FB Twitter

Applebarn Cottage

Applebarn Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 109 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Originally the gardener's quarters, Applebarn is ideal for a family stay or for up to six adults. Deceptively spacious whilst maintaining the original style and character. Up to two well-behaved dogs welcome for a small charge. One of our Enjoy England 4 Star Gold Award cottages, meaning a high level of furnishings and fittings coupled with a relaxed style. EXTENSIVELY REFURBISHED 2018.

Lovely cottage in a fabulous location.

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Apple Barn Cottage. Hosts Paula & Tim were very friendly & helpful. The cottage was quirky , very clean & equipped with everything we needed. The location is spectacular & we enjoyed runs & walks on Ilkley Moor, literally on the doorstep. We will definitely be back!

Christine from Taunton stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Applebarn Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had yet another perfect stay at Westwood Lodge. As always, it was perfectly clean and everything you need for short or long stay, is available there. All the precautions are taken by Tim and Paula to stay virus free, which they managed now for the whole time they have been opened. We hope to be back soon.

Marcela from Grantham stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in August 2020


50th Birthday Celebrations

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great 3 night stay in the Applebarn to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. My sister had the Coach House next door. The accommodation is of a good size and we had ample room for our family of 4 in ours.
We were greeted by the owner who was very friendly and told us all we needed to know. A nice Victoria sponge was on the kitchen table when we arrived , as was plenty of tea, coffee and milk.
The accommodation was nice and clean and really wanted for nothing other than better weather when we arrived.
All in all a really nice break.


Tim from Sheffield stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in August 2020


Another fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here last year but in one of the apartments and loved it so much, we rebooked and stayed in one of the cottages this time - cottage was lovely! Traditionally English and very comfortable! Very Covid Secure, really clean, well equipped and was happy to find our own washing machine and dryer inside cottage. This was very important as we are moving onto our next break after this and need clean clothes! Loved to find homemade cake, milk and wine (wine as we are returning customers). Its the perfect location for us especially with my Dad living just 5 miles away and loved to be able to walk into Ilkley. Everything so easy and Tim, the owner, cannot do more to accommodate and he also happy for us to walk his dog and pick up the chickens! My girls loved it! Thank you for a wonderful stay, we will be returning!

Michelle from Kenley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in August 2020


Review of Applebarn Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time celebrating my husband's 50th birthday at Applebarn Cottage. The cottage was wonderful, well equipped and very homely. I would definitely recommend this property, the booking was very easy and communication was great throughout our stay. The Lazy Sunday check out was a superb way to end our stay. I would love to come back to the area in summer and would be more than happy to re-book this fabulous cottage.

Helen from Mossley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 2 nights in February 2020


Gorgeous cottage in wonderful location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Can’t recommend Applebarn Cottage at Westwood Lodge highly enough. Our family of 5 adults loved our stay in this well equipped cottage. The Victorian Sponge cake that greeted us on arrival was a wonderful touch and enjoyed by all. Tim greeted us and showed us around the property, even though we were early. The beds were very comfortable and there was nothing we wanted for. We will definitely be back when next in the country to visit relatives.

Rell from Camberwell stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 1 nights in January 2020


Our time Ilkley

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Westwood Lodge many times over the years, as we have flown back to the UK from Canada. It is lovely place to come back to, warm, friendly and reasonably priced for 5 people. You can not beat the countryside.

Sarah from Oakville stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in October 2019


Applebarn

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful stay looking forward to returning. Everything was perfect, everyone was kind and helpful.

Rita from Leeds stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 8 nights in September 2019


Short break

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at Applebarn to watch the world cycling in Harrogate. Lovely cottage, everything we needed for a family with a toddler and dogs. Very helpful staff sending us updates on changes to the event. Good location.

The only slight issue was limited parking, which would have been fine if other guests parked with thought for others. Perhaps parking bays marked for each cottages, but parking on the road was easy.


Guest from Ascot stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in September 2019


Tim Edwards, owner replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for staying with us as The Worlds Cycling Championships came to Yorkshire! Unfortunately the weather was grim and this was disappointing (everything was shown on national TV!) We're sorry you had a parking issue. I wish you had mentioned this during your stay as it could have been resolved. There are bays clearly marked out for each cottage. As we were completely full for the big cycling event we had rather more cars than usual. We hope this didn't spoil your stay and I'm glad you found all my update information about the event helpful.

Excellent Accommodation in Ilkley - Applebarn cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at this accommodation four times now. The first time was at Westwood Lodge and the following times have been at Applebarn cottage. Our party comprises myself, husband and grandchildren. This accommodation is ideal.

Ilkley is a good centre for visiting nearby attractions for the children, and the town itself is minutes away from the extremely comfortable accommodation.

We had good weather for the most part and the odd rainy period didn't spoil our enjoyment - good to have comfortable base to go back to!



Anne from Bolton stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Fantastic

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Apple barn is one of a few cottages located in this little complex it's well set out with things for children to do safely the owners and there manageress are lovely people and nothing is too much trouble if you ask.the cottage itself is well set out and a verry good assortment of kitchen utensils the beds are verry comfertubble and clean.all round cleanliness Great.

Rosie from Whitby stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Good location for town & country

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of four stayed comfortably for a week & had everything we needed at the house. There was plenty of hot water, all the appliances were in good order & the bedrooms comfortable.
The location is good for walking straight onto the moor. We walked twice down into Ilkley but used the car other times as we were too tired after walking the hills!


