FB Twitter

Coach House Cottage

Coach House Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 51 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Originally the coachman's family home, this is ideal for a young family. Coach House has a particularly spacious lounge with a high ceiling (imagine where Cinderella's carriage would have been kept!). Up to two well-behaved dogs welcome for a small charge. One of our Enjoy England 4 Star Gold Award cottages, meaning a high level of furnishings and fittings coupled with a relaxed style.

Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a fabulous place to stay we enjoyed it so much we're coming back next year. The cake was delicious too!

Lynn from Norwich stayed at Coach House Cottage for 4 nights in October 2018


Happy Days!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always good to stay with you. Always reliable, warm, looked after, just what is needed after a long journey

Expensive cos there are two of us in a cottage for 6 - must book earlier next time!


Ann from London stayed at Coach House Cottage for 3 nights in November 2018


Well-equipped cosy cottage in beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our 4-night stay in this wonderful cosy well-equipped cottage. The upstairs slanted low ceilings were a little tricky for the tall members of our group but downstairs was very spacious. The home baked cake on arrival was a lovely touch. We would be very happy to stay again.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Coach House Cottage for 4 nights in July 2018


A lovely cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Five of us stayed in Coach House Cottage for a last minute family break. The Cottage was lovely - bright and airy and very well equipped. West Lodge also had a lovely roof terrace with fabulous views, a small gym and jacuzzi. There were bikes and safety equipment to borrow and walks across the moor on our doorstop. We will be back!

Sian from Dunstable stayed at Coach House Cottage for 6 nights in May 2018


Love it here - will be returning soon

Review submitted on Sat, 26 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we are regular visitors to this property. It’s absolutely lovely. A real home from home. We have our own little back garden where we can sit quietly without being disturbed. The dog is relaxed. Excellent location. Excellent walks. Love it here

Karen from Dagenham stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in May 2018


Wonderful last minute stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
How lovely to arrive to find everything one needs for a stress free short break. I did bring some bits with me but you could easily arrive with just a loaf of bread, some eggs and butter Literally everything else is there. The internet signal did not connect upstairs although having a radio made up for that. Good to have a forced internet break too. We love the coach house and will return.

Sarah from Mevagissey stayed at Coach House Cottage for 4 nights in April 2018


Tim Edwards replied 228 days ago
Thank you for your review. I'm surprised by your comments about the wi-fi. There is a new dedicated box for Coach House Cottage. I've just checked and found four bars of signal upstairs! I suspect the problem was something that could easily have been resolved but hope it didn't spoil your stay. Tim

New Year Retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a fantastic 5 days here and enjoyed snow, sun and rain in comfort. We all said how much we relaxed straight away! Right on the edge of the moors and yet also ten minutes walk from beautiful Ilkley. Perfect.

Anna from Lincoln stayed at Coach House Cottage for 5 nights in December 2017


summary

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second stay in one of the Westwood lodge cottages, chosen primarily for location (near family) and room for six adults (just) . As always it was extremely comfortable and well maintained, with nice touches such as small kitchen neccesities being in place, a lovely home made cake ready and waiting, etc. A special treat as we could have saved over £200 by staying at another place which can take six but is a short drive out of Ilkley,

Tina from Postcombe stayed at Coach House Cottage for 2 nights in October 2017


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We are pleased you enjoyed your second stay with us but disappointed that you felt that you did not get value for money.  We are not the cheapest place, but we do try to offer a high standard for the price paid. In this case you were staying during school half-term week with 6 adults and the cottage was £499 plus VAT for up to three nights. It is indeed unfair that we have to add around £100 VAT when others don't but that is outside our control. Having been before, you received homemade cake, a bottle of wine and an early check-in option plus a voucher worth up to £100 off a future stay.  I'm not aware of any cottages in Ilkley that are of a similar standard at a lower price and certainly none that also offer high speed wi-fi, Virgin Media and use of a hot tub, sauna, workout room etc.  We hope you won't be deterred from staying with us again.

Perfect location for stay in Ilkley

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant place to stay with a family. The location is wonderful - had early morning run up onto Ilkley Moor (just accross the road) every morning. Ilkley town is very pretty with great shops and restautants.
Coach House had plenty of space for all of us to relax after long days out walking. Large kitchen and lounge plus the children loved to spend time out feeding the pigs/chickens and bouncing on the huge trampoline. Plenty of practical things like loads of hooks for coats and hard floors on entry for muddy shoes. Kitchen well really equipped and was great to arrive to with some essentials provided e.g. Milk, tea/ coffee/sugar, homemade cake etc.


