FB Twitter

Mallard Cottage 3F

Bramble Cottage 8P

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 59 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.5
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


Our two bedroom cottages have two good size bedrooms – one double and one twin bedroom. Each bed is made up and ready for sleeping and towels are provided

The family bathroom is fully fitted with a quality suite comprising of a power shower over the bath, a hand wash basin and W.C. the walls are fully tiled

The kitchen is fully fitted with oak kitchen units and includes a washing machine and some also include a dishwasher, large fridge, built in hobs and oven, with microwave and a full compliment of crockery, cutlery, saucepans and glasses etc...

A good size lounge with patio sliding doors accessing onto the al fresco patio area which overlooks the gardens and lake. The lounge is fully furnished with large comfy leather sofas and ample cushions, large coffee table, flat screen 32" TV with DVD player, CD & Radio, and a beautiful marble fireplace fitted with a real flame effect electric fire.
Please refer to the accommodation section of our website for a full description.

A lovely base to explore Somerset

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful houses, spotlessly clean, very spacious, private, quiet, fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine, very handy for coming home from the beach with filthy towels, parking space fir each house, a lake for the husband to disappear off to, there is a pub within walking distance. You definitely need to drive to reach places of interest but there is a lot nearby, generally a 40 minute drive gets you to most places of interest.

Drive times to places of interest nearby;

Large Morrison’s supermarket - 10/15 mins
Family friendly chain-type pub (a bit like a harvester) - 10 mins
Brean Beach (National Trust) - 30 mins
Weston Super Mare (Grand Pier) - 45 mins
Burnham-on-Sea (sandy beach, amusements, £1 shop (for buckets and spades) and weatherspoons for cheap lunch/dinner - 25 mins (I think this was the closest sandy beach town)
Fynn Court (National Trust walks, ruins and gardens) - 25 mins along tiny windy pretty country lanes
Dunster Castle (NT) - beautiful castle and gardens with a working mill dating back over 1000 years! And a Victorian reservoir - about an hours drive but well worth it.
Minehead beach - right by butlins - beautiful sandy beach very close to the castle - well worth a visit
Wookey Hole - caves and family amusements - caves are amazing and kids love the amusement part too - about 45min Mayb 1 hr drive - well worth a visit
Longleat Safari Park - 1 1/2 hrs drive but well worth a visit especially if you have kids with you - definitely do the safari drive through, the monkey part is best they climb all over your car (and try to pull bits off!)
Cheddar Gorge & Caves - you can buy a ticket for Longleat and cheddar for a discounted rate you must visit Longleat first then cheddar. The cheddar gorge has two caves - Gough’s cave and Cox’s cave, also a museum and Jacobs ladder, 250 odd steps up to a viewing tower (if you are ok with heights) there are also very picturesque walks at the top of the gorge. The gorge itself is very beautiful, with pretty little tea rooms and souvenir shops - about 45min drive from the cottages - we stopped here on our way home (heading back to south London) it is a beautiful place well worth a visit the caves are breathtaking!
There are other National Trust places nearby too one place I would have gone to if we had the time was called Cotteridge (I think) cottage - about 25/30 mins away.

There is lots to do in all weather but be prepared to drive to reach the best places!

All in all a great base, very comfortable and clean, with lots of interesting sites all within an hours drive. We had a great time visiting Somerset inter last week of Aug school holidays with two children.




Bernadette replied 97 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed exploring Somerset. We hope to welcome you back to Lakeview in the near future, please keep an eye on our website for some amazing offers.

THIS ACCOMMODATION MET ALL OUR EXPECTATIONS AND MORE.

Review submitted on Tue, 07 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lakeview Holiday Cottages are ideally situated just off J24 on the M5 - with a half a mile you are in the countryside!
Our two bedroomed cottage was extremely comfortable and warm and cosy in the cooler evenings. It provided high quality in all the rooms and lots of space.
Bernadette met us at the Reception Office and was very friendly and welcoming. She explained all that we needed to know about our accommodation and would have been "on hand" should we have needed her . . . we didn't.
We are anglers and enjoyed fishing the close-by lake. We caught bream (around the 5lb mark) and roach, although they were not easy to find! The lockup storage for our equipment was extremely useful.
Lakeview is a great self-catering venue, in the heart of Somerset, with so many towns and villages to explore.
Thank you.
Pauline and Terry




Feedback

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Apr 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I have only said poor to value for money as additional charges for gas/water/electricity is excessive. we leave cottage at 5.30am return at 19.30 meal then bed. to charge additional £120 on top of £2.5K for a month.
also we never received any readings of meters on arrival.




