FB Twitter

BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings)

BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings)

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.9
Location
4.8
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


BRAMBLE (sleeps 2)

Bramble Lodge is a lovely lodge for two, overlooking the River Eachaig in Scotland’s first National Park. Wonderful scenery, rich with wildlife. A perfect place for love and romance. Visit nearby Pucks Glen or Benmore Botanical Gardens, dine in style in Dunoon, or in a local Country Inn. Take home some fantastic memories.

Great wee cabin, ideally located!

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic short break. The cabin was everything you could need a d wa t for a short stay. Plenty round about to do!

Calum from stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in October 2019


Bramble

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful location and an excellently equipped lodge. We had a great time and will certainly be back.

We know the area very well but if it is new to you the owners provide you with a lot of helpful information both before arrival and in the welcome pack.


Mark from Peterborough stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in August 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 61 days ago
Very happy to know you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for giving us a top 5/5 rating. :)

Fantastic area, beautiful lodge, great value for money, but little information given prior.

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We were extremely happy when we arrived. The lodge was perfectly sized, private and we could hear the sounds of the river trickling by a short distance away. It was clean and came with many little extra details that we very much appreciated. The only thing that slightly spoiled the beginning of our trip, was how difficult the owners were to contact before we arrived. None of the phone numbers we could find work, and we were forced to drive to Scotland without the code to access the lodge. This problem was sorted out just before our arrival but it did result in a fair amount of stress for us on the journey up. Still, we had a fantastic stay, the bed was extremely comfortable and the lodge really felt like a cozy home away from home.

Cameron from Worcester stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 4 nights in August 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 90 days ago
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your feedback. Many guests comment on our excellent communication so we do apologise. Only now, on checking our communications with you, do we realise our automated messaging had failed. Thank goodness we had sent you a personal, non-automated message by mobile on Arrival Day... thank you for bringing this to our attention. Technological communications are not as good as the personal touch!

Perfect for a romantic getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cabin was wonderfully cosy, comfortable and exceptionally clean. It is placed in a quiet and beautiful location, conveniently situated for some lovely walks (such as the beautiful Puck's Glen and Benmore Botanic Gardens). Stephen and Liz were exceptional in communicating instructions and checking we had arrived safely, and their email arriving first thing on the morning of a rainy day, with some ideas of how to spend time in the area when the weather fails, was a thoughtful touch and much appreciated. As there is a stove fire and heaters in each room, this would also be perfect for a cosy winter break too.

My only slight criticism would be the check in and check out times of 4pm and 10am, respectively. There is a £10 additional fee (each!) to bring these more in line with expected accommodation times (2:30pm & 11:30am), but it was a little frustrating having to pay extra for this and it reduces value for money. As we are early risers anyway we just paid for early check in. I don't know if this is a common theme in the area, but this was really the only negative point in an otherwise wonderful stay. The customer service was excellent.

So, overall, this place is perfect for a romantic getaway in a remote location where you can feel at one with nature and simply enjoy the beautiful scenery and each other's company. I would recommend it!



David from Kuala Lumpur stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in July 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 108 days ago
We take much encouragement from your comments and are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Many of our guests do appreciate the flexibility we offer in being able to arrive and depart any day of the week. Our small staff is very happy to accommodate us in this and so we feel it is fair to reward them appropriately when asked to work outside their normal schedule and to ensure they remain thorough in their endeavours - hence the additional charge to guests requesting early arrival or late departure. We otherwise stick to the industry standard for Self-Catering of 4:00 pm Arrival and 10:00 am Departure. Cleaning and preparation of Self-Catering units (with kitchen and lounge areas) typically requires greater time-allocation than hotel bedrooms or suites. We do, however, believe our prices to be very competitive and offer excellent value. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. All the best.

We had a great holiday in beautiful Scotland.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We felt very comfortable.
Unfortunately, the initial equipment was a bit lean. No pepper, no salt, no sugar. I think that's part of it.


Jeannine from stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 14 nights in June 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 121 days ago
Thank you for your review, and we are really pleased you enjoyed your two weeks in the Sheiling. Although we provide accommodation on a self-catering basis we still provide guests with a starter pack of soap, shampoo, gel, towels, electricity, basic cleaning materials, toilet rolls, kitchen roll, cooking foil and cling film, along with some extra treats. We don't supply tea,coffee, sugar, salt, pepper or spices as these foodstuffs are prone to contamination by other guests. These can, however, be purchased locally.

Great Weekend

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beuatiful lodge, couldnt have wished for anything better. Great location and plenty things to do nearby.

Kirsty from stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in June 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 135 days ago
We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.

Good but with limitations

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge was clean and comfortable but unfortunately next to the main road. The sound of traffic sometimes disturbed my wifes sleep. The equipment for cooking was limited and as we self-cater because of dietary requirements this made it difficult. As it was our first visit to this area we were disappointed that there wasn't much information in the lodge and the tourist office in Dunoon was closed. Overall we had a good week.