Siobhan from Kings Hill stayed at Coach House Cottage for 4 nights in October 2017


Coach House Cottage Westwood Lodge Ilkley

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent place to stay. This was our 6th or 7th visit to Westwood Lodge and we have stayed in both the apartments and cottages. Coach House Cottage is very comfortable and homely and a lovely place to relax and unwind. The location is ideal. The walk into Ilkley town centre is partly along the edge of the moor and at this time of the year is particularly beautiful. The walk back is a little more demanding as it is uphill!!

Guest from Epsom stayed at Coach House Cottage for 6 nights in October 2017


Home from home.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely, a well equipped kitchen, the lounge was huge, great for family time. Lots of games for the rainy weather. The bedrooms were very comfortable . There was a lovely garden and also a courtyard. The position at the bottom of Ilkley moor was great, walking on the doorstep, and walking distance to the town. A lovely stay I'm sure we will be visiting again.

Brian from Wakefield stayed at Coach House Cottage for 3 nights in September 2017


Perfect place to stay in lovely Ilkley

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic find this place was complete with great customer service, everything you could ask for in a holiday home and lots more too.......books.....games....hot tub......gym.......sauna.......roof terrace with fab views........all within walking distance of lovely Ilkley town and right next to Ilkley Moor. Perfect.

Julian from Tarporley stayed at Coach House Cottage for 4 nights in August 2017


Perfect family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second year staying at Coach House Cottage and we loved it even more. The house is beautiful, clean and comfortable. It has everything you could possibly need. The children love playing in the grounds, on the trampoline and seeing the animals. Plenty of spots to sit outside and read/drink tea. We love the location, with the moor on the doorstep, Ilkley a short walk down the hill and so many great days out nearby (Bolton Abbey, Skipton, York...). It really is the perfect place for a family holiday. Thanks Tim and Paula!

Ailsa from Lancaster stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


A very well equipped lovely holiday cottage in beautiful surroundings and it was very "dog friendly"

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Coach House Cottage was a lovely place to stay. It was very well equipped with everything you need for a perfect holiday., The location was superb for visiting many delightful places and it was very close to the delightful little town of Ilkley which had excellent shops, cafes and a good supermarket which is important when you are self catering. The cottage was also very "dog friendly". We would definitely consider a return visit as it isn't that you find somewhere which is so good and accepts dogs.


John from Kidderminster stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Fabulous Hen do

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was great to have the two cottages next door to each other and it was a perfect venue for our girls gathering!

Joanna from Ferryhill stayed at Coach House Cottage for 3 nights in May 2017


Great place for friends to reunite

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was lovely to find a traditional cottage in such a great location, fully equipped to modern standards. Didn't use gym or hot tub as weather was so good. We enjoyed walks from our cottage. Wi-fi was included and worked faultlessly - helping us to choose the best trails. Thanks for everything!

Jacqui from stayed at Coach House Cottage for 3 nights in May 2017


First Ever stay at Westwood Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
1.0
We had our first ever stay in the Coach House Cottage Westwood Lodge in Easter 2017 the great thing is it is Dog friendly.

Our party consisted of 3 x Adults 1 x child and 2 x dogs.

The location is beautiful with extensive moorland directly opposite the venue ( excellent for those long early morning walks with the dog ) and lots of lovely shops and places to eat in Ilkley town itself.

On arrival we were Welcomed by Justine, who was very helpful and answered all our questions and explained the cottage to us, and as agreed due to us bringing our 2nd Dog with us paid her £40 cash.

During our stay we made use of the hot tub in " The Cellars " of the main building of Westwood lodge & also made use of the rowing machine in the very small gym, our daughter enjoyed the large trampoline in the grounds as well. The view from the roof terrace is something worth while :0)

What has left a sour taste during our first stay was the customer service ( or lack of it ) we received from the owner Tim, in relation to us pointing out 2 negative issues we experienced during our stay =

1) We thought we were going mad as every night while trying to go to sleep we thought we heard some sound directly above our bedroom ceiling, until on the final night we were woken up at 3am by a terrible banging above the ceiling by what sounded like something trying to get through , which scared us half to death !!

