by car and on foot, and there are many walks available right from the door.




Beautiful luxury barn on a farm

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed in Bridie's Barn - we were here just a few months ago and just had to come back again for another short break. It is just a perfect place to stay in all respects - the barn itself decorated and fitted out to a very high standard with the most comfortable bed we have slept in apart from our own! The area where it is located is just a short walk or drive from the coastal path in all directions which is of course part of the reason for being in Cornwall. Lots of lovely places to eat out, whether pub style or more upmarket can be found in nearby villages and on beaches. We can't praise Carolyn and Richard enough for providing such a lovely place to stay with everything you could possibly need.



As Described . . . . .

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have titled my review 'As Described', as the pictures and descriptions contained on Downs Barn Farm is exactly as detailed on their website, unlike other self-catering accommodation I've stayed in.

The fixture and fittings of the accommodation was very good and the linen was what I would expect at this standard.

It was really lovely to find a truly delightful 1 bedroom cottage with plenty of room for my husband and I.

We were greeted by Carolyn on our arrival, who was courteous and most helpful e.g. making recommendations. Her 'cream tea' was delicious and a lovely surprise.

We will definitely revisit Downs Barn Farm :o)




Bridie's Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third stay at Bridie's Barn and as usual, we enjoyed it very much. There is always a warm and friendly welcome from Carolyn, the owner and delicious cream tea on arrival. The barn is warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The facilities are 5 star and all you could require for an enjoyable stay has been provided. We would highly recommend and look forward to our next visit.



A excellent relaxing time

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our time at bridies was all that we hoped it would be , from the warm welcome on our arrival and the delicious freshly baked scones . We had a lovely relaxing 10 days , the weather wasnt the kindest but we still managed to get out and about . Bridies is well stocked in the kitchen everything we needed good shopping localy for food needs and good pubs near for meals .a wealth of info on local amenities and places to visit in the barn. Hope to return at some point in season to visit them . Thank you for a wonderful stay



Amazing weekend away in pure luxury living

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the best stay and such a warm welcome when we arrived , the scones were deliscious ! The barn was stunning and had everything that we needed to make our stay very comfortable . We loved the dogs coming to say hello whilst we stayed with you very cute ! Bridies barn is in the perfect location for exploring the beaches and local towns . We will definitely be back and already trying to plan our next visit ! Thankyou for a wonderful stay x



Carolyn replied more than 1 year ago
Pleased you enjoyed the homemade cream tea, a bit of a treat after your journey. We are very lucky to be situated so conveniently for visiting places of interest in the area and there is lots more to see next time you visit. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Beautiful luxury barn on a farm

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridie's Barn is absolutely stunning from the moment you walk in. It had everything we needed - extremely comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom with walk in shower and bath, all that you could want in the kitchen area and even views of the sea in the distance from the enormous picture windows in the living area and bedroom. The underfloor heating kept us really cosy for our nights in. We visited lots of pretty local coves and ate in good local pubs. A perfect autumn break.



Carolyn replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted that you enjoyed your autumn break and the comfort and warmth of Bridie's Barn. It's always lovely to come back to somewhere cosy and warm after a blustery day out on the coast.

Consistently brilliant!

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are returning guests and keep coming back because this accommodation never disappoints. We are picky about where we stay and we never have any worries here - it’s like a home from home. We are always made welcome by the owners and it’s worth the trip for the scones alone! A great base from which to explore this wonderful part of Cornwall and a place just perfect to sit around and chill out if those batteries need recharging. We will be coming back again soon.



Carolyn replied more than 1 year ago
It's always lovely to see you and we are so delighted that you keep wanting to return. You are welcome to come back to chill and recharge those batteries at any time.

A great stay at Bridie's Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week in Cornwall which was enhanced by our stay at Bridie's Barn which is an excellent cottage for two on a working farm. The cottage is very high spec and well looked after. The owners are very friendly and helpful and the three dogs very are friendly too. The cottage is elevated and you can see the English Channel/Atlantic from the sitting room and bedroom. It can be wild but that in our opinion adds to the charm - a lovely hideaway. The nearby village of St. Buryan has a good convenience store and there is a competitively priced petrol station too.

