FB Twitter

The Glenmoor

The Glenmoor

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 60 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Our two bedroom Enjoy England Five Star rated apartment - both en-suite - with views on three sides including over Ilkley and up into the Yorkshire Dales National Park. Sleeps up to 4 (two doubles or double and twin on advance request). The Glenmoor has a very high standard of furnishings and equipment. This apartment is kept pet-free.

Week at Glenmoor

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great break. Extremely well appointed apartment. The four flights of stairs up to the appartment were a challenge due to our age an arthritic bones but were well worth the exercise. Superb location on the edge of Ilkley Moor yet only a short walk down into Ilkley. Regular buses and reliable taxis to take you back to the door. A very good experience. Would recommend Westwood Lodge to anyone. Thank you

Linda from Largs stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in November 2017


An excellent stay and we will be returning.

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous weekend. The Glenmore was just the right size, very comfortable, just what we needed for our weekend, and in a great location. Next time we have a weekend in Ilkley there may be more than 4 so we would look at the other options at the Westwood Lodge which is great. Thank you

Helen Jane from Halifax stayed at The Glenmoor for 2 nights in October 2017


Quiet and very convenient to everything

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Enjoyable stay. Will return. Well equipped. Comfortable beds and very clean flat.Close to walks and countryside.quiet surroundings

Yvonne from Oakville stayed at The Glenmoor for 14 nights in September 2017


Lovely views from cozy flat

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Small but cozy and well equipped. Kitchen had basic cooking utensils and the welcome tray with homemade Victoria sandwich was a hospitable touch. At departure we were asked to wash and put away all dishes as well as strip the bedclothes from the beds--seemed a bit much for a five star property. Sofas in living area were a bit saggy. Otherwise an excellent stay. Perfect base for exploring the Dales and Ilkley itself has plenty to offer.

Adam from Oklahoma City stayed at The Glenmoor for 3 nights in August 2017


Go west (wood), young man!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Westwood, Ilkley & the region.
Westwood is a gem. Great for us as a family (kids 7 & 12). Hope to come again.


David from Oslo stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in July 2017


We really appreciated the generous provision of everything we could need, including towelling robes

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Excellent accommodation, generously provided with all we could need with modern and high quality fitments and kitchen equipment. Lovely place that deserves to be well used and very popular.

Jo from Reading stayed at The Glenmoor for 3 nights in June 2017


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous place to stay , just what you need if your looking for relaxation and right on the moors for some great walks . The owners are lovely nothing to much trouble and the cake is amazing

Teresa from Birmingham stayed at The Glenmoor for 4 nights in June 2017


Glenmoor Apartment

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The owners seem to have thought of everything that any guest may require. From places of interest, pubs, restaurants,walks,etc. all the information one could require was provided.
Westwood Lodge is perfectly situated on the edge of the moor, but within comfortable walking distance from Ilkley centre.
The apartment was extremely well appointed and spotlessly clean. Couldn't fault it in any way.
Tim was very helpful and sorted a small problem out immediately.


Keith from York stayed at The Glenmoor for 3 nights in June 2017


An interesting apartment with amazing views.

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Glenmoor for the fifth time (and previously we stayed six times in the other Westwood Lodge cottages) and the apartment remains interesting to us. The views are amazing, the roof terrace is right above it and the apartment itself is comfortable. Enough parking space, the moor on the other side of the road and shops nearby. For any questions, Tim, the owner, is near at hand. Westwood Lodge is an English home from home for us, which is all the more pleasant, because we live in the Netherlands.

Peter from Bergen stayed at The Glenmoor for 3 nights in June 2017


A perfect spot

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of Westwood Lodge is absolutely heavenly. You're on the slopes of Ilkley Moor with breathtaking views from the top floor. If you're as lucky as we were and catch an almost tropical spell of weather, you can sit on the roof garden and wonder why you ever bother going abroad. Tim and Paula and the rest of their team couldn't be more helpful and friendly - a fabulous homemade cake greeted us on arrival, and every detail had been thought about in advance.

