FB Twitter

The Bungalow

The Bungalow

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.5


The Bungalow is a cosy, tastefully renovated cottage in the lovely village of Portuairk, with beautiful views of the bay and the Western Isles. With the shoreline right on your doorstep spend your days relaxing on sandy beaches, exploring hidden coves, spotting sea eagles and dolphins in the bay, and rambling along miles of coastal trails.

View from the window.

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I have looked at the Bungalow as I walked past many times over the past 30 odd years of staying locally,
I have finally achieved the ambition to have a holiday in the Bungalow, it exceeded my expectations in every respect.
The only disappointment was that the lovely old iron gate with the name had gone, old age and exposure t the salty air no doubt caused its demise.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good for a remote area. Kilchoan shop is very good, little excuse to go to Tobermory but we did anyway.





Ideal cottage in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay at the Bungalow was enhanced by fabulous weather enabling us to make the most of all this area has to offer. The views from the garden and the front windows of the cottage were amazing. We were able to enjoy almost all of our meals al fresco and really appreciated the picnic table with a view.
The interior was comfortable, cosy and well equipped. The toilet flush system was temperamental but didn't cause too much of an "inconvenience".

The location was perfect for walks to the Ardnamurchan lighthouse, Sanna Bay and exploring the coast and bays.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

How did you find the local facilities?
We enjoyed a delicious meal from Sanna Spice delivered to the garden with a smile! We ate at the Kilchoan Hotel which was good. We bought items from the Kilchoan stores which was very well stocked. Tea and cake at the lighthouse was enjoyed too.



Excellent holiday.

Review submitted on Fri, 17 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay once again. Bungalow was warm and comfortable. Views are magnificent. Fire was great.n We shall return!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

How did you find the local facilities?
Shopped before arriving. Facilities very limited.





Perfect spot

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You couldn’t ask for a better position, right on the sea front with spectacular views from the lounge and main bedroom windows. Sheep on the beach, sheep in the garden, sheep in the road. Loved it!
The kitchen was well stocked, the lounge comfortable, the main bedroom could do with a new mattress, the bathroom looked quite new. We had a problem with the flush on the toilet, we reported it and within minutes a man arrived to have a look. He couldn’t find a problem but it carried on being troublesome as soon as he left so we reported it again. The chap arrived quickly again but was unable to fix it, so we had to revert to throwing buckets of water down.
The sky TV didn’t work. Internet came and went but you have to remember that you are in the middle of nowhere so to have anything at all is a bonus! Youngsters might think otherwise!
I would definitely return to this place, the location is really superb. So much wildlife and lovely walks.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes

How did you find the local facilities?
There are hardly any local facilities but that made it all the more special. There was a store that seemed to stock most things.



A fantastic cottage, very well equipped and with a wonderful view!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at the bungalow, 3 adults and 2 kids (5 and 7). We loved the location and proximity to the beach. The kitchen is particularly well equipped, the beds comfortable and the location fantastic.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
X

How did you find the local facilities?
Really good. We ordered a veg bag from Ardnamurchan community gardens and bought other high quality food from the local producers market in Kilchoan.





Ideal remote getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Stayed at location several times but first time at the bungalow. It is clean, homely and well equipped, being placed in an idyllic location. Nearest large shop is the ferry ride from Kilchoan to the Co-Op at Tobermory.
Steading Holidays are good booking agents .
Our only gripe was the fact that the TV didn't work (no channels available) which would have been an option when we settled for the night. There was a phone number for the caretaker, but as we didn't get a phone signal until half way through the week, we didn't bother to contact him.
I would hope to stay there again.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
Non existent



The Bungalow is a great place to say- what a location!

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jun 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Slightly frustrating that such a vital amenity as the fridge was not in good order. The fault had been previously reported and needed more urgent attention.
In all other respects excellent

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
Fine





Very comfortable house in an extraordinarily beautiful and peaceful cove , with wonderful sunsets.

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a note to upfront reviews. It is rather too demanding to require a review of 100 plus words in order to submit a response.
I am very happy to give feedback but it's not appropriate to expect an essay . We were very happy with the house, loved the situation and there were no difficulties.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Poor

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Have already mentioned to friends.

How did you find the local facilities?
Limited shopping. Community garden vegetables very welcome.





Unplugging from life

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Nov 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a great 9 night stay in November to unplug and unwind. The location was great as it's at the end of the (single track) road and there's nothing else there. The cottage was well equipped with a great fireplace and decent WiFi, though we couldn't get Sky to work. It is right on the water's edge so we spent hours just watching the tide come in and go out. We saw plenty of seals and local sheep roaming the hamlet of Portuairk. There was some mold on the walls we arrived to, but we don't know how long it was closed up before we arrived. All in all a great and very remote spot, and we'd love to come back.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Sufficient though sparse



Another brilliant time in Portuairk

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed exploring the surrounding beaches. Had campfire on beach and watched the sun go down so very peaceful could stay here forever ,we all fell in love with Portuairk,and intend coming back next year .