We highly recommend Bridie's Barn and hope to have the opportunity to return at a future date.




Carolyn Care replied more than 1 year ago
So delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the privacy and glorious views. We certainly did have some wild days when you were here, as you say they add to the charm of this beautiful area. We hope we will welcome you back again soon.

Perfect place to stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is fantastic! It has everything you could wish for and Carolyn is the perfect host. Such a perfect and relaxing place to stay. We've been twice and will definitely be returning again.



Carolyn Care replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you enjoyed your return visit to us. Hope it won't be too long before we see you again.

Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous cottage immaculately clean very helpful and friendly. Comfy bed ,fluffy towels everything was brilliant . Good position for sightseeing around the area would definitely recommend.



Carolyn Care replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your appreciation. My daughter and I clean the cottages ourselves to ensure they are spotless and that everything is perfect for you. A great place to return to after a busy day sightseeing!

Second time around

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time my wife and I have stayed in Bridies. Each time the accommodation has hit top marks.
This time after a harrying year all we wanted was rest and recovery and Bridies met our expectations.
The Care family live up to their name, welcoming and always helpful. It is a gem and well worth the extra mileage down the leg of Cornwall almost to the toe




Carolyn Care replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted you think it's worth the journey. We love this area so much that we can't help enthusing about it. Hope the restful week did you some good and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

New York loft apartment style in the middle of rural Cornwall!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely, lovely, time at Downs Barn Farm and the accommodation exceeded our expectations. The location is very rural and peaceful with two horses in the field at the bottom of the well kept garden. It was relaxing watching them eat, run and play while we sat out on the patio with a glass or two of wine I think Carolyn and I were soul sisters as our decorating tastes are very similar, so my husband and I felt very at home in Bridies Barn as soon as we arrived. It was unusual to see a contemporary design for self catering accommodation. Everything you could wish for is provided in the Barn. Lovely modern fully equipped kitchen, very smart bathroom and fresh attractive bedroom with a super king bed. We appreciated the bi fold doors in the living area especially since it was pretty hot when we went and opening the doors to view the horses also gave us some welcome coolness. A bright and airy environment

We appreciated Carolyn's complimentary Cornish afternoon tea complete with home-made scones and we did wander over to the farm house for breakfast one morning (optional extra) which was very well provided. Nothing was too much trouble and Carolyn was a mine of local information.

The whole area was beautiful - the roads were rather narrow and bendy but we do have quite a big car. But we managed ok and got used to it very quickly. We ate at the St Buryan Inn which was very disappointing so did not repeat the experience, but the old English pub in Treen (Logan's Rock) made up for it. Would recommend for dinner or lunch. We also enjoyed the Taj Mahal in Penzance, some Nepalese dishes made the restaurant quite interesting. The restaurant No 2 Fore Street in Mousehole was disappointing to us but is obviously very popular with others (difficult place to drive around and park), we also didn't rate The Shore restaurant in Penzance but Rick Stein's Seafood restaurant in Padstow was amazingly good, despite the hype! All the restaurants need pre booking.

We enjoyed the coastal walk at Lands End and a drink in the pub at Sennen Cove. Poldark is filmed in this part of Cornwall so its nice to see some of the locations. Porthcurno Cove is absolutely beautiful - its like being on a Caribbean beach! (but no beach bar alas for a cooling drink) But very unspoilt. Only about 5 miles from the farm. We also much enjoyed our visit to The Lizard, well worth a drive out. Lamorna Cove was interesting and there's a pub there but we only stopped briefly. Was unable to do all the wonderful local walks due to personal mobility issues but would love to have done some. We paid a visit to St Just and also the old mine there where they also film Poldark.

