FB Twitter

The Cart House

The Cart House

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 38 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.7


The Cart House is a luxurious open plan barn that can sleep 6 comfortably and has 2 double bedrooms plus a twin bedroom and 2 bathrooms. There is an open plan kitchen/dining/living area with a log burner. The downstairs bedroom can take a cot or an extra single camp bed.

Family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class venue, quiet and very helpful owners, ourselves, my daughter and 7 year old grand-daughter loved every minute of our stay



Pembrokeshire peace

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We loved the peace and quiet of the location and the care the owners had taken painstakingly converting the ecobarns.



Shhh! Hidden Gem!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent the week after half term at this glorious retreat. Self Catering luxury at its best. It rightly deserves its 5 star rating from the Welsh Tourist Board. Situated down a quiet country lane but less than 10 miles from Britain smallest and arguably it's best city(St. David's). Karen our host was lovely and was interested in all our visits. A bit like visiting your favourite aunty in the country. The welcome basket of Welsh treats was a nice touch. Sammy the dog was often around when you missed your own canine friend. The playground with its pirate ship, rope swing and zip wire was enjoyed by our 3 year old grandson and parents and grandparents alike. Local attractions included a bug kitchen/farm, Pembroke Castle, St. David's and the quaint beach at Little Haven. If you are looking for a quality hidden gem in Pembrokeshire then this property is for you: but shhh! Don't tell anyone!



A beautiful and relaxing holiday location.

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Asheston House Farm is a lovely spot for a relaxing break in the beautiful welsh hills.

Situated just 20 minutes from St Davids and 24 from stunning Whitesands Bay, this idyllic set of 3 holiday cottages are very pleasing surprise (Especially the under floor heating :D). Luxurious and well appointed they aren't cheap but they are worth it.

Let down only slightly by a few little niggly things such as a lack of instructions for the grill and a need for a good clean in places I would certainly return and have already recommended it to my friends.

My only real complaint has nothing do with the Cart House (where we stayed) and more to do with the fickle Welsh weather; I didn't get to see the Milky Way once :/

P.S. Definitely visit Pointz Castle Ice Cream parlour. I certainly did :)




Ideal for a family break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very comfortable and well-equipped, set in tranquil surroundings with an unspoilt view. The owner responded very promptly to our enquiries. We would definitely recommend the Cart House and hope to return one day soon.



Lovely stay at The Cart House

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Karen and Jeff have worked very hard to create a lovely set of barn conversions, ideal for a holiday in South Wales. The surroundings are beautiful and very peaceful. The Cart House has been very tastefully renovated and we had everything we needed. It was very well supplied. The hamper on our first day was very welcome, as was the milk left in the fridge for us. Karen was very helpful and responded quickly to our requests.



Great Stay at secluded farmhouse in wonderful location

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Definitely recommend Asheston Barns for anyone looking for a rural stay in Pembrokeshire near the beautiful scenic coast. Our barn was quaint and cosy, and fully equipped with everything we needed. The children were able to roam freely around the farm and be at one with nature which was a real bonus, there was even a woodland playground complete with zipwire! Karen and Jeff were very welcoming, and helped us with anything we requested, overall we had a lovely stay.



The Cart House

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable place to stay with everything you need to make it a home from home. The welcome basket was a lovely surprise. It is a peaceful retreat.



A beautiful stay in Barns

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a amazing holiday in Barns. The barns are situated at a very peaceful and beautiful place. Cottages are really beautiful with wooden interiors. Our kids too had a good time staying there. Karen is a wonderful host.



Family foray

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Apr 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our annual Easter break tried out the Asheston Ecobarns and found them well equipped, warm and comfortable. Thank you




Stunning location

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely week at the barn, surrounded by beautiful countryside & waking up to great views. The moment we stepped into our temporary home it was warm & inviting, the hamper was a lovely touch with delicious goodies. It’s surrounded by pretty villages & great beaches to visit. Our hosts were very welcoming & helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much, a great way to end 2017.



The Cart House

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent place for young children as toys, ride on cars & play park area provided. Close to Newgale beach. Sitting room a little dated & one of the sofas very uncomfortable otherwise very well-equipped barn. Welcome hamper was appreciated too. High chair, booster seat, stair gates & bed sides all available without extra cost.

We would definitely return here




An excellent week for the whole family.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Cart House together with the Grain Store for a family celebration. The Barns were all we had hoped for. The conversions have been very well done with clever engineering to make the Barns very Green. The location, rural but near enough to beaches and towns, is ideal. Karen and Jeff, the owners, are very friendly and efficient but not intrusive in any way. We all enjoyed our stay.



