FB Twitter

Dondies

Dondies

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 47 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.3
Location
5.0
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.5


Dondie’s is a fresh, modern conversion of a Byre in the beautiful village of Portuairk.
An ideal retreat for couples, be awed by magnificent sunsets over the Small Isles from the comfort of your cosy living room, with multi-fuel stove.
Stroll down onto the shore to explore miles of sandy beaches and coastal trails, abundant with wild-life and beauty.

Ideal Wee Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My 4th visit to Dondies. Such a lovely little cottage in a perfect location. So peaceful and the views are gorgeous, changing several times per day depending on the weather. If you like quiet, gorgeous scenery and a lovely wee cottage then you'll love this place.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Good





Dondies is a cosy 'retreat' in the most idyllic setting - thank you for the perfect holiday!

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dondies is clean, compact and comfortable, within minutes walk of the beautiful, rugged coast and with truly magnificent views. I've loved Portuairk since we first went there, but this was our first trip to Dondies and we loved it so much that we booked next year's holiday to come back, even before we left to go home. Steading Holidays have been very helpful with our booking arrangements.

We were blessed with warm sunshine throughout the week (in late May) but I would have loved the holiday in any weather. The clear blue sky every day was perfect ... but I find wild and stormy weather just as much fun. It was too warm to use the wood burner but it would have made a winter break even more cosy.

Our young son accompanied us (he slept on the sofa which he found very comfortable) and swam in the sea several times a day ... with a wet suit as the water is just that bit chilly! He met up with old friends - children from another family who also come to Portuairk on the same week each year. My husband enjoyed some quiet reading, photography, rambling along the coast and watching the seals and other wildlife. My 'thing' was sitting on the patio, gazing at the islands, writing, drawing and drinking the occasional cappuccino (I brought the milk-frother with me but thank you for providing a cafetiere!)

This really was the perfect holiday for all of us. The ONLY problem was the departure - leaving such a beautiful place is hard. We all had heavy hearts and were very quiet in the car as we left, soaking up the last moments of breathtaking views as we drove through the Ardnamurchan peninsula. Still, it's now less than 345 days until we're back (not that I'm counting!!) : - )

Thank you again for letting us stay in this little bit of heaven on earth!


How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
I have already recommended Steading Holidays to all my friends at work and written down the website address for them. Likewise, we raved about you and Portuairk to son's headteacher's family - I understand they've now booked a holiday with you too.

How did you find the local facilities?
... few and far between ... but that's exactly how we like it! The nearest shop (about 20 minutes drive away) was well stocked and provided everything we needed. We visited the lighthouse, the abandoned settlement in the volcano crater and Sanna Bay. Apart from that, we came here deliberately to get away from the 'local facilities'!



Time Out!!

Review submitted on Fri, 25 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A peaceful interesting stay in a stunning location where wild landscape met changing seascape. Wonderful!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Many!

How did you find the local facilities?
Local local there were no really local facilities save a post box and phone and a very efficient Royal mail van. Just what we needed. The shop at Kilchoan was disappointing in stock though very pleasant to talk to - I understand that they are about to be have new 'owners'so maybe that explains it. The hotel was very accommodating for food. Good that there was petrol pump.





Peace perfect peace

Review submitted on Fri, 18 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A glorious location in a truly beautiful corner of Scotland. And a comfortable cottage.
Be warned that the road from the Corran ferry is slow (but spectacular and enjoyable) and seems to go on for ever. That's both good and bad. Good because the isolation of Ardnamurchan is a real plus. Bad because it reduces your daily options to the locality (but there's plenty to see and do), the ferry to Tobermory (lovely crossing, but not cheap) or a long drive (a day trip to Mallaig or Fort William - but why? - will involve 2+2=4 hours in the car).
The week was total pleasure, and a real rest.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Not really

How did you find the local facilities?
Few but sufficient



Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 04 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A little,lovely , well equipped house . Fantastic views . Just loved it all . Great walks from the front door . Can’t imagine a better place to spend a week . Have previously stayed next door in Mary’s House . They are places I will always return to . Both highly recommended.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Have already done so .

How did you find the local facilities?
Spar in Kilchoan handy . Community garden produce good . Always liked the community cafe in Kilchoan and this time popped over to Tobermory, very good Co-op.





