FB Twitter

43 County House

43 County House

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.2
Location
5.0
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.7


43 County House is a beautifully presented second floor, 2 bedroom 2 bathroom duplex apartment offering spacious accommodation over two floors. It has been superbly renovated to a very high standard of decoration and furnishings with great attention to detail. It is very centrally based being just outside the City walls allowing easy and quick access to the Minster (approx. 3 minutes’ walk) and all the City has to offer. It comes with an allocated parking space in secure gated facilities.

Excellent location in beautiful city.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in this apartment many times because we love York and it is in a fabulous location.
It is spacious, clean and very comfortable.
There is a supermarket nearby and it is only a few minutes walk from the shops.
Plenty of very good restaurants and the Minster and Jorvik centre are a must see.
Will be back again next year.




Booked for one week for Graduation family of five

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at 43 County House the apartment was brilliant the photos do not do it justice very clean and convenient for York City Centre everything that you could need was available in the apartment



Apartment in excellent location.

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment is in an excellent location, had a designated parking space and supermarket a few minutes walk away.
Have stayed here many times and are booked to come back later in the year.
There is a lovely view of the Minster from the windows and many restaurants within easy walking distance.
The housekeeping team are the best we have come across in any of our short stay holidays.




43 County House

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely apartment in perfect location for the city centre, our 5th. stay at County House, highly reccomended!



Good spot just outside the city walls

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth stay in this property. That speaks volumes. Handy for all of what York has to offer (and with a supermarket next door).



Excellent quiet location with secure parking.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here many times because of the location, it is quiet even though it is so close to the city centre and there is secure parking.
The property is basicly clean ( the shower cubicle could do with a deep clean and the sealent renewed ) but apart from that the caretakers do a great job as this is a large property and is always ready for the 2pm entry, sometimes sooner.




Very Crean とても清潔です

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
感謝を込めて、日本語と英語の両方で記載をさせて頂きます。
I will write in both Japanese and English with gratitude.
(英語が堪能ではないことをお許し下さい。Please forgive me that I am not fluent in English.)

私達は日本からの家族です。We are a family from Japan.

清潔なスーパーマーケットも街も徒歩圏にあります。
Clean supermarkets and the city are also within walking distance.

本当にお気に入りなのであまり知られたくないですが、いつも綺麗なお部屋を貸して頂き感謝を込めて書かせて頂きました。
Although I really do not want to be known because it is my favorite, I always lent a beautiful room, thankfully put it in my letter.

これからもどうぞよろしくお願い致します。Thank you very much.

いつもありがとうございます。I am always grateful for your help.





Meet and greet was spot on

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful plaçe to stay.in great location for the centre in comfortable well equipped apartment.gated parking a welcmee plus.



Very central but quiet location.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed here a few times now because of it's location. York is a beautiful city so well worth a visit.
The apartment could do with a bit of upgrading particularly the bedding and pillows which are quite old and stained and the towels are on the small side, bath SHEETS are the norm these days.
We are booked into the apartment later in the year so hope some of these issues will have been tackiled.
The TV is also a problem, the very helpful caretaker has had to help us out several times with the settings when they have been altered by other tenants.




Loved it!

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This apartment has been the perfect choice! Super convenient location-just a few minutes from the city centre. The apartment was bigger than expected from the pictures, perfectly clean and we could find everything we could need. We will be back when visiting York!



Excellent location.

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at 43 County House a few times before because of its location. It is just a few minutes from the centre of York but very quiet and has private parking.
The decor could do with a bit of sprucing up, some stains on carpets could be easily removed and some better quality coathangers would be appreciated but if you look past these things it is a lovely apartment.
There is a supermarket nearby and there is a lovely view of the Minster from the windows.




Great location, but lacking some love

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Apartment in a great location, with easy access, by road. and a 2 minute walk and your inside the City Walls.

Apartment is spacious enough for 4, with 2 good bedrooms and 2 shower/bathrooms. The double bed is very soft and only 4'6".
Winter Duvets in the summer also made for an very hot and uncomforatbale sleep.

The apartment is looking in need of some love, for example there was light bulbs out in every room, including the light over the dining table that did not work at all. Some of the kitchen tools had broken, and where just left, an example here was a chopping board, left in 2 pieces..

The carpets felt that they needed a proper deep clean.and not just a quick clean before the next guest.

The allocated car parking space is incredibly tight as one of the neighbours decides to park a transit van illegially infront, and thus you have to manover back and forth to get in and out...

Overall, I felt I paid a premuin (120 GPB per night) but ended up with a ecconomy rental... Great location... just needs some time spent on sorting it out, and bringing it back to what I had expected.




Great place with excellent location

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We really enjoyed our stay - the appt is very well equipped, clean and extremely comfortable. The location is excellent and we walked everywhere. Having a sainsbury supermarket next door was an added bonus and make shopping v easy. The only slight niggle was the payment process up front - lots of emails rather than instant purchase. Would definitely stay again and recommend this place.



Well-equiped apartment in super location.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt very comfortable in this spacious apartment only minutes away from the centre of York. A lovely conversion of the old County Hospital set back from the main road provided a peaceful haven to return to every day with a wonderful view of the Minster! I was greeted by a friendly house warden and was delighted to find that tea, coffee, milk and toilet paper were already available in the accommodation. Sainsbury's supermarket just around the corner was a plus.
Important for me was a good working shower, comfortable beds and Wifi connection and there were plenty of brochures, magazines and information about places of interest in and around York.
The allocated parking space was a big advantage as parking in York can be very expensive. What would have been useful is a protective cover for a car (my car was a rental car). The car was covered in bird droppings every day from the trees above!