I love this place and will definitely be returning.


Alison from Tunbridge Wells stayed at The Glenmoor for 2 nights in April 2017


A convenient base for trips to see family and friends

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our 3rd stay in the Glenmoor Apartment but have been to Westwood Lodge several times before too. It's a perfect size and base for our little family of 3. We love to re-acquaint ourselves with Ilkley (and Betty's!) and visit old haunts and familiar places as well as see family and friends. We like the flexibility of self catering and Westwood Lodge is very comfortable and centrally located though we never get used to the steep trek up Wells Road!!

Joanna from Jersey stayed at The Glenmoor for 4 nights in April 2017


Exactly the break we were looking for.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a 3 night break at this lovely property. Wonderfully peaceful, comfortable and clean. The personal welcome, attention and advice about local eateries, walks etc. was very much appreciated. Fabulous location - across the road from the moor for hiking, and just a short walk into town. We'll definitely be back!

Sarah from London stayed at The Glenmoor for 3 nights in January 2017


Beautiful apartment with amazing views!

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely apartment in an amazing location - across the road from Ilkley Moor, and only minutes to walk to the town centre. The rooms are beautiful, and the views from the third floor windows are stunning. The kitchen is small, but fully equipped, and the roof terrace is lovely. We enjoyed meeting the pigs, rabbit and chickens in the gardens!

Alan from Bury St Edmunds stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in December 2016


Glenmoor

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely stay.......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Gillian from Perth stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in November 2016


Fabulous accommodation in a wonderful location

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in the Glenmoor apartment. It had everything we needed and was perfectly situated for walks on the moors and exploring the local area. The kids loved the animals and play area. There were lots of lovely extra touches that made it a really special holiday.

Zoe from Oxford stayed at The Glenmoor for 3 nights in October 2016


Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very happy to say good things about the Glenmoor apartment.
Never seen so many facilities in a place such as this. TV's, kitchen equipment, loads of toweks, etc and a lovely view. Smaller double bed a bit hard and lumpy for me, but otherwise hard to fault.


Will from Stroud stayed at The Glenmoor for 5 nights in October 2016


Home again!

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ilkley - where I grew up - will always feel like home, and Westwood Lodge really is a "home-from-home" in the best sense of the phrase. We have stayed in quite a few self-catering properties in various parts of the world and we always say "but it's not as good as Westwood Lodge"! The quality of information provided in the visitors book is outstanding, the welcome foody items, the selection of books and magazines, the comfort of the beds and sofas - and the views from the windows, all add up to make a perfect stay in Yorkshire.

Susan from Corfu stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in September 2016


Perfect...ad always

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful accomodations...everything needed to maje a meal..and perfect place to relax with a good book after a long hike on the moor...great location just steps from town...views amazing...hard to leave but look forward to returning...

Marilyn from Mississauga stayed at The Glenmoor for 2 nights in September 2016


Excellent holiday appartment

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful place to stay and take in the delights of Yorkshire.
The views are outstanding, but of course you need to climb up two flights of stairs.However it is well worth the effort.
Every consideration has been given to make the visitor comfortable and the welcome you get from the owners is warm and friendly, not to mention the cake wich is a lovely touch.
I am sure that we will join the many others who return for more!


Lynn from Newcastle upon Tyne stayed at The Glenmoor for 2 nights in August 2016


First time in Yorkshire

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There are many things we liked in this appartment. Starting with the home made cake, the quiteness, the size and equipment of the rooms maybe ending with the gorgeous panorama from the roof terrace.

Peter from Ahlen stayed at The Glenmoor for 6 nights in August 2016


Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment was perfect for my 86 year old aunt and her son and his wife. It gave them some privacy from the main house whilst still joining in all the family celebrations in the main house. My sister thought that she may book one of the apartments in the future when she comes walking in Yorkshire with her Italian partner and he has very high standards so it must have been good. Would recommend to anyone who can manage 2 flights of stairs happily.

