FB Twitter

Keeper's Cottage

Keeper's Cottage

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 51 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.2
Condition
3.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.2


Keeper’s Cottage is huddled beneath the towering majesty of the Ardnamurchan Lighthouse, at the most westerly point on the British mainland. A favourite spot for whale, dolphin and basking shark sightings, with miles of shoreline to explore in both directions, your visit to this snug spot perched on the edge of the ocean is sure to be a memorable one.

Fantastic location

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We arrived on a blustery day to find the cottage well-heated & cosy. It is wonderful that the Trust has saved such an iconic cottage from dereliction & there are still a few improvements to be made but we loved our stay & hope to return.



Tired

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Sixth trip to Ardnamurchan, two previous stays at Keepers West albeit the last stay over ten years ago. Unfortunately during that time nothing appears to have been done to the building or its contents. Damp walls in living room and hallway, rotting windows,torn or rotting lace curtains. In the kitchen the fridge could have been cleaner and the freezer cupboard no room for food as completely filled with ice. In an area where eating out is difficult a decent oven would be an advantage as opposed to one where there were no visible markings left to indicate which knob was connected to which hot plate and no temperature settings left readable.
Despite these significant shortcomings what a fantastic place to stay. Views are incredible, chance to see Minke whales, dolphins wild deer even a black ferret. May I recommend West Ardnamurchan Market Garden as fantastic suppliers of wonderful veg. salad and fruit.
Would I go back, to Ardnamurchan yes, with Steading yes, to Keepers West only after a complete makeover.




Jacqui Chapple replied 43 days ago
Dear Tony Thank you very much for leaving your feedback on Keepers Cottage. We are really sorry to hear that your accommodation did not meet your expectations. We have been in touch with the Manager and the Lighthouse Committee, and will be working closely with them to get improvements made to make Keepers Cottage into a property you would like to come back to. Once we have any further updates on the progress, we are happy to keep you updated. We don’t want to lose your custom and we hope we will see you back in Ardnamurchan in the near future. Yours Jacqui Chapple

An amazing location

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a cottage in an amazing location, rich in history. We had an excellent stay here. The cottage is miles from anywhere and very quiet in the evening - but even during the day there are only a few visitors to the lighthouse itself.



keepers cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
great setting, just walk out of door and catch wonderful sea views and fabulous sunsets. Davie the house manager
was really helpful and chatty. recommended.




Good basic facilities in the Back of Beyond.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Some people complain about the lack of amenities but they need to consider where the cottage is and the fact that it was built 169 years ago. The cottage - for me at least, has always been spotlessly clean on arrival. All the necessary facilities are there, although some of the furniture is getting a little tired. The attraction is not so much the cottage as its location, which is absolutely to die for. Fantastic views to the Inner Hebrides, dolphins passing by just yards from the rocks - apparently I missed a basking shark by a couple of days - always something interesting on the shipping front. I saw a ship towing six salmon farm enclosures very slowly. No problems with Scotland's infamous midges. The nearest supermarket is at Tobermory, on the Isle of Mull, a good excuse for a 35 minute ferry ride and a day out with good eateries and every sort of shop. Plenty of day excursions on the mainland, too.
Not a place for anyone seeking luxurious sophistication but if you have an ounce of the adventurous in you, you'll love it!




A great place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 04 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were initially told the key would be in the door, it wasn't. We had no idea which door was to the cottage, so went round in a circle for a while, before trying to ring for assistance. The number that was given to me for David, wasn't him, and no answer from steading holidays, even though they were supposed to be open til 5pm. Eventually asked at the cafe, and he (I believe now was David??) was very helpful. The two dogs are a bit mad, especially when in the car waiting at the lights, and they start running in front of it. The overall cleanliness of the cottage was good, but did feel a bit of a spruce in the kitchen units and drawers and some new net curtains, would have looked better. Also the washer/dryer needs some assistance! That all said, we had a fabulous time, the cottage it self was very comfortable and very warm, and the location could not have been better.