We went by train to St Ives - had to be done. A pleasant journey, there are two trains an hour. The last time I was there was as an 18 year old in 1969. Sadly, it has got very commercialised. Glad we went but disappointed in some ways. The biggest disappointment was the Tate Gallery - hardly anything in it and very pretencious but the beach outside was beautiful and we enjoyed a nice tapas style lunch in the restaurant above the beach. Recommended. We much enjoyed visiting Padstow - quality little shops and not as commercialised as St Ives. Quite charming. There seems to be quite a lot of parking available down at the harbour there but better to stop in the park and ride at the top of the village, less stressful. £4 will pay for the car for the day and a short bus ride down to the harbour and back for all the car passengers, - depart every 10 mins excepting a break between about 2 and 3pm (check). Very civilised and good value for money

As we were driving round visiting as many coves and beaches as we could, we did get a bit fed up with keep having to pay quite a lot of money in car parks, some of them belong to the National Trust. I am not sure if you are a member if you get free parking. So make sure you have plenty of small change so's not to get caught out by not having the right money to feed the parking machines!!

We have no hesitation in recommending this great accommodation and hope to return in the future




Carolyn Care replied more than 1 year ago
We are so delighted you enjoyed your first stay at Downs Barn and that you appreciated my taste in decor in Bridie's Barn. I loved your description of the barn as a New York style loft apartment, think it sums it up perfectly. You certainly made the most of your visit and covered a lot of ground! We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Another lovely holiday in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third visit to beautiful Bridie’s Barn. This time on honeymoon, so extra romantic! Seems to get better with each stay, weather was very good, in the mid 20’s for most of the week, prompting us several times to go to the beach. For swimming and resting, Porthcurno is outstanding, as is Porthchapel. Penberth in a different way is also good. Our favourite: St Loys is walking distance from the barn and is overlooked by many. But well worth the walk down through the woods and we were lucky to see dolphins.
Our host and pets have again thought of everything and were charming in looking after our needs. (Note to self: “must remember to bring several toys for our four legged friends next time !”). The roses, champagne and best wishes was also very appreciated.
It’s not a case of if again but when.




Gorgeous Downs Barn Farm

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting Downs Barn Farm for years and feel compelled to return every year because we enjoy the peace and quiet, pure relaxation and luxury accommodation. We have stayed in both Bridie's Barn and Skylarks and both are excellent and a great base to explore the surrounding countryside, beautiful beaches and coastal walks. The cream tea on arrival is a lovely treat and the breakfasts served in the farmhouse are delicious. Carolyn and Richard's hospitality is second to none. See you next year x



Excellent accommodation and hosts

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were greeted with a very warm welcome from the owners and they were available and helpful during our stay. An excellent cream tea was waiting for us.
The accommodation was spacious, very well equipped and extremely clean. It was also very light and airy with a lovely view. We had easy access to lots of gardens and villages, and local walks.




Enjoyable stay in a delightful cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were welcomed with a cream tea, with scones baked by Carolyn, which set the tone for the week. The cottage is beautifully done and exceptionally well equipped with views across the farm fields. The location is good with easy access to all of the sites in the Penwith peninsular easily accessible. Carolyn and Richard are friendly and helpful hosts and we would recommend Bridie's Barn with confidence that visitors will find their stay as enjoyable and relaxing as we did.



Very comfortable week in luxurious accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridie's Barn is superbly furnished and equipped and very spacious for a one bedroom cottage. One of the best we have stayed in. Long views to the sea and a lovely private outdoor area, great if the weather is good. Carolyn is a friendly and helpful host.



Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had another wonderful stay at downsbarn farm,this time we stayed in Bridies barn.Everything was just perfect ! If you are looking to stay in this part of Cornwall just book downs barn farm , you will not be disappointed.



Cornwall at its best.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Downs Barn farm is a 5 star accommodation west of Penzance. Breakfast is excellent, also excellent is the view as you gaze out to
sea from your own personal and private patio.




Back again to Bridie's Barn and it us every bit as good as the first time

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owner of this property keeps the standard of this accommodation at the very highest level of quality. Once again, we were made to feel so welcome on arrival and, as with our previous visit, our expectations were exceeded in all aspects. I cannot recommend this property more highly if you are looking for a very comfortable base from which to explore this part of Cornwall. I have booked it again for later in the year.



