FB Twitter

47A St Johns Street

47A St Johns Street

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 34 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.3
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


47a St Johns Street is a very spacious three storey 4 bedroomed period town house, just a few minutes’ walk from Monk Bar, York Minster (view from Courtyard and garden) and York's many other historical attractions. 47a At Johns Street can sleep up to 7 adults. The property has a double ensuite bedroom, twin bedroom, single bedroom and a twin with ensuite shower. The property offers a very comfortable base for families /groups from which to explore the city.

Well-presented house in a very convenient location!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house was very clean and tidy and had everything we needed for a very enjoyable stay, and was situated in a very quiet street 10-15 minutes walk from Monkgate providing quick and easy access to the town.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would have no hesitation in recommending this property to anyone wanting to spend a few days in York!




Inyork Holidays replied 63 days ago
Thank you, Steven, for your great review. We are so pleased you all enjoyed your stay. Please don't hesitate to contact us should you plan a return visit to York.

Central and comfortable

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great central location.
Well equipped.
Would benefit from 4th armchair, shower mats, grabrail to ensuite.




Excellent stay in York

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent Easter in York and the house was in a perfect location, only few minutes away from the centre. Big and clean, with all the comfort you need when you are in holiday. The weather was not nice at all so we spent lot's of time in the house and it's been great! Thank you!!!



Fantastic location but slightly tired house

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jan 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I would stay here again because the location is fantastic, only five minutes from the town and York Minster. The house itself had a lot of potential and was lovely and roomy, but could definitely do with some updating.

Living room: Only seats five, so if the house is full this will cause problems. Could have done with more side lamps and ambient lighting. Gas fire was very hard to get going, the gas flow seemed intermittent so it was hit or miss.

Ensuite bathroom: Again, could have done with something other than a bright main light with a cheap shade, which detracted from the experience of the roll-top bath. Also, I noted that the glazing on the first window was not frosted and only covered by a net, so I assume the house next door got a free show when I had to rinse my hair in the shower with the light on. Which leads to the third gripe - the rolltop bath did not have a shower attachment so was no good if I wanted to wash my hair. Plus the water was not very hot.

Downstairs bathroom: Looked pretty ancient so could do with updating. Again, the bath had no shower attachment so was no good for hair washing. Water not very hot.

General: Instructions on what should be recycled in which bin would have been appreciated. Also, details of when the parking vouchers run from and to, plus maybe an extra voucher in case someone (me) accidentally ruins a voucher.




Family Christmas in York

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great stay. The second time we have rented 41A - warm and cosy in winter, ideally located with short walks to the Minster, town centre and supermarkets, expandable and well equipped - we cooked Xmas dinner for 12!

Only small criticisms (both easily fixed)
- Mattresses in main bedroom are very soft - not good for ancient backs - we swapped rooms to get a good sleep.
- downstairs toilet takes for ever to refill cistern between flushes.

Thank you again




A wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in this property a number of times before -it proved to be just as good as ever-excellent location and a well resourced house-ideal for our family pre Christmas get together.



An wonderful base from which to explore York.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our party comprised one married couple and four female friends. The accommodation was perfectly suited for our needs. The location of the house was particularly important to us. We wanted to be able to walk into the city centre, no driving, no cabs and 47a St John St. was ideal.
The housekeeper, Richard, was very helpful and the service from In York Holidays was excellent.




Brilliant location

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here with my family from a Friday to Monday as we had a family wedding in York Minster. The location was excellent and the space in the cottage for 6 adults and four wee boys was more than adequate. Our double room with en suite was very spacious. The wee garden at the rear was a bonus too. Would definitely recommend and would definitely stay here again if a group of us had a weekend in York. A few of us hadn't been in York before but all agreed that we would be back there soon.



Gorgeous house, great location

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I think our stay can be summed up by my niece and nephew's reaction when we first unlocked the door. They both shouted 'oh my god, this is amazing' and immediately ran off for a game of hide and seek! There was more than enough space for the 6 of us, and we found everything we needed. We were very grateful for the pint of milk in the fridge! It's a beautifully kept house, we loved the courtyard garden and the quirky steps up and down into rooms. The shower pressure wasn't great, and the mattress in the master could maybe do with changing but these are very minor niggles! We would definitely like to come and stay again. Staff were brilliant, especially as they found my nephews nintendo ds that he managed to leave behind and posted it back to us.



comfortable family home

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this property for a weekend writer's retreat with some friends. The location is excellent, right in the City Centre with amenities close to hand. The house is comfortably furnished and welcoming, with all the facilities you could want. It's light and spacious, but also cosy and warm (even in an inclement summer!). The organisation was great, and our deposit promptly returned after we left. We plan to book again!