Tim's response was " We've only once previously had a comment about something nesting in the roof space "

So what remedial steps did you take to rectify this then ???


2) On the website for Westwood Lodge it clearly states " All Mod cons ...... free SuperHub wifi "

However in the Coach house cottage the wifi only worked twice over the whole 5 days we stayed there , I spoke to the family staying in the Applebarn cottage right next door who told me they no problem at all with the wifi the whole time.

On pointing this out to Tim he informed us :

Wifi is offered by them on a best endeavour basis ( No mention on website of this - false advertising ? )

He went onto to say that " On speaking to Virgin Media the intermittent signal was identified to a peak demand issue "

Really ? How does that affect only 1 cottage.

No mention whatsoever of " Sorry "



Martin from Harlow stayed at Coach House Cottage for 4 nights in April 2017


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
I'm really sorry that you were unhappy with my customer service. I apologised at the time, again in writing immediately on receiving your note after you left and I apologise now on receiving this review a month later. Wi-fi was the only issue raised during your stay. We offer this on a 'best endeavours' basis as it is one of the few things we cannot always control. This is clearly stated in our Booking Conditions. However, I understand that good wi-fi is important for many guests so, when I heard you had a problem, I came over to see if it was an equipment issue and tried to rectify things. I examined your equipment and also disturbed the guests next door (in the middle of their dinner) to check theirs. Having not found anything wrong with the Superhub 3 system (which is the latest kit), I contacted Virgin Media who confirmed that bandwidth speed was being limited in the area due to excessive demand. Many people were streaming a live football match (which depletes the signal) and this occurred for the same reason on a subsequent evening. Virgin say they have improved capacity and we have had no other complaints. I was not made aware of disturbed sleep until after you had left. This turned out to be a small bat nesting under the eaves. Our bats are very small, pose no threat and are a Protected Species. That's why I said that little could be done (it would be illegal to gas them out or disturb their nest). I asked subsequent guests to let me know if they heard anything, but nobody else has heard a thing since.

Coach house, Easter break.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to this property many times previously and will return many time more! Great house, great location, ideal for walking and shopping. The parks and gardens are beautiful. Perfect walking location and accommodation for dog owners.
Thanks once again for a lovely holiday.


Karen from Dagenham stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in April 2017


A fantastic 30th Birthday Uni Reunion

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been so lucky to fall on such a beautiful cottage in a lovely location! Justine looked after us like we were family, welcoming us with open arms! The cottage had all the amenities we needed - even a very tasty cake - such a personal touch!
Comfy beds - we all slept like a baby!
And a 5 minute walk, you are in the moors! It is a short walk away from the local town, and supermarket.
The views are amazing from the rooftop terrace and it is such a peaceful!


Kirsty from Barnsley stayed at Coach House Cottage for 2 nights in March 2017


Cozy place to stay in February for a German family

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were absolutely stunned walking into this special place. Everything was thoughtfully put together.
We really would have liked to stay longer! Our English friends who came to stay loved it too. Tim and Justine proofed to be very friendly and flexible. I can just imagine how lovely it will be here in summer. Walks in the moors just outside the premises. We will definitely try to return!


Simone from Friesenheim-Heiligenzell stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in February 2017


Excellent Accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Feb 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited Westwood Lodge on numerous occasions and stayed in both the Apartments and Cottages. The welcome from Tim, Paula and Justine is always great and if you require anything else during your stay they will always assist. The location is excellent with plenty of places to walk,run or bike on the moor. The Accommodation is also of a high standard and well maintained which provides good self catering options but not often needed as plenty of places to eat out in Ilkley.

Richard from Carlisle stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in February 2017


Our Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at the coach house. It was well equipped and comfortable, the welcome tea tray and cake were delicious.

Susan from Woldingham stayed at Coach House Cottage for 3 nights in February 2017


A comfortable Christmas

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Dec 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our 4th Christmas at the cottages at Westwood lodge. As ever there was a great welcome with the Christmas tree and sponge cake. The coach house has excellent access on the ground floor for my 90 year old mother so we were able to bring her to visit us daily. Ilkley taxis were fabulous. Comfortable and well appointed with everything we needed such as a turkey tin! We have booked for next Christmas already!