Fantastic location, accommodation tired in need of repair.

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Apr 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location of Keepers cottage is outstanding. The views of the islands and surrounding area are breath taking and well worth our long journey. We enjoyed the freedom of roaming round and playing with the lighthouse managers dogs. The lighthouse manager was friendly and helpful.

The cottage itself is functional but very tired and in need of some upgrading. A couple of window frames are rotten and need replacing and several windows don't lock or stay open. The front door handle doesn't turn and the lock on the other side sometimes comes undone with the door opening. The cottage suffers badly from damp, there are several damp patches in the living room and the plaster work is disintegrating by the front door.
The decor in the main bedroom looks as though the paint ran out and is incomplete.
Several light bulbs needed replacing, one of the slats on the bed is broken and the washing machine couldn't finish a cycle without showing an error message.

The cottage is badly in need of some upgrading. However, it would not put us off going back as it is such a wonderful location. We were able over look the short comings of the place as it was such a wonderful location.




No customer service

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Oct 2017
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Turned up late at night as arranged, door was locked, tried contact numbers, left messages, no one returned calls throughout entire stay. Water went off two nights, was back on by the morning.
Also items broken/not working in visitor reviews/books still not fixed for our stay




Keepers Cottage - Poor Choice

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
2.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The accommodation resembled a student maintained house. It was very very expensive for the poor quality - based on the location but it wasnt worth it.
The location attracted us, and the website pictures seemed great.
We opted to have bedding provided by the company.
The bedding was old and the duvets filthy
The were no locks on the sliding sash windows which could be lifted up by anyone
There was no fire blanket or fire extinguisher (only realised when we went to a second property where there were fire safety items)
The property was damp and mouldy
A radiator had been taken out and where it had been was a filthy rectangular patch in the sitting room wall
The whole place could have done with being renovated - what had been done was of poor quality and old and tired




paradise at the edge of the ocean

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Visited the location several times as a day tripper over the last 20 years. My best friend and I both have similar interests so finally organized ourselves to go for the week.

Highly recommended, no disappointing aspects at all. Was lovely to "own" the lighthouse for a week - especially when all the day trippers went home and we had the place to ourselves.

We were both obsessed with being outside looking at the scenery or for wildlife/stars but if you just want to stay in there is an impressive book/dvd case with a tv/dvd player which also has a freesat box so you can watch catch up tv as well. Also free wifi throughout the property which is strongest in the master bedroom.

There is a landline in the property but we didn't use it as it was nice to not be bothered about the phone. My tesco mobile did pick up a weak signal down by the foghorn in case you really need to contact someone. You could always use the landline and drop into the office in Kilchoan to pay for your calls

We had a couple of trips to Mull, one to see the White Tailed Eagles with mull charters and another just to have a drive round. The 8am sailing from Kilchoan always seems nice and quiet and on one of the journeys we crossed a pod of dolphins going across the sound of Mull. Theres also plenty deer on the road down to Kilchoan, plus some cattle that like sitting in the middle of it too.

Sanna Bay is a beautiful location for sunset, also the Natural Histroy Centre and Glenmore has an impressive shop and nice cafe. The RSPB trail at Glenborrodale was VERY waterlogged so we didn't see its best side really.

Don't try to rush anywhere, it's all single track and make sure to be a courteous driver if there are others trying to get past you. There is moderate mis-use of passing places by people wanting to get photos but its not too bad. The two most useful features of your car will be the mirrors and reverse gear!

On our last morning two white tailed eagles turned up at the lighthouse having caught a small seabird. They were quite happy to sit on the rocks eating away whilst we looked over the wall at them in pure delight that they'd come to say goodbye!!

The Indian takeaway called Sanna Spice is open for deliveries Wednesday to Sunday and not to be missed. There's a menu in the information folder. (Also a visitors book about the property to sign) The lady comes and meets you at the first t-junction back towards civilisation. Also when coming up make sure you stop at the Real Food Cafe for fish and chips they are the best in the land(and definately NOT The Green Welly Boot place).

