FB Twitter

Empress

Empress

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 37 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.7
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


Empress cottage is named after Elizabeth, Empress of Austria who described Combermere as ‘one of the most romantic places in Europe’ Sleeping 4 in 1 ground floor double and 1 balconied first floor twin bedroom, created from a set of original stalls in the main Stable buildings. The two bedrooms share a ground floor bathroom, which has a bath and separate shower.

A brilliant break

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A brilliant break for myself and my partner. Everything is taken care of for you. Highly recommended!



A Tranquil Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Feb 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited Combermere numerous times and it never fails to please. It is a beautiful place to stay, with a luxurious cottage and stunning grounds. Empress cottage is very tasteful and elegant, it gives you a taste of luxury whilst not making you feel comfortable and at home. It's situation being right next to the gardens is excellent if you have dogs and you can exercise them in the woods. A stunningly lovely ,peaceful place to spend a few days, it really helps you to recharge your batteries and get away from it all for a short while.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 169 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Empress Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful return visit to us, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Fabulous accommodation with very supportive staff

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay with our two dogs, who were made very welcome by all the staff. The cottage was immaculate and very cosy. The staff could not do enough to support us. I can highly recommend Combermere Abbey and will happily stay again.



Rachel Newton, Sales Executive replied 186 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful break, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey again soon.

Amazing cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages at Combermere abbey are all beautiful. We had our guests staying for 2 nights for our wedding and everyone commented how amazing they were. They are all spacious, well equipped and beautifully decorated. We will definitely be coming back to stay. Would 100% recommend!



Perfect

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place, views are amazing.
Perfect for a big family get together or for a nice quiet weekend away




Fabulous stay again!

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderfully relaxing fourth stay. Excellent location, beautiful surroundings, good quality pubs locally for food. Well organised by lovely staff, making a totally stress free break. Already looking forward to next stay!



Rachel Newton, Sales Manager replied 319 days ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your visit back to Combermere Abbey! We are so pleased to hear that you had another wonderful stay, and we really look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Peaceful cottage which was relaxing home from home. Loved the safety and the feeling of seclusion

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay and cottage was well stocked with tea/ coffee etc . Loved the shop in the courtyard and the honesty box. Staff were very helpful. One day ill swim in the Mere !

i would say that having a dog with us was well thought out by house keeping and the welcome pack was much appreciated. One aspect that I feel could be improved is the marking of the dog friendly areas and the Woodland Walk trail....I tried twice to find the route and did not find it to the circular section.

Bins would be useful too in additional areas for dog waste.

We look forward to returning.




Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Empress Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we will definitely look at improving the signing of dog-friendly areas. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey soon.

A wonderful location

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was everything we expected and more and the houskeeping team were very friendly and most hepful. The walled garden, garden walk and woodland walk are not to be missed. A great holiday !



Rachel Newton, Sales Administrator replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your lovely review following your recent stay in Empress Cottage. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Combermere Abbey Estate soon.

Luxury

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious, clean and luxurious. Breakfast was brilliant and living room/bedrooms very comfortable and designed beautifully



Overview

Review submitted on Fri, 25 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Early problems [activating gate when no mention is made of * before numbers on the info at the gate; bath plug not working..] were swiftly solved via staff. The main problem was that I had requested non-feather bedding upstairs, whereas it had been put downstairs on the double bed. To save the housekeeper a trip out [she was very willing], I changed it around myself. Not ideal as I have the allergy[ my friend is disabled so couldn't do it for me].
Otherwise, all was well, especially as there were no other guests around for 2 days.
The setting/ grounds/ gardens are superb.The staff friendly and helpful.
Super .!




Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 07 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous stay at Combermere. We couldn’t have asked for more to make our holiday perfect. The staff were friendly and the grounds were beautiful and our dog loved the walks. We will definitely go back!



