FB Twitter

Ardvaig

Ardvaig

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 41 reviews
85% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.8
Comfort
4.2
Condition
3.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.4


Located at the far end of the crofting village of Kilchoan, Ardvaig has a colourful garden and a large, spacious living room which enjoys the best of the day’s sunshine and stunning sea views of the Sound of Mull and Kilchoan Bay.
It is a short stroll to the Ferry Stores and with a longer walk to the Kilchoan Hotel, Kilchoan Community Centre and Playpark.
There are regular ferry sailings over to Tobermory on the Isle of Mull from Kilchoan.

Super position

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent stay at this property, end of season so needed a good deep clean but apart from this all good. Superb range of utensils and large rooms. Bathroom would be better with addition of shower.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
They already know

How did you find the local facilities?
Good





Good cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very good location with good view of sound of Mull.Comfortable cottage. Parking a bit tight if you have a large car. Would stay again

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

How did you find the local facilities?
Good

We would love to hear your stories about your holiday. Are you happy to give us photos and text that we can share on our blog and social media? If yes, please send your text and photos to [email protected] or put them directly on to our Steading Holiday face book, instragram and or twitter
Yes





What a view!

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The bungalow was bigger than we expected and very well equipped. The view from the lounge and front bedrooms was fabulous!
We would have liked WiFi connection but at least the 4G phone signal was enough to post to social media to boast about the beautiful place we were staying!
Cleanliness has just got an OK because of the giant spiderwebs hanging from the utility room ceiling. Bathrooms and kitchen were spotless!
Lots to do in the area . We wished we had booked for 2 weeks!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
We already have recommended you to our neighbours!

How did you find the local facilities?
Lovely fish and chips at hotel, and delicious cake of the day at steading holidays shop!





Third stay in Ardvaig

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always a pleasure to stay in Ardvaig. Location is perhaps the best in the area with local places a walk away and the views perfect. The picture window makes evening relaxation a joy and the bedroom curtains are never closed at night so as to see the boat, ship and lighthouse lights.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Recommended to anyone who needs a get-away with quietness and a world of natural wonders around.

How did you find the local facilities?
The local shop is working well with the dedication of the local staff.





Wonderful Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent well equipped cottage with amazing views. The weather was too hot to travel far in the car with our dogs but it didn't matter as walks, views from the lovely garden and the local hotel for eating out were all on the doorstep. Little Jetty 5 minutes walk away with plenty of wildlife and the dogs could swim to keep cool. Very friendly locals. Would love to visit again one day.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes, the ones who like a quiet remote getaway

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good considering the location





Relaxing week in Scotland

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very relaxing week with stunning scenery from every window!
A long way to get there but well worth it.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Very few but we expected that as we chose a remote area





Wonderful week's holiday in lovely location

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Went as a family and Ardvaig was perfect for two couples. Very spacious property, comfortable and well equipped. Wonderful view and a lovely garden.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Not at present

How did you find the local facilities?
As expected in a remote location. Good little shop.





best accommodation ever stayed in

Review submitted on Sat, 26 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual we had a superb stay at Ardvaig everything was ideal and really we can only say again that everything was superb and we look forward to another visit later in the year.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
We always recommend you to our friends.

How did you find the local facilities?
very good





lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is really lovely. The view from the living room and bedroom are fantastic. For that reason alone it was a great holiday, very relaxing indeed.
The cottage is spacious and the beds were very comfortable.
We also used the garden and the bench in front of the house.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Anybody who loves nature and wants to get away from a busy life

How did you find the local facilities?
Very basic but that is what we expected from this area.