Guest from Wymondham stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Very comfortable accommodation in Ilkley

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Applebarn Cottage is a very comfortable 3 bedroom accommodation. The kitchen is very well appointed, and the main bedroom has an en suite. The other two rooms share a large bathroom. The lounge is very large and comfortable.
Westwood Lodge is located a little bit out of the centre of Ilkley, up a hill. It is about 15 minutes walk DOWN the hill and 25 minutes back UP. Car parking for the cottages is a little tight if you have a large car.
You get a very warm welcome from the owners on arrival, and there is a sponge cake waiting for you.


Tim from Hitchin stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 5 nights in May 2019


Applebarn

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage, everyone was so helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. Even the weather was good. Already booked another holiday.

Rita from Leeds stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 14 nights in May 2019


We love you Westwood

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 3rd visit and the 3rd property we tried. Loved them all. Kids meet other kids - hurrah. Everything is well thought through and well managed. We love the moors, the pig, the owner's dog, the trampoline and Ilkley. See you again soon.

David from Oslo stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


Great cottage for a family weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was a great size for 5 adults with all the amenities we needed. The cake on arrival was a lovely extra. We had a really fun weekend and could use the cottage to relax whilst the weather was poor and also make the most of the good local walks to the Cow and Calf when the weather improved. Thanks.

Lucy from Manchester stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in March 2019


Third time lucky

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit, need I say more? Previously we had stayed in the apartments but this time we took a cottage as there was a great discount for just the two of us. Tim and Justine were extremely helpful before and during out stay. I've no doubt there will be a fourth visit in the future.

Rochelle from Liddington stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 8 nights in March 2019


Everything thought of and provided

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jan 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very warmly welcomed by Justine who even collected us from the railway station as we arrived by train. Everything was spotlessly clean and very well presented. Everything possible had been provided and was in perfect condition. Jacuzzi, sauna and honesty shop was very welcome and useful. Current bus timetables were available as were a great collection of books, dvds and games. Another big plus for us was the use of (4} bicycles that were all well maintained with tools, helmets and locks also provided. This is truly accommodation provided by people who really care.

Christine from Brighton stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 5 nights in January 2019


Review of Applebarn Cottage, Westwood Lodge, Ilkley.

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fourth stay at Westwood Lodge, in different cottages each time. As usual, we really enjoyed our visit. The accommodation is situated right by the beautiful Ilkley Moor - perfect for hikes with the dog. Applebarn Cottage was so cosy, comfortable & warm - a haven to come back to when the weather is cold, windy & wet, as it was in December. The cottage is perfect - good sized rooms, very well equipped, comfy beds & we must mention the delicious welcome cake! Even a Christmas tree in the lounge! Our only slight quibble concerned the leather sofas which were very low & extremely soft.

Colin from Grouville stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in December 2018


Christmas in Ilkley!

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time staying at the Apple barn cottage we have stayed there many times before. Every one was welcoming and friendly. It was like coming home!

Sarah from Oakville stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 8 nights in December 2018


A lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at applebarn cottage. It is very spacious, quiet and well equipped for everything you might need for the family (games, toys, stair gates, cots etc). Great location close to the Moors and near enough to walk into town. Loads of character too, we enjoyed reading about the history of Westwood Lodge. Will definitely try and stay here again when back in Ilkley.

Tim from London stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in December 2018


A lovely cottage in a perfect location.

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is very well equipped, nicely decorated and in every way comfortable. The owner family and the manager are all very helpful and service minded. The entire Westwood Lodge complex is highly recommend and a perfect place to explore Yorkshire - the moors and the dales.

Sonia from Simrishamn stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in October 2018


Lovely long weekend in lovely cottage next to Ilkla Moor

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From my arrival onwards your lovely staff could not do enough to welcome me. Delicious cake was an unexpected but much appreciated surprise, with the tea & coffee tray, and milk in the fridge. We brought detergents, dishcloths, extra tea towels, as we usually need these in holiday lets, but they went back in the bag, as all were supplied. Despite some bitterly cold weather we stayed warm and cosy once we had drawn the curtains and put the fire on, although the kitchen area was always warm. We loved the gardens and visited the pigs and chickens, which we found exciting (even though we are six ladies in our sixties!) The beds were very comfortable, the duvets and pillows sumptuous and the bathroom area clean and luxurious. We had a lovely time.
We were so impressed we have booked to return in May, hoping for balmier, less bracing weather!


Barbara from Morpeth stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in November 2018


What better recommendation than to say we would definitely stay here again.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The comfort, cleanliness and location together with the defining extras of provisions (not forgetting the homemade cake!) were all excellent. Situation in its rural setting is optimum for Ilkley centre (10-15 minutes walk), bus service and many walks around.

Peter from Lytham St Annes stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018


Back on business

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are probably quite unusual in that we use Westwood Lodge for our business trips to this region as a welcome alternative to the many bland corporate hotels on offer in the nearby cities. It gives us a chance to see our old friends and family in the Ilkley region, take a morning run on the beautiful Ilkley Moor (phew, not for the faint-hearted), enjoy the wide range of restaurants, cafes and pubs in the town and cook for ourselves in a really well-stocked kitchen. On that point it's really helpful that pretty much everything is provide - general linen obviously but also kitchen towels, cloths, washing up liquid, tea, coffee and a cake...oh the cakes wonderful! It makes a difference and a surprising number of holiday properties just provide the bear minimum.