Friends' Break

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very happy with the presentation and location of the house, just a walk into the centre of town. The street is very quiet and the house was comfortable and spacious.
The ground-floor bathroom could do with a little TLC and a few more garden chairs (there were only 3) would be handy as the house is for 7 guests.
We were very happy the housekeeper let us stay on until 2pm on our checkout day.

All in all a great holiday




Excellent house in great location

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our weekend in york. The house was perfect for our family. Spacious rooms and lots of character. Loved the little courtyard. Sat in the sun with my coffee in the mornings. The location was fantastic. We could see the minster from the street and it was only a 5 minute walk into the town. Great value for money aswell.



Weekend break with family

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely stay at this property. It was perfect for an Easter weekend break with our family, including two young grandchildren.
Situated just a few minutes walk from The Minster, we were able to walk into the city centre to enjoy the sights and attractions York has to offer.
I have already recommended this property to my friends and hope we will be able to visit again in the not too distant future.




Lovely house perfect for exploring York

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lovely terraced house is ideally placed for easy access into York on foot. Comfortable and thoughtfully equipped for the larger family. We have returned several times. Lovely modern kitchen. Apart from the poor shower flow and maybe a double mattress in need of replacement we have really no complaints.



Nice house, excellent location but lacking comfort

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jan 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thought the house clean and tidy, nicely decorated and suited our needs and was in an excellent location for walking into the town centre. Downstairs bathroom could do with some refurbishing. Our big caveat though was that it was lacking in the little details that make a really good stay - poor cooking equipment (the baking tins/trays were in very poor condition) and no serving dishes were key problems. The other problem was the lack of ambient lighting in the dining and sitting rooms. We found table lams in a cupboard but none of them worked - so why leave them for clients to find and be irritated by them? The housekeeper was excellent and fulfilled our needs promptly, but shouldn't have had to.



Perfect York Retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for the second time in December and loved it. Perfect house for the five of us in a perfect location. It has everything you could possibly need for a comfortable and hassle-free stay.



Lovely house near city centre

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jan 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely stay at this property it is very well situated near the city centre less than 10 mins walk. We were a party of 5 and an infant and there was ample room for us all. Well equipped property. Well heated which we appreciated as it was cold weather during our stay. Nice touch to have milk in fridge on our arrival so we could enjoy a cup of tea.. owners were helpfull and friendly . Inyorkholidays werevery efficient and answered all our queries promptly. York is a lovely city to visit



Christmas in York

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jan 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We rented 47A for 10 days over Christmas to assemble our family and celebrate Christmas together. Weather was dreadful - York was flooded, but not St John's Street.

Location was excellent: 10 mins walk into City Centre; 5 mins walk to a large Sainsbury store

House was warm and snug and well equipped -so much so that we cooked and sat down 11 for Christmas dinner and only had to borrow 2 folding chairs.

Criticisms/ suggesions if any: hoover needs to be replaced (agents told us they are dealing with that)
Shower pressure no wonderful

In York holidays were excellent - arrangements for moving in and out couldn't have been better.




Lovely house in central York

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Nov 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house could hardly be better located as just a short walk takes you to Monkbar and then you are right in the centre of historic York. There is a car parking permit for parking in the narrow street which saves parking in the car park behind the property. The view from the front door can only be described as majestic with York Minster rising above the city walls.

The house is comfortable and has all that you need for a self-catering stay. It is well kept and clean, although one or two little things could be updated.

All in all, an excellent find and I'm sure we shall be back.




Weekend with friends

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyable weekend in York in lovely, spacious, well equipped house. It was within easy walking distance to centre of York with the city walls at end of street. House was perfect for the six of us who stayed as it was well equipped and clean and the housekeepers were very helpful when we arrived.



Excellent value, excellent location - well worth the money

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for the weekend, no faults with the accommodation - we had 3 cars so parking can work out expensive. Well worth a stay in this accommodation



Fantastic comfortable house

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were even of us staying in the house. It was very clean with everything you would want provided, the beds, linen and pillows were good quality and we all slept well. It was an easy walk into the centre of York. The courtyard garden was a real bonus.