Additionally if in Tobermory Linzi's cafe near the ferry office (downstairs) did a mean fish and chips too.

The lighthouse exhibition is open 24hrs - we went in it at about 1 in the morning to have a look round. The visitor centre has a good shop and they get cakes from Tobermory bakery which are very moreish (why do empire biscuits not exist in England?)

Make sure you take a torch!!! The place is pitch black after dark, it's great fun going down to the foghorn steps and looking out to sea, you can see about 6 other lighthouses dotted about if its a clear night. Aso make sure to look up the sky is hugely impressive if its clear. It's even good fun watching the rain storms make their way across the sea as well! There are two folding wooden chairs in the property which were most handy for this purpose. Underneath the foghorn there's an enclosed room if its too windy to be at the top. You will have company during the day as people whale watch from here. Although we didn't see any the Gannets fishing kept us entertained. Plus if your lucky you may get a military jet flying over on its way to/from RAF Lossiemouth

The place is full of general supplies either left by previous occupants or the owners. Good stocked kitchen essentials/utensils etc. There's a washing machine and ironing facilites too. It is a private water supply so take plenty of bottled water for drinking, its fine for washing though. We will be returning (sadly only in two years time as we've got commitments for 2018)




Get away from it all...

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Accommodation basic but mainly tidy (a repaint with some damp seal would really help in places-the living room wall area!). Hot water plentiful,and was warm. It was great to feel like you were alone at night once the trippers had all gone! A few more touches like a pair of binoculars and a guide to wildlife would be handy, lots of books to read though if the weather sets in. The cafe is a very handy spot to get picnic lunches. We were lucky with the weather and spent lots of time on walks and at local beaches, especially Sanna bay. Davie the site manager, helped us out promptly when an issue was identified with the hot water. Could do with some outside storage or hanging space for damp clothes and boots and shoes, felt bad trailing sandy items into the cottage. Nothing beats the little shelter watching the sunset though, magical.



Ardnamurchan Lighthouse

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse is an amazing location.
Rugged and remote, yet with al the comforts you need for a weeks holiday.
The accommodation is weel equipped and has everything you need.




Great cottage - shame about the weather

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in a magic location, being the westernmost address on the British mainland. You gamble on the weather, as you do anywhere in Western Scotland. I paid the price this year for a magic stay last year, sitting under a weather front all week with strong winds and sporadic rain for most of the time. Last year I saw lots of dolphins while this year I had a floating visit from a sea otter.
The cottage is well equipped with pretty well everything you could want. It's not smart and trendy but basic, secure and comfortable. It's 170 years old and therefore slightly tatty in one or two odd corners but it feels like home. A good selection of books and games in the lounge, as well as a large TV.




Wonderful location

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage provided good accommodation in a wonderful location. The viewing platform provided many hours of wildlife watching without being bit by midges ! Davie the manager was always helpful and staff at the Lighthouse and Visitor Centre knowledgable and friendly. Great place to stay for a week away from it all...



Another Great Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We must have stayed here over ten times now. The location is amazing and after 5pm you pretty much have the whole place to yourself. The views on a clear day are exceptional. The house has everything you need but you need to appreciate it is in a very old building so don't go expecting a 5* finish. Whenever we needed something the house manager was really helpful.



Fabulous location, cottage warm & clean, but some furniture and fittings could do with an upgrade

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Feb 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very nice stay and the cottage had everything we needed for a comfortable 5 day break. I think if there had been more of us staying (just 2 of us on this occasion) we would have struggled to be seated comfortably in the living room as one of the sofas was damaged.

Not all the storage heaters fixed to the wall work, but there were good substitutes in the form of oil filled radiators in the living room and smaller ones in the kitchen and bedroom, but one of those did not work. We were glad we had taken a small fan heater with us after reading previous reviews about the heaters. We didn't need to use it much, but it was a good standby. There was plenty of hot water.

The TV & wifi reception were good, and the lack of mobile reception at the cottage was not an issue for us, but worth bearing in mind. If you are arriving when it's dark, take a torch with you.