Superb location

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Apr 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Loved our stay at Dondies & hope to return
Good for the dogs although a wee bit bigger garden would be a real improvement
That track down would be tricky with a low slung car

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Not just now

How did you find the local facilities?
Ok





Peaceful homely and comfortable

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived in the dark at Dondies but everything was ready for us and the cottage lovely and warm. The next morning dawned clear and sunny and let us appreciate the glorious view to the Small Isles and the beach at Sanna. We had a very comfortable and peaceful holiday. Great place to unwind.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
We knew not to expect shops or restaurants





Wonderful Bolthole

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cosy cottage with stupendous views; remoteness is a benefit but transport is essential. Peninsula is well worth exploring as well as trips to the Isles

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Great, very friendly with better facilities than expected





An Autumn Experience

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After a long and exciting drive onto the peninsula we easily found the property and settled in. A 'byre' conversion, Dondies is well-found, comfy and ideal for a couple. We thoroughly enjoyed our week and Dondies provided us with our focus foe the week's excursions and a welcoming place to return. The view from the patio is beautiful!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Not at the moment

How did you find the local facilities?
The hotel 2k from the chalet had closed last year (that info was not provided) but the Kilchoan Hotel was wonderful!





BEAUTIFUL SPOT

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beautiful spot, but be prepared to DRIVE a very long, winding road type of drive. I don't recommend it for a short stay like ours (2 nights). We were so tired and anxious to get there, that we failed to stop and get any food, and there is truly nothing around to purchase. We had no plans to cook while there, but we should have had a few snacks. We had lunch and dinner the following day at the Kilchoan Hotel, the ONLY place we could find to purchase anything. Dinner was served in a fish/chips box. I don't know if that is daily or only on the evening we were there.

We attempted to place an order for Indian food, but being that there wasn't any cell service, we were unable to contact them. We sent them an email, and heard from them the following evening.

The cottage is lovely. We could have used a throw blanket for sitting on the sofa because it was cold, and we could not figure out the heating system. We did light the fireplace two or three times, but it didn't last long. Possibly some specific instructions could be included for dummies like us on how to use the heaters.

Another little suggestion is to include some bath gel or soap. Also, wash cloths to bathe.

Our first evening was rainy, cold and very windy, but the next day was beautiful. I enjoyed walking around the beaches and taking photos. I also talked to a couple of neighbors, so that was cool. A friendly man with a black and white dog
said that we could have used his phone. Another holiday neighbor said they would have shared their food with us. : )

I recommend this spot for a week stay.



How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No.

How did you find the local facilities?
Googled Light House accommodations.



Relaxing Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a relaxing week at Dondies with my 2 dog's. Lovely views to the Islands and Sanna bay even in not so good weather. Spending time on Sanna bay with the dogs was just what was needed. A view upgrades to some of the equipment would make the cottage excellent. Having said that I've already booked for next year.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes

How did you find the local facilities?
Kilchoan shop was convenient





Want a quiet location with fantastic views?

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The stay was bigger than expected, all you realy need.very clean and comfortable.
Best bring along some provisions with you as like us we found the post office shut when we went there.
The post office has everything you need at a good price.
Try out sanna Spice one evening.
Bring some good binoculars as there's plenty to see in the bay.
Regarding a phone signal,we found out that we could phone our daughter down by the small fire station.



How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Maybe

How did you find the local facilities?
Post office fine





frequent flier

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As a regular to Ardnamurchan enjoyed another great adventure albeit the weather was pretty wet second week. That said this is why we take rain jackets and shorts on every visit. The cottage was nice only additions needed would be on arrival some starter hand soap, larger bowls for crockery in kitchen and ice cube tray in freezer for a cheeky gin
Be great if the sonachan hotel gets going again as a walking alternative for folks in portuirk - could the community not collaborate and take it over as a social enterprise ..?
Fab place - whatever the weather..

