FB Twitter

The Byre

The Byre

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 41 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.9


The Byre built in 1886, has been creatively refurbished into a cosy, homely cottage. Enjoy the evening sun on the patio in the colourful garden with fruit trees. Set in the crofting village of Kilchoan it is a short walk from a friendly, local pub, shop, tearoom and regular ferry sailings to Tobermory, on the Isle of Mull.

Fantastic short holiday in Ardnamurchan

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a few days at the Byre - just enough to see some of the main highlights - Ardnamurchan lighhouse, Sanna beach, Glenborrodale, Ben Hiant. Only had one rainy day out of three, which cleared up later on. The cottage is very comfortable for two, with a wood burning stove and freeview TV. We had a nice welcome from Jacqui and John. Kilchoan is a in a good location with the ferry to Mull. If you are lucky with the weather (!) it is a great place to visit.



Fabulous time in the Byre

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay. Byre was quirky and well-organised. John and Jacqui are great hosts. To be recommended!



A Lovely Holiday !

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great time at The Byre. Near the end of the most twisting, narrow, but beautiful road you can imagine, miles from anywhere. Lovely welcome from John and Jackie, the log stove lit with smoke coming out of the chimney made us feel at home straight away. Lovely cottage, the limited headroom in the bedroom, and the shower, take a bit of getting used to, but the sense of peace and being away from it all make up. If you don't like being away from everything, there is TV, video, and broadband:- and only a mile from the ferry to Tobermory. Book the boat trip to Lunga and Staffa, take the car to Tobermory, drive to the other end of Mull and visit Iona - there and back in the day is easily possible. And make sure you go to Sanna beach - one of the most beautiful and empty beaches we've ever seen. Don't panic about the weather or the midges - weather was fantastic and it was too breezy for midges!



A relaxing week away in Kilchoan

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved our stay at the Byre. It was cosy, comfortable and very peaceful. Being woken by sheep was a far cry from city living! The Byre had everything we needed, including a bath the size of a swimming pool, and a beautiful sun trap garden with stunning views. Seeing the seals out in the bay John directed us to was a highlight! We'd happily recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet time away.



Perfect for us !

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant time, the Byre was great and we are extremely grateful to Jacqui for letting us stay there with the kids. They loved it too



A wonderful weeeknd

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic weekend in a fantastic location. The byre was perfect for our needs, hopefully we'll be back soon.



Beautiful cottage in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were met on arrival and shown where everything was and how it all worked. The interior is a little work of art. Managed to forget a watch when we left. A quick call and it was found and dispatched straight away. Terrific service.



Everything promised and more, plus a view of the sea.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We so enjoyed our stay at The Byre — one-of-a-kind charm, cozy and comfortable. The view out the front window was wonderful — we watched the changing light over the water even when it was drizzly, warm and snug by the wood stove. A nice young couple was in charge of the property while the owners were away, and they tried diligently, but couldn't help us figure out the heat in the bathroom on a cool night. But we managed all right. The only other drawback was not realizing that there'd be nowhere to buy supplies in Kilchoan (coffee, breakfast things) when we arrived in late afternoon - the only shop keeps somewhat irregular hours, and closed before 5:00 p.m. We made the best of it with a very good dinner at the hotel, and went back for breakfast, then walked the few blocks into town to the shop once it opened. A highlight was having a bag of veggies and apples from West Ardnamurchan Community Garden left for us, and another day Kirstie, the baker from Kilchoan Bakery, delivered a loaf of sourdough to us. Beautiful part of the world — loved our visit to San Beach and Ardnamurchan Point lighthouse.



Lovely accommodation, idilic location and friendly locals

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation in a beautiful location. We had a great time and wished that we could have stayed for longer. The local shop is very well stocked. A visit to the lighthouse is a must and there is a lovely cafe there too. The food at the Kilchoan Hotel was excellent and the staff were very welcoming. The hotel is only a short walk from The Byre.



Back to slowness!

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My time at THE BYRE was a very good time. I have gladly returned after my excursions. The house was almost like a second
"Home" Here I felt very comfortable. Jaqui and John had welcomed me on arrival very warmly. Always I got answers about the resort or Notes to others Subjects.
"It was a really good time for me!" Thank You!




Fantastic property, great owners and wonderful location!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Couldn't fault this place. It was just great.
The property had everything you would need - a home away from home.
John and Jacqui were just fantastic.
Loved it!