Long weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning views over the water the house although dated was spotless and is a great size with everything you need for your break good spacious rooms separate dining room and utility room fairly new white goods ,flat screen tv, CD player and DVD would certainly use steading homes again

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Will recommend to my close family

How did you find the local facilities?
Fine very friendly locals





Home from Home

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Splendid bungalow, peaceful, comfortable and well equipped, splendid setting and views. Excellent spot for walks, wildlife (no cetaceans unfortunately) and trips to Mull. Local shop excellent.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Not at present

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good, though internet and Wi-Fi a bit of a problem





dirty house,

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
2.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The kitchen appliances were all unclean. On the last morning we stripped the bedding, to find all bedding filthy and stained.
The garden was advertised as dog friendly,the front and back garden were completely overgrown.
When we went to the office on the Monday morning to see if we could get things improved, the first we were offered right away was compensation.
In fact in the twelve years we have being doing holiday cottages this is the first one that has not had a visitors book, and has been the worst property we ever have had.
My wife and I are of the opinion that this property is so bad, it should be taken off the holiday lets as soon as possible until vast improvements are made (deep clean) new beds, new carpets.



How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Poor

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
poor



Steading Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mr Marron, We are saddened to hear that this was 'the worst property' you have ever had. We can only apologise for the appliances being unclean. Our housekeeper does their best in the short time to get the house ready for the next guests, and unfortunately on this occasion was not up to your standards. At the time of complaint Steading Holidays came out to rectify these. With regards to the carpets needing improvements, the hall dining room, kitchen, bathroom & front porch have all recently been replaced so we are unsure as to how we can improve any further. The whole door figment is new. The beds have mattress, duvet and pillow protectors on them which are changed at regular intervals and when noticeably dirty. The only room which we have not decorated recently is the back bedroom which will be being decorated and a new carpet fitted in the winter months.

Stunning views

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cosy cottage with everything you need, good garden and location on a quiet lane. Great for launching a boat. Use the veg delivery service they offer, fantastic veg and supports community

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Boating

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
X

How did you find the local facilities?
Basic but we knew that





One week in July

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second stay in Ardvaig and we slipped immediately back into holiday mode. There is so much space and storage is copious. The kitchen well equipped with duplicates of many items. On leaving, we were checking the cupboards for our items and realised there was a whole run of units we had not looked into - they were full of a multitude of cooking implements and pans. The views from the front windows are some of the best in the bay and only a short walk from the shop and shore. We have yet to explore all the garden as it is large, well stocked and divided into interesting levels and 'rooms'. Having an open fire of driftwood was always a comforting end to our active days, even in July.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
All

How did you find the local facilities?
Adequate and trying hard to improve.



Ardvaig

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located in one of the most beautiful parts of Ardnamurchan. The lounge of this property is truly 'a room with a view' plus an exceptional garden which attracts a rich variety of birdlife.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Pub warm and friendly but local shop/stores much in need of refurbishment.





lovely!

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
what a fantastic place to stay! one of the best views ive ever woken up to...we loved the walking and the total back to nature vibes and will definitely recommend it to others. john and jacqui are fantastic hosts and everyone was very helpful!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
will pass on details yes

How did you find the local facilities?
great!





Great location Amazing views.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third time staying at Ardvaig, a warm spacious and comfortable house with everything required for a fabulous break. The views are amazing and the surrounding area fantastic for walking, relaxing and generally taking time to enjoy life in the slow lane.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes

How did you find the local facilities?
Excellent





ardvaig review

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As always our stay at Ardvaig was excellent very comfortable cottage with all the home comforts, fantastic view from the lounge ,everything you needed was available in the cottage. No complaints at all.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
We recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to lots of friends.

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good.





short break

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Nov 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A short break with a group of 5. Excellent location, plenty of room, very good to have utility room, and ensuite.
Fabulous views.
Would have been nice to have had enough supplies for the fire for the period booked, as minimal supplies left, and shop closed early on Saturday and closed on Sunday and only sold 25kg bags of coal.
Would book again as regulars to Ardnamurchan.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
na

How did you find the local facilities?
Local facilities are basic, shop stocks most thing and sells fuel. It's easy to get to Tobermory if you need anything from co-op/pharmacy, and ferry runs frequently. Good local pub, locally grown fruit/veg boxes available, Community centre has tourist information if needed. Excellent beaches, and walks, good hilly cycling.





ardvaig

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ardcv


Ardvaig was first class everything was excellent, the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. The only thing I would say is it would be helpful for older people could get a bag of coal and logs when they arrive and make a small charge eg 10 pounds.We are looking forward to another visit to your lovely cottage. I would like to thank everyone for their help .