Bernadette replied 223 days ago
I am so disappointed to read your review. We have given you a very competitive rate considering you have a whole 2 bedroom house, fully furnished, peaceful in the country side, free wifi, free on site secure parking, free weekly cleans and still, this is cheaper than a basic hotel room on the M5 motor way services. The meter readings from the day of your arrival are clearly shown on the invoice. As you were made aware at the time of booking, the utility charges are charged as consumed in addition to the corporate rate for the cottage.

Brilliant

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi well what can i say 3 times this year again we have stayed here at lakeview.
very kind the manager is lovely, helpful and the most nicest person I have ever met. Honestly if u want a weekend away i would go here. We can't stay away form here.

Emma




Our stay at Bridgewater

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It did not feel like a holiday resort, but more like a housing estate. The presence of numerous contractors did not help either. However the quality of the accommodation was excellent.



Long weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very enjoyable stay. Central location with access to many attractions. Cottage was lovely. Bernadette as always was welcoming and helpful.
Many thanks




Last minute break

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Clover Cottages at the last minute, before the Easter weekend and after we had been let down by a local B&B only two days before we were due to stay with them. We dealt with Bernadette who was extremely accommodating and she came out late in the evening to let us in to our cottage as we had not realised the check-in times when we booked (2-5pm). The accommodation was extremely comfortable and perfect for us as a family of four. We will definitely stay here again.



Excellent Easter Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Apr 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I stayed with a group of 8 (in two houses). This was the second time we have stayed here as the accommodation provides us exactly what we need - particularly useful for us is the secure bike storage.
The houses are well appointed and very comfortable.
Only things we'd like to change would be to have some non-stick pans in the kitchen and some different glasses (e.g. pint glasses).
Staff helpful and friendly as always.
Many thanks - I think we'll be back again




Review of Mallard cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This our second stay and I would highly recommend this property. The staff are very friendly and the cottage was so clean and tidy. We will be back.



So nice!

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very friendly venue and very pleasant staff.

It was a great place to be based at to allow us to discover the area.

We were most impressed with the space the cottage offered and its cleanliness.

See you again! Cathy and Alain




Fishing was not good

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I know you say the lake is not commercial, but you have a great asset of a mature 12 acre lake that most holidays with fishing would be very envious of. At the moment very very few anglers will return . 3 I spoke to on arrival were complaining about the lack of carp in the lake. Most of your anglers that come expect to be able to catch some fish , they don't have to be big carp just smaller ones , you say you don't promote angling but you do you have cut swims out around the lake to fish and have a lock up storage unit for tackle. For a relative small outlay of about just over £3000 you could buy 200 1lb to 3lb and 100 8inch to 10 inch fast growing carp which would make a vast difference , and perhaps instead of anglers on holiday going away unhappy they might be happy to return. Bye the way I did catch a carp. The rest of your holiday complex was first class the best cottages we have stayed in only the fishing let it down.



Not just a holiday base

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this holiday as a base to sightsee Somerset. However, the accommodation and service was so amazing that we often didn't leave, spending the day relaxing at the house, exploring the grounds and fishing with our children, which they loved! We can't wait to visit again!!



Great relaxing break

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great relaxing break. Very quiet and peaceful and near to lots of lovely holiday spots .very easy to find straight off motorway but didn't hear any car noise at all. Would go again





Great location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great time ...
Excellent clean cottage
Great for mtb & walks
Staff helpfull & friendly..
lock up for bikes & fishing tackle ..




lovely cottages.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really nice modern and very clean cottages. Very well presented and a very well equipped kitchen. Nice little play area for the kids & giant chess set. Couple of nice gazebos to sit in. Nice locked personal storage to keep your fishing gear in if you are to fishing the lovely looking 12acre lake. Only negative is the low stock of fish in the lake. But if you find the fish you will catch. Had 13lb carp after finding them past the island Bridge. Saw bigger ones though. Would definitely come back as its a good base to visit all of the great attractions Somerset has to offer.



