FB Twitter

Bunratty Castle Gardens, Bunratty, Co. Clare - 3 Bedroom Sleeps 6

Bunratty Castle Gardens, Bunratty, Co. Clare - 3 Bedroom Sleeps 6

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
76% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.8
Location
4.2
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.2


Bunratty Castle Gardens are 3 bedroom self catering homes located just 400 m from Bunratty Castle & Folk Park. Complimentary WiFi is provided throughout the property.

Short and fun

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Mar 2020
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Houses are comfortable, nice area, well equiped. Just needs to refurbish some areas.
Great location.




Stay at bunratty castle gardens

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The grounds of the houses were in terrible condition. Parking area was overgrown with broken glass everywhere and broken lamps etc. The houses were located on the grounds of a very large shut down hotel. This building was in a very delipated condition and made the houses and the poorly maintained grounds look worse.
The houses themselves were in relatively good condition apart from the sitting room which had very worn mismatched furniture. The sofa for example was torn with the insides coming out.
The houses were sold as being in the grounds of bunratty castle however this was definitely not the case. They were in the grounds of a shut down hotel, although bunratty castle was a very short walk so this wasn't really an issue.
Staff were very friendly and the booking process was seamless.




Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good afternoon Geneveive Thank you for you review on Bunratty Castle Gardens. The houses are located on the grounds of a hotel which is fenced off but we do not own this building or the grounds around it so have no control over its appearance, however I have sent your feedback to the management company. No where on our site does it state that these houses are on the grounds of Bunratty Castle. Bunratty Castle Gardens is the name of the houses. Staff on site are very friendly and helpful. Thank you again for your feedback. Kindest regards Maura

House was laid out well, lots of space, very comfortably stay. Everything provided.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was laid out well with lots of space for a very comfortably stay. 2 bedrooms, double and 2 singles upstairs and 2 bedrooms with bunk beds x3 downstairs. Bathroom upstairs and downstairs both with electric showers. Everything provided. Close to town and beach. Home away from home.



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Yvonne Thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review on The Brooks Kilkee. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. The house is in a great location and really is like a home away from home. The facilities are the best with plenty of room for all the family. Thank you again for your feedback. Kindest regards Maura

A Little Gem in Connemara

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent location to tour Commemara. Cottage was peaceful which was perfect for us. Leenane is a great area with lovely scenery, great food and good pubs.



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Anne and Michael Thank you for taking the time to review Cottage Leenane. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here and that you got to sample some of our great food and pubs. The scenery in the area is stunning and the weather has been great. Thank you again for your feedback. Kindest regards Maura

Swings and roundabouts

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Location was excellent - the best reason to stay in St Gerard's. Close to everything we love about Rosslare.

There are some lovely quirky touches to the house including really lovely bed linen.

However a series of small things made experience pretty poor by comparison to any other house we have taken over the last decade in Rosslare.
Only 3 towels supplied for 6 people. We had to buy towels for the week. No wifi (pre confirmed) - eventually a dongle delivered. In kitchen 1 bread knife supplied. No other knives - which is odd in a self catering house. The plates were too big for the dishwasher and didn't clean.
We had to clean all the pots, cutlery etc before using. All really not clean, at all.

We had also pre confirmed if there was a BBQ was at house. Only a small table top BBQ was delivered. This was pretty much useless for 3 adults 3 kids. There are no mirrors in bedrooms - bar one. No mirror at all in downstairs bathroom.
The house is very damp, but we got out as much as we could.

We would recommend St Gerard's for location only... if you stay there, you'd need to bring a long list of things that should be included at this price point.

I'm not sure that the Caretaker appreciated the shortcomings but as the house is booked out for the same weeks next year, it may not really not concern her.





Lovely and comfy house with gorgeous views

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is lovely and very comfortable, the kitchen has everything you'd need; the shower works perfectly, the heating and the hot water too. The place has an utterly gorgeous view. A proper spot to relax and be far away from noise, the closest town is about 1-2 km you could go walking, though is better if you have a car cause the closest supermarket is about 15 km.
The hostesses are very kind and helpful and will be assured you have everything and spend a lovely time there.

Definitely would recommend this, specially for a big group.




Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good afternoon Patricia Thank you for taking the time to write a reviewon Wild Atlantic Way Holiday Home. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here. The house is beautiful and would be a great place for a large group to stay. The views are stunning and the house is very well maintained. Thank you again for your feedback. Kindest regards Maura

Very central to shop, bars, restaurants and beach

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Plenty of space, 2 sitting rooms with TVs which is great for splitting kids and adults. Very well equipped kitchen, outside dining table for 6. Front garden a real sun trap too. Right across road from beach access. We couldn't complain at all.



Brenda replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review - we are delighted you enjoyed your time at Saint Gerards.

Great place to stay outside Tralee beach fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a tremendous time the beach was stunning and the apartment suited our needs perfectly one thing I would say about the hotel is it did not open till 10 AM in the morning which I thought was strange maybe this was a one off also you could not buy a cooked breakfast at the resort so we had to drive for 10 minutes to find another hotel that did breakfast, I think somebody later on in the day said you could of got sausage rolls there in the morning but to be honest I wouldn't call that breakfast in general I have to say really enjoyed our stay there and will deafly be back . The banana Beach challenge was great crack and a great way of a team bonding for a weekend very good value very good fun .