How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
I will certainly be telling friends about your lovely cottage.

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good.





A peaceful break in a beautiful and fascinating area

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Truly wonderful week exploring the Ardnamurchan peninsula by bike and on foot. Learned a lot about the unusual geology, the history of the people who lived there and what life is like today in such a remote location. Can recommend the guided tour with Liz at the Glenborrowdale RSPB reserve - she is a mine of fascinating information about the flora and fauna and inspired us to learn more about our environment. Ardvaig is a comfortable,'home from home' holiday let with amazing views from our bed!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes

How did you find the local facilities?
Local store seemed to sell just about most things one could possibly need on a holiday - one of everything so no choice but made for a simpler way of life which we enjoyed! Hotel and shop staff friendly and welcoming.





The window does it all

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a great time here. It is not a modern home in terms of decor but it has everything you would want... Tv, dvd player, sound system, sockets galore, great shower, also a bath... Kitchen well equipped (could do with organising a bit better). And pantry and scullery were so useful to keep the place clean and tidy. There was even logs to have a fire, on top of a CH system, on thee times a day. Huge freezer and fridge... Nothing lacking. Thank you so much xx

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
It was great you could get us some fresh fish, thank you.





House very comfortable but poor cleanliness

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is very spacious and comfortable, the location is excellent. But there were two negative aspects: The cleanliness was poor especially of the kitchen and the dishes. The central heating didn´t operate correctly. she got off at 6.00 p.m. instead of 10.00 p.m. so that clothes and the bathrooms could not dry as necessary. It was a major technical problem, so it could not be repaired during our stay. It was not possible to contact the house manager. Fortunately the team of Steading´s was very friendly and helpful.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
yes

How did you find the local facilities?
The local facilities are sufficient regarding the remote area. But it would be desirable that the store would be managed with more carefulness in order to offer a more constant assortment.



Happy and relaxed stay

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed Ardvaig and found just about everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Even things we didn't expect, such as flour, sugar, herbs and pasta in the cupboard, probably kindly left by previous holidaymakers, so we left something ourselves to continue the tradition. There was even boot-cleaning stuff in the utility room which was much-appreciated! The open fire drew well and didn't smoke and we collected driftwood from the beach for wonderful fires in the evening. Lots of space to spread out and lovely comfy beds, which are so important on an active holiday. We would certainly return.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Fishing

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
no

How did you find the local facilities?
Ferry Stores is fairly well-stocked with groceries (but fruit and veg is often tired and past its best) and houses a post office which is useful for getting cash. Recommend the Community Centre in Pier Road for local info leaflets, a warm welcome and excellent homemade soup. Afternoon tea on Wednesdays at the church was good after a long walk.



Large house in stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed in many houses in Ardnamurchan this one had one of the best views. No matter what the weather it was easy to lose an hour just looking out that magnificent picture window in the lounge.

The house is well equipped with a good washing machine, tumble dryer, fridge, freezer and a well resourced kitchen. Two bathrooms were really handy although the main bathroom has no shower attachment on the bath which was a small inconvenience.

Bedrooms were airy and comfortable. The garden is a real feature of the property as it is large and has more amazing views.

Location wise excellent two. Ten minute walk to shop (if you have a two year old!) and a short car journey from the lighthouse, Sanna, Bay MacNeil, ferry etc... Has the feeling of being remote whilst being close to others and services.

A great large house.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Understood the problems at the shop but we always come prepared. New cheaper ferry great but worry about how busy it now is. Community centre good as always.



lovely location beautiful views pkenty wildlife to see, but poor cleanliness of Accomadation.