Notaro Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, cottage was so comfortable and had everything we needed. Very peaceful and restful. Would definitely return.



Relaxing in Somerset

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is located in central Somerset and has excellent road connections to Bristol(shops) and Exeter (shops) , and has all the home comforts. Better than staying in a hotel because I can have breakfast in our pjamas and relax completely.



Superb accommodation very peaceful

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My stay was in 3 foxglove villas, decor and standard throughout was excellent. Only drawback is there is not a proper sink to shave in only hand sinks and if you use the sink in the bathroom you hit your head on the taps or the shelf! The fishing at Lakeview was not good, the lake needs to be stocked. Having said that there are local waters to fish nearby that are excellent. We will stay at Lakeview again next year due to the high standards of cleanliness and a very well equipped villa.The grounds were also very smart and tidy. Thank you Christine and Bernadette.
Mike




Bernadette replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mr Coombs Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review about your stay at Lakeview Holiday Cottages. We are delighted you have enjoyed your stay with us apart from the basin in the bathroom not being big enough; we have indeed installed larger basins in our new cottages! With regards to the fishing at Lakeview Holiday Cottages, we do not advertise our lake being commercially run however the lake is fully stocked with carp, pike bream and roach. We always recommend our local fisheries if our guests find our lake too challenging. We do pride our cottages to be “home away from home” and we hope we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Lakeview Holiday Cottages next year.

Fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here back in November last year and we did a four day break was brilliant so we went back for a week 1st of April to 8th 2017. We did not want to come home. We are so so happy with this place it relaxing and great for the boyfriend to fish. We are going back every year without fail if not twice a year. For the price it was Amazing. We had everything in the cottage/house that u would expect. The owners are lovely Christine and Bernadette thank you for letting us book again as I said further up we will be coming back. U have a lovely place couldn't of been more happy. Glad we found this place as it feels like home. The lake is beautiful and caught quite a few fish.

Thank you again miss it already

Emma and Phil xx




100

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Provided us with an excellent base for the weekend. Property was first class in every respect. Can highly recommend this and will definitely be staying again.



Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
We really appreciate your recent review, and are delighted your experience at Lakeview Holiday Cottages was first class! We take pride in ensuring all our guests experience a comfortable stay at their cottage for whatever their reason for staying. We shall look forward to welcoming you here again sometime in the future.

Our holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at this holiday complex 3 times now. It is like home from home, there is everything in the property that you need.. It is very quiet and peaceful. It is out of the way so felt secure



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
We have quite a few returning guests coming back to Lakeview Holiday Cottages as they know what to expect and enjoy that "home from home" feel about the place. As you say it is very quiet and peaceful here but also very convenient to all the local places of interests. We are delighted you had another good stay here and hope you will book again sometime soon.

Brilliant Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the most amazing warm welcome, to the excellent standard of the accommodation, to the ease of the location we have had the most fantastic holiday at Lakeview Holiday Cottages. On arrival, we were met by Christine and Bernadette who were both amazingly friendly and welcoming. We were impressed with the cleanliness and decoration of the house - so much so that we didn't like coming back home! The location of these cottages is brilliant. Straight off the motorway but you are not really bothered by the traffic noise. Being so close to the motorway meant days out were easy. The local pub being a short walk away was ideal - worth a visit if only for the lovely dog and talking parrot! We will definitely stay at Lakeview Holiday Cottages again - already looking at dates for next summer!