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Rod Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Banna Beach Resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here and the Banna Beach Challenge. In the off season the bar, diner and shop are not open unfortunately. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards Maura

Recommend!

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed for a week in this house for our holiday with another family. The living space for 2 families (8 altogether) was perfect. the kitchen is lovely and is specked out well! The photos online don't give the place justice!!
Although a train track is near the house - it's not a nuisance. And it didn't bother us at all. It's less than a 10 minute walk to the village. We would definitely go back. And definitely recommend this lovely house!




family of six

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation was very good, very spacious. Lots of open area around the site and safe for kids to play and cycle. We were missing a few kitchen utensils, cutlery and were short on drinking glasses. The pool was very nice, busy at times, some teenagers allowed to be too rowdy, bombing into pool etc. Beautiful beach, with very good surf lessons at a cheap rate, 10-15 euros for 2 hours. If weather is good, ideal holiday.



Ideal summer holiday.

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of eight had a wonderful time staying at St Gerard's. We were blessed with great weather & our hosts, Eddie and Elizabeth Cullen went out of their way, well beyond the call of duty, to ensure that our holiday was memorable and their kindness was much appreciated.
The house was ideal for our family group, lots of room for everyone. The place was beautifully presented, yet unfussy and relaxed. The beach is only a short walk away, a shop and restaurants and other amenities are close by. The only thing that was missing for the boys was a space to play football. Nonetheless much of our time was spent outdoors, meals in glorious sunshine in the patio, playing with the children in the front garden.
Overall a lovely welcoming experience, a holiday to remember.




Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Fionna Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Saint Gerards. We are delighted to hear that you all enjoyed your stay here. Eddie and Elizabeth are so lovely and welcoming. The house is beauitful and in a excellent location all amenities are just a short walk from the house. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards Maura

Summer camp cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The beds were shot. All the mattresses need to be replaced. Imagine sleeping for a week on bad mattresses. The water heater for the upstairs stopped working, the manager had a handyman fix it which helped one of the two upstairs bathrooms. Washer/dryer machine didn't dry. Couch and dining table were adequate. Kitchen was okay. Spiders in every room.

The email with the final check-in instructions came too late, we were already in Ireland and didn't get it. We are lucky we didn't have to find a motel for a night, as we caught the manager after hours leaving the office. It is required to call 24 hours ahead and "schedule" your check in, so as to not inconvenience the property manager.




Lovely house and location. Lots of space.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great house. However some of the blinds in the bedrooms were broken, toilet seat in ensuite was broken and microwave did not work. We were hardly there so not a massive issue but would be if we were staying longer.



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good afternoon Marian Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Dunkerron Woods. I have been in contact with the management company and they will be doing repairs on the issues that you brought to my attention in your review. Thank you for your feedback, it helps us to keep improving our services. Kind regards Maura.

Bunratty Castle Gardens

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay at Bunratty was really good, despite the cleanliness of the house, all was perfect. In fact, it was not that dirty but we expected it to be really clean but the floor was sticky. The caretaker is quite nice and helpfull. The house is located in quiet environment and we can easily go to one city to another because the village is well connected with the roads.



Bunratty Gardens

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Nov 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very spacious, comfortable, and clean house. Dish washer, washing machine and microwave provided. It was great that every room had its own bathroom. 5 mins walk from Bunratty castle and folk park, shops and restaurants and pubs. The only downside was the noisy taps, not good if you have small kids.



great value for money

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There was an issue with the first house - the oven door broke - so Ebby moved us to another house straight away without any fuss. One issue was the heating - we couldn't turn it down and ended up having all of the windows open. The cost of electricity for the week was €75.00 which was way too much considering we didn't want the heating on



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Niall Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Bunratty Castle Gardens. Ebby is brilliant and very helpful. I have been in contact with the Caretaker and he has informed me the issue with the oven door has been addressed. Electricity is meter read and you pay for what is used during your stay. Thank you again for your review, we value your feedback. Kind regards Maura

Mainly Positive Experience

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall we were satisfied with most aspects , however we found that of three double beds only one was up to standard of comfort we expected having paid over a thousand euro for the accommodation for the week. This meant that some of our party did not get proper sleep which would mean that we couldn't recommend the house . Otherwise the standards were high and everything was well kept with very good utilities . We loved the location and garden.