Elizabeth from Stratford-upon-Avon stayed at The Glenmoor for 3 nights in July 2016


Ideal place

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at Westwood, enjoying the rooftop terrace when the sun was out and the wonderful walks/scenery. The flat was ideal, in location and facilities, comfort etc. We hope to return again soon and will recommend to our family and friends. Thank you for a restful holiday.


Judith from Exeter stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in June 2016


reunion in Ilkley

Review submitted on Sat, 14 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a delightful 2 night stay in Glenmoor Apartment Westwood Lodge .We were blessed with perfect weather the first evening and enjoyed a glass of wine on the roof terrace - a high spot of our stay !
We found the apartment spotless, comfortable and well-equipped and an ideal base got our reunion.


Susan from Ilkley stayed at The Glenmoor for 2 nights in May 2016


Excellent in every way.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in a number of the properties at Westwood, and been equally impressed and pleased with them all. There is great attention to every detail to ensure your comfort and relaxation in staying somewhere so well equipped.

Help is at hand with any queries, and luggage carrying up the stairs.


Barbara from Cheltenham Spa stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in May 2016


Comfortable base from which to visit family and friends..

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We've stayed in most of the apartments at WL now. All are comfortable and well equipped and a good base from which to visit my family and our friends.
One niggle though - the awful hairdryer! Don't need fancy but it could most certainly be much improved.


Joanna from St Peter, Jersey stayed at The Glenmoor for 4 nights in April 2016


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're sorry that you had hairdryer problems. I checked today and found that both bedrooms had their own hairdryer and both were in full working order. Had we been made aware of your concern, we would have gladly purchased a new hairdryer. We've just invested £25000 on major apartment refurbishments including new Victorian-style handmade, hardwood, double-glazed windows. The Glenmoor has also been redecorated throughout and had new carpeting in all rooms.

Amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time here and I can not fault it. The accommodation is excellent, well equipped and perfectly clean and very well equipped. The owners are very friendly and even helped carry our bags to the top floor..

Janet from St Neots stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in March 2016


The Return

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returning to a place raises the questions; 'will it be as good as we remember?' 'will we enjoy ourselves as much as last time?' and so on, therefore we rarely return to places as we like to keep the happy memories. However we decided to return and we were not disappointed. There is so much to do on the doorstep but also not too far away. Last time we stayed in The Wells, this time we decided to pay a little more and get a lot more space, definitely the right decision for us.

Rochelle from Liddington stayed at The Glenmoor for 4 nights in March 2016


Christmas in ilkley

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Dec 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a wonderful time up here,using the flat as a base to visit or son and daughter in law and our 10 day old granddaughter . We have been very comfortable and it has provided us with a home from home.

Guest from Uppingham stayed at The Glenmoor for 6 nights in December 2015


Our time at Westwood Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time up on Ilkley moor, as always you were welcoming and polite. There are just a few things that would have made our stay even better; if we could have had fresh towels through the week that would have been better. We are 4 women and love to be clean. Another thing is the single beds did not have a mattress cover under the bottom sheet, lots of people use those beds. Seeing that the mattress on one of the beds had a big stain on it this would have been ideal. You had a look at the dryer thank you though it still did not work well.

Thank you

Sarah


Sarah from Oakville stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in October 2015


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're pleased that you enjoyed your return stay with us. Our apologies for the missing mattress protector. On your arrival, you asked that the main superking bed be split-up and re-made as twin beds. Although busy finishing off other cottages, the team did this, but must have missed fitting the single bed protectors. (naturally the superking mattress cover wouldn't fit). Regarding towels, we only have housekeepers on changeover days, so regret that we can't offer fresh towels each day. We can only offer low self-catering prices by not offering the full range of services you might find in a traditional hotel.