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Already have

How did you find the local facilities?
Variable - but ferry service fees really good value



A delightful stay on the Ardnamurchan peninsula

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
In terms of the location, Dondies House is perfect for those wanting to get away from everything. It's easily accessible and provides all that you need for a comfortable stay. There is a short cut through the valley to the beach. You can sit on the terrace and have a view of the whole bay and the islands. I would say that the accommodation is basic i.e. it provides for your needs. We travelled from Somerset and so it was two days travelling to get there. In light of this, I would have liked more of a welcome to the house/place. Perhaps a tray laid out with cups and some teabags and a pint of milk in the fridge with a personal welcome note. As it was, the notices in the cottage are out of date e.g.they talk about meter reading for electricity and very much stress what you must not do and what to do when you break or damage stuff. This is something that can be easily implemented and what I have experienced elsewhere and it does really make a difference.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Not at this time - I will do it myself

How did you find the local facilities?
The local shop in Kilchoan was a bit disappointing considering that it was the only shop in a big area. Thankfully, there was the organic community farm shop that sold lovely fresh vegetables.



dondies holiday let

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The view from this holiday cottage is amazingly beautiful. The cottage is a little dated but clean and warm.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
OK





Dondies

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The garden is enclosed in terms of being surrounded by a fence but it is not enclosed in terms of keeping a small pet in or local dogs out. Could we suggest adding some simple wire fencing to the bottom part of the wooden fencing. This woild solve this problem. If the owner is unwilling to do this then we would strongly suggest that this be made clear to those wishing to bring pets.

We suggest that it might be worth mentioning that there is very little room at the sides of the double bed. This was not a problem for us but if someone was large or had physical/mobility porblems, it could be very difficult.

With these two caveats, this was a lovely little cottage which was very clean and comfortable, in a great location and with spectacular views. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would be happy both to come back and recommend it!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Limited, but what we expected. A shame the hotel has closed and siggest you amend this in your description of the property.



Our Excellent Stay at Dondies in Portuairk

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have now stayed at Dondies three times. It is an excellent and comfortable base for walking and exploring the local area. The wild life is unbelievably good. One morning this year there were 18 seals basking on the rocks on the beach. Visiting the seals and watching them every morning and evening was a real highlight of the holiday. We love the place and can't imagine not visiting every year!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Can't think of any at the moment - we have already told all our friends!

How did you find the local facilities?
We know them well having visited the area every year since 1995. Sorry to see the demise of the Sonachan Hotel.





Return visit to Dondies.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very much enjoyed being here again .Great wee cottage in a spectacular location . Everything about this holiday suits us very well , which is why we return whenever we can .

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No ! At a risk of finding ourselves blocked out !

How did you find the local facilities?
Adequate.





A week in paradise

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for getting away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Lovely house with amazing views.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Lots

How did you find the local facilities?
Very sparse but that was one of the attractions





Stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very smart little cottage. Warm and comfortable. Stunning view over small patio to shore and Small Isles beyond. Complete peace and quiet. Don't be put off by approach track!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Have mentioned Steading Holidays to those who may be interested

How did you find the local facilities?
Minimal local facilities, which is part of the attraction





A Super Week!

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I had a very relaxing week staying in Dondies Cottage. The view from the back door looking over Portuairk and then across Sanna Bay to the Small Isles and the Skye Cuillins in the far distance was stunning.
Dondies was ideal for both myself and Ellie, my Springer Spaniel, with the beach at Portuairk a short walk away, so there was no need to use the car if I did not want to.
There are sheep all around the cottage so bear that in mind if you are a fellow dog owner.
I found plenty to do exploring Adrnamurcan itself, enjoying especially the walk through the forest at Ariundle NNR and up into the hills above. The Autumn colour in the sunshine I was lucky to enjoy, was certainly something special.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
The village store was sufficiently stocked in order to keep me well fed and my car fueled up. What more could you need? There is a Co-Op in Tobermory if you really feel the need to visit a larger store.



Dondies

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Dondies the house is very comfortable and clean and the wood burner is very welcome on the evening. Fantastic views from the house .

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
We had a great curry twice with the new take away. We found the shop at kilchoan a bit limited. But the local garage was great when our car broke down .