Christmas get away

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed my stay over Christmas. Keepers West lived up to everything i wanted, remote wild and wonderful area. The cottage was clean and warm with everything you would want from a self catering cottage.views outside where stunning and the local wildlife was everywhere, |Eagles, deer sea birds. Could do with a light outside the front door.



Fantastic place

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Sea on three sides light house outside your front door what more could you want. Views from inside are limited but just step out the door loads of sea life and birds a long single track road in but worth it every time. Small shop in the village 1/2 drive away or c



Return stay after 10 years away

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed twice before 10 years ago Spectacular location cosy hideaway cant fault Will be back sooner



Great Spot But...

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Keeper's West is in a fantastic location and Davey the manager is a lovely chap but honestly the condition of the cottage needs some work. In five rooms plus the hall only two night storage heaters worked. There were I think three electric oil filled radiators but again only one of those worked.

There is plaster peeling from the wall in the entrance hall (maybe to be expected in such a damp location?

In common with other houses in this very remote location the hot and cold water are peat brown but we came to no harm drinking boiled water.

In fairness, despite it being a windy and wet week in late September the cottage was not cold despite the lack of heating.

Another positive was Sea Eagles flying past the back of the house.

The lack of heating and brown water were worth the price for the location, but only just. We love the area but will probably look for a different home next time.




Great Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant break got to see the local wildlife and get away from the world for a few days.
The Isle of Mull is only a short ferry trip away if you want a day away.




Amazing location, great cottage, but needs some maintenance

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you like wild, remote, lonely places - but still want home comforts - then this is the place to go. The location is stunning, right on the edge of the world; but there is a cafe within a minute's walk so you're only as lonely as you want to be. The cottage has plenty of space for a small family and is well-equipped and thoughtfully decorated. It needs some maintenance as there are a few broken items, but the owners were very receptive to being informed of this and said that bookings had been so good during the year that they simply hadn't had an opportunity to do maintenance work yet. Nothing was serious or impaired our stay, and we had a wonderful holiday.



Wonderful venue

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The keepers cottage is a very nice cottage in an amazing venue. We spent much of our stay standing by the foghorn with binoculars in hand watching nature do it's stuff.....wonderful sunsets, sea and skies ever changing and wildlife galore. We saw dolphins, seals, and just missed seeing minke whales (telescope man told us later) Lots of lovely walks and glorious beaches with all sorts of birds and inquisitive deer en route. Was sorry the cottage didn't have a visitor book so people can share hints and tips of the locale but otherwise a great 3 day break



A missed opportunity.

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location is stunning but that sometimes isn't enough. The whole place, internally, is looking very dated and tired. The accommodation is in serious need of an internal spruce up. There are old storage heaters which do work, apart from the living room, that look dirty. The living room storage heater is broken and the property manager told me to use an electric oil filled radiator. This broke after a day due to the wheels coming off, ( I should of taken the hint) but to his credit it was replaced the same day. Some of the utensils and pots were a bit grubby and the water was / is brown. It's a little disconcerting when you use it for brushing teeth etc. However, we suffered no ill effects from it, neither did the dogs. Probably the most serious problem was when one of the dogs pushed back a kitchen plinth looking for a ball, there were mouse droppings underneath. I did see droppings later in the kitchen but I can't honestly say if they were old ones or new. There were no droppings inside the cupboards. One last thing, there are signs and warnings about picking up after your dog but the bloke who runs the place, caretaker etc lets his dogs run loose and dump anywhere they like.
As I said it could and should be so much better, because at the price that Steadings are charging, you expect a lot better.




Beautiful location.

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jul 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Fabulous location. Stunning sunsets. Peaceful. Beautiful wildlife.
Property itself could be doing with a little TLC, but this didn't detract from the wonderful break we had here.




Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Keeper's west on Ardnamurchan Point is such a quiet place that you'd better keep it a secret.........



