FB Twitter

Smithy House

Smithy House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.5
Location
4.6
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.5


Smithy House is a large, handsome property, with beautiful sea views in the heart of the village of Kilchoan.
It has been tastefully refurbished to create a traditional, luxurious feel. The homely, spacious living/dining room has views out to sea and the Isle of Mull and access onto outside decking through French doors.
Kilchoan Hotel, shop, tearoom and regular ferry sailings to Tobermory, on the Isle of Mull are just a short walk away.

Luxury holiday home

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent Christmas in this beautiful home with plenty room for all the family and so very well equipped with lots of extras..and amazing views.. to make a stay here special.




How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Laura

How did you find the local facilities?
Can recommend Sanna Spice curry delivery and Friday night chips from the hotel!!





Disappointing

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Unfortunately after an 8 hour journey it appeared the cleaners hadn’t been in downstairs we had to re wash most plates and pans before use and swept the floor of the living area ,the table was also dirty.We have stayed in several cottages over the years and there is always a welcome book where it tells you what to do with rubbish,how to work the heating etc.here there wasn’t one.We had
no hot water all day Sunday
which we called at the office to report on Monday the girl was very helpful and it got sorted.We were told Smithy House will no longer be let out so maybe that’s
why we had problems as the
owners lost heart.The cupboards were full of food including out of date items (2014)also the freezer
so we had nowhere to put ours
as we had a guest with allergies this wasn’t ideal.We had a lovely holiday which could have been better without these issues .

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Good



Returning customer

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had our second stay at the lovely Smithy house. Local to Everything you need Ferry, Kilchoan, hotel, lighthouse, beaches, fresh eggs a walk away. It doesn't stop there. The house is opposite the stunning view of Mull. The beds are so comfy I don't know if you sleep so well from sea air or comfort.
We will be back for sure.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes

How did you find the local facilities?
Not good for medical assistance. Everything else fine.





A lovely, spacious house with all mod cons, in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This house really is the old smithy for the village, but has been modernised to a very high standard indeed. There were 6 of us in our party, all keen on outdoor pursuits, so we had bikes and kayaking and walking gear. There was plentiful storage, inside and out and lots of room for gear. The kitchen was very well equipped with integrated white goods of every kind, good quality kitchen implements and masses of fridge and freezer space. There was plenty of living space, the bathrooms were fabulous and the bedrooms and garden have views over the Sound of Mull. Electricity and linen is all included, so excellent value. Can't fault the place! I am planning to visit again next year.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Already told them

How did you find the local facilities?
Good local pub and great village shop. It's worth topping up your car with fuel just for the experience of collecting a ticket from the attendant, only to hand it back to them at the till in the shop! Local bus is fab, shame it's only once a day. Frequent ferry to Mull.



walking week

Review submitted on Sun, 07 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week in the Smithy house. We were extremely comfortable and it had a wonderful view. We did a different walk every day.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
If anyone asks about staying in Ardnarmurchan I would recommend them.

How did you find the local facilities?
not much change in 39 years.





Lovey holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week in this house. It has been recently renovated to a high standard and had everything you could need and more. The house was warm and welcoming which was very important in October in the West of Scotland. Great location if you like a get away from it all kind of place.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Knew the area





Remote but luxurious

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not where we had originally intended to stay, but we were upgraded due to the unavailability of our first choice. The house proved to be extremely comfortable, spacious and well equipped, in a very quiet and peaceful location. Great view over to Mull, with constantly changing light providing endless interest. The journey here is slow and lengthy, so it really is worth stocking up with what you might need beforehand.
A great place for those who like fantastic scenery, quiet walks and comfort when you get back home out of the wind and rain!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
OK but very limited



A peaceful week away

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We arrived at Smithy House and admired the views. The house was very well equipped and clean and tidy. The exterior was quite untidy, tripped over a raised drain on day one near side door, an old mattress and building materials around the house. I guess it isn't quite finished yet. Can't fault the inside though. Thanks.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
Local shop was well equipped.