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Oh wow! what can we say to this really lovely review, only that both Bernadette and Myself are absolutely delighted you all enjoyed your stay at Lakeview Holiday Cottages and visiting the surrounding places of interest in Somerset. We at Lakeview strive to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay and truly believe that a trip away from home should be just as comfortable and welcoming as being at home - home from home stays! We truly believe this is the ideal location for getting out and about even though we are close to the motorway, you wouldn't even know it. We shall look forward to welcoming you back here for next summer and if you book before the end of 2016 we will have a better deal waiting for you - subject to availability of course! See you soon and thank you from both Bernadette and Christine

Good

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A good place to stay if you want to visit the south west of England
Friendly staff on hand
Good facilities in the house
Good location
Play park and lake good for children




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments following your stay here at Lakeview Holiday Cottages. Indeed we are very central to lots of places to visit in the south west - not too far from Lyme Regis areas, but closer to Weston-Supermare, and ideal location for lots of tourist places as you say. We are always available if not in person but also by phone call if any of our guests need any advice of places to go, or if they require anything for the cottage. We are always available to help. We hope to see you again.

Great location, lovely house.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable and well equipped house in a great location with extremely helpful & friendly staff. Plenty of room in the grounds for playing & socialising and beautiful cows to entertain us.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted you found our cottage comfortable and well equipped. We endeavour to ensure the cottages are sufficiently equipped for all our guests every needs while away from home. If there is anything our guests require, they should ask, and we will do our best to provide for them. During the better weather, it is always good to see our guests enjoying the surrounding grounds and socialising with other guests and to have the countryside very close by with the canal and fields to one side and our own private lake the other side is far removed from the buzzing city life. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, and we hope to see you all again in the future.

Beautiful fully equiped cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at the cotttages and will definately stay again. They are well maintained and fully equiped with everying you could need. Whilst a lot of the cottages had people staying in them the whole place was very peaceful. The gardens are lovely and again very well kept. Lovely patio to sit on at the end of the day.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments - We always like to receive some feedback from all our guests as it is very important to us to know you have enjoyed your stay, even if there is anything you feel we could improve upon

nataro holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we asked for. Especially enjoyed the challenges of the lake. Bernadette was extremely helpful prior to and during our stay. ....................................................



Bernadette Pyle replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mr & Mrs Todd Thank you very much for taking the time to write your kind review. We do our best to ensure our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay with us, a home away from home. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the challenges of the lake! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Family friendly cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is professionally managed and that is why it was a most enjoyable experience visiting Somerset.The location was very central and has excellent road links to all places of interest.



Week stay in Somerset

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was okay but a bit noisy with the boiler being in our bedroom, every time one had a shower early in the morn we were woken up.

The lake for fishing was disappointing as although fish clearly in there they did not want to bite, so hubby and brother in law gave up in the end.

Kept awake one night from neighbours next door having party on the patio.

If going for fishing holiday then no I would not recommend it.




An enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staff very welcoming and helpful. An interesting position for the development. Close to the motorway for access. Close to Taunton our usual destination. Attractive surroundings. Cottage nicely fitted out though for me, who has mobility issues, stairs are steep and lounge furniture a bit low to get out of. But nonetheless, we enjoy staying here and will be back another couple of times this year.



Christmas with the parents

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jan 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our folks live in north Petherton , the cottage was great . We stayed over the NewYear and used it as our base . Clean comfortable and warm . I would recommend it .



Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
We are really pleased your stay at Lakeview was comfortable and warm and most of all conveniently located to where your family live. Thank you for your comments - we really appreciate this.

Furnished to a very high standard

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The holiday cottages are very furnished to a very high standard with all modern appliances and stocked with all the kitchen implements you need. Very comfy beds and sofa. The main bathroom was very luxurious with a gorgeous deep bath to relax in. Location is great too by the lake and also very easy to find, just off the M5.



Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Charlotte for your lovely comments following your Christmas break here at Lakeview Holiday Cottages. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodation comfortable. We hope you will take advantage to return for a future stay and as promised we like to offer our returning guests a discount. Happy New Year to you and your family.

Merry Christmas

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 2 1/2 weeks over Christmas and it really was home from home.

The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable.

Christine and her staff were first class as always.

See you next year!




Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Sue Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay here over Christmas whilst visiting the family. It was a pleasure to have you back and we look forward to seeing you again next Christmas. Happy New Year to you all.

Putting up the family

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed to have some extra bed space for visiting family and this worked out brilliantly.

Lovely little house where they could hang out before invading our home for dinners.

Great service by the staff and even accommodated a large minute change of plans with no fuss.

Maybe next time we will stay there and put the family in our house.