A Holiday with a Difference

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Being interested in lighthouses, we have always known about Keepers West at Ardnamurchan Point. It has been on the cards for a visit for some years, and it certainly did not disappoint. The views from the lighthouse are simply outstanding with many of the Inner Hebrides clearly seen (part Mull, the Dutchman's Cap (Treshnish), Coll/Tiree, and the Small Isles (Rum, Canna, Muck and Eigg) and finally a magnificent vista of the Cuillins (Skye) in the distance . . . as well as the southern islands of the Outer Hebrides (Mingulay, Eriskay and South Uist. Just simply breathtaking and unique!! However, you cannot see this panorama from the windows of the house itself - just take a few steps outside the door to the lighthouse compound wall where all is revealed.

The road in is the norm for such a remote location - single track with passing places, a few blind summits, twisty/bendy almost all the way, . . . we did it without any problems. The final access to the lighthouse complex is by traffic lights. Must be the most westerly in use in mainland Britain, as it is 22 miles further west than Lands End. Not necessary all that remote. The ferry at Kilchoan connects up to Tobermory and makes an excellent day out for the family. We DON'T recommend the location as suitable for very young children - the nearest sandy beach would be at Sanna a few miles distant by car. If you have an interest in geology/volcanos then this is also for you.. . .

There is a tearoom, but you are advised to take your provisions with you. No restaurants - the nearest being Tobermory - and that by the ferry. Not exactly just down the road!!!! The nearest milk and rolls is at Kilchoan - a half-hour away by car It is a remote location!!

A great holiday experience never to be forgotten!





An away-from-it-all holiday in a unique location.

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The most westerly house on the British mainland, with views to die for (on a clear day). The property is fully equipped and functional rather than luxurious, as you'd expect in this remote location. You don't need to be a nervous driver as the road up from Kilchoan, the nearest settlement, is all second and third gear with blind summits as it winds its way to the lighthouse.
The lounge is well stocked with books and TV and there is a landline phone of which I, as a single traveller, was very glad. Barest hint of a mobile signal but wi-fi is provided. Very comfortable bed (I didn't try the bunk beds). With 15" thick granite walls a big Atlantic storm would have been good but I was out of luck - this was early June. Sunsets on most evenings were worth watching and I got some lovely photos. I guess if I'd had a week of grey Scottish drizzle this review would be a little different but it's a chance you take and I, at least, got away with it. I didn't find the dreaded midges a problem. There were a few about but they never materialised in swarms. Apparently they were a nightmare a few miles inland.




Ardnamurchan Lighthouse Keepers cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Fantastic location
Lighthouse Keepers cottage requires upgrade
Front room furniture very tired, room was cold, storage heater had a mind of it's own, we gave up on TV
Electrical socket in main bedroom and kitchen toaster was faulty and could be dangerous
Kitchen lacked things like place mats, seat cushions
Main door hinges and bolt locks were broken
Considering remote location we expected the standards to be a little better, a good example was the Lighthouse Keepers cottage at The Mull of Galloway




The Lighthouse

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The place is remote and beautiful wildlife is abundant people friendly and helpful down side place needs a little attention overall i would recommend the place to anybody wanting a remote and quite stay if you get the weather it will be stunning and outstanding



Lovely

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to stay, especially in the winter months if you want the place to yourselves. Cottage was warm, clean and comfortable. Great place for sunsets, dolphins, otters and eagles. Walks from the cottage, although a bit boggy. We loved it.



Feedback regarding Lighthouse keepers Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An absolutely stunning and unique location, but the property and surrounding area ( run by Highland Council and a trust as I understand it) sadly neglected.
Basic furnishings and cleanliness were good but pedal bin lid not staying closed, front bedroom window not opening ( and very damp/mouldy here so would have been useful, and fridge too small and freezer door broken. Also large area rising damp(?) just inside front door which needs urgent attention- stonework seems to be soft, paint off etc
The stepped walkway to foghorn and viewing area a real bonus but railings seriously in need to painting and as a result becoming dangerously corroded. If this area becomes closed to visitors it will make the whole experience of visiting the lighthouse area much less interesting.
Overall a hugely valuable asset for letting and major tourist site for Ardnamurchan, but needs more investment and maintenance which is really lacking.