The Empress cottage was stylish and comfortable.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Mar 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage is set in the grounds of combermere Abbey.... perfect for guests as a stay over if atrending a wedding ...as clearly this is a wedding venue. It is not the place to stay for a holiday break as apart from one pub with expensive food prices there is no means of local attractions. There isnt great walks...villages or quaint tea shops...so be prepared for long drives to Shrewsbury...chester...derbyshire...wales...albeit liverpool fairly close.



Idyllic stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic break away. Attractive, comfortable accommodation mixing character with all mod cons, very spacious. Although weather very cold, still toastie warm inside with heating and a fab log burner. Supurb location, beautiful oasis, walked straight out of cottage on to woodland and down to lake. Several excellent pubs serving food all day within short drive (dog friendly) and easy day trips to Chester, Nantwich etc Beverly and team really helpful and friendly. This exceeded our expectations. Very happy humans and canine. Thank-you. Will definitely be returning.



Peaceful, well appointed cottage in a fabulous location.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's always something of a gamble when you book things online: whether that is a pair of shoes or a holiday cottage. Empress, and in fact all of the cottages that we saw on our trip, far exceeded our expectations. It is a beautifully furnished and appointed, clean, quiet cottage in a peaceful location that was just perfect for our needs. We didn't use the cooking facilities much but everything was supplied that you'd hope would be. The beds and pillows were all spotless and comfortable - although perhaps a little softer than I would like. On the slight minus side, if this is important to you, mobile phone signal is patchy but that is noted in the cottage description. WIFI is fine, although be aware that if you bring a work laptop that doesn't like a secondary log-in (i.e. one in which you have to accept terms and conditions each time you want to use it), it may not work. We only had two people in our party this week and there is only one shared bathroom- once again, that is noted in the description but I think if there were 4 adults staying, you'd have to know each other pretty well or work out a rota system!! All in all though, this was very positive experience for us and we would definitely book this cottage again.



Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful experience staying in Empress Cottage. Very well equipped, the photos on the internet do not do it justice. We arrived after dark and the staff had turned on the heating and left lamps on for us so we could find our way. Property was dead quiet....did not hear a single thing with the windows open. WIFI worked OK. Kitchen included rubbish bags, dishwasher pods. Check in and check out was very easy. Would love to visit again.



New Year’s Eve break

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic cottage in a great location. We had a really relaxing break and will definitely return again!



Magical

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was nothing short of magical and I only hope we can find an opportunity of repeating the experience. My son who works 20 minutes from Combermere Abbey, was having to work through Christmas so we took Christmas to him ! We stayed from 18th to 21st December and were very touched to find an early Christmas tree, beautifully decorated, in the cottage to greet us. I have absolutely no criticisms of the place and the whole experience. The walks, the woodlands, the gorgeous lake and water birds.........
I took a short late night walk in the dark with our dog one evening. There was thick fog which mufflled the light coming from the lanterns that were dotted about; all I could hear were the owls and the geese on the lake. Such a beautiful experience.




Brilliant autumn holiday at Combermere Abbey Cottages

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location and the immediate access to the mature woodland and lakeside walk really made a difference to us and our dog! The cottage was full of character and a joy to stay in. I would definitely recommend these cottages to friends and family



Empress Cottage Combermere Abbey

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've made 20+ visits to Combermere Cottages - so that speaks for itself! The grounds are getting better every time we come and it is a credit to Sarah for all the work put in. It helps that she has a friendly and competent staff. We are looking forward to our next visit.



Wonderful Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Empress cottage was perfect for a getaway from the hustle and bustle of normal life. The cottage was equipped with everything we needed and decorated exactly to our taste. Lovely to see our dog welcomed so nicely, and that areas were set aside for him to run off lead, made a positive impact on our stay. All the staff were friendly and approachable. Will definitely stay again.



Fantastic stay in a well equipped cottage - Home from home

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely comfortable & well furnished cottage, fully equipped kitchen, quality bed linen & towels, full bathroom suite with a bath & separate power shower, lovely breakfast hamper - wish we had stayed longer .....



