FB Twitter

12 Popeshead Court

12 Popeshead Court

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
92% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.7
Location
4.8
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.7


12 Popeshead Court is a contemporary 2 bedroom apartment in a converted warehouse located in the quaint sickleways in the heart of York city centre.

Long weekend in central York

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent a long weekend in York at short notice and the apartment delivered everything we needed. The location is fabulous, right in the centre of York, which delivered us right into the heart of the food and drink festival which was taking place.

The apartment was easy to access, with parking relatively nearby - you just need to understand the access details when you get there. The apartment has a character all of its own, with a definite accent on red! We ate out all weekend, but the kitchen facilities would have been more than adequate for cooking for the four of us. Whilst views from the apartment are a little stark, you are right in the centre of the city so you only have to go down the stairs (or the lift) and walk a few paces to actually be in among the sights.

The feature red sofa does not encourage lounging for the four but the wifi and TV etc should only be a means of catching up when you visit this amazing city anyway. The two bathrooms and bedrooms are comfortable and the whole place is very warm.

We would certainly come again and would recommend the apartment to anyone looking for centrally located accommodation for a weekend or longer.




Newly refurbished, well equipped flat in very central location

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a very comfortable flat, being well equipped and recently refurbished with a surprisingly open aspect given its location. It is located within the pedestrianised central shopping area, so access to a variety of shops/market stalls for foodstuffs is very good...there is even a nice café located on the broadest of the 3 little lanes which converge on the property. The off site parking is about 10 to 15 minutes walk away, alongside what looks like a disused commercial building on Piccadilly. The permit parking area is separate from the hourly parking on the other side of the building and notices indicate 24hr video surveillance...my car was fine left there for 9 days with only one midweek day out. A downside for some people might be that it isn't possible to get a vehicle to the property at all during the day and possible only with difficulty during the "access permitted" period...you have to back the vehicle up a very narrow lane, maybe 60 yards/metres. The other two lanes to the property are very narrow and clearly get some use as urinals overnight but they are very well lit at night and I didn't find it as scary as I expected returning after a late night concert...though I did chose the broadest lane.



Perfect location, spacy and safe

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peter Lane might not be the most beautiful street of York but the tiny lane is very central and quiet at night. The apartment is in a safe, modern house. No. 12 has been renovated with a new carpet and the paint looked pretty new as well. We found everything we needed for our 2weeks stay and felt very comfortable and safe.
There is lots of space. I would book this apartement again.




Short break in York

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Mar 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ideal central location for a short break. Easy access to the city centre and all the attractions of York.



perfect location

Review submitted on Thu, 26 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Over all it was a perfect break, the apartment was great, couldn't fault it. Location at first i thought it was going to be a bit noisy, but it was so quiet, everything was within easy walking distance, overall it was faultless, i would certainly go back.



An excellent retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This appartment hidden away right in the centre of the city centre is ideal for those who wish to have all the ammenities and attractions of York within easy reach. The appartment was very clean and well presented . The Housekeeper was there to greet us upon arrival and was extremely friendly and helpful. The whole booking procedure with the InYork team was easy and we found the staff to be extremely helpful and it was obvious they knew all of their properties. Highly recommended



A great place to spend a week in the midle of a historic vibrant city.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nive living room and good working kitchen. Shops, clubs and historic places around. Defenitly will be back at Popeshead! Contact with the keyholder is perfect and adequate.



Excellent Location - Everything Else, Not So.

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Parking spot shown on web site is totally misleading. At least twice as far away as shown; that is once you find it. No instructions for washer and dishwasher. 2 kiddie beds tiny. Shower hot water almost impossible to adjust. Strangely equipped with inappropriate glassware and an absolutely useless frying pan. Back to Westgate next time.



Spacious accommodation in the centre of York

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The apartment is very convenient for anything you want to do in York - restaurants, shopping etc.

There was more space than I needed - plenty for 4 adults, and everything was in good condition (except the second loo, which I didn't need, but the plumber had the problem in hand)

There was a lack of a chest of drawers in the bedroom - a big built in wardrobe for hanging stuff, but nowhere for jumpers and underwear. I was there for three weeks, so it was inconvenient. This may have been fixed.

The only other problem might not apply to younger, fitter people: access is pedestrian only, so arrival and departure with luggage was a bit of a struggle for me.

I mention these small problems, only to indicate that otherwise, it is a super place to stay.




nice play to stay in York...

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice place to stay in York, right in town centre...Everything close to you. Friendly people. It was the best option when you staying more days in York. Thank you for all the help to the agency, Mrs Janet , thank you to the gentleman who helped us Mr David from York Info Office...
We did have a great time in York.
We will recommend the place and the people.
Best regards
Sebastian from Hungary




Great place to stay - would book again

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This flat is in the centre of York, a 15 minute (at the most) walk from the Railway Station. It has parking, but we decided to travel by train as the flat was near the station and parking in that area is restricted. The flat was spotless, and Christmas decorations were up, giving it a festive feel. We were a 2 minute walk from the festive market, which was great, and the town centre shops were right on our doorstep too - even a Morrisons local for milk and bread etc.

The flat is modern and has a lift, so no dragging cases upstairs. It also felt secure, with both a key needed and a code before you even got into the building. We met the housekeeper there, who showed us how to get in and how things work. She was really nice and friendly, and let us know where the nearest shops were.

The flat has all the utensils, crockery etc you could need also a fridge freezer, microwave, toaster and washing machine. It had plenty of glasses and mugs too.

I would definitely recommend and would be happy to go back.




Centrally located,

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Sep 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Centrally located, great apartment, close to all attractions. House keeper was very helpful with locating the unit and car parking. York was a great place to spend a few days while in the UK