The other real positive is the efficient and friendly communication from the owners and their colleagues. Instant confirmation online, a receipt, a reminder of key details just before you arrive and usually a welcome in person - Justine was there to see us in and was her usual friendly and efficient self. Other correspondents have listed the comfy and cosy atmosphere of the cottages and this is a big plus.

Well done to the Westwood team for providing something a little different in these times of stiff competition.


Nik from Normandy stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in September 2018


Applebarn

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been for the second time this year, and we have already booked for a fortnight next year, that should say everything we thing about the cottage and the holiday.

Rita from Leeds stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Lovely Week

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week in Ilkley with a good walk over the moors and a good day out at Bolton Abbey. Many thanks to Justine who is a gem.

Sarah from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Lovely cottage in delightful location

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning cottage with all the necessary amenities, the home made cake was a lovely touch too. Excellent location for a walk on the moor and also just a short stroll into town! Would definitely stay here again!

Joanne from Leeds stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 2 nights in June 2018


wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage, everything you could need and beautifully decorated, with very helpful, caring and efficient people, nothing was too much trouble for them.

Rita from Leeds stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


A delightful well equipped cottage - perfectly positioned on the edge of the moor. Stunning views.

Review submitted on Mon, 14 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable, clean & homely. We felt very well looked after. Ideal for walkers. Would have loved to know that we could have stayed longer on the Bank Holiday Monday, as we definitely would have.

Louise from London stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in May 2018


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We are disappointed that you didn't realise that staying all day Bank Holiday Monday was included in the price of your stay and that you therefore downgraded your review score on Value for Money. We try hard to sent complete and accurate guest information. I've checked and can confirm that the 6pm Bank Holiday Monday checkout was clearly shown in all our three email communications with you. We hope that this didn't spoil your stay too much.

Had a great holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the cottage and its setting in the courtyard with access to the rest of the property. The children loved feeding the pigs and visiting the other animals. They also liked the trampoline and would have loved the Wendy House if the weather had been more appropriate.
The location was superb as we could just walk straight on to the moor from the cottage and Ilkley with all its shops and other activities was within easy walking distance.
There were also other great facilities on site which we dodn't really make use of because there was so much else to do - the sauna, hot tub, gym, roof terrace DVD library.
We stayed for a week and had a lovely, comfortable holiday. We could have stayed much longer .


Sarah from Fairford stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in April 2018


Back Again

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back again for a few days rest and relaxation in our home from home - Applebarn Cottage has certainly become our second home!!

We loved the new bedroom dormer window and the bedroom just had a more snug and cosy feel to it - Paula should be proud of her lovely homemade furnishings!!

Many thanks for the delicious cake and wine and thanks to Justine for collecting our luggage.



Sarah from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in March 2018


Mother of the bride at Hen Party

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have not just clicked excellent for all without thinking it was totally what we wanted. The mums and Aunty needed to leave the younger ones alone at times and just chat together and this was ideal. I was amazed and very impressed by the excellent statge ndard of the facilities and wished I could have stayed longer . We had a little problem with the heating and it was dealt with dry quickly and cheerfully. The welcome tray and yummy cake was such a nice touch and everyone we meet was so friendly and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and comfortable.

Evelyn from Harrogate stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in November 2017


Great, comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice cottage that is deceptively large. Well equipped kitchen and lounge. The one issue we had was quickly dealt with my Tim and his team.

In addition, my 2 year old really enjoyed the box of toys we were provided with.

Location is great for walks on the moor but be prepared to walk up some steep hills to get back from the town centre.


Craig from Teddington stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in September 2017


Very Comfortable

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sadly we were only able to stay in Applebarn Cottage for 2 nights. It is extremely comfortable and well fitted out, the rooms are all a very good size and everything works. The location to the town and the moors is excellent.

Patrick from Norwich stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 2 nights in September 2017


Back Again

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful holiday in our home from home.

What can I say that hasn't been said the last few years - cottage is lovely, feels very homely and dog friendly (even our dog knows which cottage to go to every year!) Ilkley itself is dog friendly too and has very good train links (we travel here by train every year), walks are on the doorstep and plenty of places to eat and drink in fact our dog takes us to the pub!!

Thank you to Tim and Justine for their help and thank you to Paula for the scrummy cake :)

We have already booked to return twice next year


Sarah from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Relaxed and luxurious

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to stay. Up to the Cow and Calf in about half an hour from your doorstep (if you're a fast walker!) The accommodation is luxurious and there's no skimping at all (you know what I mean : luxury toilet roll, complimentary cake and tea upon arrival, Fairy liquid in the kitchen no less... etc.!) There are plenty of things for the family to do : games, pigs to feed, trampolines to jump on and just lots to explore!

Maria from Preston stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in August 2017


Good Family Accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our holiday at Applebarn Cottage. We had good days out arriving back in time for an early evening dinner at the Cottage. This is because we had two young children and two grown-up children with us. We really needed the comfort (and the television) in the early evening. We also visited the hot tub a couple of time before our evening meal.

We also appreciated the fact that a box of toys is provided (especially for the 3-year old girl). We made several visits to the animals and the younger children enjoyed feeding the chickens and the hens.


Anne from Bolton stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2017


Loved our stay in Applebarn cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place to stay in Ilkley - good location, comfortable cottage, attractive buildings in a lovely setting, plus a very warm and hospitable welcome. Everything you look for when you hire a holiday cottage in fact.

Amanda from Monmouth stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in June 2017


Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay for Caroline's Hen Party, everything was absolutely exceptional and I cannot thank you enough!