A lovely apartment.

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Glenmoor is a lovely apartment. It is well equipped and tastefully furnished. The views from the windows are stunning. We felt very much at home here.



Guest from Woking stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in September 2015


Luxury near glorious Ilkley Moor

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glenmoor apartment - beautifully designed, decorated & furnished

Sympathetic modernisation

Numerous little touches e.g. welcome pack inc. cake, appreciated


Christine from Oxton stayed at The Glenmoor for 3 nights in September 2015


Another brilliant stay

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westwood Lodge is becoming our second home!
We love coming every September as the comfort of the accomodation and setting are the best combination we have found.


Chris from Peterborough stayed at The Glenmoor for 4 nights in September 2015


Review of our stay

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A comfortable apartment but the beds have very hard mattresses so it was hard to sleep and there are no towel rails in the shower room which means there is nowhere to put your towel which makes washing and showering very difficult. There is plenty of space to have a towel rail next to the sink and another on the wall opposite the sink so I can't understand why there are no towel rails at all, not even one! This really spoilt was was otherwise a really nice apartment.

Guest from Northampton stayed at The Glenmoor for 4 nights in August 2015


Tim replied more than 1 year ago
Firm or squishy is always an issue of personal mattress preference. After nearly 20 years experience, all our current mattresses are top quality "medium firm" as we've found that this is the type preferred by the vast majority of our guests. We know we can't please everyone and that some people would prefer a very soft mattress, whilst others (including myself) like a mattress to be ultra firm. I'm baffled about your towel rail comments as all our apartment bathrooms have individually controlled electric towel rails. These will each take more than one towel and can be left on at a variable setting even when the apartment heating is turned off. We tried hard to meet your needs including rearranging your stay without surcharge due to the changed travel plans of your Swedish friends. We hope that you will not be deterred from staying with us in the future and thank you again for drawing our attention to your concerns.

The views

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic all round views and we followed Tims recommendations regarding eating out. We had a great meal in the Wheatly pub. The walk down into Ilkley is very easy and a good bus service back is recommended.

Kevin from Liverpool stayed at The Glenmoor for 3 nights in August 2015


A home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Glenmoor apartment was well appointed and very comfortable. The furnishings felt luxurious and everything we could need was provided (including bath robes). We were warmly welcomed by Justine with a delicious cake. What a lovely start!! The property is situated high up a hill out of Ilkley town in beautiful moor surroundings. For guests with reduced mobility, the location of the property and the apartment (at the top of the house) may be problematic but for our family, it was fine and being high up meant that the views were superb. Our children particularly enjoyed the trampoline, chickens and pigs, as well as the good selection of DVDs. We were in Ilkley to visit our friends who live very nearby so this was a good location for us. It also meant that we spent a lot of time out of the apartment, so probably didn't take as much advantage of the beautiful Westwood Lodge Gardens as many guests would.

Thanks for having us - We had a lovely time.


Guest from London stayed at The Glenmoor for 4 nights in August 2015


Mid week break

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great find. Amazing information pack sent at time of booking, family business. Excellent for families, our flat was up a lot of steps so might try and book a cottage next time but flat very good size once up there and very well decorated. Some friendly pigs and chickens in the garden area and the trampoline and wendy house very popular with our 20month old. Box of toys, high chair and travel cot supplied free of charge. Property within walking distance of town centre but we hadn't realised at time of booking quite how far up the hill it was to get back again..possibly less of an issue minus a toddler! Kitchen had all the bits needed including a dishwasher and towels and bathrobes also supplied. Unfortunately we didn't have time to try the gym facilities but nice to have as an option.
All in all excellent base for exploring and had everything we needed, will hopefully be back again.


Guest from High Wycombe stayed at The Glenmoor for 4 nights in August 2015


Great location

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable apartment - only downside is the four flights of stairs (if you have hip or knee problems) upside is the view when you get there.

