FB Twitter

Dunkerron Woods, Kenmare, Co. Kerry 3 Bed Sleeps 6

Dunkerron Woods 3 bed, Kenmare, Co. Kerry - 3 Bed Sleeps 6

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.6
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Dunkerron Woods Holiday Homes near Kenmare co. Kerry, a wooded parkland estate on the ring of Kerry is 2km from Kenmare, has beautiful mountain views and nestles quietly on the shores of Kenmare Bay.

Eautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful time in kenmare would highly recommend it will stay again. House was wonderful, Maura has everything ready for us upon our arrival. Thank you !



Heaven holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this place was amazing - definitely will be returning - location is fab, small playground for kids and walkway through to small beach and Dunkerron house B+B bar + lounge - just amazing cannot recommend highly - lovely people to deal with - only thing is you have to leave the house by 10am on day of departure - understand that house has to be cleaned before new arrivals but maybe an hour or two later will do as trying to pack up and clean the house I was up at 8.30 - wrecked.x



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Carol appreciate your feedback

Nice place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house offered everything you need for a comfortable holiday stay. However some kitchen tools could be replaced by new ones and the oven needs a proper cleaning. Apart from that everything worked well and we found a lot of material what to visit. Also it was easy to make a fire to heat the place and enjoy the atmosphere. We would come back again.



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Peter Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Waterstone. The house is in a great location for exploring the surrounding countys. We are glad to hear you would return to the house. Thank you for your feedback we will pass your comments on to the owners. Kindest regards Maura

What a treat!

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Waterstone Cottage could not have been improved! On arrival we were met by Derek and Mary who gave us such a warm welcome. They explained how to operate some of the things in the house, gave us some local tips and left a starter pack of food, so lunch was on them! Even the weather was great all week.

The house was extremely clean, wonderfully presented and had great character. The view was fantastic and our favorite part of the holiday was opening the large patio doors and taking in the view with a coffee or glass of wine in hand!

As a peaceful retreat or a base to explore the area, Waterstone Cottage will make your stay a real treat!




Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Mick Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Waterstone Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay here. This house is beautiful and the views are stunning. Derek and Mary are wonderful and very helpful. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards Maura

A great New Year's break

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not ask for better. Service and house were excellent. If you want a relaxing break in Kenmare in the heart of Kerry this should be the only property that you consider



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Tony Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you liked the house and area so much. The caretaker on site is wonderful. We are delighted that you would recommend this property to others. Thank you again for your review, we value your feedback. Kind regards Maura

A beautiful spot

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a short note to say what a great break we,'ve just returned from at waterstone cottage. It really was a holiday, returned completely rested, views from the cottage are beautiful, cottage so comfortable, everything is of a v, high quality, location is perfect, quiet, not isolated, Kilkenny, wexford, all v, close, st, Mullins itself is in a gorgeous spot, by the river Barrow, highly recommend. ....



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Deirdre Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Waterstone Cottage. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Waterstone. The house is beautiful, it is a great base as Wexford, Waterford and Kilkenny are all so close. The views from the house are lovely. Thank you again for your review, we value all our customers feedback. Kind regards Maura

A real home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family of six, we were delighted with the facilities in Waterstone Cottage. Our first reaction was that the house was very clean, bright, airy and very well prepared and presented for our arrival. It was spacious and had all the mod cons needed including free WiFi (our children were delighted) . The house was beautifully furnished and had a really cosy feel to it, helped by the large wood burning stove in the living room. Derek, who manages the property, had even gone to the trouble of buying bread, milk, tea etc for our arrival.(Thank you) He also showed us the workings of the house and took time to suggest suitable outings and places of interest for the family. The views of the open valley and surrounding hill side were fantastic-especially when viewed from the open verandas. The beds were really comfortable and the rural location ensured a quiet and peaceful sleep at night.We loved our stay and felt very much at home here. The large kitchen table was the focus point for the family in the evenings. The location is ideal as a base to explore Kilkenny, Wexford, Waterford, Carlow and beyond. We loved our stay.



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good afternoon Eddie Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Waterstone Cottage. This house is beautiful and Derek is brilliant. We are delighted to hear that everyone in your family enjoyed their stay at Waterstone Cottage. The views from the house are stunning and the rural location would certainly help you get a peaceful night sleep. This house is a great base to have if you find you will be travelling around this part of Ireland and the wifi is a big plus with the kids. Thank you again for your review, we welcome all our customers feedback. Kind regards Maura

Ireland done the right way!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the onset Derek and Mary were the most gracious and helpful hosts. The house is beautiful, well stocked, and what a view. St. Mullins is a cozy hamlet and everyone we came in contact was nothing but hospitable. The town is also central to many of the attractions and places one would want to visit. We strongly recommend the Waterstone Cottage and its well worth every penny. Thanks again to Derek and Mary for all their help in making this a GREAT vacation! Can't wait to go back.

Great home. Great people. Great experience.




A wonderful and relaxing stay at Waterstone cottage in St. Mullins

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a really pleasant stay in St. Mullins together with my 2 children (13 and 16). The cottage was charming with a great mixture of tradition and modern comfort. We did not miss anything and were so pleased that each of us could have our own bathroom. The surroundings are great and peaceful. This made us change our original plans as a matter of fact: We enjoyed the cottage more and did travel less.
It was a real pleasure to be welcomed by Derek and Mary. They are charming people and had nice attentions to us throughout our 2 week stay. They were caring and still not intrusive which was absolutely perfect for us.
The area around St. Mullins is great to visit, the main cities have a lot to offer. Wexford is not far away. Dublin by train is really convenient. Coming from and going back to Rosslare happens to be really easy which is definitely an advantage in case of tight schedule.
By the way, walking along the river Barrow or playing golf nearby will remain among the many nice moments we had.
Thinking of it while writing this, we only have great moments to remember and I realize that the comfortable house and the cheerful caretakers did contribute a lot to the good memories. Beautiful and cheerful Ireland did the rest.




Could be nice but place needed a good clean

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jul 2014
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
When we arrived, we had to ring and ask for the bed clothes to be changed as they smelled & obviously had not been cleaned from last people staying (think we were 1st rentals since house being done up but there were def people there before us). The place had not been hoovered or dusted either as it was covered in dog hair. The single room also has a terrible smell in it coming from the drawers do couldn't put clothes in it. The house itself was fine and but had no table and chairs out the back which you would expect for a house being rented for €750 a week.



Trip to kenmare

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The houses are very spacious and I would return again with my family.it is a lovely location and very quite. It is a short drive from kenmare and t kids love t boat trip in kenmare.



Brenda replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Linda, thank you for your feedback, we are delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and thank you again for choosing relax Ireland to book your holiday. thank you

Wonderful, relaxing St. Mullins

Review submitted on Thu, 15 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Waterstone cottage is a little piece of paradise, set in beautiful mountains with breathtaking views all around. St. Mullins is a hamlet with a lovely welcoming pub and a tea house, on the river Barrow, that serves a variety of freshly made meals and amazing cakes. The house itself is very comfortable, like a home from home. It has a log burner, a dishwasher(!) and a very well fitted kitchen. There is a washing machine in the shed outside and wifi. Derek and Mary, the proprietors, live close by and are very willing to come at a moments notice if you have any questions or need help. I felt very well looked after while I was there.

Some suggestions would be to put a gate at the driveway, as I was always concerned that the children may run out onto the road while playing in the garden. Mary said that they were planning to put some kind of slide/swing-set in the garden too, which would be useful for keeping the kids occupied. I would also suggest a dvd player, as Irish weather is not always conducive to outdoor activities and there are only 2 tv channels.

I plan to go back as soon as I can!