The Byre, Kilchoan

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre is an excellent well appointed and comfortable property. It is well situated for a relaxing get away from it all break, and a good base to explore the Ardnamurchan peninsula from. The managers, John and Jacqui, are extremely friendly and helpful hosts, with a wealth of knowledge of the surrounding area.



The Steading Byre experience

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre was a little gem for me. I felt relaxed straight away after being welcomed by John. I found him to be authentic and with a sense of humour which I appreciate. I got a real sense of day to day life in Kilchoan by chatting with John and Jacqui. Jacqui was really helpful in giving me information about walks and I could tell that it's important to her that they continually update their service and improve on customer experience. They put a lot of effort and heart into their family business. This was my 5th time staying around Ardnamurchan and I would recommend Steading and this location to anyone who is wanting a real remote, warm and friendly experience of Scotland.



Our stay at the Byre

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We love the wild beauty of Ardnamurchan and the Byre suited us well as a place to stay. It was idea for two. Warm - especially with the wood burner - and comfortable. Good too for us that it was dog friendly.



homely and comfy in a relaxing location

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre is equipped with everything that you need to have a relaxing self catered holiday. The bathroom in huge and the bath is too making it very easy to relax in. The sofa is very comfy and the view from the living room window is beautiful. The bed is bigger than mine at home and lovely and soft. The log burner was perfect for a cosy night in watching films and was very effective at keeping the place warm and snuggly. The garden to the front, side and rear is beautiful and in keeping with the style of the property, with apple trees and a stream running through and little bridges dotted around. John and Jacqui were very welcoming and helpful but also left you alone to do your own thing, but i always knew they were there if i needed them for any info, advice or help. The area is beautiful, there isn't much to spend your money on, so no shops really or activities but there are so many beautiful walks and historical places to visit and so much natural beauty we certainly were never without something to do and see. The ferry to Tobermory was a great day out too.



A little place with a lot going for it

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kilchoan is a good base for holidays in West Ardnamurchan and the Byre is an ideal cottage for two. Well equipped and all appliances functioning. Benefits from an off-road parking space and own private patio to catch the late afternoon sun. The wood burning fire in the living room adds a cosy touch. Bedroom is well kitted out but a little on the small side and accessed via a steep spiral staircase which may be unsuitable for elderly or infirm. Otherwise an excellent property and well worth the drive from Strontian. Plenty of walking and sight-seeing close by and quiet at night which allows sleeping with window wide open at night. Also easy access to the Mull Ferry (about 15 minutes walk). Hosts John and Jacqui have been in the area for many years and are very helpful and accessible (they live in the attached house).



The Byre was fabulous

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre was a fabulous cottage, so comfortable with John and Jackie being so helpful and generous. We had a very relaxing week with all the home comforts you could wish, would stay there again on next visit to Ardnamurchan.



Great accommodation in Kilchoan

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spend a pleasent stay in Kilchoan. The house was leasure, well equipped and the host was very gentle and helpful. The location is quite close to the ferry harbour to Tobermory, so that you can visit Mull. Furthermore you can book a tour to Staffa and Lunga, which starts in Kilchoan. The accommodation has a nice atmosphere and a great view to the sound of Mull. Thank you very much!



Comfortable, cosy, well-designed and well-located.

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre is ideal for exploring the Ardnamurchan peninsula - and then returning to a cosy, modern base surrounded by nature. The hosts are welcoming and willingly provide local knowledge. The Byre is equipped with everything that you may need. A very enjoyable stay.



a beautiful, well equipped place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the byre- a beautiful and well-equipped place to stay, and really well located for exploring West Ardnamurchan. Really appreciated the views to Mull too. Thanks for making us feel so welcome.



An excellent choice made - our stay at The Byre

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Though a little difficult to find (we arrived in the dark!), we were greeted by John who instantly made us welcome. We were shown to The Byre where the lit woodburner and gentle lighting invited us in.

We were in Kilchoan, Ardnamurchan to enjoy it's beauty and to photograph it! We wanted cosy, comfortable and affordable accommodation and that's exactly what we got. We didn't travel to the most westerly point in the UK to dine out and dress up so if those things or minimalistic, contemporary styling is important to you, then you'd not be happy here!

Everything we needed was available and a hard working John was very close by to advise and promote the beautiful location he is privileged to call home. (Thank you John!)

We were extremely lucky with the weather. Sanna Bay is stunning ... For us, The Byre provided a perfect base for exploration.

Loved it!