The location of the property is wonderful with access to Ilkley Moor on the doorstep. Ilkley also has a great range of restaurants which are well described in the accommodation information which is very good (the information available that is).



Guest from Eastbourne stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in July 2015


A week in Ilkley

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat had outstanding views, was spacious and comfortable. Situated on the edge of Ilkley, it was still only an attractive short walk ( if steep ). We had an enjoyable week.

Guest from Gloucester stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in June 2015


Excellent accommodation in excellent location. Lovely views over the moors yet close to town centre.

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great accommodation with lovely views over the moorland yet close to town centre. Only downside for my husband and I were the number of stairs to reach our apartment but of course we did know this when we booked it but maybe we'd did not realise how tall each floor was!! But we really enjoyed our stay. Thank you to all concerned

Guest from Leicester stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in May 2015


Great Stay at the Glenmoor

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this very last minute to meet a friend over the May holiday weekend. We were not sure what to expect but were delighted with the well furnished apartment, the easy accommodating welcome and the location. The roof terrace was a real bonus and the sense of peace and tranquillity most welcome. The welcome tray with home-made cake was a lovely touch. Great break. We will be back!

Guest from Glasgow stayed at The Glenmoor for 3 nights in May 2015


Excellent Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 22 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment was well equipped and clean. It is clear the owners/management take great pride in the quality of the accommodation and service. Great location and spectacular views. We hope to be back soon.

Philip from Preston stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in May 2015


Westwood Lodge - Glenmoor Apartment

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Apr 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My second visit to Westwood Lodge and it won't be my last. Great views of Ilkley Moor and only 10 mins to town. The apartment was very well equipped and comfortable. A home baked cake and tea tray on arrival was a lovely welcoming touch.


Guest from Church Point stayed at The Glenmoor for 14 nights in April 2015


A wonderful family break

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks to all the team at Westwood Lodge who provided a wonderful service start to finish. We would recommend them to anyone. The location right at the edge of the moor, but and easy walk into town would be hard to beat.

Guest from Cambridge stayed at The Glenmoor for 4 nights in March 2015


Faultless

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic apartment in ideal situation. I cannot recommend this accommodation enough. I will definitely stay here again hopefully sooner rather than later

Guest from Perth stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in November 2014


Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location in beautiful surroundings. Everything that you could possibly need is provided within the accommodation, and there is plenty to do.

Guest from Biggleswade stayed at The Glenmoor for 2 nights in October 2014


A very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was as I expected, having stayed at Westwood Lodge before. Comfortable, clean, everything needed for a stay away from home and very helpful & friendly staff. Just what I needed for combining visiting family with a holiday in my home county of Yorkshire.

Guest from Guernsey stayed at The Glenmoor for 10 nights in August 2014


5 star stay at The Glenmore.

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment deserved the five star rating, there was a real feeling of luxury with lots of little thoughtful touches. It was the most professionally run holiday let we have ever experienced. The information sent out beforehand was very helpful and once in the flat, everything you might need to know was clearly explained.
Our teenage son especially appreciated the fast WIFI, but also loved scratching the pigs' backs.The adults enjoyed walking on Ilkley Moor.


Guest from Reading stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in August 2014


Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is in a lovely location and in a beautiful house. it contains all the kitchen equipment you need. The welcome pack included a delicious home made cake - nice touch!

Guest from Milton Keynes stayed at The Glenmoor for 4 nights in July 2014


Title

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jul 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Unable to comment re service did not see anyone. I realise the accommodation was for 4 people but providing only 4 of everything means the dishwasher has to go on After every meal. Shortage of cooking utensils in particular no fish slice and the frying pans, as is usual in this type of accommodation, left much to be desired. I know if I had contacted the owner this problem would have been dealt with, but I didn't want the hassle. The picture of the accommodation you show in yr request for a review shows a full rack of utensils and I think there were 3/4 on our arrival. Having said all this we enjoyed our stay and certainly returned home fitter than on our arrival having climbed the 36 stairs to the appt at least twice per day!