Joanna from Ferryhill stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in May 2017


Perfect stay

Review submitted on Sat, 13 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for a wonderful stay, we loved Applebarn Cottage, we were two families travelling so to have two double rooms plus a twin room for kiddies was ideal, not to mention the full size kitchen and living room...a true home away from home. The kids loved the basket of toys left as well as the trampoline and climbing frame in the garden and exploring the wendy house....so much for the kids to do before we had even stepped out of the property. Having lived in Ilkley before we knew the location would be ideal and it was, stroll down into the village or up onto moor. We had great weather too so we also enjoyed the garden at the back of the cottage. Will certainly be back to stay again in the future....if only for the amazing cake left by the owner which was divine!!

Guest from Vancouver stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 2 nights in May 2017


Everything you need and more

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a lovely place to be and spend some time.
Our one year old twins just loved exploring the house and little garden and meeting the pigs, chickens and rabbit. And trying out the little bikes. Was lovely to watch and made it all the more special.
Really enjoyed the moors and Ilkley Town itself too.


Graham from York stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in April 2017


In between houses

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely lovely stay at Applebarn cottage. The owners and staff always on hand to ensure our stay was enjoyable. Paula baked the best sponge we ever tasted too.

David from Keighley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 28 nights in March 2017


Lovely place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our weekend in Applebarn Cottage. Very cosy, clean and well equipped. Peaceful location on edge of moor near great walks, yet also close to town centre.

Joanne from Teddington stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in February 2017


Our long weekend stay

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable stay. Good sized bedrooms. Good communal space and utility room. the location is fantastic. We had a large group staying at the three cottages and that worked extremely well.

Susan from Woldingham stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in February 2017


Xmas and New Year at Applebarn Cotttage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our turn to visit my sister in law and her family in Menston for Xmas and the New Year and as she does not have the space to put the 4 of us up we looked for self catering accommodation nearby. We have previously stayed at Gargrave but that is too far from Menston for virtually a daily visit, so she recommended Westwood Lodge and we booked early in 2016.

Keith from Norwich stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 10 nights in December 2016


A wonderfully warm welcome

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Applebarn Cottage is lovely. Tastefully decorated, comfy beds, a cosy sitting room and everything you need for a wonderful stay in this beautiful part of the world.

We were greeted warmly, like old friends, and with tea, coffee and cake. Justine took the time to explain everything and answer any questions and whenever we saw Tim he checked everything was ok and we were enjoying our stay. We really couldn't ask for more.

The cottage is a short walk from Ilkley town centre where there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. Walking back from town requires perseverance - its uphill - but this is not necessarily a bad thing, particularly if you've had a few extra sweet treats (because you're on holiday!).

There is wifi in the cottage and the owners have a good selection of DVDs you can borrow. It's worth walking upstairs to the rooftop terrace in the apartment building, where you get a magnificent view (perfect with a glass wine).

We have had a lovely stay. I would return, and hope to do so. And I can thoroughly recommend.


Julie from Sunderland stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in December 2016


Lovely

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Dec 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our tenth visit - need we say more? Excellent

.....................................................


Charles from Goring-by-Sea stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 11 nights in December 2016


Superb location

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you like walking it's perfect with the moors literally on your doorstep.
If you like city/town breaks it is close to Leeds, York , Harrogate.
Lots of nice restaurants in ilkley.
Quiet location. Well equipped cottage.


Deborah from Skegness stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in October 2016


4 days in Yorkshire

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Applebarn was very comfortable for us. A plus was the location, very close to Ilkley centre but on the edge of the moors. The house was clean, very comfortable, well equipped and warm (important as one of our party is 96!) The parking was easy and adjacent to the house. It was an excellent choice for us and we plan to return. A bonus was the wonderful home made sponge on our arrival.

Sandra from Reading stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in October 2016


Short Break

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed at Westwood Lodge many times and as ever we had a lovely relaxing staying. The cottage is comfortable and fully equipped. The location is ideal and it is a lovely walk into the town.

Guest from Epsom stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in September 2016


Best of everything

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted a high quality, peaceful self catering place where everything we needed would be provided. We wanted warmth and comfort. We got all of this and all of us would have been happy to stay longer if it were possible, it's a beautiful setting as well. If you stay here don't forget to save your leftovers for the pigs!

Sue from Inverness stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in September 2016


Another wonderful reunion!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic company, brilliant accommodation, wonderful place! Amazing memories! Can't believe we have known each other 41 years! Apple barn is the perfect stay for us

Fiona from Huddersfield stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in September 2016


Home from Home

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from our annual stay in our second home and still love coming here!!

Ilkley is very dog friendly and transport links are really good.

Big thanks to Tim, Paula and Justine (Paula's cake was lovely as always).



Sarah from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Lovely cottage at the edge of the moor and close to Ilkley town center

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Spacious cottage with great country atmosphere. Even though the cottage is part of a larger complex, it still felt private. The cottage is very child friendly. Our two year old highly appreciated the box of toys available in the cottage. We had a private garden and access to a garden with pigs, hens and a rabbit. There was a trampoline and other outdoor toys to play with. The location is excellent for walking on lovely Ilkley moor. There is walking distance to the town center, which has lots of nice shops, coffee houses and restaurants. We highly recommend this cottage.

Ingebjoerg from Oslo stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Great place

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want beauty in surroundings....if you want comfort..... If you want home away......if you want value....if you want a central location in Yorkshire dales.... There is no better place.