Bernadette Pyle replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Mr Grundy for your kind review, we are pleased your family enjoyed staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you and/or your family back to Lakeview any time.

Good place , poor fishing

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this as a fishing holiday because it has its own lake ,,The accommodation was great I can't fault it at all ,,, the location is nice and quiet but a bit far from everything so you need to remember everything when you go to the shops ( if you run out of anything it's about a 25 min journey just to get some milk ) ,, the lake was a bit of a disappointment , it is a lovely lake with loads of features but you can only fish about 30% if it as there isn't enough swims and it's all overgrown ,, it could also do with a lot more fish in it as it is well under stocked ,, making it very hard for the pleasure fisherman to catch anything . Barrow hire would be an advantage to get all your fishing stuff to the lake in one go ..I would go there again just for the accommodation but only if I could find a good fishing lake near by



Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your constructive comments. I am surprised you mention it takes 25 minutes to get to the local shops as the next village over the motorway is just a 5 minute car journey. We are just a base for staying in the area, which means we do not provide our own shop on site, nor do we offer a "clubhouse". The lake is private to all guests staying at Lakeview, and is free of charge to use. We do not manage the lake by re-stocking, feeding and breeding, but we do try to keep the grounds around the lake and the swims tidy - however we like to keep it natural and not manicured. We are delighted though, that you enjoyed your stay here at the Lakeview Holiday Cottages and found the cottages very comfortable and satisfying. We hope that you will come again, and perhaps at a different time of the year when you may be more successful with the fishing. Please note that there are other local lakes close by where they do stock and breed and feed the fish and can almost guarantee a bite / catch every time. We are quite surprised you didn't catch many fish, as most of our guests this year have been absolutely delighted with the amount of fish they have caught. However, we cannot guarantee what fish will be caught as it all depends on the weather, the temperature and time of year - apparently.

A perfect short break

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself husband daugter and son in law spent a 4 day break here we didnt know what to expect so was delighted to be shown to a lovely cottage which was very clean and beautifully furnished we had lovely view of the lake.
We would definatley come again.




Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your lovely comments, we are delighted you had a pleasant time here at Lakeview, and hope to see you again. Don't forget all returning guests will receive a discount subject to availability.

holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the second time we have stayed at lakeview holiday cottages. We had an amazing stay lovely weather beautiful surroundings and outstanding staff. The fishing is second to none stunning carp bream pike ect we will definitely be coming back



Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Mr Prior for your lovely comments. We are delighted you both had an enjoyable and relaxing time here at Lakeview and a successful time catching the fish. We will look forward to welcoming you both back again here sometime in the near future.

A perfect retreat for peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As soon as we arrived at Lakeland View we were impressed, lovely grounds, beautiful lake and a great fishing venue if you enjoy fishing for fun. The cottage was idyllic, everything you might need was available, the only poor thing in the cottage was the TV signal not good. Christine the Manager was lovely and helpful advised of places to visit and local amenities nearby. We have stayed in several cottages around the UK, this was the easiest, most accessible place I have ever driven to, straight off the M5 at junction24, turn left, turned right into the gates marked by 2 stone lions on either side. Recommend a stay here if you want a bit of peace and tranquillity to relax in comfort.



christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you both had an enjoyable time here at Lakeview Holiday Cottages. It is important to us that every guest is treated as though they are the only guests staying here and we try to ensure they have a relaxing time. It is a shame I was not told about the TV reception not being very good, as I would have attended to this straight away. We try to encourage all our guests to let us know if there are any problems with the accommodation, even if it is only a light bulb that needs replacing - we will attend to it straight away. We hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Central location

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first time to Somerset. The cottage was just right for my husband to fish and for me to walk. Lots of circular walks.
We both enjoyed the variety of national trust properties within the region.
We would recommend it.




Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your comments - there is just so much to do in Somerset, and many guests return as they never have enough time to see all what they want to see in the surrounding area.

having a dog with us

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very pleasant stay would only suggest that it would be much better if dog friendly lets had a small enclosed area outside the back door so our pet could wander in and out like at home without wandering off



Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments and scoring. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Lakeview Holiday Cottages with your Chow Chow dog. I will mention to the owners your suggestion regarding an enclosed area from the patio door for your family pet to roam around but we have discussed this in the past and we feel that if we do the dog friendly cottages with enclosure it will then raise suggestions for the same to be done to all the cottages for young children as well. This will then create a lot of seclusion. During the school holidays all the families with young children tend to get together at the rear of the cottages where the children make friends and play but having separate enclosed garden areas will prevent this.

Quiet Location

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An ideal location for exploring the local area. The cottages provide excellent accommodation and are maintained to a high standard. Whilst fishing on the lake managed to catch plenty of small fish.



Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here at Lakeview Holiday Cottages, and was able to relax and unwind in this lovely spot. We work hard to ensure the cottages are maintained to a high clean standard and it is always good to here such lovely comments. We hope you will return and please remember we always try to give our returning guests a good offer

Bramble Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of four have just returned from a one week holiday at Bramble Cottage, Somerset. We received a very warm welcome, a full tour of the accommodation and assurance that if we needed anything we only had to ask. The accommodation was fantastically clean, modern and well equipped. My husband enjoyed fishing in the onsite lake - he didn't catch anything, but it didn't put him off trying!! The area is quiet, but you are only a 5-10 minute drive away from nearby convenience shops and a 30-40 minute drive from Weston Super Mare and Burnham On Sea. We will definitely be making a return and have recommended the site to our friends and family.



Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. We are delighted you all enjoyed your stay here at Lakeview, and it is a shame your husband didn't catch any fish, but I suppose that is the way it goes sometimes. We had some weekenders stay this weekend, who used the lake for fishing and they caught a 15 pound Carp! and several wrasse and little fish too! But they were chuffed with that and enjoyed their stay, even though it rained here quite a bit. We are glad you all found something to do in the very local surrounding areas.

Fabulous home from home cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was spotless and had everything you could need, amazing shower, fantastic comfortable beds, lovely fixtures and fittings perfect. love the gazebo surrounded by lavender perfect for a summer evening.



Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and review. We are delighted you had a relaxing comfortable time here at Lakeview. The cottage you stayed in didn't overlook the lake, but you had the lovely gazebo just outside your rear patio, which is very attractive too. It is good to know you appreciated the showers, and found the beds very comfortable. We at Lakeview do take into consideration all of our guests comments and will continue using the same for our new cottages which we will be launching soon. We hope you will want to return to Lakeview very soon.

Summer break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage very clean and comfortable ,a dog gate would have been good at the bottom of the stairs ,apart from that the cottage had everything you needed ,Paula and Christine were very helpful ,We did notice there were a lot of English and foreign workmen staying in the cottages more than holiday makers ,



Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Dianne for the review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I quite agree with your suggestion to have a stair gate at the bottom of the stairs in our dog friendly cottages to prevent your dog going up the stairs. We will hopefully be providing stair gates soon, which will come in handy for young children as well. You are quite right, there were and still are a number of English and Foreign workmen staying here as well. We like to think it works really well, and hopefully the workmen do not cause any disturbance to holiday guests as the workmen are generally out of the way from early in the morning and do not return until 6-7pm and when they do get back they just want to have a meal, a quiet hour and then to bed early. The workmen really appreciate staying at Lakeview Holiday Cottages because it is quiet and calming for them after a hard day at work. Sometimes it can be the holiday guests disturbing the workmen as holiday guests like to sit outside on the patio drinking and chatting until late in the evening when the workmen are trying to sleep. But we have received no complaints from any of our guests (yet) and we do try to keep the workmen separate from the holiday guests. We hope the workmen did not disturb your stay here at Lakeview Holiday Cottages. It is always good to know guests different point of view as we strive to keep everyone staying here happy.

Lakeview Holiday Cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Lakeview everything was just perfect, the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly,nothing was too much trouble for them. For example we left a charger in a draw when we left the cottage and christine very kindly returned it to us, we received it the next day and she wouldn't let us pay for the postage. The site is very peaceful an tranquil with lovely surroundings, we would really recommend a visit to Lakeview. Michael & Doreen (Staffs)



Christmas Break

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 10 days over Christmas 2014 and will definitely be going back again. The cottage is well furnished and equipped and was the perfect base for us. Christine and her staff were very welcoming and could not do more for us. The location was tranquil but within easy reach of all amenities, if you want some peace and quiet, this is definitely the place!



peace and comfort

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Dec 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very modern, well maintained cottage. We loved the surroundings, far enough for peace and quiet but not far from the shops. We also liked the fact that our cottage was cleaned weekly. I would certainly recommend staying at the Lakeside Cottages in Somerset to anyone.