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Have already given your address to a few friends.

How did you find the local facilities?
Good enjoyed coffee at lighthouse. Shame Sonachan closed .





sea, rocks, mountains, peace - what more could you want?

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, beautiful views, very good cottage with every facility you could need. The best view from the dining room window anyone could ask for.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
not applicable

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good, all helpful and friendly.





The house was fab - in most ways but really not clean!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a fab place to be and a really great house - just such a shame re the cleanliness! The dishwasher was not clean, the floors swept but only really in the main areas (pretty grim around the edges and under sofas etc). Expected it not to be a shiny house but it was a bit of a shame...!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No.

How did you find the local facilities?
As expected - not many! Perfect! The community centre and the play ground was good, shop exactly what was needed. Brilliant holiday!





Stunning setting

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Nov 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The Bungalow has a stunning setting with magnificent views out to Skye and the Hebrides. Lovely comfortable cottage with a wood burner which really gives that warm glow. Bedroom fittings are good quality and slept like one of the wood burners logs! We never realised that almost everything is closed around the peninsula after October which can limit what you do, but lots of lovely walks.
The TV being broken was the one major fault, and it seemed to be the Sky connection. This was most noticeable from the Saturday afternoon right through to Monday morning, as the rain never stopped and everywhere was closed. Locals are friendly especially the huge dog next door which decided to go a walk with us!
Hope to make a return visit for longer and ' in season'.
Recommend it, but get that TV fixed!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Have already mentioned it.

How did you find the local facilities?
Closed!!



Beautiful remote location

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were unable to complete the full extent of the holiday to me suffering a heart attack (still an in-patient awaiting bypass surgery) on the 3rd day so it is difficult raising a review. Hoewever what we did see and experience in that short time was an indication of what could have been an absolutely wonderful holiday.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
None at present

How did you find the local facilities?
With its remoteness you take it for what it is - however The Ferry Stores in Kilchoan more than meets most needs.





Comfortable cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bungalow is a very comfortable and well equiped cottage in the small settlement of Portuairk right next to the shore line. We spent many hours watching the changing tides and wildlife through the sitting room window. The cottage has wifi, an unexpected bonus and TV (although Sky signal a bit temprimental at times). There was plenty of room and the kitchen was well equiped.

There are lots of great walks from the cottage, to the wonderful sandy beachs of Sanna bay, Ardnamurchann lighthouse and Achnaha in the ancient volcano. The nearest shop is four miles away in Kilchoan along a single track road. Also at the village is the Kilchoan Hotel that serves good food and on Friday nights does fish and chips to take out. Sanna bay by road is 18 miles ( walking about a mile) and the light house is about 3 miles away by road where you can enjoy fab views across to Mull and other hebridean islands. From Kilchoan we took the ferry to Tobermory and had a great lunch at Cafe Fish on the harbour front as well as sampling some whisky at the distillery.

There are great opportunities to see wildlife. Out of the cottage window our regular visitors were grey herons, pied wagtails, cormorants and gulls. The sheep also kept us entertained. Also during our visit we saw dophins, skuas and deer. We went in September and the hills were coverd in heather.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
yes

How did you find the local facilities?
We visited Ardanmurchan in 2009 on the way from sky to mull and picked up a steadings brochure. Also looked on website.



Great place to get away from it all

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bungalow was everything we could want. It had great views and was right on the beach.
The accommodation had a well equipped kitchen and plenty of seating space.

The staff at Steading Holidays were very helpful and managed to help us out with what we had forgotten to take with us.
Would also recommend a boat trip with Staffa tours and visit the puffins if there at the right time of year.


How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
The nearest village (Kilchoan) is small but the village shop was well stocked and the staff helpful.





Well placed and comfortable bungalow, adequate if not excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beautiful setting right on the foreshore with views over to Rum & Eigg. Reliable central heating and hot water. Adequate bathroom and kitchen.
Would have preferred a king size double bed. Lounge layout is not great - a bit awkward and small; sofas a bit narrow - important details in times of in bad weather! Wood stove not coping with strong winds. Overall just OK, doubt that we would rebook this.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

How did you find the local facilities?
Pretty basic. The community centre is uninspiring.





Stunning Ardnamurchan

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've just had a wonderful week staying in the Bungalow in Portuairk, not far from Ardnamurchan Point. The views from the cottage are as stunning as ever - this is our 2nd visit and hopefully not our last. The cottage is warm and cosy and a perfect location for exploring Ardnamurchan.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

How did you find the local facilities?
Excellent.





Peace & wildlife in Portuairk

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting and the view fantastic. Walking in the area a delight as you rarely see anyone else. Saw dolphins an otter and a seal from the rocks outside the house. The house has everything you need for a week. Improvement would be better quality mattresses, and sofas that were more comfortable.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
[email protected]

How did you find the local facilities?
Good - one shop/post office/petrol station, one pub and an information centre in Kilchoan, 10 mins drive away,





Beautiful Views

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a well appointed bungalow which is set in a fabulous location.Ideal for people who want to explore this beautiful area. It is not isolated but is certainly quiet and relaxing.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Kilchoan Stores very good.