Wendy from London stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in December 2016


A comfortable cottage in a stunning location.

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is simply a great place to stay if you like a rural setting with outstanding walks nearby. The owners leave a whole range of information about local attractions, too. The moor is on the doorstep and the attractive town an easy 10 minute downhill walk away.
The site is very well managed and welcoming with great thought put into catering to the whole family.


Pamela from Shanghai stayed at Coach House Cottage for 11 nights in July 2016


Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage, with everything you could need and more. Whoever bakes and leaves the complimentary cakes is a fab baker, not a crumb was left. We were made to feel very welcome and as if nothing was too much trouble. Will definitely be returning.

Wendy from Swindon stayed at Coach House Cottage for 4 nights in June 2016


Weekend at Westwood

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage with everything we needed for a relaxing stay in Ilkley. Excellent location, you can walk straight out onto the moors or down into the town. Home made welcome cake was a nice touch.

Michael from Reading stayed at Coach House Cottage for 2 nights in June 2016


Beautiful relaxing cottages hidden away just above Ilkley

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a small hen party and it really was very special.
Close enough to town for a night out but also really peaceful when we wanted to be away from it all.
Highly recommended!


Sarah from Skipton stayed at Coach House Cottage for 3 nights in April 2016


Springtime in Ilkley

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 4th stay at Westwood. Tried Applebarn, Coach House and Moorview - all delightful and comfortable. Great location, nice facilities, good value for money.

Ken from Falmouth stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Lovely cottage with excellent service!

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have enjoyed a wonderful Easter with family and friends in this charming cottage.
It is very comfortable with everything that you could need for your stay.
The owners provide a personal service and very warm welcome and we can thoroughly recommend it to others.


Lynn from Newcastle upon Tyne stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in March 2016


Holiday in Ilkley

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th holiday in the Coach House - and hopefully not our last. We love the peace and quiet of this area and the property feels like home.

Susan from Belfast stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in March 2016


Perfect cottage, great location.

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All perfect. lovely hosts ! Endured the 50yrd walk to Ilkley Moor each day and the blue February skies. The ten minute walk into Ilkley is lovely and £3.50 for a taxi back up the hill is less the extortionate.. should you ned it ? !

Nick from Bath stayed at Coach House Cottage for 18 nights in February 2016


An excellent cottage for a family Christmas break

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we had a lovely Christmas break at the coach house. An excellent place for 3 generations to spend time together. A very well equipped kitchen and good spacious accommodation. Plenty of loos and bathrooms. Very good ground floor access for my mother's daily visits.

Wendy from London stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in December 2015


Fabulous luxury retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just got back from a fabulous weekend away celebrating my daughters birthday. The cottage is just perfect. Home from home with everything you could possibly need. Ilkley itself is a lovely little town and we will definitely return to explore some more.
The leisure facilities were a great bonus even though personally we found the hot tub a little claustrophobic and would of preferred an outdoor one and for it to be slightly warmer.


Thank you for having us and for allowing us to bring our dog with us.


Maggie from York stayed at Coach House Cottage for 3 nights in November 2015


Highly recommended beautiful

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a hen do, the communication leading up to the weekend with the owners was great. The cottages are beautiful and very comfortable.
And we also got good use from the gym and jacuzzi.
Short walk into town and into the moors.
Wonderful location, I hope we come back again in the future!
Ideal for friends or family get togethers.


Katie from Market Drayton stayed at Coach House Cottage for 2 nights in October 2015


Bernadette Burcham

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Second visit the coach house so clean and Relaxing, great walks in the moors,
so central to skipton, Harrowgate, and the Dales.
looking forward to my next visit.
Big thanks to all the staff that made our stay so lovely


Bernadette from Braintree stayed at Coach House Cottage for 14 nights in September 2015


Coach House Cottage, Westwood Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been very happy & comfortable in Coach House Cottage. The cottage is well equipped & well maintained. All difficulties were quickly resolved & everyone we met were very friendly & helpful. We would happily stay again.