Great stay, cosy flat

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked 'The Byre' on very short notice over New Years Eve. We had been tempted by the oven and the so individualistically decorated interior. Due to the weather conditions, Jacqui even called me the day before the trip to give me very helpful advice on the roads and conditions. When we arrived, a fire was already set up in the oven. John knocked later on checking if everything would be ok. Wonderful Jacqui and John live in the house next door, so if you have any questions, you just pop into the shop selling crafts...and if you have forgotten your jam, candles, or want to write some postcards...We enjoyed the oven, the well equipped kitchen, and the space....the garden is a beautiful mix of un/arrangements, and you can see the gardener enjoy nature. If we wouldn't be new to the country, and there would be so much to see still, we definitely would come back!



Cosy cottage in stunning location

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We received a warm welcome in more ways than one at The Byre as the managers, John and Jacqui, both came to meet us and John had lit the excellent Squirrel stove which was very welcome after a long and wet and windy drive. The cottage is comfortable and cosy and despite being attached to the Steading Holidays office and shop is very private and peaceful surrounded by a garden and view of the sea from the bedroom and lounge. It is ideally situated as there is a well stocked 'tardis' shop and a pub in the village where you can enjoy a bar meal if you don't feel like cooking. You can also take a short ferry journey from Kilchoan across to Tobermory on Mull but we found there was plenty to enjoy in that area of the Ardnamurchan peninsula if you enjoy walking, lovely scenery and opportunity to see a Golden or Sea Eagle, such as we did. All in all, a lovely holiday at The Byre.



The Byre.

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Oct 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely warm and welcoming cottage looking out over Mull. Murphy, the owners cat, is an absolute delight. I would thoroughly recommend The Byre for a quiet relaxing holiday.



Perfect escape for those who have busy work schedules

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy house, very welcoming, comfortable and spacious. By far our favourite holiday "cottage" of all we've stayed in.
We enjoyed a very warm welcome from John who was full of useful information about the house and the area.




The Byre

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely location and very friendly host. The overall decoration was very dated and in meed of upgrading. There was very limited headroom in the bedroom which meant that you could not even walk round the bed without stooping. There was virtually no clothing storage at all. The bathroom lacked a standing shower. The wood burner in the living space was very efficient at keeping the room lovely and warm.



Awesome

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
John was a fantastic host, nothing was too much trouble. It was our first visit and it won't be our last.
Most wonderful and beautiful part of the UK.
Even our dogs loved it, they have been abit grumpy since we got back (lol).
Would recommend to everyone that reads this review, add this to your bucket list guys you won't regret it.




A happy, comfortable and cosy five days

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spent a very happy, comfortable and cosy five days in the Byre. The wood burning stove gives a glorious heat which drifts up to the bedroom and makes that very cosy too! It's in an excellent location - handy for the ferry to Tobermory, the beaches at Sanna and Portuairk, Ardnamurchan Lighthouse, walks, the local hotel and Kilchoan village store/petrol pump. John and Jacqui are delightful, friendly and helpful hosts. A perfect place to get away from it all and recharge my batteries!



Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at The Byre. The owners were very helpful. The cottage is cosy and the location just perfect. The wood burner created a fantastic atmosphere every nights. We will visit this place again.



Adventure or Solitude suit yourself :)

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An ideal location for adventure or isolation, learning a new skill or just relax & take in the peace & tranquility in the warmth & comfort that is The Byre. Easy to use stove for cosy nights in, wifi, tv & dvd & the biggest bath to ease the aches of a long hill walk or just chill in with a book & a glass of wine. John & Jacqui were very friendly & helpful giving fishing tips & walking advice, having them on hand in case of emergency is a bonus too, not that we needed them but it's nice to know they are there.



Tranquility

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardnamurchan is the perfect place for a peaceful holiday. The Byre is well situated for the local amenities. We unfortunately had cold weather but the wood burning stove and the ample fuel provided kept us really cosy. John & Jacqui are very friendly and helpful and are are always there if you need them. The bed is really comfortable. We had a wonderful week.



Great holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our week in the Byre and Ardnamurchan. Made very welcome by John and and Jaqui. The Byre had everything we needed and especially the wood burning stove. This is a great area to explore with lots to see and do. Great to visit Tobermory on the ferry did this twice. Can't wait to return.



Short Stay at The Byre

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Apr 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived Sunday evening in April - all fine although we had a minor problem with the lights/fuse board which was resolved quickly after couple of phone calls. Log burner excellent and needed as weather became typically Scottish on the Tuesday.
Overall the Byre was a good holiday experience.