Comfy bungalow in serene setting

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jun 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Remote location amongst a hamlet, overlooking small tidal estuary facing due west. Fabulous sunsets and coastal walks from the door. Bungalow had everything we needed. Very comfortable.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

How did you find the local facilities?
Fine, as expected





Fantastic setting

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Bungalow has every comfort and the most magnificent location and view. The fire is a particular asset when the weather is not so good! Great holiday.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

How did you find the local facilities?
Fine





By the seaside...

Review submitted on Sun, 24 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Been to the Bungalow about 5 times, as it is in such beautiful spot. Right by the sea, sheep coming to graze on salty grass. A great spot for a week away from it all.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good. Community garden particularly fine.





A Fantastic Week

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As we already live on the edge of very beautiful countryside in Yorkshire, it says something that we love coming here for the scenery! From the second that you step out of the door of the bungalow (and, in fact off the Coran Ferry) you're presented with stunning views. There are many walks of varying grades to suit everyone. My favourite times of the day are first thing, looking out the windows out to see towards the Small Isles, and at night where the clear skies and absence of light pollution give you superb view of the starry skies, with shooting stars thrown in. The Bungalow is very comfortable and has everything that you need for a really enjoyable week. The wifi, very important for anyone with children, is reliable and gives decent speeds. The kitchen is well-equiped and there is freeview via the Sky box.
We had a really enjoyable holiday and the long drive is definitely worth it.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes

How did you find the local facilities?
The shop has a good selection of goods, but it would be worth bringing what you can with you when you travel to Sky. There's also a Coop on Mull if you want to get a few things when you get the ferry from Kilchoan.



Great cottage, amazing location

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely, sunny week at the Bungalow. The location is stunning and the cottage itself very well equipped and comfortable. A truly special place.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

How did you find the local facilities?
Limited but that was good too





Beautiful and peaceful Portuairk

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is excellent! A wonderful house and views that can't be beaten. Great walking and seeing seals bobbing away was an added treat. Great place to get into the water and swim. The walks to Sanna and to Bay McNeill are lovely and easy to do in a couple of hours or more if you want to go further. Will definitely be back once again to Portuairk - the best place to stay on the peninsula!
The Bungalow had everything you needed & was very comfortable and cosy. Just sit outside as the sun goes down and the tide comes in or out, and what more could you want from a place!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
They already know as we always harp on about it to all

How did you find the local facilities?
The community garden open shed to buy fresh veg is lovely and well stocked. Kilchoan shop has a good range of things. Fish & chips from the Kilchoan Hotel were delicious. Sonachan Hotel unfortunately wasn't open to non-residents even though the website & signs in Kilchoan said they were - had had a lovely meal there on our last stay in 2013.



First stay at The Bungalow

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jun 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our first stay at The Bungalow, and we found it to be a lovely place to stay and a great location for exploring the area. The Bungalow was very clean and tidy. It had obviously been upgraded recently. The kitchen was supplied with everything we could have wanted. The entrance porch was large and great for hanging walking clothes and boots. the shower room was very new and practical. the beds that we used were comfortable. The only slight niggle was the layout in the lounge. The position of the two settees and chair made it difficult to sit and watch the TV, plus we did not find the settees particularly comfortable. But as we were there in the middle of June and out most of the time this did not really matter to us. The view from the windows is lovely and at high tide the sea came up to the other side of the road. There is a great walk from the cottage round to Sanna Bay, but this is a bit difficult in places so not suitable for everyone. The free wi-fi that is installed was a really good feature but beware that there is no mobile phone signal in the area. The phone in The Bungalow receives incoming calls but does not allow outgoing. Not sure if emergency 999 calls can be made. They probably can, but its worth checking with the agents. All in all if you want to stay at this end of the Ardnamurchan peninsular you won't go far wrong here.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Andrew Jones (son)

How did you find the local facilities?
Lighthouse with cafe was excellent. Shop was adequate. Local hotels were good for meals.



Marvellous venue

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic location and the perfect position to see the most glorious sunsets.

Tiny quibbles were the CD player would not work and these logs are so hard to get burning. But overall a most comfortable house located in heaven....

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
They know about it already

How did you find the local facilities?
Completely adequate for purpose





The Bungalow

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic holiday cottage ,warm and welcoming,excellently equipped and very comfortable. The situation could not be better ,placed right at the waters edge,beuatiful views all day long. Easy to see why it is already booked up for next summer.
One of the best from Steadings that we have been in.




October stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love the new bathroom. New sofa's not as comfy as previous one (too short seat depth and back height). Great location and facilities. Very peaceful even during poor weather.



A wonderful week of P & Q

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a long journey of driving on the single track roads, the view from the window of the Bungalow was perfect.
Well worth the journey!
The house was very clean and had every thing I could possibly need.
Would recommend this cottage to my friends