Holiday at the ecobarns

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently enjoyed an extended family holiday with three other families, sharing three of the ecobarns. It's a great place for kids- loads of play space and a lovely location not far from terrific beaches. We liked the environmental responsibility of the site.



Stunning views

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tasteful and comfortable. Everything you need for a break away. I stayed with my elderly parents and sister. We all enjoyed sitting out on the patio each evening enjoying the countryside and views. We found the kitchen to be well fitted out with everything we needed. The bathrooms are modern and good quality. Having a ground floor bedroom and bathroom was ideal for us. We would all recommend The Cart House at Asheton Eco Barns.



A wonderful stay in Wales

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in The Cart house for 4 nights in May and enjoyed our stay immensely. The house was beautifully furnished and had every amenity we could think of. The kids enjoyed running around in the open grassland surrounding the barns and the location was perfect for visiting the many attractions of Pembrokeshire.




Carthouse

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonder place to stay. Very childfriendly. Owner extremely helpful and welcoming. Would definitely recommend it.



Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a couple of peaceful weeks in January at Asheston Barns and stayed at the Cart House. Superb accommodation, warm, well equipped and very comfortable. Charming hosts close at hand and welcoming but not at all intrusive. Excellent location to explore North and South of Pembrokeshire. Highly recommended.



Short Break in Pembrokeshire

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cart House is a lovely cottage with retained original features and well equipped for a family stay. The weather was typically Welsh - unrelenting heavy rain, however the cottage was wonderfully warm, even without the log burner going. On site facilities good and felt a very safe environment for the children to play.

Only downside was wi-fi that seems incompatible with mobile devices. Worked fine with a laptop, but foudn it difficult to connect / work with iPad/iPhone's.




Great experience

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic property location. Kids loved it. Karen was also super-helpful when I found I'd left some stuff behind.

We will definitely be staying again and have recommended to several friends.




Family friendly

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pleasant rural property with super play area for the children and selection of toys. Good accommodation with spacious rooms and excellent bathrooms. Helpful hosts and good central location in Pembrokeshire. All garden / outside space is open to all neighbouring properties so not private for bbqs etc. so may not suit all. Furnished nicely although beds and sofas could be more comfortable.



A delightful week in charming surroundings with lots of home comforts

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property was very welcoming with attention having been taken to ensure there was a good combination of stylish surroundings mixed with lots of practical equipment, especially the well appointed kitchen. It felt more like being in someone's home than in a cottage let.
Many thanks for the welcome pack and helpful information on our arrival.




Family wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a stunning base for extended family and friends to meet and socialise in the lead up to a stunning wedding at Hilton Court. Beautiful and tranquil surroundings and spacious and excellently maintained and furnished accommodation. Would highly recommend for families. Hope to return in the future.



short family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to have a short family holiday to celebrate mums birthday and my sisters 50th birthday.
The Cart house was a good choice, mum was well catered for, downstairs bedroom and bathroom, and the rest of us were perfectly accommodated.
The host was very helpful, refilling our log basket almost daily.
When we left we were already discussing our return.




One of the best places we've ever stayed in.

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First impressions were of the very professional manner of all the contact we had with Asheston Eco Barns. Then we were most impressed with the appearance of the building as we approached up their long drive. Obviously a very well cared for place which has been fully restored with taste and quality. We felt very private with our own lovely outside seating/entertaining area. Karen and her small daughter greeted us and showed us everything we needed to know. The house was spotless and exceptionally we'll equipped. The bed linen was crisp and we'll laundered. The design of our barn was lovely with two huge bathrooms and plenty of space everywhere. Our views were amazing overlooking hills, valleys, fields and woods. It is probably the nicest place we have ever booked and I totally respect and approve of their 'Eco' approach to energy conservation in the barns. I would not hesitate to recommend it to everyone (except I would be shooting myself in the foot if it became so popular that I could not get in next time I wanted to book!)



We came to catch a few days away and go fishing from our small boat

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Just a very well appointed conversion, tastefully completed. All the quality facilities you would have at home. Great external space and although we did not bring little ones it is brilliant equipped for them.
Wifi functional but weak - hey but you don't there to work do you!




Peace and tranquility in Pembrokeshire

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jul 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully converted barn (one of five on the property), fully equipped and providing a home from home for our week's stay. The location (very rural) may not suit anyone who wishes to eat out every night as the nearest establishments are 3-4 miles away. However, the location, near St Davids and Solva means that access to both North and South coasts of Pembrokeshire are well within an hour's drive. We had a very enjoyable week.