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2016
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beautiful location with beautiful views. But
Cleanliness ( steading holidays cleaned the Accomadation) and over all dated and over priced let the holiday home down. Will not be booking with them again unfair on the owners.
Leaking down pipe at front door means you get soaking as you enter. That's after getting passed the over growing garden by front gate. Chesterfield had bird poo on it, standing lamp was stained, rubbish and sock under bunk bed, living room curtains stained. Kitchen needed a deep clean and the carpets needed steam cleaned. Cain furniture not suitable for sitting on for a living room. Managed to write name in dust on tv unit. Very bad smell of damp/mould on entering but this left on opening Windows. Apart from the back bedroom it stayed.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Average

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
would not recommend steading holidays. 4 times we have booked and the cleanliness lets it down and the dated furniture and decor

How did you find the local facilities?
Local facitithe's as always fine



Steading Holiday Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your email. As letting agents it's crucial that we hear what's good and bad about the houses. We carry out thorough checks of each house before and after the busy season. However, each house is owned independently therefore the day-to-day running of the houses, including repairs, replacements, upkeep, housekeeping and cleaning is the responsibility of the owner who in turn employs a manager, housekeeper, gardener, etc. We therefore rely on the owners ensuring everything in the house meets the high standard we and our clients expect. When there are issues with the house including cleanliness issues, it's important that we are informed so that we can contact the relevant owner straight away in order for them to address the issues. Repeated issues at any house are not tolerated and would lead to the house being removed from our site and not let by Steading Holiday Cottages. We are sorry to hear that you've experienced issues. That is simply not acceptable. Now that we are aware of these issues, we are addressing them with the owner to ensure that they are not repeated and, as you are aware, have contacted you regarding compensation.

Away from it all

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jul 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location with stunning view from the large picture window. Good meals at Kilchoan Hotel and at Sonachan Hotel. A great place for nature lovers, and with good beaches not too far away. Also dog friendly - allowed in the hotels, and no restrictions (unless sheep/cattle present) about letting them loose on the beaches.








How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
None

How did you find the local facilities?
Adequate considering being such a small community





Ardvaig May 2016

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Jun 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Still advertised with two comfortable chesterfield settees. Now only one. Cane furniture which replaces the other is no good for the back - cushions unstable. Please bring back the other chesterfield! (And update the photo of the lounge).
We love this house but thus spoils it for us.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
Yes, have done so.

How did you find the local facilities?
Ferry Stores very good.





Steading Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Ardvaig. We take your comments on board and would like too apologise that you were unsatisfied with the new furniture in the lounge. The Chesterfield that was previously in the property was removed as it was unfortunately needing replaced, although one still remains. We have updated the description of the property. We hope this does not put you off booking with us again.

Comfort and fantastic views.

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property benefits from having been a lived-in home, having more equipment than most s/c cottages.

The view is by far the biggest selling point. The current pic does a good job
but the house blocks the view when there are two better sitting out points.
Might I suggest
a) a picture from inside the window
b) or from the front outside bench (VERY sheltered)
c) or from the bench on the east side
- providing the undergrowth to the south east is topped slightly.

It would be helpful to have some notes on mastering the TV.

We would like to book provisionally for next year around the same time.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Romatic Get Away

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
n/a

How did you find the local facilities?
As ever, these tend to be simple, restricted (thankfully) by numbers much lower than those of hot-spots. Setting sensible expectations and having good notes on local facilities covers this.



Wonderful location

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is in a perfect place with great views over Mull, with sunrises and sunsets to die for. The house is very well equipped and has everything you need for a holiday cottage. Much better now the electricity is enclusive. Floors upgraded and freshly painted since we were there last time.
Cottage in walking distance of the shop and very close to three good restaurants. We have been going to Ardnamurchan for over 50 years and it is still as unspoilt and beautiful as ever. We even had a rain free week and two days in the mid 20'sC.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
I have already told them all!

How did you find the local facilities?
Very good.



Needs tlc.