Fab holiday cottages!

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Notaro cottages are wonderful for short stays and the staff couldn't be more helpful. The cottages are fabulously equipped very cosy and a lovely home from home.
We are so glad we decided to stay for 3 weeks, it was the perfect solution for us and our young baby.




A little town in the country!

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Ideal location for Bridgwater and touring the surrounding area (right off the M5). Lovely quiet and well maintained site with some good walks and pubs close by. Would definitely recommend and use again,



Another great stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here several years in a row. It is an excellent base as is so close to the M5 which makes it easy to visit so many places. Each time we have stayed we've been to different places and there is always more to do for next time. The complex is quiet with a play area for smaller children. If you are looking for a luxurious, comfortable place to stay then this is for you. Christine looks after all your needs.



Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much Keely for such a great Review, we at Lakeview Holiday Cottages really do try to offer all our guests an enjoyable and comfortable stay and it is very pleasing to receive such a good feedback. As you know, if any of our guests have any problems or requirements during their stay, we always do what we can to assist. We will look forward to welcoming you and your family back here at Lakeview Holiday Cottages sometime in the future.

The country "cottage" that isn't.......

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Aug 2014
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This seems to be sold as a country cottage next to a lake. It really isn't. It's a new house in a terrrace on an estate surrounded by other houses. There is a lake nearby, but for coarse fishing only. We were really surpised when we arrived and saw it. It is quiet (you can just hear the M5 motorway about 800m away), extremely clean and well maintained- however, if you are looking for a rural retreat country idyll, this isn't it. It definitely should not be called "Cottage" which is also misleading. Christine, the manager, is very nice and extremely helpful.



Christine Ingram replied more than 1 year ago
Thank You for this constructive review. Our website shows that Lakeview Holiday Cottages are newly built modern cottages, for the purpose of long and short breaks in Somerset. They are within a small private complex, with no other residential houses, set in private grounds with the Bridgwater to Taunton Canal along one side and our own private 13 acre lake set to the other side. The lake is home to lots of fresh water fish, where private coarse fishing is offered to our guests. The M5 is just one mile away, and if the wind blows in the wrong direction you can just hear the motorway sound - otherwise it is very peaceful with just the sound of our geese, ducks and other wildlife birds and creatures. We have tried to create a spacious and comfortable home from home base for our guests when visiting the area.

What a Place To Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jun 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second time at Lakeview Cottages and it is still as good as it was before. It is a quiet and peaceful site. The cottage is like home from home infact we took our slippers with us.



Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent base to explore Somerset. Exceptional accommodation with a friendly welcome from Christine. We had a lovely time and will be back again very soon we hope.



Easter break

Review submitted on Sat, 03 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here on many occasions and have had a fantastic holiday. The accommodation and location is superb and Christine is extremely friendly.



Easy and comfortable

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Christine Ingram made our stay easy and comfortable from the moment we arrived. She is charming, knowledgeable and was always available. What an asset!



Relax and enjoy

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent central location close to motorway for day's out. Accommodation is in excellent condition, very clean and well equipped.

Christine the Manager of the site is attentive and offers great advice about local restraints and places to visit during your stay.

The surrounding countryside and lake is great for walks and fishing.

Visited three times previously and will be returning again for a relaxing break.




My 'home from home'

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jan 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been to Lakeview Holiday Cottages a number of times in the last few years and have always found the accommodation to be kept to high standards of cleanliness, well furnished and equipped and it now feels like my second home! In fact, I'm off there again shortly! The manager, Christine, is very friendly and helpful indeed. The location is lovely, looking over the lake and with the gazebo lit up at night. It's easy to get to from the M5 and has easy access to the coast, Quantock Hills and Somerset Levels. If you want to enjoy Somerset while staying in very comfortable accommodation, I would recommend Lakeview Holiday Cottages and so would the guests I've taken with me.



