FB Twitter

HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings)

HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings)

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


HAWTHORN (sleeps 2)

Hawthorn is a luxury Riverside Lodge for two in the Argyll Forest. Wonderful scenery, rich with wildlife, a perfect place for romance. Visit nearby 'Pucks Glen' or 'Benmore Botanical Gardens & Cafe', dine in style in Dunoon or at a local inn, read a book or just relax. Take home some fantastic memories.

Quiet and peaceful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a pleasant and peaceful stay in the lodge. It was perfect and exactly what we needed to disconnect. We had everything we need and I highly recommand.

Jonathan from stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in October 2019


Cosy stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returned from our second stay from Rashfield Sheilings and enjoyed it just as much as the first! Lovely lodge with lots of extras, where you can truly relax with the view and fire burning!

Guest from Saltcoats stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in October 2019


Short break

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely couple of days in Dunoon. The lodge was small but perfectly formed! It had everything we needed, it was clean and comfortable with the cutest woodburner, which kept us very cosy. The location was great for the botanical gardens and pucks glen. I would definitely book again.

Anne from stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in October 2019


Great holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful weeks stay,home from home. Comfy, cosy and clean.Fantastic view and although next to a road, traffic noise not an issue. Bed was very firm, but that could just be us. Visit to The Wistlefield Inn is a must, steak cooked on the rock mmm. This is a real find,and definitely worth a visit.

Guest from halstead stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 7 nights in September 2019


Our honeymoon stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was lovely and cosy with everything you need, the surrounding area was amazing. Will be back.

Julie from Wingate stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 4 nights in August 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 62 days ago
We were truly delighted to hear you had chosen to stay at Hawthorn Lodge for your honeymoon, and that you particularly enjoyed the surrounding area. Wishing you all the best for your future together

Excellent hospitality in a fabulous location

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great property; small but perfectly formed in a fabulous location. Lots of nice touches to make us feel welcome and at home. Lots of helpful information provided in advance and throughout our stay. So much to see and do nearby.

Amy from London stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in August 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 62 days ago
Thank you for giving us top marks 5/5, and for your lovely comments. Hope to see you again.

Clean small lodge at gorgeous location

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was clean and eye for detail when arriving. Towels on bed were very creatively arranged.
The wlecome pack is a good touch too. The view is brilliant.


Hans from stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 7 nights in August 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 62 days ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your two week break. Hope to see you again. All the best.

Rashfield

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Rashfield lodges are lovely clean and tastefully finished to a very high standard set in a picturesque location what more could you ask for. I stayed in Bramble in 2017 & Hawthorn in 2019 & look forward to my next visit. Stephen and Liz are excellent hosts and maintained our privacy throughout.

Karen from Greenock stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 7 nights in July 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 62 days ago
It was lovely having you return to stay at Rashfield Sheilings. You're welcome to return any time. :)

De-stress in Dunoon

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were lucky enough to experience the Scottish "Summer" in our time at Rashfield Sheilings and this made for a glorious week of opened French doors, allowing the sights and sounds from the gentle river passing by or the occasional wildlife visitor.

This was a much required relaxing and non-stressful week which the surroundings and the facilities of the lodge more than played their part, from the very comfortable bedding to the welcome basket of goodies left by the owners.....fantastic.
I cannot say enough positive things about this lodge and it's owners.

On a side note, we visited a restaurant in Dunoon called "Wined and Dined". An amazingly skilful chef who creates masterful dishes. If you are like us and appreciate quality dishes then this is certainly worth a visit....


Graeme from Livingston stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 7 nights in May 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 135 days ago
Many thanks for your kind comments and helpful information for future guests. We really appreciate it..!

Lovely peaceful lodge.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely lodge on a peaceful site. Excellent facilities in small lodge excellently maintained and very comfortable.

Guest from Spalding stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 7 nights in June 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will return soon :)

Short stay after our wedding night

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We didn't spend as much time here as we would have liked, it was the day after our wedding so we were not around much. But we really liked the place, very clean, cozy and warm. Also, it was nice being so close to the river, and with Pucks Glen just over the road.

Ishmael from Hope stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in April 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
Congratulations, and thank you for choosing our lodge for your honeymoon..! We are delighted you enjoyed your time here.

