FB Twitter

Mulberry Barn Cottage

Mulberry Barn Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 21 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


It's always a good idea to keep your entertainment options open when travelling with children and Mulberry Barn Cottage allows guests to do just that. It's a little taste of luxury, awarded 5* Gold Award by Visit England, perfectly located for a day at the beach or a ramble in the forest. Set in the pretty coastal village of Milford and surrounded by grade 2 listed buildings, this recently-built home-from-home sits on the doorstep of the New Forest and yet is only a 10-minute walk from the seaside.

The two-story house itself is a winning mix of contemporary and traditional, built out of time-honoured materials such as hand-made bricks and tiles and cedar cladding and yet loaded with the cool style and state-of-the-art mod cons of a boutique hotel. On the ground floor is a light-spacious open-plan dining, living and kitchen area leading out through French doors to a sunny south-facing terrace. Equally perfect for alfresco dining for the whole family or quiet spot of reading, sunbathing and coffee drinking for grown ups. The kitchen is fitted with a slick, modern gas hob, two electric ovens, a dishwasher, a large fridge-freezer, a wine fridge and a microwave, arranged around a bar with stools. Meals can be eaten around a lovely long glass table in the dining area that is sure to turn even the most chaotic family meals into a special occasion. In the living area, guests can sink into a luxurious L-shaped sofa to watch the 37” wall-mounted flat screen TV with DVD player and Freeview box or listen to music on the CD and radio. Free broadband via a router in the handy downstairs study, complete with divan and easy chair, means that communications with the outside world is guaranteed. A downstairs cloakroom has a nice big shower cubicle and the large utility room has a butler sink, washing machine and tumble dryer to make it easy to deal with the inevitable holiday avalanche of dirty kid's clothes.


Upstairs are two large en-suite bedrooms, both easily big enough to fit in a cot . The master bedroom has great views over Christchurch Bay toward the Isle of Wight. The king-size bed can be split into two comfortable singles while the en-suite bathroom has a huge free-standing bath that will charm any shower-hating toddler. The second bedroom has a double bed and an en-suite bathroom that includes a basin, toilet and shower. Owner David Danby provides lots of crisp cotton linen, cosy duvets and fluffy towels – although guests do need to bring their own towels for the beach.


There's lots on offer for small people too – which means less packing for their parents. A travel cot, highchairs, a baby bath and potty, stairgates and a bottle steriliser are all part of package, as are plastic cutlery and crockery, sippy cups, changing mats and nappy buckets. Inside, bags of toys, DVDs, games and puzzles should keep junior guests amused, while a handy collection of buckets and spades and fishing nets are great for days in the garden or on the beach. But it's not just the children who will have fun here. A trusted babysitter can be arranged to allow parents to have night out alone and sample one of the many top-class restaurants and pubs only minutes away.


New for 2015: The owner has arranged a complimentary Parking Permit be provided for all 2015 rentals which covers all the local towns, villages, beaches, cliff top and marina car parks. In fact it covers a total of 39 local car parks and makes life so much easier for families when visiting.

Summer Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you for a lovely holiday home we loved it. The location is perfect minutes from the shops in Milford, the garden is great and the space at Mulberry Barn is generous so we could all relax and enjoy the local surroundings and the New Forest. We loved every minute of it and hopefully will be back and the garage was a bonus for the bikes too. Thank you again.



Return Visit

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Mulberry Barn Cottage and it lived up to last years memories. We would not hesitate to visit again or recommend it to friends.



Home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place to stay! The barn is stunning and and has all the little extras that make for a really enjoyable stay. It is a great base to explore the area and we hope to return next year.



Simply the best!

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A child friendly secure location with every conceivable provision for all ages in a quiet location but just 2 minutes walk to the village for everything you may need
Close to great pubs and the New Forest by car.




Excellent well appointed accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mulberry Barn exceeded our high expectations in every way. The well laid out beautifully clean & appointed accommodation has everything you could possibly want for a relaxing home from home stay. We chose Mulberry Barn so that we could spend quality time with our UK grandchildren & it was the ideal holiday house - so safe with the enclosed gated garden & just a couple of minutes walk from the local shops & about 8 minutes walk from the shingle beach at Milford. For anyone wanting quality & upmarket luxury accommodation in this area it’s the perfect spot



Luxury short break

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time at this cottage and with the advantage of better weather loved it more. Every amenity catered for and the hosts always happy to provide any assistance or recommendations. Great to be so close to shops, restaurants and the water front.



Beautifully appointed cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 24 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mulberry Barn is located right in the middle of Milford on Sea in a quiet lane leading up to the village church. It is set in a good sized private and quiet garden. It is presented in immaculate condition with two very good sized and comfortable ensuite bedrooms and large kitchen, diner, and comfortable lounge. There is also a very good sized second lounge/office area. 2 minute walk to the small village green and amenities and about 10 to the nearest beach area.
It is very hard to be at all critical about the property but our only comment was that we don't think we could ever get used to ensuite 'facilities' with clear glass doors!
Very much enjoyed our stay. Thank you to David for his welcome.