A wonderful place

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
2nd time we'd stayed at dondies, the area is amazing and although dondies is a little basic it provides everything you might need for your stay, and we even had wifi this time!
Sanna spice is worth trying an they'll deliver although the only place you get phone signal is 5 miles away so be prepared!!
All in all a great trip

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
[email protected]

How did you find the local facilities?
Basic and sparse so plan ahead





Relaxing Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Long drive on single track road from Corran Ferry but once there a very relaxing stay. Cottage cosy and warm with spectacular views. No phone signal but wifi worked perfectly.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes

How did you find the local facilities?
Very well equipped





Very comfortable with a few omissions

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Dondies has a wonderful situation and is very comfortable. The 'white goods' are excellent. However, we missed several domestic items - there is no tray, insufficient cutlery and, especially, crockery,one saucepan lid was missing and the oven glove had not been washed.There were no really sharp kitchen knives. There are no bookshelves and the night storage radiator in the lounge was inflexible during changeable weather. The bed was very comfortable, and the King-size was much appreciated, but the fitted bottom sheet was just for a double bed and jumped off!
Information on the web, in e-mail correspondence and in the house was inconsistent in a few places, notably provision of bed-linen and towels and the Wi-Fi code - out-of-date information had not been removed.
We would recommend Dondies to others, but trust that the above problems will be noted. Pine Martens like the fruit and suet pellets that we brought for the birds, and one duly appeared on our last evening.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Average

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
We will do that verbally

How did you find the local facilities?
We know them well, so were prepared for limited stock in the Ferry Stores. We enjoy shopping at the Co-op in Tobermory! The tourist information in the Community Centre is very good.



Review of holiday at Dondies Ardnamurchan Point

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Probably our best holiday ever in the UK helped by good weather with no rain. The bungalow was very comfortable with all amenities but most of important of all, it looked down onto the bay with the islands of Muck, Eigg and Rhum in the mid distance. We were well prepared to have purchased petrol and food before arriving, but the nearest shop (about 20 minutes drive away) was well provisioned for a week's stay. 2 hotels (around 20-30 minutes drive) had a good selection of meals.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Not really

How did you find the local facilities?
Well you do need to have a car in Ardnamurchan as the only shop and 2 hotel restaurants are a 20-30 minute drive, but shop and hotel were good.





Fantastic place to stay...

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Dondies for our honeymoon. We can honestly say it had all we wanted. The layout of the accommodation was great, it has all we needed and the view was superb. We spent a lot of time on the patio watching the changing skies. We recommend eating at Kilchoan Hotel; the food is very good. A trip to Mull is a must too and if you have bikes, all the better as cycling around Ardnamurchan is a delight. It has given us a taste of exploring the isles now so we will be back to explore Rum, Muck and the rest of them. Hopefully, we will return to Dondies again.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
[email protected]

How did you find the local facilities?
The Ferry Stores in Kilchoan had most, sorry, all things. Food at Kilchoan Hotel was very good.



One of the best views in Scotland!

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jun 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Dandies is just about big enough for a couple, which is fine. It has a great location but the fixtures fittings etc are getting very tired and it could do with a major re-equip and refurbishment. There is also an air of everything being cheap, that is bought because it was the cheapest option! The track down to Dondies and another 2 holiday homes is somewhat exciting, do not try it in a low slung sports car!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
limited, but sufficient!





Return Visit to Dondies

Review submitted on Fri, 27 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house is a bit like a Tardis; looks small on the outside but is a cosy and well equipped holiday home with lovely decor. The best part is the fantastic views of the islands. When we stayed we had some great weather and calm seas. We watched a minke whale through binoculars make its way through the water along with seals and porpoises. The sunsets and the stars are a sight to sea. Wonderful base for a walking holiday. Will definitely be back again.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Had holidays in Ardnamurchan for many years now. Local shop, ferry for trips to Mull, local hotels and community centre provide everything you need.





Had a wonderful time in a wonderful place.

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Return customers . As we are aware ,this is a comfortable wee cottage in a WOW situation. Our weather was fantastic and we loved being there again . The wood stove makes for cosy evenings . Sorry to have to leave , but we just moved next door.
What's not to like ?
Perceive a pitfall in recommending it too highly as we then might have to struggle for a slot !!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
For above mentioned reason, not really !

How did you find the local facilities?
Stretched . Don't stock enough fresh bread to keep up with demand . Not very friendly. Realise that this is a serious service for the local community ( the shop ) , Kilchoan Hotel much improved .





Our Excellent Stay at Dondies in Portuairk

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in March 2016. We visit the area every Easter and stay with Steading Holidays because they are always excellently organised and the properties are always excellently maintained. Dondies was absolutely ideal for two people. The situation with the stunning views over the beach, the bay and the islands is exceptional. It is a good base for walking or for using the car being within easy range of the lighthouse, Kilchoan, Mull, etc. Can't fault it! The wildlife is fantastic with views of the seals, the deer and the eagles all on a regular basis.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Can't think of any at the moment - we have already told all our friends!

