FB Twitter

The Shieling

The Shieling

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
5.0


Welcome to The Shieling, a truly special holiday home in sought-after location in Kingsdown. This coastal home has been furnished to a very high standard with a homely and coastal feel to match its location, and offers spacious living areas for families and friends. The doors from the kitchen open to a large garden, bringing the outdoors in, where you can sit out and enjoy the fresh sea air. Enjoy the spectacular sea views looking out towards St Margaret's Bay and the White Cliffs. Pets are welcome on request only. Please let us know if you would like to bring your dog.

Excellent Property Right by the Beach and Pub

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was clean and pleasant - the view of the beach was excellent, especially from the main bedroom. The property was well furnished and tidy throughout. Our family had a really enjoyable stay at the property.

Adam from Stevenage stayed at The Shieling for 5 nights in August 2022


Stunning cottage near the beach

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time here with our family. The location was perfect just a stones throw from the pebble beach which was marvellous for early morning and late evening walks with my Grandson collecting pebbles and shells.
The cottage was clean and well stocked and had a delightful garden which we made good use of as the weather was hot and sunny for all of our stay.
There are many walks nearby and three pubs in the village.
We enjoyed the walk up the hill to an excellent butchers and shop.
We loved the area and especially liked the newly opened aqua park and wake park in Sandwich. A fun day out for all. It will be amazing when finished.
A superb holiday. Thank you to the owners.
Kind regards
Linda Scowcroft


Linda from High Peak stayed at The Shieling for 7 nights in July 2022


Great cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great cottage, clean comfortable and in a brilliant location. Close to the beach and local pub - but with privacy in the garden and cottage.

John from Huntingdon stayed at The Shieling for 7 nights in July 2022


Beachfront Oasis that will capture your heart!

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The moment we arrived at the Shieling on a sunny Saturday afternoon, it was love at first sight. I'll not forget the first time we opened the door to see the secrets revealed of this warm and welcoming haven on the beach.
The Shieling is located on the beach at Kinsgsdown and is literally two houses from the most excellent Pub, The Zetland.
The house has been thoroughly modernized and is bright and airy throughout. There are two lounge areas and an incredibly well appointed kitchen complete with double oven, induction hob, dishwasher, washer/dryer and just about every utensil and gadget you could think of. There was even a Nespresso machine complete with coffee pods, for the budding barista!
The kitchen opens onto an expansive and beautifully tended garden where we enjoyed many a fine evening sipping wine to the sound of birdsong.
The upstairs has three excellent sized bedrooms. The Master bedroom is south facing and has a small balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. We fell into a cadence of waking with the sunrise and spent many a morning enjoying coffee on the balcony watching the world go by.
The master bedroom has an excellent ensuite with a very powerful and pleasant shower. All fixtures are new and of high quality.
The second bedroom has two beds and shares a bathroom (complete with huge free standing tub) with the quaint (but spacious) third bedroom.
We also have to shout out to the fine folks at Keepers Cottages for providing the best level of service we have ever received on a property in the UK. The attention to detail (Coffee pods, laundry detergent, softener, dishwasher pods, soaps, etc - the list goes on). I can tell you this is most welcome when you arrived exhausted following an overnight flight!
We grew extremely attached to our little haven on the beach and miss it terribly now that we are home.
I would thoroughly recommend this lovely cottage which now has a place firmly rooted in our hearts, and cannot wait to return!


Martin from Calgary stayed at The Shieling for 14 nights in July 2022


Lovely February break.

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Feb 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect little costal cottage to escape.
Placed right in the beach within easy reach of beautiful walks and public houses.
The cottage and gardens are fully equipped and well kept.
I’d love to return and have no hesitation in recommending this break away.


Candy from Luton stayed at The Shieling for 4 nights in February 2022


Stunning seaside home

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect location. Metres from the beach and local pub. Loved sitting on the balcony and relaxing (also making others jealous as they walked by. This place surely has the best location in Kingsdown)

Interiors were spotless with plenty of room for our whole family. A lovely big walled garden also with large comfortable chairs to enjoy the sunshine

We would highly recommend for quality, location and overall comfort factor.


Darren from London stayed at The Shieling for 7 nights in August 2021


Excellent cottage in an excellent location

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic stay in the Shieling. It was beautifully decorated and really comfortable. Everything we needed was there. The garden was a lovely addition and a great size.

Very comfortable beds!

Location is amazing - a stones throw from the beach and round the corner from the pub. Coastal walks on the doorstep and a very quick and easy cycle to Deal.

Had a fantastic holiday and will definitely be back.


Sofie from stayed at The Shieling for 10 nights in July 2021


Newly decorated cottage with a view

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything in the cottage is fresh and new and the owner has put thought into their choice of pictures,mirrors and accessories.
The en suite shower room is small and narrow but the shower is powerful and there is a heated towel rail.
Dishwasher tablets are provided,there is liquid handwash and a starter pack of six coffee pods for the machine.
People and a few cars pass directly in front of the cottage during the day,scrunching on the pebbly path, but we found it to be quiet at night.
The garden is a good size and not overlooked.
Walmer Castle is just up the road and worth a visit and we went to Sandwich,Ramsgate and Broadstairs,all of which we enjoyed.


Julie from Sheffield stayed at The Shieling for 7 nights in June 2021


Beautiful cottage - fantastic location

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow! What a beautiful cottage and such a fantastic location. The views of the cliffs and the sea from the master bedroom are truly spectacular. The owner has clearly put a lot of love and effort into the cottage and the welcome treats on arrival were a lovely touch. The cottage is very well equipped and extremely comfortable. The large garden was an added bonus and meant we could enjoy the beautiful weather by having lunch/supper outside everyday.

Keepers Cottages couldn’t have been more efficient and helpful. They recommended this lovely cottage to us after weeks of searching for a much needed seaside break. We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone and Keepers Cottages! We will definitely be back!!! Thank you.


Guest from stayed at The Shieling for 7 nights in June 2021


Very high standard of accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time in this beautiful house in Kingsdown..which is just a stone’s throw from the beach. The rooms are all light and airy and all the furniture and equipment is new and of a really high standard. We loved the house ..and the very large garden Arrival arrangement and instructions all very clear .. Hope to be back

Maura from London E3 5by stayed at The Shieling for 5 nights in May 2021