Quiet,cosy, tranquil, beautiful scenery.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to unwind and relax. Fantastic scenery and very nice people. Our second trip within 8 months and we will be back again. John and Jacqui are very helpful, accommodating and most of all friendly.



Home From Home

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location to get away for a while from the pressures we take for granted in the modern world - Byre cottage is comfortable and well set up with everything you need . John and Jacqui chappel were very helpful and friendly and also respected our privacy. The ferry to mull is walking distance from the cottage as is the very useful local shop for newspapers and everything else you need. Had a bonus of seeing a fantastic show from the local dolphins alongside the ferry on our crossing to Tobermory, P.S. The Squirrel log burning stove was great and very comforting on cooler evenings.



a real shame we only had 6 days, really did not want to leave

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
how many superlatives can one use ?
wonderful cottage for 2 , beautifully but cosily appointed, fantastic log burner used in evening although we didn't really need it. superb sea view from both lounge and bedroom windows, lovely to lay in bed looking at the water.
And yes we were really lucky with teh weather, but would not have minded being rained in by teh fire reading.
John and Jacqui are natural hosts as well, just hope we can get back there sometime.




Cosy cottage in beautiful West Scotland

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Byre is a comfortable, well situated cottage with a pleasant garden. Lovely to have views of the sea from the bedroom and to be so close to so much beautiful scenery. Jackie and John are very welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. Like most guests we enjoyed the wood burning stove. We had some very nice trips out to Tobermory and a wildlife cruise as well as some great local walks, cycle rides etc. Definitely suitable for people wanting a peaceful break. The single track road takes a bit of getting used to but it’s all part of being in such a remote place. Would definitely recommend the Byre.



Beautiful week in Kilchoan

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Home from home. Everything you could wish for was provided.
Location and views wonderful.
Log fire every night a dream end to the day.
Would recommend Steading Cottages very highly.
Lovely Garden to relax in.
All in all an extremely relaxing holiday location, with no noise what so ever.
W




Comfy and Cosy little place in an excellent location.

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great few days staying at the Byre and exploring the local area. Would recommend it to anyone! The Byre itself is very comfortable and well equipped. The fire was lit for our arrival and the place was cosy and warm. We look forward to another visit!



The Byre, Kilchoan. Scotland at its best!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked The Byre last minute and we arrived later than expected which was no problem at all. Kilchoan is beautiful, as is the area and The Byre is no different. It's even better than the pictures. The open fire was a delight and we had plenty of peat to keep it going all night. The bedroom was gorgeous with amazing views and an exceptionally comfortable bed. The kitchen is well stocked but if we could not find something we needed we were told to just pop next door and ask for anything. Oh and the bathroom is just fantastic, I ran a lovely hot bath in the HUGE bath tub, it was so relaxing. The Byre is one of the nicest places we have stayed, the owners really care about their property and that you enjoy your stay and we really appreciated that.

We decided to go to the local pub at the Kilchoan Hotel and as it was pitch black with no street lights, we asked for a torch which was no problem at all. The pub is great and we had a lovely evening talking to the bar staff and other locals who were enjoying a pint, hugely friendly environment and fun times were had by all.

We could only stay for one night but wish it could have been more, everything about this short trip was just perfect. I highly recommend The Byre and we will be going back for sure as soon as we can. Thank you! Kristie and Janek x




Perfect cosy cottage by the sea

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we've stayed at the Byre, it's a perfect cosy cottage for two in a great location. Ardnamurchan is very remote and quiet, bursting with natural life at every turn, Kilchoan has just enough civilisation to add the little extras.

The Byre is a two minute walk from the friendly pub (that also does good food), a ten minute walk from the ferry stores and a ten/fifteen minute walk from the ferry to Tobermory. The Steading has a great feel to it with the vegetable gardens, fruit trees, streams, winding paths and even a litter of pigs on the hill. John and Jackie are always helpful and full of ideas and places to visit and their craft shop is next door to the Byre - their complimentary handmade jams are a delight.

The facilities are basic but more than adequate, if you're after 4 star accommodation then the Ardnamurchan experience is the wrong holiday for you; the crofting and community spirit lives on, we ordered a fresh seasonal vegetable bag from the community garden (at which you can volunteer one day a week) and it was delicious. If you read the visitor book everyone mentions the wood burning stove, sounds odd until you've used it. Within minutes you have a great fire going and the place is as warm as toast, the only problem is that after a day out in the hills or on the beaches you'll be fast asleep on the sofa in no time.

We'll be back again, this is one of those places that you want to tell everyone about but at the same time keep as a secret to yourself