Long weekend cycling, including the Tour of Pembrokeshire

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cart House a converted stone outbuilding at Asheston Eco Barns was exactly what we had hoped it would be. I lovely quiet location, very scenic and far away from busy day to day lives.

Very comfortable and well equipped and while we were two couples and no children, it's very evident that this is a really great place for families and children to holiday. Loads of play equipment and things to do, inside and out.

We had secure storage space cleared for our bikes, which was helpful and got lots of good advice which helped to get the most from our short stay. Local pubs and cafes in Solva, a few minutes drive away, were excellent.

For sure we'd make another visit and recommend Asheston Eco barns to others.





Overall review

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice comfortable barn conversion in a good location.
The welcome basket was very generous and enjoyable.
We visited a number of towns in the area and walked along several beaches, our particularly favourite being Newgale.




Superb, as always

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
...and great weather too!

sorry, no time for a longer review, sorry, no time for a longer review,sorry, no time for a longer review,sorry, no time for a longer review




Beautiful property and countryside, but more suited to 4 adults.

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The barn has been converted to a high standard, is well equipped and has everything that you would need for a weeks stay. It is set in beautiful countryside and I can imagine it to be a very cosy retreat out of season. We had an enjoyable week in August with our 2 teenage boys and their friends; they particularly loved the zip wire in the wooded play area and there was plenty of space for them to play football too. The only negatives were that it was a little cramped for 6 people particularly around the dining table which could only comfortably seat 4 and in the lounge area. The double beds did feel small, particularly the downstairs bedroom considering it had more than enough room for a larger one. However the beds were very comfortable and clean. We did fail to get a mobile signal unless we walked back up to the top of the hill, but that is only an issue if you need to be contactable during your stay. The Tesco supermarket in Haverfordwest delivered the grocery order we had pre-booked without any issues. The ECO concept has been applied well to the barns and the recycled water system was interesting. However I do have to admit to missing a tumble-dryer; particularly as our weather was mixed but it wasn't cold enough for the heating and we weren't able to dry beach or bath towels successfully. All in all a great stay and would recommend but maybe not for 6 adults!



A lovely place!

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Recommended by friends, Asheston House Eco Barns is a lovely place for a family holiday! So much so we have recommended it to our family who have booked up already!



Lovely break

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jul 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent quality accommodation. We had a great time, especially as there was so much to do for our two year old, which kept everybody happy! Incredible play area and wonderful barn conversions. We are hoping to be back sometime.



Excellent standard of accommodation. Highly Recommended.

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jun 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. We were a group of 7 families accommodated in 4 of the cottages. Great. Nice view and arrangements. Kids enjoyed in the play area. Highly recommended.



Perfect accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back for a 3rd time to the cottages as they are perfect. They worked especially well for a large family get-together allowing us all to congregate in the larger cottage while still providing opportunities for privacy and a feeling of space. The attention to detail is fantastic. The cottages are all clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Staying in the Cart House, the view is so beautiful, you can just sit on the sofa and watch for hours!



Great Spring Break

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Mar 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A comfortable and well equipped cottage that provided an excellent base to explore West Pembrokeshire. We especially appreciated how warm and cosy the cottage was and how beautifully furnished. All aspects of the barn conversion have been carried out to a high standard. The location was peaceful and we enjoyed the views from the sofa as we settled down each evening in front of the log burner. The owners made us welcome and provided all the ingredients for a great spring break.



A wonderful new year stay with friends

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Cart House over the New Year period, our group consisted of 3 couples and a 1 year old. The cottage was still decorated with a Christmas tree which made the welcome really lovely and once the log burner was alight it was such a cosy retreat from the very wet & windy weather we had. There was also a gorgeous hamper waiting for us filled with delicious local food and drink. We requested a high chair, cot and stair gates during booking, all of which were ready to use on arrival. There were also lots of toys for our 1 year old to play with which she loved, and games & books for the adults too.
The 2 bathrooms were spotless with a choice of a bath and shower in each. The kitchen had everything you could possible need, very generous with plates, glasses, utensils etc. The 3 bedrooms were a great size especially the downstairs one. The twin beds in one of the upstairs bedrooms needs new matresses but this was our only complaint!
Overall, we all had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend this accommodation. We will definitely be going back!




Great eco hol.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Oct 2013
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well provided, good location, eco friendly and welcoming place. There was lots of out door space and facilities (barbee, picnic tables). My son's young family enjoyed the playground provided.