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Thank you for taking the time to write a review on South Bay. We are happy to hear that you and your family were happy with the location. I will pass your comments on to the caretaker of the house. Thank you for bring this to our attention. Thank you again for your review, we value all our customers feedback. Kind regards Maura

Beautiful spacious house, pity about the Wi-Fi

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My wife and I along with our three boys ( 6, 4 and 3 ) have just returned from our week long stay at Dunkerron Woods. As holiday homes go, this one was perfect. It had three spacious ensuite bedrooms; it was immaculately clean and extremely well equipped.
The only issue was when trying to log on to the Wi-Fi, It wanted 15 euro for the week, ( which I felt should be included in the price ) it directed me to Pay-Pal, I put in my details, hit Pay, Pay-Pal directed me back to the providers site ( SCC ) and that site was down/ wouldn’t load. So we had no Wi-Fi and the internet coverage on our phones was practically nonexistent.
We found two local attractions which the kids loved. The first is Seafari which departs from the pier in Kenmare for a three hour cruise of nature watching including getting up close to wild seals. The second was Blueberry Hill Farm in Sneem which was the highlight of the holiday. The boys got to milk a cow, feed pigs, goats, a calf, geese & ducks, rabbits and a lamb, they collected eggs then went inside where they made butter, then scones. While the scones were baking they were shown how to make candles, they made five or six each to bring home to their friends. I highly recommend it.




Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good afternoon Fergal Thank you for taking the time to review Dunkerrron Woods. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay in Dunkerron Woods. The houses are lovely and very spacious. The houses are well equipped and kept immaculate by the caretakers. The two local attractions you found sound like great fun and we will recommend them to anyone travelling to that area. It sounds like your kids had great fun. Thank you again for your review, we value all our customers feedback. Kind regards Maura

summer 2015

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is perfect for a family holiday in Kerry fully equipped with everything you need. There is so much to do and see in Kerry ( even if its raining ). Totally recommend it. Great fun and very happy kids.



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Cyril Thank you for taking the time to review Dunkerron Woods. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at Dunkerron Woods. This is a great location with so much for the family to do even if it rains. We are happy to hear that you would recommend Dunkerron Woods. Thank you again for your review, we value all our customers feedback. Kind regards Maura

Excellent accomadation

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we stayed here for 6 days in july . Accomodation was immaculate upon arrival and the owners where very welcoming . They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needeed and checked in a day later to see we where ok . House is in an ideal location , directly opp kellys hotel , close to the beach, restaurants . Would highly recommend this property



Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Fiona Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Saint Gerards House. We are happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay and would recommend the property to others. The house is in a great location at the heart of Rosslare Strand. Thank you again for your review, we value all our customers feedback. Kind regards Maura

A truly relaxing stay at Saint Geards House, Rosslare.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Saint Gerards is the perfect place to relax and upwind, the house is very peaceful and you get a instant warm feeling about the place. and feel at home straight away. Its decorate in bright colours and has everything you need to entertain guests. We had breakfast to late lunches to sundowners in the garden enjoying the sunshine. The location is just perfect, a short stroll to all Rosslare has to offer and right opposite the famous Kelly's Hotel and fabulous beach. Highly recommended and look forward to return.










































Maura replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Maggie Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Saint Geards House. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay in Rosslare. This house is in the perfect location it is right in the heart of Rosslare Strand. Thank you again for your review, we value all our customers feedback. Kind regards Maura

Power showers required

Review submitted on Tue, 19 May 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
House was clean and in a great location. Showers could be better- power showers would be a help. Everything else in the house was fine. Charge of €10 per day for electricity was a bit rich. I spend €20 a week at my own house.



Not good value for money

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Sep 2014
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The property is located on a busy main road just outside the town, so there was a good deal of noise from constant traffic. It cost €940 to rent the property for one week, which was expensive. We had to pay a further €13.20 for the use of electricity and we were asked to pay a further €20 for Wi-Fi. A rip off to say the least!

The property was comfortable and generally clean, (the floor under the beds hadn't been cleaned). It has lovely views across the bay and is a short walk into the town centre.

However, the busy road, literally at the door step, is a serious issue for families with children. Overall, it was poor value for money.




Repairs

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Aug 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Location and size of the property was fantastic, property suitably furnished and would definitely recommend the house. On arrival on the Saturday we were told the wc wasn't working properly. Following on from this we had to use a bucket to flush the wc for 2 days which wasn't pleasant. Appreciate it was a weekend but would expect a company letting out properties to either have trades people available or to at least offer compensation at the end of your stay. Not sure what repair checks are done in between letting the property out or whether they rely on customers to report repairs. Extractor fan in the bathroom didn't work for the week and a few other basic repairs. There was no way i was prepared to stay in for an hour here or there to suit trades when only there for a week so reported them at the end. Having booked Sat - Sat and check out time is early 10a.m and check in was 4pm would assume/hope repairs would get resolved in the vacant period. No t-towel, scrap of hand soap or washing up liquid available even for your first day so go prepared even if travelling from overseas. Asked for a second key and this was promptly provided the next day. Booking the house in the first instance was very easy and staff very friendly.



An unwelcome welcome

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Aug 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was alright. However, paying for electricity was a bit much, given it was so pricey at almost £800. The caretaker who met us was extremely unwelcoming, providing us with the rudest and most unsavoury welcome we have ever encountered. I actually felt quite shaken once she had finished her angry lecture and asking for an apology from us because we were not there earlier (we got stuck in traffic because of flooding in Dublin which caused a lane closure on the M1). Severely unhappy with that, and felt like I was checking into a convent. I will not be recommending the cottage to anyone else considering a stay in Kinsale.