Amazing first visit to Cornwall!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about our stay at Downs Barn Farm was first class - a lovely welcome from Carolyn and of course the dogs in such a brilliant location. The accommodation is a luxurious way to relax those aching feet after a day's exploring some of the amazing sites Cornwall has to offer. The ultimate review is that we cannot wait to return!



Our return to Bridie's Barn

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a return visit to Bridie's barn and everything was as perfect as before. The standard of accommodation is second to none and Carolyn and Richard are very welcoming and friendly hosts. We very much look forward to another holiday there in the future.



Beautiful Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful stay at Bridie's Barn over the New Year! The Barn is located in a great part of Cornwall and is finished to such a high standard - a very luxurious feel. We hope to return in the summer!



Fantastic stay and great hosts

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had three nights in our quiet and quaint barn. It's a fantastic escape from the busy life we live. With a beautiful view from our barn. Our hosts were fantastic and so helpful and friendly. You can really tell when someone loves what they do and it shows as soon as you step through the door.

The dogs Belle and Rolo are adorable and took us on a mini adventure. And Splash the horse was so gentle and enjoyed some carrots!

The room itself was perfect. Neat and fresh and not a thing out of place. It had pretty much everything we needed. The heated floors were amazing.

Three nights weren't enough and we wish we could have stayed longer!

Thank you so much to everyone at the farm who made us feel so welcome. We really didn't want to leave.




Total relaxation

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location, beautiful views, very friendly service. Cottage was equipped with everything you could need for a truly relaxing break.



Brilliant place to stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is lovely, modern and comfortable holiday accommodation. The standard of finish is amazing with everything you could possibly want for two people all of very high quality and in perfect condition. The welcome was warm and friendly with scones, jam and cream to greet us along with a brief introduction to the property from Carolyn. I heartily recommend this as a place to stay and we will certainly be returning.



What's not to like? One of the best places we have ever stayed at.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we first arrived, we parked at the back of Bridie's barn and I have to admit that my first thought was Oh no another holiday place that doesn't live up to the pictures, but when we came around to the front and saw inside the barn - Wow does not express how outstanding the barn looked.

Everything was very stylish and just as on the pictures and was also very comfortable. I had never seen a settee that colour or style before and it really was roomy and relaxing, the bed was HUGE and really was a treat to lie on and the kitchen was spectacular. It had a fridge, freezer, washing machine,cooker, cooker/microwave, hob (that did take a little while to learn how to use even though instructions are provided) but was very efficient when we figured it out and all the equipment you would need to cook with. The bathroom was out of this world too - very spacious with a big shower and a separate bath.

Even though we had arrived a bit earlier than the time requested, Carolyn made us feel very welcome and even apologised for the fact that the scones weren't quite ready, which she brought round a bit later with clotted cream and her own home-made jam - was glad I came just for those !

My partner and I are always on the look out for room to practice our Martial Arts - Chen Taiji and Qigong and there was plenty of room both inside and out as the spacious patio also had a grass area with views onto the fields and trees and the sea in the distance.

The barn despite being spacious and having a high ceiling was lovely and warm, which can really ruin your holiday if you're cold.

I am so pleased to have found somewhere that I not only would recommend without any hesitation but am looking forward to coming back - which won't be as often as I would like because of the drive from Birmingham - but we will definitely be back!




Cornwall at its best.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
downs barn farm is a five star establishment the accommodation is first class and the breakfast will satisfy you for the rest of the day..Parking is easy and the dogs very friendly Enjoy yourself !



More or less exactly as we expected, and worth the 800 mile round trip for the fabulous view alone.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our 2 week stay in Bridies Barn even though the weather was not what we normally get every year in Penwith.

We always book properties from the Premier Selection and always totally pet free. This does not mean we do not like dogs etc. we do. What a lovely trio the dogs are and occasionally a fourth dog visited too. Each morning whilst having breakfast it could be guaranteed they would call and say Hello. On our first night we enjoyed a barbeque, but it was not warm enough to eat outdoors.

We were hoping that with the total darkness that is to be enjoyed at night that we might be able to do a bit of star gazing, but the cloudy conditions were very persistant and not a star was to be seen all fortnight. Never the less we had a great holiday.