How did you find the local facilities?
Excellent - although sad to see the demise of The Sonachan Hotel which is shut more than it is open and rarely seems to serve food these days. The welcome could be described as somewhere between cold and indifferent!



'Just what we needed.'

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having had a hectic time over Christmas this break was just what we needed.

Location was ideal and we had everything we needed in the cottage. Even the problem of a power cut for 16 hours did not spoil our holiday as we went down to Steadings and enjoyed porridge and a pot of tea...

Would definitely recommend and would love to return in the future.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away





Pure and simple.

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The views from this cottage are absolutely beautiful and it's very well cared for. Wifi & more space on both sides of the bed would enhance it further.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes

How did you find the local facilities?
The shop at Kilchoan had everything we needed, and we especially loved the signed places along the road where we bought vegetables and eggs.





Lovely view

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our holiday, but family stayed in other properties in immediate area, and I much preferred their properties. Steadings were brilliant, and we booked late, so this was the only property available. It was ok, but very basic for the price. Other properties, a lot warmer, more homely with more facilities, other properties were good value for money too. The advertised wifi didn't work, this was a big issue for me as need to be in touch with work.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
I have recommended Steadings to all my friends... I thought they were brilliant

How did you find the local facilities?
We went to get away from everything... And that's exactly what you can do here.





Perfect relaxation

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second trip to Dondies. This is the most perfect location. Lots of wonderful views and walking. Good sightings of Golden Eagles. Although weather not great it did not stop us having a great time.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
A little drive and you can get everything





Peaceful remote west highland cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 31 May 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very much enjoyed our stay,lovely remote location(we became used to the single track road out to KIlchoan most days!)
Did not appreciate the extremely rough and potholed approach track with awkward sharp bend at the end. Visitors with long vehicles might not be happy about this.
Bathroom mirror inadequate and poorly placed
Stove lighting instructions should be next to fire, not in kitchen! We had problems with excess smoking when lit.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
adequate, bearing in mind remote location-but we were glad to have brought most food with us, not always convenient to visit nearest shop in the day time-and advisable to fill up with fuel before leaving Fort William





Return to Dondies

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at Dondies, the first time in 2001 and the magic is still there.
Accommodation, fixtures and fittings are spot on and I couldn't fault anything.
I met the owner during my stay and learned about Portuairk, its history and life on Ardnamurchan.
Steadings office staff are wonderful people, knowledgeable and very helpful ... Thank you.
I will return to the magic, very soon.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
sister

How did you find the local facilities?
Previous customer





Great cottage in super location

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Mar 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely well equipped cosy cottage. Wonderful views of the bay. Excellent base for walks of which there are plenty. Great for seeing wildlife ie Dolphins , Pine Martin and Eagles.
Would come again

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Kilchoan hotel excellent food and hospitality Ferry stores has everything you could need





Lovely Cottage, Amazing Location

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jan 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dondies Cottage was perfect for our stay over New Year. The location is absolutely amazing in any weather and we were transfixed at the view throughout the day!
The cottage has everything you need for a week's stay and the woodburner made it even more cosier. I had a slight problem with the bed (it being too hard for me) however Steadings Holiday quickly resolved this.
The area is beautiful, quiet and I'd recommend this to anyone who wants to get away from it all.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes

How did you find the local facilities?
The local shop was very useful.





Jacqui Chapple replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your feed back, the mattress is being replaced for this season.

The view is worth all the effort.

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Oct 2014
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Dondies is compact, but more than adequate space for two people.
It was clean and well equipped.
The driveway up to the property needs attention and the last turn in down a very tight curve and steep slope can be quite hairy.
But as stated above everything pales into insignificance once you see the view from the back patio door.
All in all, well recommended.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Average

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No, because it is a bit specialist to our type of holiday.

How did you find the local facilities?
Very very few indeed, but then that is what you would expect on the most westerly peninsula on mainland Britain. Seclusion and unspoilt landscape come at a price.





dondies -nice view - take a seat !