Allan from stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 7 nights in June 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 151 days ago
Thank you for your review, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We think you may have overlooked our Information Folder which contains suggestions on what to see, where to go and where to dine, with internet references to enable further online research through our Wi-fi provision? This info and more is also accessible to guests through our ‘back-office log-in’ provided in our correspondence. Like you, we are disappointed the local Tourist Information Centre is closed. Perhaps this is partly due to the plethora of information available online. Pans are located in a compartment beneath the cooker (as referenced in the folder and in our welcome texts). We are sorry your wife was disturbed by the road noise. We live beside the same road as the lodge and understand passing vehicles can seem noisy in a place of relative peace, but it fades into insignificance when compared to town or city traffic noise, which we are well familiar with having enjoyed many city breaks. Even the gentle sounds of the nearby river can disturb the lightest of sleepers. We are delighted you chose our little cabin for your break and hope you will return. All the best.

Base Camp for Exploration.

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for rest and relaxation, apart from midges on early morning departure !!!!!
Handy for Benmore Botanic Garden.


Guest from Grantham stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 4 nights in May 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will return soon :)

Cosy for two

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice spot with rivers views excellent touring base restaurants limited in area Dunoon awful place nothing there

Guest from Winsford stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in June 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
We appreciate your kind comments about our lodge. We love our location and close proximity (10 mins drive) to Dunoon, with its cinema, cafes, swimming pool, leisure centre, museum, specialist shops, supermarket and pubs. There are also many places to dine, both in the town and also within a 20-mile radius, and numerous beach, forest, hill and gorge walks to enjoy. But it won't suit everyone, that's for sure. We now offer our 'Top 10 Restaurants' guide to eating out in the area :)

An Enjoyable 3-Day Break at Bramble Lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The clean, cosy and comfortable accommodation providing basic essentials for 2 at Bramble Lodge (Rashfield Sheilings) contributed greatly to the enjoyment of our 3-day break in this lovely area of Argyll.

Though the Lodge is close to the A815 there is very little traffic noise possibly because of the sturdy wooden fence and the number of trees bordering the site.

We didn't have time to see and do all we wanted to, so plan to return.


William from Blairgowrie stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in May 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
Thanks for your comments and helpful information for guests. The lodge is conveniently located near to the A815 which can be a little noisy when contrasted to the otherwise peaceful setting. Being only 10 minutes drive from town even we don't escape the rush hour. But having spent holidays in the city (believe it or not, it's a welcome contrast to where we are) we agree the traffic noise here is indeed 'very little'.

A lovely Cosy Lodge!

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband & I had a wonderful stay at Bramble Lodge! From the moment I walked through the door I knew it was going to be the beginning of a perfect weekend!
The Lodge was absolutely beautiful with everything perfectly in place down to the towel’s folded as animals on the bed!
I thought I was on a cruise ship minus the water! Cookies & snacks were a very pleasant welcome & the bed was very comfortable!
Plenty hot water & to be honest I can only give the place 100% top marks!
Thank you again for making our stay so enjoyable & memorable!



Catherine from New Jersey stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in May 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
Truly, you have made our day. We aim to provide our guests with the best experience possible at an affordable price, and your comments are really delightful to read. Thank you..! :) :)

Cosy lodge in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Tue, 14 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect romantic getaway! Cosy lodge by the river surrounded by beautiful scenery & tranquil setting. Very clean & everything you need provided for a private escape. The design & decor has been shown a lot of love & attention, full of character. Lovely walks by the river. Visit the Botanic Gardens which is near by for a local venture from the cabin.

Paul from Bishopton stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in May 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review, and highest rating. We really appreciate it. Please come again... :)

Great weekend away

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was a great stay, except that the bedroom is close to the main road so can get a bit noisy. But great otherwise. Everything was spotless and clean. If the weather was better, we would have definitely loved to chill on the patio next to the river. The location is really convenient for walks in Pucks Glen and the botanic garden. We would definitely recommend staying at Bramble Lodge for a short getaway.

PS. one small thing that would have helped - if there was a tea towel in the kitchen to dry dishes, etc. Not sure if we missed this, but would have definitely helped.

Other than that - just a great stay. Thank you! :)


Guest from Glasgow stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in March 2019


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
Thank you for giving us an excellent rating. We accept your advice, re the tea towels, most graciously and promise to leave these out for our next guests. An infrequent oversight. Better weather will be arranged for your next stay... :)

100 / 100

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fantastic already booked for march. great cabin lovely and warm very clean and tidy.beutiful suroundings over all excellent 100 out of 100

Terence from Porth stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in December 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
Our first 100/100 mark. Thank you..!

Great Holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the third time we’ve stayed at the chase the wild goose lodges, amazing place and lovely cabins to stay in. Will definitely be back again & would recommend to anyone!

