FB Twitter

The Tack Barn (sleeps 2, dines 4)

The Tack Barn (sleeps 2, dines 4)

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 11 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.7
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


A former bank-barn that has been tastefully renovated to provide two luxurious compact two-story dwellings for couples or young families with a baby. The Tack Barn is a bright end-barn conversion featuring a very generous and opulent bath but note that it has a hand, not wall-mounted shower.

do not hesitate to book!

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely location, lovely hosts and standard of accommodation is second to none. Have returned year on year and really appreciate the standard of service Richard and Jan provide.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 54 days ago
Thank you for your kind review and support over all these years, its very much appreciated and a bonus to have seen you twice this year already! - Thank you. Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

A Lovely Setting

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful property and location set in a quiet and beautiful spot only a short distance away from the main tourist areas. Ideal for exploring the South Lakes. The property is very well equipped with all you need and is extremely comfortable, warm and cosy. The shared grounds are private and beautifully maintained - it is a lovely spot to sit outside and relax.
Highly recommended.




Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 68 days ago
What a week you had Stephen, it's an amazing time of year, great weather and everything bursting with bloom, energy and lushness .. it's great to see a lot more wildlife & insects returning this year. Hope to see you again at some time in the future, Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

Second visit

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We feel very lucky to have returned to Hynings for a second short break. As we were leaving, we wished that we had booked until the end of the week rather than moving on to another destination.

We continue to be impressed by the dedication of the owners to providing a fuss free stay. Everything is of the highest quality and no stone unturned to ensure everything is in good order.

We liked the email from the owner to check all is well as this is important due to the reduced office hours.

The nearness to all of the lovely places in the Lakes is a draw but having such a lovely home from home experience is essential to a relaxing break.

We would love to come back with the rest of the family.
We have recommended the property to other families already.




Jan & Richard Hinchliffe replied 79 days ago
Thank you so much for your review Sally, It was lovely to see you again and hopefully it won't be too long until the next time, Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

Break for two

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the start of our booking to the end of our stay The Hyning Estste met our expectations.
Richard communicated with us via phone & email. Any queries were quickly answered.
The Tack Barn is a comfortable holiday home, with lots of facilities. It felt like our home for the week. On arrival a bottle of wine & the biscuits were appreciated after our long drive. There are so many useful extras in the accommodation- tea, coffee, kitchen roll, foil, cling, toilet toll, soap, washing up liquid, dish washer & washing powder. Not having to worry about purchasing these items helps for a comfortable stay. The holiday accommodation has a detailed manual which provides lots of guidance e.g. use of the washing machine. We have an electric car. After each day out the EV charger was utilised using the icharge EV App. The Hyning Estate is well located for trips out. It is situated in peaceful countryside & the estate is well maintained. For shopping the nearest town is Kendal. A big thanks to all at The Hyning Estate for a comfortable stay. We would certainly recommend this company for a holiday in the Lake District & surrounding areas.




Jan & Richard Hinchliffe replied 82 days ago
Thank you for putting so much into your review of The Tack Barn Debbie, this will be a great help to other guests reading this. We were delighted that you brought your EV and that our new charge points worked well for you.. when our own (very delayed) EV finally arrives, a fast and easy overnight charge will be our No 1 requirement for places to stay. Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

New Years Break

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jan 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super property within short distance of the Lake District mountains - approx 45 mins drive to the foot of Helvellyn. We enjoyed a very cozy break in a luxury cottage. The house was wonderfully warm on arrival and the heating system was so warm there was no real need for the log burner, but we did use it because its nice to have a log fire going..... But then we really had to open the door as it became too warm. Its not a complaint though. The electric charging point for the car was also a boon for us. Would recommend this to others and will come back ourselves.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 216 days ago
Thanks for reviewing your New Year's break in The Tack Barn Richard, we were visiting family at New Year but would love to meet you both during a return visit. All our properties are insulated to the highest levels with triple glazing and Mechanical Ventillatiuon and Heat Recovery (MVHR) as our contribution to protecting the environment... so a little heat goes a long long way - best to turn the heating and wood burner right down (stove for for ambience only). Best Wishes for 2022 from Richard & Jan

Lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Oct 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cosy cottage and spotlessly clean. Extremely well equipped. Lovely peaceful location and attractive grounds.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 293 days ago
Thanks for reviewing The Tack Barn, Danny - we're pleased you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed walking and exploring in The Lakes & Dales, Best Wishes, Richard & Jan

Much needed enjoyable holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Tack Barn at the Hyning Estate was one of the cleanest and best equipped of anywhere we have rented over many many years. As a base for the Lake District it was superb, and a cosy and comfortable place to return to after a day's exploring. We hope to be back before long.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 316 days ago
Thank you very much for reviewing the Tack Barn Richard and special thanks for your quick actions in returning the cows to the field when they managed to push the gate open - Jan has invested years of her life planting up the grounds and creating an beautiful place for guests to sit and enjoy and we are so releived that this wasn't damaged by a herd of cows! [Our neighbouring farmer has also very kindly replaced the latch so this can't happen adain :)]

A beautiful place

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage, amazing location. Spotlessly clean and comfortable. Will definitely come back again.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Elena - Pleased you were able to snatch a well-earned break and sorry we couldn't be there to meet you this time but hope to see you again soon, Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

Holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very pleased with our stay with you.The water in the shower was very hot .The place was very good and the owners very pleasant.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to meet you both and pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Hyning Estate - we were very jealous of your electric mountain bikes - we have to try some! Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

Short 4-day stopover

Review submitted on Mon, 24 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not withstanding the limitations imposed by covid, appreciated all the little touches that went to making our stay enjoyable, from jam to coffee pods. Good quality fittings, in a peaceful location well off the road. Happy to stay there again, should we be in the area. To get there, best use GPS settings they provide.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to meet you Martin and thank you for reviewing The Tack Barn. I think we were just diving off South as you arrived to meet our new Lockdown Grandaughters but we're pleased that you resolved the problem with the car and had a very enjoyable stay with us, Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

Second stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful few days at the Tack Barn . Cosy , relaxing and a good base for seeing favorite South Lakeland haunts at our own pace .




Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to see you both again and to exchange stories of lockdown whilst you sat out on the patio with a drink having escaped your "4 walls". Best Wishes Richard & Jan