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Jul 2014
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Excellent location and views and the local owners of the company are very approachable as is the owner. Depending on the time of year can feel remote with good wildlife.

The cottage itself gets mixed review The accomodation was basic with limited blunt cuttlery and tired kitchen utensils pot lids loose etc- but does this add to the character/ bothy feel of the cottage - and if so - should we not also have bothy prices ..? Value for money needs thought as we can't keep trading on the view alone -

Getting here can involve a few ferries which have to be added on to the accomodation fee... it all adds up and despite the fab views I think the owner needs to give something back to upgrading the interior:
-The binoculars could be repaced to a working set
- dining room chairs in the living area require fixing/replacing - the seat of one was not attached and kept falling off.
-The mattress and bedding should also be refreshed (we brought our own including a matress topper and it was all necessary for comfort.)
- the cutlery requires renewal to ensure it fit for purpose (and having some that matched might be a nice touch) ;-)

Given the likely annual income from these lets these basic upgrades are not unreasanable requests..
Scotland is a big place.. so competition is out there....




How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
already have but with proviso that its pretty basic

How did you find the local facilities?
web.



Steading Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, the chair has now been sorted and the owner is going to look at and sort out the other issues.

Review of Dondies

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jun 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall the fabulous view from Dondie's more than makes up for any small inadequacies in the accommodation:

1. Dining room: One of the dining chair seats is loose, and if it is not centrally positioned you could fall through.
2. Bedroom: a) Not much room to get in/out of bed on the side away from the window.
b) There is no reading light on side away from the window. The light on window side does is not bright enough, especially for the person on the other side. Perhaps a wall mounted light (centrally placed above the bed with spotlights) would be more efficient.
c) The bedroom curtain does not keep the light out. Perhaps an additional roller blind fitted against the window would help screen out the light in mid summer.
3. We found some of the electrical things a bit difficult to fathom, but we had mastered everything by the end of the week.
4. The path down from the road could do with some attention. If not careful you could damage your car.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
We will do that ourselves

How did you find the local facilities?
Sonachan Hotel - fine for us. Kilochoan Hotel - felt a bit sorry for the new management trying to run the hotel while work was in progress. Glad we remembered to take our supplies with us, as it is a long way to the local shop!



Steading Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, the chair has now been replaced, and the owner is looking & sorting the other issues.

World class location , and repeat visitors to this area because of this .

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Some minor issues on arrival , but quickly and satisfactorily dealt with by Steadings staff from office .

Fortunate to have excellent weather throughout our week .

Appreciated stove in the evenings.




Dondies is a wee gem in a stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Nov 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you're looking for a proper remote getaway it's possible to find solitude and comfort in this cosy wee cottage. As an artist I like to get away in the winter to be amongst rugged landscape and the wildness of the elements. Ardnamurchan peninsula provides all of that for me. It's worth the drive to get there. Every part of it is enjoyable for me. If you enjoy simplicity, nature, bird watching and getting cosy in the evening in front of a fire, then I highly recommend staying in Dondies or one of the other cottages in Portuairk. It's the second time i've rented a cottage through Steadings and i've found the staff to be helpful and easy to communicate with.



Location location location!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent another 7 days on my own here for a week of serious walking. It was perfect for me. It might be a bit basic for those who want every modern convenience and a mobile phone signal, but that's fine by me. With a multi fuel stove that warms the cottage in 5 minutes flat and a decent hot shower it was ideal for warming the bones after a day out in gales, hail and thunder broken by stunning crystal clear sunshine and rainbows galore. The location and view from the cottage is outstanding and varies by the minute with subtle changes to the light and cloud cover. I have spent many breaks in West Ardnamurchan and would happily live in this part of the world if things were different. But should I recommend it? Errrr.... no.... I'm not spoiling the secret!



Dondie's House a lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great holiday base for 2 people. We stayed in summer 2013 and loved the house, the views and the walks in the area. House well equipped and comfortable.



Fantastic Little Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Dondies is a comfortable, well equipped cottage with spectacular views overlooking the bay to the islands beyond.
It provided the ideal location for a quiet relaxing holiday. Looking out at the stunning view from the patio doors or the patio was like being in heaven !! If the owner could provide a reliable wi-fi connection in the cottage it would receive a rating of Excellent Plus !!! Thank you for a most enjoyable stay and I will certainly be back.