Hawthorn lodge situated in beautiful surroundings and lodge is cosy , clean and ideal for our short

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay , very cosy and would highly recommend , had lot of great walkways around , very enjoyable.

John from stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in March 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
Thank you for your review and top rating. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again :)

Weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge is cosy, spotlessly clean and well kitted out. Pretty view of the river and surrounding hills. Super comfortable bed and good shower. Good communication from hosts.

There is a little bit of traffic noise as the lodge is just off the main road but the road isn’t busy and it’s not so bad once you’re inside. We probably noticed this more because everything else about the place is just so tranquil.

Surrounding area is stunning with plenty of nearby lochs, hills and forests to explore.





Jennifer from Cumbernauld stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in February 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
Thank you for your review and helpful comments for future guests. The area is indeed stunning. Hope to see you again. All the best.

Perfect timber cabin close to various facilities

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Feb 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cabin was cosy clean and had all amenities you would wish..... only real disappointment was the log burner which was ineffective in heat terms and instructions for use not easily to follow
However due to other heating within the cabin this was not a major issue the cabin was warm and comfortable


Stewart from Kilmarnock stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in February 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
We appreciate your comments and excellent rating. The wood burning stove can be difficult to use to those unfamiliar with lighting fires, but once set, using twigs, and newspaper, or fire-lighters the stove is actually highly efficient for the space. The 'boatman' stove was indeed designed for small spaces, such as canal boats. Responsive electric panel heaters are provided for those more comfortable with modern facilities.

Beautiful and Peaceful

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Feb 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at Hawthorn Lodge with my partner. The location is beautiful, the cabin is gorgeous and kept to a very high standard. This is my second visit and I will definitely return

James from Glasgow stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in February 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
Delighted to have you return to our lodge, and thank you for your very kind comments :)

Second Visit

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this holiday for my son and his partner, this was their second visit this year to Rashfield Sheilings. Their first visit was back in March, and they enjoyed it very much... they felt then that the only improvement would be the weather... although they were never kept in... So they were delighted with the weather they had in August... and once again with the hospitality, and the accommodation, they had a great week...

Alan from Hamilton stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 7 nights in August 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad your son and partner enjoyed their second stay at Rashfield Sheilings. Thank you for this excellent rating and review :)

Couple break

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very helpful hosts which make the booking personal and the Lodge was kept to a high clean standard. We throughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend!

Laura from Knottingley stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 7 nights in August 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
So happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. All the best :)

What a brill wee place right by the river we went for a break and a rest and got exactly that brill

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We set out looking for somewher to chill and relax and we got exactly that so much for us to see and do in this beatiful area and exalent bar meals available to us in the bars arround which we did take advantage of where the staff were so kind and we met some lovely people and ye we will go back loved it

Brian from Cumbernauld stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 6 nights in July 2018


Lovely

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cabin. If I were to be picky it may need a new hob at some point soon and perhaps it could do with a couple more pots and pans but overall it’s excellent. Clean and very well decorated.

Frankie from stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in July 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your excellent rating and we appreciate your comments. We think you may have missed the pots and pans kept in the oven drawer...? We've checked over the hob and can see no issue with it. Its modern and in excellent condition.

Amazing weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an amazing weekend, the views were amazing, the lodge was immaculate when we arrived, the owners gave us our privacy but were also more than happy to help us if needed. Will definitely be returning shortly.

Gary from Glasgow stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in January 2018


Stephen replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your excellent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the amazing views. All the best. Stephen & Liz

Lovely getaway for a couple

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sheilings are delightful, just perfect for a couple to get away from the everyday routine. It's amazing what is fitted in to the place considering the size. Stephen and Liz are thoughtful hosts and work hard to provide all that you need & extras to make it special. Highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys the natural beauty of Scotland.

Alison from Alva stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in January 2018


Stephen replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for leaving us a lovely review. It was very good to meet you and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon :)

Rashfeild Sheilings

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place and the small cabin was ideal for a quiet weekend away. Fully Equipped with anything you would need perfectly proportioned in its quiet riverside location. Pucks Glen just out the back was beautiful and great to get out and explore even though the weather was not as good as we would have hoped.



Guest from Edinburgh stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in October 2014


Short get away for two

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My girlfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and both promised that we'll go back again! The lodge was perfect, everything was provided and clean, we were left to it and it was just such a peaceful break for us and just what we wanted! It was worth every penny, we WILL be back and would recommend it to anyone. 10/10

Duncan from Aberdeen stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in September 2014


Great weekend getaway!