George from Cullercoats stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great stay at a fantastic location, Justine and her team were warm and welcoming. Applebarn Cottage is well appointed and extremely comfortable. The property is perfectly located to visit the local landmarks and Ilkley has everything required including some fine dining restaurants and local style Yorkshire pubs. If you have got this far and you need somewhere in Ilkley to stay then I would recommend that you make a booking, for us it really was home from home.

Ray from Teddington stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


lovely weekend break

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay in Applebarn Cottage. There are beautiful walks at the doorstep. The cottage is very comfy, clean and child friendly. Ilkley is a pretty village. Our child (4yr) loved the little farm and play house.

Nicole from Manchester stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 2 nights in July 2016


Family friendly group accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We rented the three cottages which was perfect for our family get together. Set around a spacious courtyard, the accommodation is very well equipped. Great for children, toys are provided indoor and out, the trampoline was a big hit and the children loved feeding the pigs.

Jane from Magden stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


House renovation respite

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
To save our sanity during our local house renovations we're having a 2-leg stay in Applebarn Cottage over 8 weeks. From the word go the welcome, facilities and ease with which we could transition our lives over was fantastic. It is a true home from home. Thank you Tim, Paula and Justine.

Paul from Ilkley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 18 nights in April 2016


Lovely stay again

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really cosy, lovely cottage right by the moor. We've been several times and had a great time every visit. Location is perfect and Tim and the team are very friendly and helpful.

Sheila from London stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in March 2016


Great place to stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed staying in this lovely cottage. Fully equipped for cooking and baking we particularly loved the spacious kitchen and lounge area. Ideal for spending time with the family in a lovely area. Can only recommend it and we hope to be back.

Heike from Canterbury stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in March 2016


Visiting family

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Mar 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A warm welcome and lots of good information (both verbal and written) on arrival. Great shower in the main bathroom and everything we required. The twin room was a little chilly when the West wind blew and the lighting in the sitting room was rather unfriendly, but apart from these little niggles everything was lovely. Hoping to stay again!

Jane from Ilkley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in February 2016


Lovely Family Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location is perfect being on the edge of the Moor yet only a short stroll down the hill into the lovely town centre of Ilkley. Our friends who live in the town reckon this is the best place to stay in the town and we wil certainly try to book it when we next visit. The apartment itself is quiet and ideal for our family of five.

Andrew from Brockenhurst stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in February 2016


Location superb, cottage lovely!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this cottage, being able to step straight on to the moors for bracing walks and stunning scenery all around was the icing on the cake. The cottage was very well equipped, lots of nice touches that made it feel homely, a lot of thought has gone in to the cottage and everything was of a high standard. Location wise it was perfect as we wanted a mix of walks and retail therapy and Ilkley and Skipton satisfied us on both accounts easily! Would have loved to have stayed longer... next time hopefully ;o)
The owners send you lots of good info plus there are handy guides in the cottage that are worth a read and written in such a way you don't feel like its the ten commandments!, it all adds to a very relaxing feel to the place.


Pippa from Norwich stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in December 2015


LOVE, LOVE, LOVE.

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fab cottage in a fab location, moors are literally across the road, Ilkley centre 10 min walk down the road. Have been before and have booked again. Everything you could want or need during your stay is in the cottage including a beautiful cake for your arrival. Plenty of consumables, loo rolls/kitchen rolls/dishwasher tablets, etc. The cellars gym is great too which includes treadmill, stepper, rowing machine, water, showers/toilets, sauna, hottub and sunbed. And all this is dog friendly with bowls, poo bags and a few treats provided for your pooch, my dog LOVED it. Can't wait to come back in March for our anniversary.

Natalie from Barnsley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in November 2015


Beautiful comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a hen do, the communication leading up to the weekend with the owners was great. The cottages are beautiful and very comfortable.
And we also got good use from the gym and jacuzzi.
Short walk into town and into the moors.
Wonderful location, I hope we come back again in the future!
Ideal for friends or family get togethers.


Katie from Market Drayton stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 2 nights in October 2015


Another fabulous stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love Westwood Lodge - we feel 'at home' there and when we leave we immediately talk about returning - we travel widely and make a point of not returning to the same place - for Westwood we make an exception!

Guest from Neston stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in October 2015


Hotel perfection!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Applebarn Cottage and Westwood Lodge, A fantastic location and superb lodgings made our trip to Ilkley memorable. Applebarn cottage is so comfortable - a home away from home.

Caroline from Toronto stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in September 2015


Fantastic weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay in Applebarn Cottage!! Perfect for a college reunion! 40 years since we began our adventure to become teachers at Ilkley College. A truly magical weekend.

Fiona from Huddersfield stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in September 2015


Our Second Home

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have come to regard Applebarn Cottage as our second home having stayed here for the fifth time now!!

The cottage is very homely and nothing is too much trouble for Tim, Paula and Justine - Justine being a very good added bonus to the team.

Ilkley is so dog friendly, we even did a mini pub crawl with our dog and had a great night out.

Big thanks to Tim for collecting our luggage from the station and to Paula for the cake - scrummy as always.


Guest from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in September 2015


Short weekend stay to visit family

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property was clean, comfortable and was well placed for our purposes. The cake was lovely and welcoming pack was handy since it was a long 7 hour journey up

Guest from Christchurch stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in August 2015


Short stay in a beautiful cottage!