Guest from Shanghai stayed at Coach House Cottage for 11 nights in July 2015


Coach House Cottage in April

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a weekend from April 10th 2015, there were 5 adults in our party, the cottage was spotless, large lounge so plenty of room to relax in the evening, plenty of entertainment on hand (DVD, CD multi channel TV and a selecton of board games although we brought our own favourites) Great location for walking on the moor - literally 4 mins away, Ilkely town centre 10min walk down the hill. There is a small gym with a sauna and jacuzzi which we used - very relaxing after a long walk, also available are bikes which are free to borrow. If any golfers are staying here I reccomend the Ben Rhydding golf course if you like a challenge ! very quirky, lots of ups and downs and unusual holes - great experience.


Guest from Newcastle-upon-Tyne stayed at Coach House Cottage for 3 nights in April 2015


Fabulous Week

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with everything we needed. Clean, comfortable, and fantastic location. Friendly people. The pigs were a huge hit with the whole family.

Guest from Ely stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in January 2015


A lovely Christmas stay

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay for Christmas in one of your cottages. It was excellent. Very much appreciated the welcoming Christmas tree and cake after a long journey. Very spacious but also cosy. My 88 year old mother was able to visit each day and the ground floor was completely elderly lady friendly! Water in the showers a little reluctant, perhaps? Otherwise, an excellent stay and we intend to return next year.



Guest from London stayed at Coach House Cottage for 5 nights in December 2014


Perfect accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage is warm and inviting - real home from home feeling. Kitchen is well equiped, beds comfy and cottage has a great location for exploring the Yorkshire Moors. Children loved visiting the pigs and chickens.

Olivia from Hindhead stayed at Coach House Cottage for 3 nights in December 2014


Perfect position right on the edge of the moor

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very well equipped, pretty, comfortable cottage in a great position right beside Ilkley Moor but in walking distance of the town centre. A very friendly greeting and a delicious cake to welcome us. Thank you.



Guest from Beccles stayed at Coach House Cottage for 3 nights in October 2014


Excellent in every respect

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented Coach house Cottage and the Old Gallery for a large group of us for a relaxing hen weekend. The welcome we got was excellent and the cake left for us was amazing. The facilities and comfort in both cottages were super and provided everything we needed and were looking for for the weekend. Would definitely recommend to other people.

Hannah from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Coach House Cottage for 3 nights in August 2014


Tour de France base camp

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked here back in 2012, when the route was first planned and our decision was fully justified. Tim could not have been more helpful, the facilities are very well kept and presented, comfortable beds, ample space for four, (suggest only young children best suited to bedroom no. three). Lovely to have breakfast in the courtyard and to feed our swill to the two pigs. Lots of useful info to help enjoyment of the local area too. Our friends enjoyed walking on the moor and we loved swooping down Wells Road on our bikes. Lots more to explore on a second occasion.

Guest from Berkhamsted stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in July 2014


Homely enough for a fortnight!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Jul 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We often just stay in cottages for a few days or a week, but given the time it takes to pack everything for us and the dog, we decided to try two weeks this time. We were pretty comfortable in Coach House Cottage, thanks to "all mod cons" and plentiful supplies of powder for the dishwasher and washing machine. There was a bit of a tiff about whether we should have the bedroom with the en suite and roll top bath, or the one with the TV. With World Cup matches going on late into the night I didn't get my way...

The cottage is very well located on the outskirts of Ilkley. There's a bit of a hill down to the town, but plenty of taxis to bring you back if you can't face the climb! And it's on the edge of the moors with some good walking from the doorstep. Then just a bit of a drive to great locations in the Yorkshire Dales.

Where these cottages also stand out is the amazing amount of information provided about Ilkley, the surrounding areas, and matters such as green tourism. We loved the area, and this did help us explore. Though we've come away feeling there was so much more to do! There is a wonderful roof garden on top of the main building - do take a drink up and watch the sunset over Ikley. And it's fun to feed the pigs!

We did report a few things e.g. the microwave wasn't turning (no good for heating our kippers from the fish man in the market place!). The owners were keen to hear about these things and they were in the process of being fixed as we left.

I'd say the cottage isn't incredibly dog-friendly (just comparing to others we've stayed in). There wasn't a lot of room in the kitchen for his large dog bed, and although the lounge was larger but we weren't allowed to leave him in there in case he jumped on a sofa overnight. There are rules in place about paying for damage, and being taken to a kennels if they disturb neighbours, but we still were not allowed to leave our dog in the cottage. After a long walk our dog would rather sleep than be dragged round with us all day, so it seems a bit daft that we couldn't leave him for a couple of hours in his bed, in the kitchen. Especially given that he was expected to be there for 8 hrs while we slept... Tips: Although the owners advise a dog can be left in a car parked on the road outside the property, remember dogs die in hot cars and the RSPCA tell you never to do this. If you sling a coat over your nightdress to walk the dog off the property for a toilet break, be very careful how you bend over to scoop! There's a new version of the song "Ilkley Moor b'aht pants" about to come out...