A lovely Royal Wedding weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as a family with our 2 year old grandson. The house was very comfortable, well equipped and toddler friendly. High chair, cot and stair gates all in place when we arrived. Close to shops and good location. Would definitely recommend.



Mulberry Barn - did not want to leave!

Review submitted on Tue, 15 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous house in a great location. Close to Village Green, a few minutes walk to Sea, and only about 1 mile from the New forest.
Owner is very helpful, house is to a very high standard and spotlessly clean. So much to do in the area we will be returning at a later date to continue where we left off!




Excellent!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was excellent - we love it here! We would recommend for family groups as well as couples looking for a tranquil retreat.



First class accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 05 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mulberry Barn is worthy of its 5 stars, a beautiful & spotless property in a lovely setting & location ideal for exploring the surrounding area. A credit to its owners whose communication in the booking, in provision of information & help regarding any queries was second to none. Would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone.



Two good finds - Mulberry Barn and Milford on Sea!

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable, well equipped cottage in an excellent position near to the village shops and cafes and within easy walking distance of the sea. We didn’t use the car for the first two days of our stay! The information provided at the time of booking and on the website was excellent. We felt very at home and enjoyed our visit.



4 night stay at Mulberry Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mulberry Barn is an excellent holiday home for two couples with every mod con! The downstairs accommodation is very spacious and modern and the kitchen is very well equipped. Mulberry Barn is in an excellent location a short stroll to Milford on Sea village centre and 10 minutes flat walk to the seafront. The New Forest is on the doorstep a short drive away. We would love to come back.



Delightful property in a superb location.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful place to stay in a beautiful friendly village in Hampshire.
The barn is clean, warm and has everything you could ask for.
Wonderful hosts - leaving a welcome gift and Xmas tree for us to enjoy over the Xmas festivities
Highly recommend




A perfect weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our weekend at Mulberry Barn and can only echo the previous positive comments that this is an excellent property, extremely well equipped and comfortable and within a very short walk of the village and sea. The only negative was that the weekend passed much too quickly. We can thoroughly recommend this property.



Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We took a short mid week break at Mulberry barn in November. Fabulous autumnal colours in the New Forest and very quiet and windswept walks along the coast. Mulberry Barn is an excellent base for exploring the local area. It is a fantastic home for anyone travelling with young children or babies. All your needs are catered for making travel much lighter. The home is finished to a very high standard. It's open plan nature gives for a spacious feel. We could not recommend this place enough to family and friends.



Long Weekend in Milford including Peppa Pig!

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at Mulberry Barn primarily as a base for Peppa Pig World as we have a 2 year old Daughter but in fact the location is perfect and even better that it is coastal. My immediate attraction with Mulberry Barn from the website was the condition of the property in that it had a modern feel (compared to other 'chintzy' like cottages) and was also promoted as toddler/child friendly. Also the number of bathrooms as its always nice to have en-suites even if staying with family. We were not disappointed at all once we arrived at the property. It was very clean and in an excellent condition, has been well built with home from home luxuries and everything done to a high standard. All the little extras were a bonus too and highly catered for all needs. We were extremely lucky with our weather whilst we were there and were able to make full use of the garden which again is very secluded and safe for children to run around without the worry of escaping. The road is also very quiet so again no through traffic, just the sound of birds ! If I had anything to mention as a negative, it would be the 2 glass tables in the lounge, look lovely but a bit unfriendly should you not see the edges ! but this is very minor and you cant think of everything ! would highly recommend. Thank you for a great stay. (Forgot to mention, about 30-40 mins to Peppa Pig World).



Extremely well equipped cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mulberry Barn is one of the best cottages that we have ever stayed. Well located, comfortable, clean and beautifully kept. It comes with a level of equipment that I have never seen in any other cottage.



Lovely private house in a lovely area

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay with our new born and 4 year old. House was well equipped for small children and grown ups alike. Owners were very helpful and responsive.



A week's stay to the 4/8/17

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Mulberry Barn and we loved it again. The house is furnished to a very high standard, everything we needed was there. The garden is wonderfully kept and totally secure, the boys loved charging around. Milford is a lovely little village with everything you could need and then beach is a short walk away. We loved visiting Mudeford via the ferry and Beaulieu motor museum was a good day out. We were not blessed with good weather, but Mulberry Barn is so well equipped and comfortable that none of us minded spending time "at home". Thanks for a wonderful stay!



Excellent property

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mulberry barn is a lovely relaxing property. It was well thought out when designed and this continued when kitted out as it has everything you need when away - and a lot more than the standard holiday rental property has. The garden is well sized and maintained whilst having the huge advantage of being entirely closed in once the gates are shut so making it both secluded and secure for children. the village is well catered for in terms of shops and a good chippie whilst the seafront is a short walk away. Our son loved exploring hurst castle, crabbing at keyhaven and the sandy beaches a little down the coast (though the roads take a while to drive short distances). Cannot fault the property at all - even the poor phone signal is a bonus on holiday (made up for by fast broadband)