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cleanliness wasn't really ok but not poor either needs some tlc . Had to wash crockery before use! Some pans could not be used. Damp in places. Got wet going through gate due to overgrown garden.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
None

How did you find the local facilities?
Google





steading holidays provide very good houses

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thiswas the 4th steading house and in line with the others a wonderfull part o the world to stay in,unspoilt areas are getting harder to find , a true understanding of the envirionment is essencial

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Food

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
have done so

How did you find the local facilities?
great





Amazing views, but some concerns regarding property presentation.

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jun 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The views from the property and the standard of equipment provided was excellent. Indeed, the advertising material should emphasise the superb views from the lounge.
We were, however, very disappointed with the quality of presentation. The standard of cleaning in the shower room was totally unacceptable, with what was clearly a used towel left on the towel rail, a very damp mat left by the shower and hairs in the washbasin, leaving us to conclude that this room probably hadn't received any attention whatever. There were also areas where maintenance is required; specifically water from the shower leaking out onto the bedroom carpet and a damp smell and extremely soft floor in the porch.
The absence of any welcoming letter or courtesy call conveyed an impression of little interest from Steading Holidays and the absence of a Visitors' Book (almost unheard of in our experience) also suggested to us that feedback wasn't being encouraged.
Despite all of the comments above, the excellent features for this property would lead us to consider returning. We would, however, hope to see some of the shortcomings addressed before we could recommend the property to friends.

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Poor

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
None at the moment - see detailed comments.

How did you find the local facilities?
Recognising the remote nature of the location, we were generally happy with the facilities.



Jacqui & John Chapple Steading Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Ardvaig. We are sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay were disappointing. To find your property not clean is unacceptable as far as we are concerned. We have taken this up with the housekeeper and although it is no excuse, it appears that the problems arose because a different housekeeper did the changeover prior to you arriving. We have been given assurances that this won’t happen again. We will be asking a local tradesman to investigate the areas of damp. With regards to welcome information, that is sent out by email in the payment confirmation when your final balance is paid. It contains all relevant information regarding who to contact regarding any issues you have with the property and it also advises that a feedback form will be left in the property for you to complete. Said form along with a hard copy of the welcome notes should also be left in the property. I have asked the housekeeper to ensure they are there. We have also suggested to the owner that a visitors book be placed in the house. I can ensure you that Steading Holidays encourages feedback and addresses all issues and suggestions made by our clients. This information is invaluable and we appreciate you providing an honest account of your stay. Our office is situated in the middle of the village and well signposted so clients can come to us directly. It is unfortunate that we were not aware of the issues you encountered in Ardvaig until after your stay otherwise we would have addressed them at the time. We are glad that your experience on this occasion hasn’t put you off the visiting the area again. We hope to see again.

Looking back at Ardvaig

Review submitted on Fri, 29 May 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just love this place. The position of the house is second to none and we spend hours watching the changes in the light and weather, and ships on the sound. Disappointing that the new furniture isn't so comfortable. We both have back problems and the conservatory type furniture is less than supportive.
Concerned that the housekeeping is perhaps not as good as it was. Both the filter on the tumble drier and the bin on the vacuum cleaner were very full. If I hadn't emptied them they could both have been fire hazards. There is just one very large casserole and the only lid doesn't fit it and is cracked.
The bed is very comfortable and we were delighted with the new, plump pillows.
The plumbing for the toilets is also much improved!
It is disappointing that there is no wi-fi at Ardvaig. It would be so useful to get up to date weather forecasts, tide times, wildlife queries etc. Also to keep in touch with home (there were two funerals at home and problems on our smallholding while we were away.) As usual the Steading people were wonderful. Can't thank them enough!

