FB Twitter

611 Westgate

611 Westgate

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.9


With 180 degree views over the rooftops and city walls of York, the River Ouse, the White Horse on the North Yorkshire Moors and the Wolds and Dales in the distance, staying in the riverside duplex penthouse at 611 Westgate will be a most exhilarating experience. No expense has been spared in presenting this wonderful apartment on the top 6th and 7th floors of this prestigious block in the centre of York which is less than five minutes walk from the railway station. The apartment has high standards of decoration and furnishings and attention to detail abounds. Every opportunity has been taken to make the most of the spectacular vista from both inside and from the very large exterior terrace. The design of the apartment itself is stunning and it offers a most unique and stylish base from which to explore the City.

GREAT STAY AT 611 WESTGATE

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic three night stay with friends at the end of September beginning of October at 611 Westgate. The apartment is immaculate, comfortable and very tastefully decorated with nice surroundings. It is extremely well kitted out with everything you need for a home from home feel. We loved the balcony for hearing the bells of York Minster and watching the world go by. All in all an extremely relaxing time and having stayed in York many times before this is so central to walk to and from the town without being in it.



Great Location

Review submitted on Fri, 26 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really good location handy for two top class hotels - Grand and Principal.
Next to train station so can easily visit Leeds.
The apartment has everything but had no influence on the weather- cold and rain but you cannot have blame "In York" who are always giving a first class service.




Great for a short break holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a fine apartment in the centre of York, close to the station. Good for four people and very well equipped. Easy parking and easy to find.



Well located property

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Nov 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
611 Westgate is very well located in York. The apartment is modern and has good views. Although well equiped we thought there was a lot of unnecessary bling and the technology was a bit dated. The internet did not work when we first arrived but Kim from InYork apartments provided excellent service in the form of a wifi dongle that we used during our stay. Hopefully the Sky router has been replaced (it did have a broken antenna and was at least 8 years old) and the connection rectified. Possibly relocating the router and giving it a proper stand would help too. The TV was too small for the size of the apartment and having ornaments in front of the DVD and STB units is not a good idea. If you require a dark bedroom for sleeping then this is not the apartment for you as the vertical blinds are inadequate and there is a well lit active post office exchange next door.

Would we stay there again - probably not. Would we book with InYork apartments again - definitely.




Martin Rivers - Owner 611 Westgate replied more than 1 year ago
We are sad that this guest found it necessary to make some negative comments regarding the Penthouse. it was a pity that the internet router which had presented no problems previously decided to breakdown. Despite the fact that we were on holiday and there was difficulty with dealing remotely with Sky the provider, Kim and myself were in contact 4 times on the day of arrival and the following morning attempting to resolve the issue. Apparently the guest was very upset but a technology gadget breakdown can’t be seen in advance and there was no comment on wi fi operation from the previous guests. The problem was resolved in less than 24 hrs. of arrival and a dongle provided by us. Kim tried very hard to satisfy the guest. There is a new router in the Apartment. The property is our holiday home and we use it regularly and it is furnished practically for guests with high quality furnishings but of course its to our taste. The photographs on the Agents web site give an accurate overview of the furnishing of the Apartment. Obviously to this guest our taste is ‘blingy’ which we don’t agree with, however as the type of furnishings are quite clear in the photographs its it bit galling for a guest to comment in this way. The television in the lounge is in our opinion a perfectly adequate size Sony Bravia Flat Screen of the same size that we have in our other homes. It is not to our taste to have a gigantic black rectangle dominating our lounge. The guest does not indicate that the ‘dated’, technology includes 2 additional flat screen televisions in the Kitchen Area and the Main Bedroom and that there is a Sky television box with access to hundreds of channels and that there is also two CD players. The ‘ornaments are small vases one with a flower arrangement, it takes 2 seconds to move them to the side. As the window in the Bedroom is about 12 feet long, and is from floor to ceiling and includes a glass right angle to the corner of the room, ( you can see the River from the bed) the practical solution is vertical blinds. These are blackout fabric but because of the fitting requirements of vertical blinds light does show around the window sides and top. The Apartment is right in the City Centre so the surrounding area is well lit, the large second bedroom is pretty dark having conventional recessed windows with blackout vertical blinds. We continually update and replace furniture and items at the Apartment and have not had negative comments on these items in the last 8 years." You may wish to comment on my comments Regards Martin

A comfortable enjoyable week.

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the flat just as we expected from the information given. The steps between floors were difficult for the two with mobility problems but not undoable. Our only complaint was a smelly towel which we put out in the hall. We slept well despite the early morning traffic to and from the Post Office. The location is fabulous - within easy reach of shops and restaurants. If its good enough for Judi Dench, it's good enough for us!



A great Christmas in York

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is perfect, it is in a great location, is fitted out to the highest standard, we had a great time. The agents Inyork holidays are first class, from the moment we booked everything was seamless, the meet and greet lady was wonderful, I would give my highest recommendation.



Great location, comfortable apartment. Good facilities .

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location and a comfortable stay. Apartment clean and fresh really grateful of air conditioning as when sun out lounge gets really hot.
Great to have good cooker and hob, large fridge freezer, washer and dishwasher. Plenty of utensils, pots and pans and cutlery would just benefit from a refesh of some crockery as mugs especially were abit chipped.

Lovely balcony and the comfortable deck chairs were great, enjoyed the late sunshine sat outside.

A great holiday location both for York and further afield as railway station so close by, unground parking a great extra in York.




First class apartment

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed at this beautiful apartment for a week in September. We were met by Richard who was very friendly and showed us around the apartment. It was everything we hoped for and more. A very comfortable apartment, a lovely bright lounge/kitchen with windows along one wall and a lovely patio area, we were even able to have breakfast on the patio as the weather was so beautiful. The bedrooms were a great size and very comfortable and although there was some noise from the post office & road I think it's only to be expected when staying in a city. The apartment was spotless and the kitchen was very well equipped. The secure car parking was very handy as well. It is very central a few minutes walk from both the train station and the city centre. The only gripe I would have is there was no wi-fi!!! Loved our stay and will definitely be back, you really do get what you pay for.