Feedback

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2013
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was very clean as expected but the fishing let the holiday down as neither myself or any other angler caught anything much all week as the anglers the week before had'nt, the lake needs re-stocking before i would consider a return visit.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
We do appear to not have had a good year for the fishing this year, we have since found out from a fishery manager via the Environmental Agency that it has not been a good year generally for fishing due to the bazaar weather conditions we have been experiencing. Also because this has been our first year for promoting fishing which in fact has brought on plenty of interest, the fishery agent said that all the fishing here has caused the fish to "hide away" as they are not used to so much fishing and bait - our fish feed off the natural resources of the lake. However, on completing a visual survey we have seen this week, plenty of bream, tench, roach and also a few large carp jumping out of the water. Probably because there are no anglers here for the last couple of weeks. I am assured that the fish will become more accustomed to fishing hooks and bait, and hopefully we should look forward to a better year next year with the fish. There are plenty of fish in our lake, and it will take time for any angler to catch a large carp but if you was to fish for the smaller types like the bream, tench or roach or even pike then there should not be a problem particularly during the quieter time of the year. Maybe you would like to try Pike fishing as I am told these will keep feeding and growing during the winter when the carp stop feeding and just sleep and rest. In the meantime, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in cottage and hope you may consider a return visit.

Purpose of holiday was for a Fishing Break

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed my break, the lake was testing regarding catching those elusive carp.Had good bags of decent roach, but highlight was the 5 bream, heaviest being 5lb 5oz, was really happy with the stay.Would like another crack at the carp next year ,now I know how they feed.
The cottage was to a very high standard could not fault anything,as were the staff, Thanks once again Christine and Helen.




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your stay in the two bedroom cottage whilst you did some solo fishing at our lake. We do know the fish have been very elusive this year. We have recently been advised by the Fishery Manage from the Environment Agency that the bazaar weather conditions this year have not helped any fishery as a lot of anglers have struggled this year generally. We have been seeing plenty of fish swimming in the lake since our busy period has passed and there has been no fishing here, and we have even seen a few carp jumping out of the water catching "dinner". We are told that another reason the carp are shy and the smaller fish are being very difficult to catch, is because we have such a large lake with lots of hiding places, the fish are not happy with Anglers being there so they keep away on the far side of the lake where fishing is not permitted. We know there are some pike in the lake, and winter time is a good time to fish for pike, as they feed all winter when the others don't. So the pike and any eels will be hungry during the winter. We want to encourage more anglers to fish for the bream, tench and roach and anything other than Carp, as we now realise that Carp fishing is more competitive and specialised. Anyway, I hope this helps and we are pleased you generally enjoyed your time here and we will look forward to your return.

No fish in the lake

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice cottage with lovely surroundings, but it did have the feel of a new housing estate.

Our big disappointment was the fishing or the lack of fish. The lake is very overgrown and parts of the lake are out of bounds. We voiced our complaints to Christine the manager, and she immediately arranged to have a lot of the growth cut down.

Barbara Wingrove




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
We seem to not have had a good year for the fishing this year, we have since found out from a fishery manager via the Environmental Agency that it has not been a good year all over for fishing due to the bazaar weather conditions we have been experiencing. Also because this has been our first year for promoting fishing which in fact has brought on plenty of interest, the fishery agent said that all the fishing here has caused the fish to "hide away" as they are not used to so much fishing and bait - our fish feed off the natural resources of the lake. However, on completing a visual survey we have seen this week, lots and lots of bream, tench, roach and also a few large carp jumping out of the water. Probably because there are no anglers here for the last couple of weeks. I am assured that the fish will become accustomed to fishing hooks and bait, and hopefully we should look forward to a better year next year with the fish. We have now maintained the surrounding areas to the lake and on the islands since your departure and our groundsmen have assured us they will keep on top of this - we do apologise if you found these areas rather overgrown, but we had been spending a lot of time maintaining the surrounding areas to the holiday cottages during the busy peak holiday season. I do hope we will see you again sometime in the future, and thank you for your review.