Thank you once again for facilitating an excellent holiday.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are annual visitors to the area and have stayed in various Steading holiday properties over the years.
We plan to return year after year and look forward to having our relaxing breaks to re-charge our energy levels!




Location,location,location!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was a delightfully unusual location which was to say the least spectacular.Inside was warm and comfortable and because of its build also very quiet and as dog owners very practical.
We found the whole experience excellent but would think the location and area not suitable for everyone.The information provided prior to our arrival was ideal concise and informative as was the information in keepers west.

The location is so isolated you need to carefully plan your requirements if you forget an important item its along way to go including fuel,.a suggestion might be for a small freezer ?




Keepers West...

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
is so wonderful, you'd better keep it a secret.



Location, location, location

Review submitted on Mon, 18 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic location - on a clear day, of which there were several, we could see South Uist and Skye as well as the nearer islands of Eigg and Muck. Warm house, well equipped, spacious - all round excellent. Only downside, a long way to get anywhere else on the peninsular.



Keepers west cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at the keeps west for three nights,cottage has everything you would need and even Sky TV.
Location out of this world and loads to see including beaches for the kids




Cosy hideaway

Review submitted on Wed, 06 May 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice hideaway - special location, equipment / facility at lighthouse / in cottage serves all needs. Hopefully it will be opned up for booking again after renovation.



best location

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Dec 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Wonderful location and a breathtakingly beautiful journey to get there. Accommodation quite comfortable and well equipped and if all the beds were used it would be great value for money. I think the property is fighting a loosing battle against damp and two of the radiators were not working whilst I was there, meaning that I was not quite warm enough in late November.



Out of this world Ardnamurchan.

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Oct 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The location was out of this world, scenery, wildlife and views out over the sea amazing. It was incredibly restful being there, particularly as the weather was really good for most of my week. It was useful having the lighthouse visitors center not too far away. The cottage is in a wild and exposed position, but it felt pretty well insulated against bad weather (There was an overnight storm). The kitchen is well equiped, the bathroom has a good shower and lots of hot water. The sitting room has a great collection of books and games with lots of channels on the telly. There is a damp smell in the sitting room however and the storage heater there does not work. The electric radiator might not be enough in really cold weather. The only heater giving warmth when I arrived was in the bedroom, but once the others came into action the cottage was warm enough. And again the area round the lighthouse is very special with lovely walks and beaches.








Just what the doctor ordered

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted some time away 'off the grid' and Keeper's Cottage West was the perfect choice. My declaration that our mobiles would be turned off was irrelevant as we couldn't have had mobile reception if we wanted.

The peace and solitude first thing in the morning and last thing at night were exactly what we had hoped for.

We will definitely be back.




Bedding

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Aug 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It would make a huge difference to those staying at the cottage to have all linen provided .
So every bed made up and towels left for all on arrival.

Help when asked for re the unclean bedding [single duvets and pillows ] was sorted very quickly .

We enjoyed our stay and the staff in the information /café and those showing us around the light house were delightful, willing, helpful and informative.




Did not disappoint.

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at Keepers Cottage West was everything and more than I had hoped for my family's holiday. It was ideal for a toddler with safe surroundings, including a clean courtyard, maintained paths and a walled garden and even a wee shell beach to play on. Delicious fresh cakes and coffee in the nearby tearoom and the obvious views kept the adults happy! Many thanks Steading Holidays.



A really amazing place to stay.