Guest from Maidstone stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in June 2014


Tim replied more than 1 year ago
We're pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, but with a few misgivings. We're always here to welcome guests on arrival day - in this case a Friday. However, you didn't arrive until late Saturday afternoon. We called round and checked that you were settled in on, answered questions and that everything was satisfactory. After arrival, we have a policy of not disturbing guests during their stay, but to be on hand (we live just next door) should any issues arise. This is why you didn't see anyone! It's not a hassle for us to be called as we prefer sorting things out there and then, rather than receive a negative review after you've left. Regarding utensils, we think you missed a drawer that was full of fish slices, ladles etc. We accept though, that these should have been hanging on the utensil rack. Frying pans seem to get serious abuse and these have now been replaced. We will check the inventory of plates and dishes as it is our policy to have double the number of these so that the dishwasher doesn't have to be used after every meal. Thanks again for staying with us.

Brilliant self-catering In great location

Review submitted on Thu, 29 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Westwood lodge. We stayed for four nights with our one-year-old in The glenmoor. Although it was right at the top, once inside, it was totally safe for baby and perfect for us as it had two rooms and plenty of space.

They thought of everything. All the essentials and more. Nothing lacking. Great info pack too. The summary flip chart was a fab idea!

Only improvement i'd say is that the carpets and decor could do with brightening up. The main bedroom had really dark carpet and made it feel dowdy. We stayed in the smaller bedroom as a result and that was a lovely room. The lounge carpets and walls could also do with a lighter colour and he whole place would feel a bit brighter and more modern.

Would definitely stay there again though.



Guest from Oxford stayed at The Glenmoor for 4 nights in May 2014


Not posh - just great!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For the best views in Ilkley, The Glenmoor can't be beaten! Well, actually, we found they could - by a secret staircase up to the roof garden. Wow! Sun all day. Homemade cake (thanks Paula!) and peace and quiet! No busy road. Just the odd sheep. Apartment really well thought out to make the best use of space and has everything you need - even a Nespresso coffee maker. We'll be back!

Guest from Birmingham stayed at The Glenmoor for 3 nights in May 2014


A little disappointing

Review submitted on Sat, 10 May 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The apartment was well equipped and the kitchen area was clean and tidy.
We felt the standard of the main bedroom and shower room fell far short of the 5* it had been awarded. The carpet was frayed around the edges and badly fitted. Also had not been vacuumed thoroughly as we found debris from previous guests.
We discovered the vacuum cleaner in the room was defective.
The shower room would have benefitted from the use of a mould removing product and some bleach. All very worthy to use "green" products but not effective for heavy use.
There was nowhere to hang or dry damp towels.
Information overload. Much was repeated or unnecessary.


Guest from East Clandon stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in May 2014


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're very sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us. We are just a small team and try very hard to maintain the highest standards. The Glenmoor was assessed independently by the Visit Britain hotel inspector just a few weeks ago and she confimed the star grading. She noted various improvements including hi-resolution flat-screen Panasonic televisions, high-speed wi-fi, Nespresso coffee maker etc. We are constantly investing in upgrades and a new carpet in one of the bedrooms is on our list for the future. The belt in the vacuum cleaner had snapped. Had we been made aware of this, we would have swopped it for one of our new Turbo Henry cleaners that had just arrived, but not yet unpacked. Although it was a very busy Bank Holiday weekend, we are concerned - and apologise - that some items from previous guests were found. The bathrooms each have thermostatically controlled electric towel rails, so we're baffled by "nowhere to hang damp towels". We do provide a lot of information! Much has been requested by guests over the years, so the history of the building is unnecessary, but frequently asked about. Other things are stipulated by the tourist authority, fire officer or our insurance company. We offer a card system with the 100 questions most often asked. This is backed-up by more detailed information in a leather folder, for guests who want to know more.

Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 01 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay and found the accommodation comfortable, well appointed and very well located.

Guest from Peterborough stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in April 2014


Westwood Lodge and the Glenmoor is a first class choice

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There are not enough superlatives to describe the care and thoughtfulness that Tim & Paula have put into the experience of staying at Westwood Lodge. I can safely say this is one of the best places we have had the pleasure of visiting, and I highly recommend you stay here If you have a young family like me.

Guest from Bangkok stayed at The Glenmoor for 5 nights in April 2014


superb week

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual, our stay in Westwood Lodge was a pleasure. We are in charge of the French exchange party twinned with Ilkley Grammar School and do come every year. This year, we were only three adults and chose to stay in Glenmoor appartment. Everything was perfect and Tim and Paula let us arrive on Thursday evening, exceptionnally. We will come again !

Guest from Coutances stayed at The Glenmoor for 6 nights in April 2014


Great in every way

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We knew nothing about Ilkley before coming there, so everything was a pleasant surprise, and the outstanding accommodation provided the ideal base for exploring this beautiful location.

Guest from St. Albans stayed at The Glenmoor for 4 nights in March 2014


A beautiful place to unwind in a stunning location

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Westwood Lodge is an individual and historic building that has been sympathetically restored to provide a very comfortable and unique place in which to stay. It is the best and most thoughtfully equipped self-catering apartment we have ever stayed in - you really do only need to take your own clothes and footwear. This means no essential shopping when you arrive (weary) - you can begin your holiday straight away. What I thought set this apart from the rest is plenty of tea towels, hand towels, soap, kitchen roll, clingfilm – all the things you have in abundance at home at home but are often not provided and I usually forget to pack. If you have forgotten anything there is a very handy little honesty shop on the staircase. On arrival have a cup of tea or cafetiere of coffee ( teabags, coffee & plenty of fresh milk provided) and a piece of Paula's homemade cake (delicious) while taking in the stunning views that you are going to be gazing at for the length of your stay. Our apartment was large and spacious, warm and cosy and a great place to come back to after fantastic walks on the moor (right outside your door) or a walk around Ilkley ( still its own place with a lovely lack of chain stores). This is an old building so you are not going to get a sterile, spotless environment. Our apartment was as fresh, clean and tidy as an old house could be and all the essentials like heating, hot water, kitchen appliances, tv, radio and so on worked efficiently. In addition it was furnished with lovely pieces of furniture and soft furnishings. The owners are easy to contact (although we had no need to) and although live within the grounds leave you to get on with your holiday. Other extras that make Westwood Lodge special are the rooftop terrace (spectacular views) and the grounds where two very friendly pigs are delighted to see you and whatever little treat you have for them. There is a fitness suite, sauna and jacuzzi which we didn't try this time but looked easy to use and access and is free! We have had a really relaxing break in this perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle and hope to be back.

Guest from Milton Keynes stayed at The Glenmoor for 3 nights in October 2013


Fantastic apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic apartment. Well worth the climb to experience the views and comfort. We have stayed at Westwood Lodge many times before and will return.

Guest from Peterborough stayed at The Glenmoor for 4 nights in September 2013


A place to come back to,again and again

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So delighted were we the first time we stayed here that we came back. We were delighted with everything and highly recommend Westwood Lodge from the great property, fabulous hosts to the nice little touches of a freshly baked cake for us to enjoy. We won't forget.... and we'll be back (again).

Guest from Shrewsbury stayed at The Glenmoor for 5 nights in June 2013


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Annual Yorkshire Treat

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is a great location for good walking and finding great places to eat. Our annual trip has been improved by the accommodation e stayed in this year. It will be a feature year on year now.




Guest from Edinburgh stayed at The Glenmoor for 7 nights in August 2013


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
It was great to welcome you to stay and we look forward to your return!