Guest from Nottingham stayed at Coach House Cottage for 14 nights in June 2014


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. The issue of dogs is a very emotive one. Some families (including us) love taking their pet on holiday. However, some people actively avoid places that take dogs. We've had problems here in the past - dogs left alone howling all day (fearing they've been abandoned), jumping up on the kitchen units to look out, or tethered in the garden for hours, or left chewing the carpets or gauging the skirting board to try to get out. Dogs have been known to hop into a double bed when their owners go out. Once I had to enter a cottage to reset the electricity box after a power cut and was met by a lone, ferocious dog! It's just not fair on other cottage guests enjoying their stay, nor us on the next changeover day. That's why we now have a few rules that have been taken from official tourist board recommendations. For example, we now ask that you take your dog with you during the day and bring a dog cage for overnight. We agree that leaving a dog in a hot car is dangerous. However, if you wish to go eat out in the evening to a restaurant that doesn't accept dogs, we ask that you take your dog with you as we feel he/she will settle better in your vehicle than left alone pining in a strange, dark cottage. We will, however, review our policies to see if we can make life easier for next time.

A great dog-friendly place to stay with a young family

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jun 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Westwood Lodge. The staff were very welcoming - we were met at the door and arrived to a homemade sponge cake! They'd left a box of toys for our 2 year old son without us even asking, showing how thoughtful they are. The location was amazing. It's just a short stroll right on to the moors and easy to walk into Ilkley town centre too (although the hill is a bit of a killer on the way back!) Our son loved the pigs and play area, our dog loved the countryside walks and we loved the peace and quiet (once our son was in bed at least..). We'd definitely go back and would recommend to others too.

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Coach House Cottage for 3 nights in June 2014


Yorkshire Break

Review submitted on Thu, 29 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Set on Ilkley Moor with access to great walking country, the accommodation suited my family including a baby perfectly. This was our second visit and will not be our last.

Guest from Great Kingshill stayed at Coach House Cottage for 4 nights in May 2014


Weekend with the boys

Review submitted on Mon, 12 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tim could not have been more helpful in making this a relaxing and easy visit to Ilkley. We had everything we needed and the cottages worked brilliantly for our group.

Couldn't ask for more and would certainly recommend to others.

paddy


Guest from London stayed at Coach House Cottage for 3 nights in May 2014


Family visit

Review submitted on Thu, 08 May 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed for a week for a family celebration it was lovely thanks. Kids enjoyed tramp dvd'd pigs and croquet. We enjoyed well equipped kitchen and lovely big lounge.

Guest from Auckland stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in April 2014


A homely holiday house with everything you need and much more

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came down from Orkney to see family and this was just the place to be, not to far and not to near the family. Plenty of room to have different family members over for a meal or to stay for a few days.

Our grandson and Granddaughters just loved the pigs,Wendy house,toys and trampoline. They even went on the trampoline when it was snowing!!!great fun

No wasted food as we could go and feed the pigs,chickens and rabbits.

Great to see all the recycling being encouraged in all the cottages and apartments.

We will be staying again when we go and visit the family later this year or early 2015.

Thank you for a pleasant stay. What a perfect project for the big house its great to see old houses being used and restored.


Guest from Orkney stayed at Coach House Cottage for 13 nights in January 2014


Remarks

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Dec 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
See belowxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Guest from Belfast stayed at Coach House Cottage for 7 nights in December 2013


A friendly welcome. A great stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the original carriage house and oozes charm and country feel. Tim welcomed us like long-lost cousins and we were soon tucking into Paula's homemade cake that she had baked for us and which was still warm!

Although cold outside we were warm and snug inside with full central heating. Ilkley Moor is just outside and Ilkley town just a stroll through the woods. No need to worry about drink driving, although we got a taxi back after our delicious meal in town.



Guest from stayed at Coach House Cottage for 4 nights in November 2013