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have been staying at Keepers Cottage West every year for the past 11 years. The accommodation provides good sized rooms and is well laid out with all the essentials. It is situated at the heart of a popular tourist attraction but we have never found the visitors a problem. Between 5pm and 10am we have the whole lighthouse estate to ourselves. We don't keep visiting because it is 5* accommodation, but because of its location. We watch sunsets from the rocks at the front of the lighthouse, collect shells on the beach, watch the waves crash and on wet days retreat to the Stables Café for tea and cake. The views to the Small Isles are stunning and on good days you can see Skye and even the Outer Hebrides. The Lighthouse is perfectly situated for visiting Sanna, Portuairk (the centre of the known universe), Bay MacNeil (the best beach in the world) and it is only 20 minutes to Kilchoan where there is a shop, hotel and tourist information. It is possible to go up the Lighthouse and see how it works and that magnificent view.

The road to get here is long and winding and not for the faint hearted but the rewards of peace and quiet and the best view in the UK are well worth it. The phone signal is very patchy and there is not much data signal but you can get both in the village.

We started visiting as a couple and it suited us but it has also suited us as we now stay with our young family (although I wouldn't let young children out around the lighthouse without supervision). Max the dog thinks it is an amazing place to stay with walks right outside the door. The house manager is really helpful if ever we have a problem and Steading Holidays provide an efficient service.

A really amazing place to stay.




Jacqui Chapple replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your lovely review.

Lighthouse tranquility

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Apr 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Knowing the area lead to us booking this spot , and how delighted we were. On arrival the house was warm and clean, though most of the time was spent outside ,mesmorised by the stunning views and scenery! Although basic,the accomadation is comfy and warm, well stocked kitchen,plenty of books to read,and buckets of hot water for the end of day soak!
A good veg bag was provided as an option,which was very fresh,and the next door house manager Davie was a mine of informatiion and help.
Being on one level was handy for older folk to get around,although a diet was needed to squeeze through the front door!!!!
We would certainly go back again. Thanks for a great stay.

James




spring in ardnamurchan

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Mar 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lighthouse keepers cottage with Bold decor in colours of my favourite west coast sunset and coastal waters . An atmospheric of times gone by.
spacious warm light functionally equipped. no big windows so don't expect views from inside but just step out side to breathtaking views of western isles
plenty walking and cycling from the lighthouse
Very close to lighthouse tower and plant room which are part of and visitor centre (150m ) with public access to lighthouse tower - sadly not open till Easter so we missed the tour - might be busy weekends but looks really interesting.

would definitely recommend




A Fabulous Escape From The World

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Nov 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect place to truly escape from it all. No mobile reception for the office to find you, no internet for, again, the office to find you, just the ideal place to relax, read a book, go for a walk or scramble around the rocks and beaches to explore or take photos of the fabulous landscape. If you'd like a little company, pop down to Kilchoan or over to Tobermory, or just hide away from the world (I mostly did this!)



Perfect Seclusion

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Nov 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you like your holidays remote, then Keepers West at the point of Ardnamurchan is unbeatable. The location is a combination of dramatic and beautiful. The views are stunning. Even the drive down the single track road was awe inspiring. The cottage itself was well maintained and very well equipped, with lots of nice homely touches. And the romance of staying by a working lighthouse was amazing



Clean and warm.

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Access is via single track roads with passing places, so the warning about the length of time required to get there is justified. Similarly forward planning about provisions is sensible, though the nearest shop (about 6 miles away) sold a range of items. Petrol/diesel was more expensive than nearer Glasgow. Although there had been an initial misunderstanding about our arrival time, the local manager and staff were quick to sort access out. The lighthouse keeper's house was clean, tidy, well equipped and warm. The Ardnamurchan Lighthouse Visitor Center sells sandwiches, cakes and hot and cold drinks as well as souvenirs. Wonderful views from the area across sandy bays and to several islands, though the views from inside were restricted by window size and orientation. Peaceful, though the wind-turbine tended to create a background noise. We had a very pleasant few days (into the second half of October) and would have liked to have spent longer there.



Keepers West

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to stay in a beautiful setting. There is so much to see and do whatever the weather-just go prepared with right clothing! Will go again!!



Lightkeepers cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2013
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Enjoyed the stay at the cottage atmosphere of surrroundings fantastic Have to accept old plumbing problems and water colour due to age of building otherwise ok