.....lousy weather

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
...but it didn't matter as we were very happy cuddled up in bed or in front of the woodburning stove for the two days.



60th Birthday treat!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Empress for my husbands 60th Birthday and our sons and their partners stayed next door in Poole. We are so impressed with Combermere Abbey cottages, they are all very nicely presented and the attention to detail is very good. There is something for everyone without loosing the beauty and charm of the place. It is truly a stunning setting and to find properties of this quality that will take dogs is amazing, we are very grateful for that. The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful and always on hand to help. We have stayed before and will certainly stay again. Thank you to all.



Very impressed - highly recommend Empress and all of the cottages at Combermere

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Combermere cottages for the wedding party and were so impressed. The layout works perfectly and all cottages were so well maintained. Definitely a 5* experience across all cottages.
Empress is a beautiful cottage; spacious, clean and comfortable. The room was turned/ freshened up after our first night so that it was prepared for the wedding evening with petals on the bed and a small bottle of champagne - this was a lovely surprise and a real extra touch.
Thank you to all at Combermere for making our stay perfect.




Brilliant!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place really is a gem. Everyone should visit at least once - lovely cottages and service - well done - again!! We will be back again, hopefully soon!



Not quite as good

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at Comberemere many times and noticed that things are not as 100% as they were.
Damp smell in bathroom
Some of the bedding not white as white
Sofa not very comfortable
Broken window in kitchen.
There were only 2 cottages occupied -unfortunately we were next door to 3 children so' lie ins' were not possible due to running up and down stairs and slamming doors.




fantastic location.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place with wonderful grounds and location.
Relaxing stay and dog friendly.
Helpful but unobtrusive staff.
Would love to return and happy to recommend to others




fantastic location.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place with wonderful grounds and location.
Relaxing stay and dog friendly.
Helpful but unobtrusive staff.
Would love to return and happy to recommend to others




Ideal place for a relax

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful place to switch off and enjoy the estate the woodland walk is well worth the effort new signs now in place give excellent information for the children and adults. The staff as always are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. As stated before EXCELLENT.



Peaceful

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Mar 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very peaceful stay at the Empress.
We had everything that we needed in the cottage including supplies for our dog. One improvement could be the quality and quantity of toiletries please.
Looking forward to another visit soon.




Perfect place to relax

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always we enjoyed our stay. Everything was perfect. This is the ideal place to come and relax. Staff as always were very helpful. We are back in February with the grandchildren who love coming here.



peace and tranquility.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
it must be our tenth visit,almost our second home!! the location and area is beautiful ,ideal for our small dog,will be back as soon as we can,thanks.



Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was furnished to an excellent standard. The living accommodation was beautifully presented with plenty of room for four of our guests. The bedrooms were tastefully decorated and well suited to our accommodation requirements.
The hamper of food was a delight and we really appreciated the fact that the produce was sourced from the local area; it was of great interest to our guests some of whom had travelled from afar. Well recommended.




Jones's Christmas break

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jan 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked the cottage for a short break before the Christmas festivities. The idea was to relax from the Christmas build up and spend time eating and playing board games. The cottage was beautiful and well resourced and we all loved the rain shower! Our dog max came with us and loved the walks, however we felt restricted on where to go as there are many 'Private No Access' signs - at times we felt we were intruding. There is an excellent pub 'Combermere Arms a short distance away which provided a warm welcome and lovely food.



A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation for our wedding guests. Everyone commented on the high standard of accommodation, the substantial breakfast hamper and the marvellous staff. We had a wonderful stay at Combermere and will be back again for another fantastic stay.



Excellent venue with great service

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent venue with great service
Great location
very well fitted out
They think of everything - tea, coffee, dishwasher etc.
Great customer service.




Peaceful, elegant and relaxing. A perfect getaway.

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful cottage with first class facilities. Lovely grounds and a magical secret garden to explore. We recommend the Woodland Walk to explore the estate.