Andrew from Glasgow stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in October 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
Delighted to have you back, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best... :)

Great find

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy little lodge in a great location . Good facilities and communication from the owners. Would have loved to have more time to stay longer.

Philippa from Wrafton stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in August 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
Many thanks for your review and excellent rating.... :)

A special place to relax

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding accommodation in beautiful surroundings,equipped with everything you need and more,tranquillity at it's best

David from stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in June 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
Thank you...!

well needed few days.enjoyed the peace. thank you.

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
most enjoyable after a very bad experience.just to relax.thank you.weather was also fine.would come back.thank you.

Rab and Toni from stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in July 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will return soon :)

Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed two nights at bramble lodge. Location was great, near all of the areas we wanted to visit.
Accommodation was excellent, clean and presented well. We particularly liked the bed and bedding, great nights sleep!
Would highly recommend, can't think of any negatives.


Lisa from Blantyre stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in August 2018


Stephen & Liz replied 154 days ago
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your lovely comments :)

immaculate

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a beautiful cabin in beautiful surroundings. very clean and fresh to walk into. Fully equipped kitchen and lots of little extras to make you feel at home including books dvds and games.

Graeme from stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in July 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
We were very pleased to have you stay. Thank you for your 5/5 rating and lovely comments, we hope to see you again. Stephen & Liz

Cosy and peaceful

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I spent a few days here alone for some down time. The lodge is well equipped and beautifully presented. The location is excellent, very peaceful by a river. It is close to the main road so there's traffic noise, but that didn't bother me much. I spent a lot of time sitting out on the terrace, enjoying the unusually lovely weather. Inside, the layout makes the most of limited space, and it has everything you might want for a few days away. It was roomy enough for one, but I think two people might struggle if staying for longer or using it as more than just a touring base.

Fiona from stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 5 nights in July 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and excellent rating. You certainly did enjoy the amazing summer sunshine... We hope to see you again. All the best. Stephen & Liz :)

Beautiful place

Review submitted on Wed, 16 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 4 nights in this lovely lodge. Stunning place and all the little touches they provided made our stay very welcome. Would recommend to anyone as we didn’t want to come home.

Joanne from Wigan stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 4 nights in May 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for giving us top marks. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Stephen & Liz :)

Short stay in Dunoon

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great accommodation & location for sightseeing and walking in the Dunnon area. Lodge is cosy & warm although the bathroom would benefit from heating in the colder months. Recommend for a relaxing getaway.

Gary from stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 3 nights in March 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
Hope to see you again. Thank you for your review. Stephen & Liz :)

A short stay at Bramble Lodge - Rashfield Shielings

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Bramble to explore the area around it and really enjoyed our time there. It was a very well equipped and clean Lodge and we were provided with a lot information what to do in the area.
We would totally recommend this place to others!

Thanks for the nice start of our journey!
Yours
Hanna & Jonas


Jonas from stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 5 nights in February 2018


Stephen & Liz replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Wishing you all the best.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy lodge in a great location, beautiful scenery all round, and some fun walks close by. Perfect weekend getaway for a couple. Also good value for money, especially considering the price of a hotel room.

Ian from Paisley stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in November 2014


relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cabin was excellent. The location was very nice. Stephen the owner was very friendly and helpful. The bed was very comfortable with luxurious goose down quilt and pillows. We left happy and refreshed. Thanks

Rachel from Coatbridge stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 5 nights in October 2014


Welcome break

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing 4night break in excellent accommodation,great location but handy for all shopping and places of interest. The owners arranged everything in a professional manner and were very helpful.

Guest from Alloa stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 4 nights in July 2014


Serenity!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jun 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only thing I'd ask is that you make time go slower!!!
It's a big ask, but really it's the only real complaint I have.
10am, is very early to be asked to vacate, 11am would be better!


Louise from Glasgow stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in June 2014


Stephen replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review. We set our Departure Time at 10:00 am in line with the industry standard, but we realise some people need a little longer, so we now offer a Late Departure option, to 11:30 am for a small charge. This means our Housekeeper's day isn't too disrupted, without reward.

It was a Real pleasure!

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jun 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I don't know what we expected, but this lodge really was more than that. Clean, warm and cosy lodge, with a properly working shower, cute fireplace, kitchen, terrace, etc. Soft and clean bed. It was a pleasure to walk in the beautiful forest walks all day and come back to clean yourself in warm shower and then sit on a terrace, watching setting sunlight with a glass on good scottish whisky.

Guest from Raisio stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 2 nights in June 2014


Peace of Mind

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jun 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For those seeking peace away from the pressure of day to day living then this is the place to be.Small is beautiful and together with the setting and standard of accommodation found that within a short time the world was a much better place.Try it and see you will not be disappointed.

Guest from Cullen stayed at BRAMBLE (Rashfield Sheilings) for 4 nights in May 2014