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in Applebarn Cottage was far too short for our liking! We booked last minute and could not have possibly wanted more from our break. Amazing x

Vikki from Sleaford stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in August 2015


Stay in July second time

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to stay at Westwood lodge for the second time in a different cottages and very pleasant stay again. Despite a bit of rain a great base to explore from. Comfortable beds, barbecues to borrow and the wonderful trampoline made it home from home. I'm sure we will be staying again!

Lindsay from Coventry stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Stay in July second time

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We came to stay at Westwood lodge for the second time in a different cottages and very pleasant stay again. Despite a bit of rain a great base to explore from. Comfortable beds, barbecues to borrow and the wonderful trampoline made it home from home. I'm sure we will be staying again!

Lindsay from Coventry stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


A Yorkshire treasure, we keep coming back

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great facility, spectacular location, family friendly. We have been before and will return.

(Stupid review facility - why do we need to fill 150 characters?????)


Guest from Falmouth stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 14 nights in July 2015


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're glad you enjoyed your stay overall. However, we are disappointed that you were critical of the new leather sofas and dining chairs. The current trend is for comfortable low level settees and armchairs rather than firm upright ones. Lightweight duvets are available on request. However, previous experience has overwhelmingly shown that guests prefer heavier ones in the UK unless it really is scorching hot!

Four days in Applebarn Cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a really nice short stay here in Ilkley. The cottage at Westwood Lodge was really characterful and we had a warm welcome. The walking from the doorstep, the grounds, and the pigs, chickens would make this a good place for a family break. The hot weather made for great walking along the beautiful Wharfe valley at Bolton Abbey and Burnsall.

Guest from Hinckley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in June 2015


Best home away from home

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've had a brilliant stay at Applebarn Cottage. The rooms are all tastefully decorated and the beds are super comfortable. Kitchen well equipped with everything necessary for cooking etc. The location couldn't be more ideal with ample parking.

Carl from Saratoga stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in June 2015


Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was brilliantly equipped, very clean and super comfortable. The grounds surrounding the cottage were lovely and perfect for our toddler. It is very family friendly and they offer all sorts of equipment/toys to help make life easier. Oh and the location is fantastic; one side countryside, the other a short stroll downhill to a lovely town!

Guest from Egham stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


A lovely cottage!

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location, lovely surroundings and a great little cottage. The rooms were all gorgeous with ample space and comfortable beds and the welcoming tea and cake as very appreciated!

Guest from Leeds stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in June 2015


A lovely home from home

Review submitted on Sat, 30 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely cottage in a splendid location. We are repeat visitors to Westwood Lodge and we cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Ilkley. The wine/cake/crisps and welcome tray was much appreciated. The booking procedure was effortless and pre-arrival emails were timely and useful. Upon arrival, Justine popped in to make sure all was ok. It was and we feel sure that had there been any issues, she'd have sorted them as soon as possible! Everything you could possibly need is right there (pegs, sugar in the sugar bowl, properly useful crockery and kitchen utensils, I could go on for ages!). And in the bedrooms, there are power points near mirrors to make using a hairdryer easy. Top hotels don't get this right! I'd recommend Westwood Lodge without hesitation.

Guest from Broxbourne stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in May 2015


Everything we could wish for

Review submitted on Mon, 18 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ilkley is my home town, so I am always ready to have a wonderful time having lived overseas for many years. The cottages at Westwood Lodge are ideal for families in particular. We stay there when our adult kids come to join us from London and really enjoy having the chance to cook, eat together and talk, which is not so easy when staying in a hotel.

The only problem now is that I can't decide which of the cottages I like best. They are all lovely.


Guest from Corfu stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in May 2015


A Glorious Short Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Applebarn Cottage is excellently located - right on the moor and close to Ilkley town centre. The cottage is spacious and very well furnished with plenty of crockery/pots and pans etc. in the kitchen. The gym/spa area is small but a wonderful retreat after a long walk. It was useful to have an allocated parking space.

Guest from London stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in April 2015


A Glorious Short Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Applebarn Cottage is excellently located - right on the moor and close to Ilkley town centre. The cottage is spacious and very well furnished with plenty of crockery/pots and pans etc. in the kitchen. The gym/spa area is small but a wonderful retreat after a long walk. It was useful to have an allocated parking space.

Guest from London stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in April 2015


girls catch up weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic weekend revisiting ilkley. You can walk up onto the moor or down into town. It was perfect for us,

we went to bettys tea room for brunch and to picollinos for dinner which were both really nice


Guest from Morpeth stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 2 nights in April 2015


Cottage near the moors.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely, warm and spacious cottage in a beautiful location. The perfect place to relax and unwind. Delicious cake, tea, crisps and wine to welcome us on arrival!

Guest from Sevenoaks stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in April 2015


Applebarn Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 4th stay in Applebarn Cottage and we love staying here. The cottage has undergone a makeover since our stay last year and it is lovely with a very homely feel to it. Many thanks to Tim for collecting our luggage from the train station, it was very much appreciated (nothing is too much trouble for Tim, Paula and Justine).

Guest from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in March 2015


Thought of everything!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place to stay, lovely cottage and atmostphere. The owners even offered to let us have toys, a high chair and stairgate etc for no added charge. The buildings are lovely and there is a mini farm with trampoline and summer house for the kids. Very nice and a safe atmosphere.