Lovely location and spacious accomodation

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at this property several times now because of it's location which is excellent.
Some of the furnishings are a bit tired and the rug in the lounge needs a deep clean.
We always strip the beds when we leave to aid the housekeeping team and on this occasion we found the mattress protectors had dried urine stains from previous guests. Not nice!!!
Towels are provided but they are old and very small, and the pillows are very old.
All of this hasn't put us off because of the location and York is a fabulous city with many great restaurants.
The wall walk gives a great view of the history of York.
A must see city.




Very good location, nice appartment

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 3 nights. Comfortable, well equipped, great location just outside the city walls (5 mins walk away), good views of the Minster at night. Decent kitchen, two toilets/shower rooms good with 2 children (although one shower drain was blocked). A bit pricy but a very good place to stay to explore York.



An enjoyable break In York

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Mar 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A spacious and comfortable property in a very convenient location for the centre of York, yet very quiet. No real problems during our stay, just a couple of minor gripes. Firstly, water from the shower tray is slow to drain away and, secondly, there is not a decent set of kitchen knives.



A extremely comfortable apartment and great location

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the apartment in February, and it was very warm. The large windows provide a lot of light. The kitchen is well equiped, with big pans for a large family. The beds are comfortable and the skylight windows in the bedrooms have blinds.
The building is very nice with high ceilings, and is right behind the supermarket but not overlooking it, it is very quiet although just a couple of minutes from Monkgate. Perfect !




First class place within a stone's throw of the city walls.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third time in two years that we chose to stay here which in itself speaks volumes. Fine flat conversion, great location and plenty of facilities nearby.



Brilliant location

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous location with easy walking access to central York. Sainsburys is right next door and there are several pubs & restaurants close by. Very quiet



Ideal location

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely apartment with a good view towards the Minster, ideally situated for York City centre and all its attractions. Clean, comfortable and easily accessed via a lift. Received a warm welcome from Richard the caretaker, with the makings of a cuppa.
If the need occurs in the future we will certainly check the availability of this apartment before looking at alternative accommodation.




Half term break Autumn 2015

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second year in a row, which speaks volumes itself. "Ticks all the boxes", so to speak for an ideal city break.

The flat is ideally located just a stone's throw from the city walls (and with a supermarket next door).




Excellent location

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Oct 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here many times because it is a spacious flat in an excellent location.

It hasn't been upgraded (decor, towels etc) since we have been staying but where it is keeps us coming back.

It is also a bit expensive compared to other self catering flats we stay in, down to location again.

The caretakers are very friendly and welcoming.




Great stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location in fantastic building. Lovely appartment very homely and well equipped. Would definatey stay again and recommended. Good to have allocated parking.



York visit

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
County House is an ideal place to stay and ideal for the centre of York. On arrival we were greeted by Richard, who was more than helpful.

We usually visit York at least twice a year, and I'm sure we will use County House again, as it ticks all the boxes.

John Mann.





Brilliant location, nice flat

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My only caveat is that one night, when there was a deluge outside, water was pouring down one wall indoors. It was on the staircase, so it could be ignored - it would have been much more disturbing had it been into one of the bedrooms or the living room.
Otherwise everything was fine. Great location and pleasant flat.




Excellent Location for a Holiday in York

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of this apartment is ideal for exploring York. We were so pleased to find it close to the city center. Having the Sainsbury close meant that we did not have to drive at all while in York. We loved having our evening meals with a view of Yorkminster. The kitchen is well equipped, and the beds were very comfortable. It was great having 2 bathrooms. The housekeepers that met us were very friendly, both on the phone and in person. We liked that the apartment included WiFi so we were able to use our computer and devices for planning. We felt very safe in this apartment, and would definitely rent it again if we ever get a chance to come back to York.



Excellent location and very spacious

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jun 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Have stayed at this apartment several times because of the location and size of the flat. It is comfortable and has everything needed for a holiday.

The property is clean but could do with a deep clean and an upgrade on the decor.

Scuff marks on the paintwork and stains on some of the carpets let the property down.


We are booked to stay again later in the year so the condition hasn't put us off.

The location is superb, 5 minutes from the city centre, a supermarket 2 minutes away and lovely restaurants.






Great location and well equipped

Review submitted on Tue, 19 May 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good sized, well appointed apartment in excellent location. Very close to city walls and convenient for large Sainsburys (almost next door but unobtrusive) which also has free parking available from 5 to 10 pm which is convenient for visitors. Apartment's allocated parking space is at front of building and i accessible by simple remote control. Although well presented in many ways, the apartment itself is starting to show signs of (fair) wear and tear and would benefit from some minor refreshing e.g. redecorating downstairs, replacing mouldy seal on downstairs shower (otherwise good), servicing the feature electric fire (bit too noisy),replacing 3 dud bulbs, and silencing the water tank in the master bedroom which tinkles all night. Overall, many plus points and well worth considering. Friendly staff, and link-up arrangements worked well.



Nice flat in a lovely old building...

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Oct 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very central location, 3 mins walk from York Minster. Friendly, helpful staff meet with keys. Sainsburys 1 minutes walk away is very handy. Would definitely stay here again.



Just outside City Walls

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at 43 County House. We've always been greeted by friendly housekeepers and working with InYork has always been a pleasure. Located just outside the City Walls at Monk Bar, with a skyline view of York Minster, everything in York is within easy walking distance. The apartment has all the facilities needed for a comfortable stay and an adjacent supermarket provides convenient grocery shopping and resupply of any other essential items. Highly recommend 43 County House which is always top of our list when planning a trip to York.