FB Twitter

Helensville House, Westport, Co. Mayo - 4 Bed - Sleeps 8

Helensville House, Westport, Co. Mayo - 4 Bed - Sleeps 8

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.8
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.1
Location
4.9
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.4


Helensville House is located on a small inlet of Clew Bay in the highly desirable area of Rosbeg just 3.8km west of Westport Town.

Relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful house,a bit dated but very homely,we loved it,we had a very relaxing holiday,the garden is lovely and big so we got to have fun with the kids,the view is beautiful from the house,the caretakers are fantastic,if u need anything their there so thank you Ray&Maureen.xx.



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Michelle Thank you for your review on Helensville House. We are delighted to hear that you and your family had a relaxing stay here. The garden and view from the house are fantastic. Ray, Maureen and Caroline are brilliant as they want all guests to enjoy their stay. Thank you again for your feedback. Kindest regards Maura

Spectacular Setting

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The setting of this house is spectacular ~ looking out over Crough Patrick ~ with the ever changing skies and tides and the birdsong. The caretaker is very friendly and helpful. Four comfortable beds with lovely linens. The library of 3000 books many of them on Ireland, literature, philosophy, and nature and on the West gave a great support to our learning. A nicely equipped modern kitchen beautifully designed. Our one recommendation ~ bring a sharp knife with you and a vegetable peeler.



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Sue Anne Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Helensville House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. The house is lovely and surrounded by amazing views. The caretaker is excellent and wants all his guests to enjoy their time at Helensville. We have passed your comments on to the caretaker. Thank you again for your feedback. Kindest regards Maura

A stunning view in a quiet place, just what we need

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A breathtaking view over Croagh Patrick and the bay is the best point of this house. The location is excellent if you want to discover what County Mayo and Connemara can offer you. The house has got a special and personal atmosphere. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy your stay, then you have found the perfect address. Westport provides you with all the facilities and some good restaurants are only a kilometer away. The keeper offered us a warm welcome and some good advice too.



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Helensville House, we appreciate your feedback and delighted you enjoyed your time in Ireland. Thank you

Excellently located private & spacious

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We recently stayed in Helensville with our 4 children for a week. House was clean spacious well equipped & very private. The location was excellent within walking distance of Quay area of Westport. Kitchen appliances were all new and kitchen was well equipped. Limited wifi was slight drawback.



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday experience at Helensville,we appreciate the feedback and glad the family all enjoyed their break!

Badly in need of refurbishing and modernising

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Much of the house is like an Agatha Christie set with old and damaged furniture. Where there has been refurbishment it is shoddy. There is a smell of damp and mould in the bedrooms, the mattresses are worn out, there is little in the way of useful info on what to do when for example the showers trip (which they do), there is mould growing and flaking paint on the walls, some curtain rails are either missing or hanging off the walls. The overall impression is of owners who have gone away and made little attempt to set the house up as a holiday let. Pros are a good location and reasonably cheap.



Great house overlooking Clew Bay

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Seven of us a fabulous week at Helensville House in July....the house is perfect with a lovely sitting room with views over the bay and Croke Patrick (sometimes it was there and sometimes it disappeared in the mist!) The owners have a wonderful collection of books especially if you are interested in Philosophy and plenty of games. The space is roomy and feels like home from home. I would definitely rent the house again when we were in Mayo. For kids, there is a huge lawn in front where you can play football or..

There is a great pub just up the road with good food and a bit of craic. You can walk into the Quay area where there are more restaurants and pubs and plenty of music in the town itself.




Location

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location, great views, fab garden, nice house. Close to town and great base for traveling. Sheebeen pub just across bay is great for food and minutes away.



Excellent!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic location, lovely setting, quirky and interesting house. Close to a lovely pub!

............................................................................................




Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Niall for your review of our house, we appreciate and glad you enjoyed your break

Great for kids

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great house in a great location ...



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Frank for your feedback we appreciate you taking the time to complete the review. Thank you !

Great house, lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Helensville House is a lovely house in a perfect location for a family holiday. The views of Clew Bay and Croagh Patrick are spectacular. The general standard of the house and furnishings is high. My only comment is that there is too much furniture and lots of ornaments making some rooms feel cluttered.

The house has lots of extras like footballs, board games, and hundreds of books.