Fraser from Nottingham stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in March 2015


Nice Break on the moors

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Feb 2015
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was comfortable and within close proximity to lovely walks on Ilkley Moor. Ilkley itself is a nice town with good shops and eateries. When I booked the cottage, the website showed a trampoline and a football area with nets but this wasn't there which was a shame as my boys spent ages seeking them out; so once they had seen the pigs and chickens there wasn't quite as much to keep them entertained which was a bit misleading. There were a couple of other issues but these were resolved with management.

Guest from Littleborough stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in February 2015


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're sorry that you were disappointed with certain aspects of your stay with us during the winter half-term week. Applebarn Cottage has had a complete makeover during the winter with new decor throughout, new lighting, Bluetooth speaker and other equipment, hi-speed wi-fi and much new furniture. Certain outdoor children's activities here at Westwood Lodge are shown as available on a seasonal basis. The cottages reflect that February is out-of-season with prices being about 30% cheaper than at Easter or Whitsun. The pigs, hens, rabbit, Wendy House and Jenga were all available, as were all the indoor leisure facilities. We left the trampoline up last winter, but found it too dangerous to use, as it was constantly wet or icy. Guest safety is our number one concern - particularly young children. The trampoline will return at Easter, once the danger of frost and ice has passed. There are indoor childrens' play areas within a short drive, as well as Ilkley Park and skateboard area. Ilkley Moor has 2000 acres of Open Access land right outside our gates, that is suitable for all ages and open all year round, for trekking, orienteering, cycling etc. I'm curious where you saw pictures of football nets - certainly not on our website - as these haven't existed for several years. We found that guests preferred to go to Ilkley Park down by the River Wharfe, where there is a huge area for games of football. We hope that you will consider returning again during the main season.

A perfectly located cottage for exploring Yorkshire.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived to a warm and cosy cottage and a welcome from our host. Everything in the cottage was of the best quality, and each room was beautifully decorated and furnished. We had come for a walking week, and were able to access the Moors from the front door, and then walk down the hill to the town for our evening meal or a drink. On a bad day, we caught the train from Ilkley, and were in the cinema in Leeds within forty minutes. So convenient.
We would highly recommend Westwood Lodge Cottages to young and old alike as there is so much to enjoy, both at the Lodge and further afield.


Guest from Halesworth stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in January 2015


Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, very comfortable and kitted out to a high standard. A wonderful place for a family weekend celebrating a special birthday. Thoroughly recommend.

Guest from Worcester stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in January 2015


Our stay in Ilkley

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jan 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The time we spent at the apple barn, was a welcome visit home for us. We live in Canada and I always love coming back to Yorkshire. The cottage was as always lovely, clean and comfortable.

Guest from Oakville stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in December 2014


Stunning Location and Property

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here before and would not stay anywhere else while visiting this beautiful area and my family.

We travel over 500 miles from Orkney so its just lovely to arrive and know that things will be just "PERFECT" and being able to relax knowing that fact is a great start to our get away.

Thank you Paula and Tim for a amazing Property and accommodation.


Guest from Orkney stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 10 nights in October 2014


Stunning Location and Property

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here before and would not stay anywhere else while visiting this beautiful area and my family.

We travel over 500 miles from Orkney so its just lovely to arrive and know that things will be just "PERFECT" and being able to relax knowing that fact is a great start to our get away.

Thank you Paula and Tim for a amazing Property and accommodation.


Guest from Orkney stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 10 nights in October 2014


Applebarn Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a lovely spacious cottage,very well equipped and comfortable, and in a wobderful situation on Ilkley Moor. Certainly to be recommended to anyone.

Guest from Cheltenham Spa stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in September 2014


A little gem of a cottage in traditional Yorkshire beauty.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Sep 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Frighteningly well-organised up front administration prior to visit. Personal introduction on arrival, good, and very little interference thereafter, better.
Cottage is ideally resourced and proportioned. Paula's cake was lovely, thank you.
The livestock were entertaining, notably the Porky twins!
Position for town and Ilkley Moor ideal, particularly if you want to get fit, keep fit or not be robbed on taxi fares! (£3.50 one way)
We'd most certainly return but get the guttering over cottage front fixed! :-)
PDW.


Guest from Chippenham stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in September 2014


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The guttering on your cottage does need replacing - it's now 125 years old and rather rusty! However, we are a Listed Historic Building and need Listed Building Consent to replace it in a similar style. It must be metal and a similar Victorian profile - which isn't easy to replicate. We now have this consent and the replacement be carried out as part of a bigger refurbishment and upgrade this winter.

Third Stay At Applebarn Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just stayed at Applebarn Cottage for the third time and it was as wonderful as ever. We found new walks to do and thoroughly enjoyed our walk to Bolton Abbey following the Dalesway Path Walk. Many thanks to Justine for collecting our luggage from us at the train station so we could have the afternoon in Riverside Park (really good park if like us you bring your dog). Ilkley is very dog friendly and our dog is always made very welcome at Westwood Lodge. We have already booked to stay again next year!!

Guest from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in September 2014


Perfect

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This has been the best holiday with my young children I have had, there was nothing we were without. Location was great, cottage was well equipped and super sized rooms, everything had been thought of - will definitely make me think about using premier cottages again.

Guest from Wimborne stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in July 2014


great service and asistance with booking gaps - much appreciated

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
appreciated the new mattress.
We knew there were gaps in our bookings - which I overlooked - great "recovery" by Tim and help from Rombalds to look after Pam while I am back in NZ for a few days.


Guest from Ilkley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 11 nights in July 2014


even better than Orchard Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
like Applebarn better than Orchard.
a bit more spacious and better stairs for Pam's knees.
we are enjoying of Westwood extended stay very much.
Nothing is too much trouble.