Bridie's Barn August 2016

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridies Barn, Down Barn Farm is a fantastic facility and a great base to explore Penzance and surrounding area. Carolyne and Richard are great hosts. Highly recommend.



2 excellent weeks in Bridies Barn

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage accommodation for just 2 people is difficult to find and we found a gem with Bridies Barn.
Fixtures and fittings superb throughout, comfortable furniture and peaceful surroundings with sea views.
Carolyn and Richard were perfect hosts, always available with answers if needed plus breakfast is available at their B+B next door and is highly recommended.
Good base to explore with easy access to all routes around Cornwall




Peace in paradise

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in Bridie's Barn. Everything was of a really high standard and there was really nothing that they hadn't thought of. It was a great location for walking and cycling and so nice to come back and relax at the end of the day. The night skies were unbelievable, my only regret is that we couldn't stay for longer. Next time we will definitely book for at least 2 weeks!!



Excellent accommodation in a beautiful area

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridie's Barn was probably the best accommodation we have ever stayed in. It is light and airy, very well equipped with good quality fixtures and fittings, furniture and kitchen utensils. It became very much an integral part of our holiday and we looked forward to relaxing there in the evenings.



The perfect stay in Cornwall

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect location for your holidays in Cornwall. The house is equipt with everthing you may need.
With the Sunloungers you can make the most of a sunny afternoon. A Table is provided for Alfreso dining.
Look at the pictures they say everthing.
But what the pictures could not show is the tranquillity of the location and the absolute silence at night. We will come back.




Bridie's Barn is perfect is every way.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been visiting Downs Barn Farm for years and we just can't fault it. We love it and intend to keep visiting for many years to come. The accommodation is beyond perfect and Carolyn and Richard make us feel like part of the family. Our little girl also loves the family dogs, Belle and Rolo. The countryside around Downs Barn (particularly St Loy woods) is just so stunning and we even named our home St Loy as we love it so much. A wonderful place to go and relax and recharge.



A real treasure

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week in Bridies Barn, we couldn't fault anything! The property is light and airy, beautifully furnished and equipped with everything we needed for a relaxing and peaceful break. We would certainly hope to return again soon!



Self catering with style

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent a week at Bridies Barn, our first time in the self catering cottage, although we have stayed In the Bed and Breakfast a few years ago which we really enjoyed. The cottage was so light and cosy, the furniture and furnishings were really lovely and so stylish. It was lovely and warm even without heating. We love this part of Cornwall, it's quieter and more peaceful and quite rural. The patio area was lovely, we could see the sea and watched the two horses, unfortunately the weather was not as warm as we hoped so we weren't able to enjoy sitting out and enjoying the light evenings but the cottage was so well equipped with everything you would ever need, it's all been thought of. Excellent stay, we'd love to come again,and Carolyn is on hand to help with anything. She very kindly offered us some tickets to see The Fishermans Friends at the Minack which was a truly super evening, lovely clear sky, full moon, not too cold and a great concert. A lovely end to our holiday.



A perfect escape

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridie's Barn is one of the most well equipped places I have ever stayed - it has everything you can possibly need and more. It is also designed for absolute comfort - lovely bathroom with huge bath and shower and an amazingly comfy bed! It is also a beautiful location - very peaceful and a view of the sea. There is loads to do around the area as well (within an hours drive). We had the perfect stay with lovely weather so couldn't ask for more!



An extremely restful holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The attention to detail is outstanding. We wanted a restful stay and Bridies gave us the comfort we were seeking in area of Cornwall that makes you feel so remote from hustle and bustle. In the background when needed and not in an intrusive way Carolyn and Richard's hospitality is always apparent. We have had many holidays both in the UK and abroad and this week in Bridies ranks one of the best experiences we have had.



High quality accommodation and friendly people

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

We've been holidaying in Cornwall for over 20 years and this was, without doubt, one of the most comfortable places that we have been to in this area. The standard of accommodation is excellent and the owners are friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the local area.

The location is great for visiting the coast, walking across the countryside or simply chilling out in the well kept gardens. Penzance is close by if you need a bit of retail therapy too !

We can't recommend it enough and are already planning our next visit.