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Geology

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
I have already been doing so - even in the supermarket

How did you find the local facilities?
Ferry Stores very good



A late October stay

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was booked for an elderly couple and couldn't have been better. As a bungalow everything was on one level and easily accessible and most importantly the cottage was always warm and cosy.
The magnificent picture window meant even if the weather was bad there were two comfy sofas for them to sit on and watch the fantastic views. It was perfect

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Biking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Family break

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
No

How did you find the local facilities?
Everything we needed was available, the shop was easily accessible and had a very nice meal at the hotel





Wonderful Views

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Oct 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed at Ardvaig for a week in early October. We found the property comfortable, spacious and warm.
The kitchen had everything you would need for home cooking, as did the rest of the property for entertainment etc.
We brought our own docking station for music.
The location is very peaceful, with stunning views. There was also lots of information in books, leaflets on walks in the area and other things to do. The Kilchoan hotel is within walking distance and provides tasty pub food at reasonable prices.
A very enjoyable holiday

How would you rate the service we provide as a booking agency?
Very good

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Walking

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Music Events

Could you tell us what your interests are?
Wildlife

Could you tell us what your interests are?
History

Any friends or family that you would like to recommend Steading Holiday Cottages to?
I have already told friends about this property

How did you find the local facilities?
We'll stocked shop in Kilchoan, hotel good as described. All good



amazing views but needs updating

Review submitted on Wed, 07 May 2014
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house needing new kitchen. Comfortable but old.. Position amazing worth spending money on. Passed on to rep of steadings and they were very good about complaints. Feel sure it will improve, would go back if kitchen was updated as position is amazing.




Great Location, House Shortcomings

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jan 2014
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
House has a great situation and location with stunning views from the sitting room window and a lovely garden, but it must be said that the house has some shortcomings that were exacerbated by winter weather.

Sitting room main window - with strong winds from south and west there is an incredibly irritating whistling howling sound from the left side of the window which rose and fell in pitch and volume with the strength of wind. The owners write "just get used to it as it would mean taking out half of the window" in the guest notes for the house. We consider this utterly unacceptable as we had gale force winds for four out of six days and the sound was utterly maddening. It must also be said that the window leaked seriously badly in two places in strong rain making big puddles inside. I would not recommend the house for these reasons alone. Replace the window - the water ingress will do the house no good.

Main bathroom - toilet would not flush as handle connection to valve poor. Left cistern lid off, disconnected handle and put a piece of string on it which worked fine. Also bathroom door handle locked itself and we spent considerable time getting the door open - this had clearly been like this for a while as there was a hand drawn "engaged" sign already on the door attached by another piece of string.

Guest Note book - owners have left a closely spaced handwritten notebook amounting to twenty pages, containing house instructions but almost entirely of things guests are NOT allowed to do. This is very unwelcoming and makes guests seriously question whether the owners actually want people in their house at all.

Kitchen - generally very well equipped but very irritating is the fact there is no light switch on the accommodation side of the house - you have to walk through the kitchen in the dark to the far end to put the light on. Also, a quick boil kettle would be good - you could read War an Peace whilst waiting for the kettle to boil.

Bedrooms - very comfortable beds and nicely equipped rooms. Fabulous views form the two front bedroom windows.









23rd Nov to 30th Nov 2013

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2013
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The condition is marked low because after a couple of days we began to notice a faint smell of dogs and found the odd dog hairs (mainly white) stuck to clothing. We do not own a dog and are not use to this.

The shower room needs an air brick or extractor fan before the current evidence of damp to the top right of the window - worsens.

The freezer is very noisy - look to level it?

We would only recommend the property to dog owners.




A great couple of days, booked at the very last minute!

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2013
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Impressed with the flexiblity to meet our requirements, as we booked the afternoon before we arrived and were only looking for a two night stay.

The only useful feedback we have is to point out the leak in the bathroom (which was pretty obviously already known about, judging by the number of mats!). It made using the sink pretty tricky and it was not very nice the first time stood at the sink and got very wet feet! Every other aspect of the house was fine and hopefully by now the leak has been fixed.




Steading Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we very much value opinions from our clients. As you noticed, there was a problem with the sink which has been fixed - but thanks for highlighting it in your review.

Ardvaig

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at Ardvaig. It is a spacious cottage. When charging a premium price for linen, premium linen needs to be provided. The towels were poor quality.



Steadung Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback, we very much value opinions from our clients. We have passed your comments about the quality of the linen to the owner and would like to apologise that you felt the linen service was poor value. Hopefully the owner will take the comments on board.