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Throughly enjoyed a two night stay in Rashfield Shieling helped by some beautiful September sunshine! The chalet is very compact and comfortable with everything you need for a lovely relaxing break. The little wood burning stove is great although we didnt need to use it but I can imagine it would make the whole place very cosy.
It is an ideal situation close to great walks, cycle routes and Benmore Botanic Gardens which are well worth a visit.
Not that impressed with Dunoon however and I would suggest making sure you have food with you to cook on occasions as its certainly not a gourmet place!
All in all lovely place, would recommend it and we would go back!
Thank you for a lovely stay.


Guest from Stirling stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in September 2014


You will have a great time but...

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Sep 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Rashfield Sheilings are stunning little log cabins finished to a very high standard. Exceptionally clean and very cosy and warm. The only downsides are that they are near a main road which gets busy in the day but nightime there isn't much traffic at all.

Being near the river, the evening does attract the midges so sitting on the beautiful decking with a drink in the evening becomes less appealing. But if you plan for this and take candles and spray, and dont expose too much skin you'll be fine, issue is you dont know about the midges until you get there.

The cabins are very comfortable but the bed I had was quite bowed on one side, the bed slats were damaged and needed replacing ideally as it made for uncomfortable nights

The other thing to mention is that you should take a soap or handwash for the bathroom. There isn't any which i thought it could have used because if you are there for a week you dont really want to buy a brand new bottle of handwash, they could provide that.

Offseason you are expected to pay for electricity used which i thought was a little weird but it doesn't amount to much if you're not wasteful.

The family who own it seem really nice but quite private they dont bother you unless you need something which they will do their best to help with. The guy popped in shortly after check in with a little map of the area and a few words on what there is in the area which was very cool - nice guy.

It is a beautiful location and these log cabins are in really great location for stuff to do, there's a few improvements listed above but overall you very very good. We stayed as a couple 2nd week of Sept 2014 and would deffo go back.





Tiruven from Aylesbury stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 4 nights in September 2014


Stephen replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review. Sorry about bed. Yes, on investigation we found a broken bed slat. Now fixed. Although officially we are classed as self-catering we do keep a supply of toiletries for our 'bed and no breakfast' guests staying for just one night, and towels are available too. Best wishes

Perfectly Peaceful

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just what we needed.
Peace and quiet, in such a lovely location with a wonderful view. the lodge was immaculate. Can't fault it. We will be making our 4th return very soon.


Emily from Manchester stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 4 nights in August 2014


Great for a short stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place for a short stay but kitchen area small if you plan to cook regularly.
Otherwise excellent and would certainly stay here again. Well placed for lots places to visit.


Gordon from stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 1 nights in June 2014


Excellent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this lodge after finding it on trip advisor. The location, lodge and amenities were exactly as described and were in immaculate condition. The lodge itself is very new and exceptionally well furnished. Stephen was very welcoming and the instructions for departure were very straight forward. I had an immensely enjoyable stay and there is nothing that I could fault, I will definitely visit again. A great wee place for a peaceful and relaxing stay, well worth the money.

Guest from stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in June 2014


My stay at Rashfield

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had a wonderful time at Rashfield Sheiling South. Everything about it was excellent. I do not have a bad word to say about the place. It was quiet and peaceful and in a lovely setting. I would go back anytime.


Guest from Lanark stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 4 nights in June 2014


Rashfield Sheiling South

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just returned from our stay at Rashfield Sheiling .every part of the stay was excellent .the cabin was superb everything as described . A perfect place for couples to stay. Cabin was spotless, everything you need to cook, bed was so comfortable goose feather quilt comfy pillows such a good place to sleep after a day in the fresh air. We brought some peanuts ,put them on the bench along side the cabin and hey presto red squirrels .i would recommend this place to everyone real good value for money. I have read some reviews where they say the midges are a problem , yes they are here but not in the numbers of some places we have stayed, and they definitely don't spoil this fantastic place for a relaxing break, and after all it's the west coast of Scotland so midges come with the territory. I would recommend a vist to the near by Botanic Gardens , the walk to the "view point " is well worth the uphill stroll
This is a quality accomadation in a quality area.


Guest from Menstrie stayed at HAWTHORN (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in June 2014