Spotless and well equipped, in an ideal location

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent place to stay for large families or similar groups. Spotlessly clean, comfortable and spacious, well furnished and equipped. The location is ideal - a nice quiet residential street, a few minutes' walk from the walls of York, and with a view of the Minster from just outside the front door. A pleasant courtyard garden - nice for breakfasts in the morning sun. Supermarket 5/10 mins. away (by car/on foot). What more could you want? (Well, perhaps a third set of keys, and a few more dessertspoons wouldn't have come amiss, but they were our only quibbles!)

Parking on street (with permit for one car) was never a problem - just remember to tuck your car in close to the kerb, as it's quite a narrow street. For a second car, there's a council car park just round the back, a few minutes' walk away, also within eyeshot of the house.

We'd certainly recommend this property (and indeed other properties we've rented from In York Holidays in the past).




love this house !

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this house met our needs perfectly as we needed the space and it was close to the centre but quiet. Some new cups would be good as the mugs were all a bit scruffy and a cheese grater would have been handy but otherwise great



A new found home away from home

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed with family at one of the properties managed by InYork Holidays; 47A St Johns. The experience was very positive from the start of contact with the agency; they readily advised on this place when another location I had inquired about was not available. Having not dealt with this agency nor ever stayed at this place before I was a apprehensive to make a commitment and had a lot of questions; they were great in answering everything.
The property is in a great location and it has all the amenities that I miss if I have to stay at hotel. The housekeeper - Debbie - was amazing in responding to our calls and provided excellent customer service; the house was spotless when we arrived - in particular the bathrooms - which is the first thing that I check. Debbie was also great in responding to a quick maintenance request we had.

If I ever go back to York, Inyork holidays will be my go to agency and I would definitely ask for 47A St Johns.




Best of everything!

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
47A St.Johns Street has everything; great location (second to none), ample space (even when there are several friends sharing) with 3 bathrooms and 4 bedrooms (6 beds). The house is very nicely presented, with everything provided for. Both In York Holidays and the hosts themselves were very helpful and easy to get in touch with. A small problem with one of the showers was sorted out in just a couple of hours after contacting them :-)
If anyone is looking to rent a car whilst staying there, I highly recommend Enterprise Rent a Car in Foss Island Road - they are fantastic, and provide a pick-up and return drop to St.Johns Street!
Couldn't have had a better holiday - this was our second vacation in this house, and we will be back again and again... :-D






Good location for York

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The terraced house is in good shape, clean, warm and with comfortable bedrooms. We stayed with 7 adults and one 2 yr old for a long weekend and had no problems with space for us all. The combi boiler meant hot water was never in short supply. Despite the narrow and busy looking street we never had problems parking the car. For self-catering there is a supermarket within 5-10 min walk. Its also only a 5-10 min walk to the Northeast edge of York city centre. Only one minor problem, with some uncollected rubbish, was resolved within 20min of contacting the letting agents - commendably efficient.



Week long stay in York

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location of house is great with easy access to city centre and on street permit parking provided. Good sized communal areas. Only improvement would be to add a shower to the downstairs bathroom.



Very comfy & convenient

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect location close to the centre of the city with quick walking/cycle access to the centre via Monkbar and Bootham Bar. The house is suitable for families or groups and has ample sleeping and living space. All the amenities are provided so you can self - cater. The house is warm in winter, which was important for some in our party. We visit York often for long weekends or weeks, and will be booking this house (unless you get to it before us).



A Christmas Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jan 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely house, fantastic as a holiday base for a family. Excellent location for the shops etc. Clean, warm and comfortable. . A few more house keys would have been nice. Highly recomended



an excellent holiday again

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again an excellent holiday / wonderful accomodation. House was warm comfortable and ideal for our needs will highly recommend it. Debbie and richard excellent.



Great location, comfortable homely property

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Dec 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We (four ladies), had a long weekend at 47a St John's Street and it was fabulous. The house suited us perfectly, it wasn't high end but it was a warm, comfortable and homely Victorian property and we loved it. The location is perfect, we go away every year and this was definitely one of our favourites. We were not ready to leave.





Half term In York

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Nov 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
47a St John Street is in quiet area and is in a very good position for walking to the ancient centre of York. parking outside the house with public parking in the car park at the rear is useful. The house is spacious and comfortable, we adults especially appreciated the good quality beds and bedding.




Enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time in York thanks to this property. It was very central & had everything we needed close by. The bedding was very comfortable and the children enjoyed the selection of games & books.