Better than a luxury hotel room!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Due to unfortunate circumstances we had a very last minute change of plans for the Easter break but fortunately we found Downs Barn Farm. Carolyn was extremely helpful from the first phone call asking for last minute availability to providing information about places to visit when we got to Bridie's Barn. The delicious scones waiting for us was a lovely touch after a long drive!
We were very impressed with the quality of accommodation and the immaculate presentation overall! Carolyn has thought of everything you may need in the self catering accomodation even down to the minute detail of cling film and foil in the kitchen.
The weather was not great unfortunately so we did not explore as much as we wanted to but we certainly spent 5 days of relaxation and peace watching the 2 horses grazing in the field across from the living room. The 2 dogs Rolo and Belle were around to greet you if they were out which was lovely but were also very respectful of your accommodation and did not intrude in any way.
We would love to return when the weather is better and have already recommended Downs Barn Farm to family and friends. We had a fantastic break overall!




Perfect luxury retreat in West Cornwall

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Bridie's Barn as the base for our 9 day stay in Cornwall in order to provide a comfortable and cosy base should the weather fail to deliver. Well the accommodation outstripped our expectations as did the weather which saw us on sun loungers on the terrace on two mornings! We have never stayed in such a well - equipped holiday let ; the owners really have thought of everything.Carolyn's home- made scones to welcome us,complete with jam and clotted cream set the scene for a wonderful holiday. You will not be disappointed.



Lovely

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this place! The owners were really friendly and the accomodation was first class.
The living area was lovely and bright but also nice and warm for the time of year. The shower was amazing and the bath nice and relaxing.
The bed was huge! And really comfortable.
I would definitely recommend Bridie's Barn to anyone and we would stay there again.




Incredible Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bridie's Barn is absolutely stunning! We spent a magical few days here over Christmas and have already booked our next trip. We can't fault the cottage or the location. Carolyn and Richard are also amazing hosts.

We plan to come back year after year!




A week's stay at Bridies Barn in December

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arriving on Saturday afternoon we were met by the charming and friendly owner and had a delicious cream tea kindly supplied by Mrs.Care.The standard of the accommodation surpassed all our expectations having stayed in a " luxury "
cottage in Wales earlier in the year and been disappointed with the standards there. This was what it said on the tin!!




A very modern, comfortable, well equipped property in a lovely position, close to the sea.

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very modern, comfortable property in a lovely position, close to the sea, with great views from the large lounge windows. The kitchen facilities were excellent, very clean and tidy - a delight to use. The property truly provided almost everything one could want as a base for a most enjoyable week in Cornwall. The owners were very helpful and friendly, always willing to listen and over advice when required. A property worthy of more visits in future years.



BRIDIEs BARN

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are recently back from our third visit to Bridies Barn and this accommodation certainly deserves its 5 star award.
The owners/hosts Richard and Carolyn are very helpful but not intrusive.
We have been visiting this area for many years and have rented all types of accommodation but this is certainly the best!

We have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation which is situated in a beautiful area of Cornwall.





Little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The picture looked great. The description was great but the reality was different. It FAR EXCEEDED our expectations and was one of, if not the best place. we have ever rented. The owner was friendly and the designer touches were on a "Grand Designs " scale. Will definitely be returning.



Happy days Cornwall

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Visitors to Bride's cottage will be immediately impressed by the quality of the furnishings and fittings.
We slept in a King Size bed and enjoyed the stars over western Cornwall--- not to be miised !
Having spent an enjoyable four days on the farm we look forward to a return visit




Perfect relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited this barn on the recommendation of a close friend. It was exactly what we needed - despite being a very long journey from our home. The accommodation is excellent, with a very high spec - although we did recommend to Caroline (the owner) that mention of the quality of the appliances (and especially the washing machine) would have meant we could have travelled with half the stuff we did!

The family ownership is a real plus, and nothing is too much bother, although a freak storm did wipe out the Wi-Fi at the end of our stay (not such a bad thing when you're trying to get away from it all!)

If it weren't so far we'd definitely return. As it is, we're still considering it - evens with a luxury villa in the sun!