Guest from Ilkley stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in June 2014


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted that you've come back to stay for another couple of weeks during your extended visit from New Zealand. Applebarn Cottage actually has a very similar floor space to a Orchard Cottage (next door). I think it might be the room layout that gives the feeling of greater spaciousness?

Comfortable cottage in idyllic Ilkley

Review submitted on Tue, 27 May 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely week in Applebarn Cottage. It has to be one of the most comfortable self-catering cottages that I've stayed in. It has everything you need and is situated in a perfect location to explore the Yorkshire dales.

I would thoroughly recommend staying here if you are planning to explore this area of Yorkshire.


Guest from Norwich stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in May 2014


Second stay and just as good!

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Mar 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a week here last year and decided to stay again.
Westwood lodge and Applebarn Cottage is just what we need ! Right on the moors, great for running, dog walking, walking. Ilkley is a lovely town with great pubs and restaurants and only a short walk away.
The cottage is really homely, we all settled including our aged Lab, very clean with everything you need included, lots of home comforts. Cake on arrival is very welcome.
No doubt we will return here again, as it ticks all our boxes for a perfect week away.


Guest from Bury St Edmunds stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in March 2014


Great short break

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely property in fantastic location. Thoroughly enjoyable. Delicious cake on arrival. Really useful information provided in property. Feeding pigs was fun. And a dry sunny day to walk on the moors was a bonus!

Helen from Warrington stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in February 2014


An excellent Christmas stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Applebarn Cottage was an excellent place for us to join up and stay with my mother, who lives in Ilkley at Christmas. It was very comfortable and welcoming when we arrived after a very long and wet journey to find a Christmas tree, sponge cake,tea and coffee and music playing. We all had a lovely stay.

Guest from London stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 5 nights in December 2013


Brilliant new year at applebarn

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing place that i cannot recommend enough. Home from home so comfortable, clean andgreat facilities and close to likely town. Cannot wait to return.

Alice from Peterlee stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in December 2013


Applebarn Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2013
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We only used the cottage as a base for 3 days while we visited a sick relative nearby, so we didn't make much use of it, its facilities nor visit any nearby attractions. It is nicely presented and furnished and a good base for those holidaying in that part of Yorkshire. The welcome tray was a nice touch.

Guest from Eastbourne stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 3 nights in September 2013


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
.. Bit surprised at your score for value. As you were visiting a sick relative and booked very late, we offered you the cottage at a loss making price! Hope you'll come and stay again though.

Ideal base for exploring yorkshire.

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We choose Westwood lodge as it would accommodate 4 adults including my elderly parents who need a shower. The cottage was lovely and Tim was there with a warm welcome and cake !
It was an excellent base for exploring the local area and we loved the sculpture parks and Saltaire. We also had a great evening at the Alhambra theatre in Bradford including a delicious meal at their restaurant 1914.

The beds were really comfortable and I loved my pink cosy bedroom.
My only problem was the leather sofas, which we all found a bit too slippery! But in all the cottages are great, the pigs a delight to feed and talk too.
I walked down into town on a couple of occasions which was invigorating !
Thanks Tim and Paula, we may well be back soon.


Guest from Brighton stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in September 2013


So happy there

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For many years we have been visiting Westwood Lodge; it is in fact the only place we think of when leafing through holiday brochures. No Spain, France or whatever for us, we stick to Westwood Lodge. The atmosphere is amazing, the cottages and apartments are clean and cosy and Tim is an excellent host. The setting so close to the moor is so beautiful. Last June we stayed in the Applebarn Cottage for the first time. It is quite large, it has good furniture and a kitchen-diner and two bathrooms. We were very content sitting in the sun in the garden at the back of the cottage. Or we climbed up to the roof terrace, admiring the views. Somehow the sun always seems to be shining in Yorkshire! During daytime we walked on the moor, visited the nice shops in Ilkley and made tours through the Dales. Being Dutch, we liked visiting the typically English pubs. What else can we say - except that in a fortnight we will be visiting Westwood Lodge again! Thanks to Tim and Paula we do not have to look any further for a happy and relaxing holiday.

Peter Zwolsman, the Netherlands


Guest from Bergen stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 4 nights in June 2013


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
What a lovely review! Thank you! It's always a pleasure for us too when you come to visit us from The Netherlands. I remember the first time you stayed with us and recall you staring up at Ilkley Moor and across Wharefedale, seemingly having never seen moorland or a big valley before! Do come and stay again soon! Tim

Applebarn Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful cottage with home from home comforts. The location is excellent with Ilkey Moors on the door step and walking into town is less than 10 minutes and the added bonus is that we can take our dog and there are good walks. Paula's home made cake is always a nice treat to be welcomed with. We've booked again for our 3rd stay at Westwood Lodge.

Guest from Hartlepool stayed at Applebarn Cottage for 7 nights in August 2013


Tim Edwards replied more than 1 year ago
We're always particularly pleased when guests arrive by train (or at least leave their car here during the stay). Ilkley has a fantastic train service and the station is just 10 minutes walk down the hill. There are also great bus services to places like Skipton, Bolton Abbey, Grassington, Harrogate etc. As you've proved on several occasions, it's very easy to stay with us without needing a car and we're always happy to try to meet you off your train at the station to save the walk (or shuttle bus) up the hill to us. Look forward to you returning same time next year! Tim