FB Twitter

The Byre (sleeps 6, dines 10)

The Byre (sleeps 6, dines 10)

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


The Byre is one of the most interesting and spacious properties on the Estate and oozes charm and character yet boasts a large 21st Century "Cook's kitchen" with twin sets of appliances and a generous workspace . With its large patio and sitting centrally on the Estate the Byre might well be booked alongside the other properties for a Wedding or an exclusive event.

Fantastic Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hired the Byre as part of a 50th birthday celebration. This is a fantastic property with excellent fit out. Beautiful furnishings which really worked well with hiring our Hyning Howe for a celebration. We could not fault anything at all with the accommodation and can only commend Richard and Jan as hosts.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 13 days ago
Congratulations on your 50th! Russell. It was lovely to meet family from Australia and the UK and to be able to offer a setting that did you proud. We were struck by how well mannered and clean everyone was. Thank you. Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

Primus Inter Pares

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Jun 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to The Hyning Estate. Given that my wife is in the Covid extremely vulnerable category, it was important to us that the property was clean; disinfected and aired. Is this regard, the accommodation was faultless, and it is clear that Richard and Judy are doing everything possible to keep their guests safe. The Lake District was as lovely as ever and my wife an I enjoyed taking in the sights from Silloth in the NW to Lakeside in the South. It goes without saying that we would recommend The Hyning Estate to anybody considering a visit to the area.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 54 days ago
Thanks for reviewing The Byre and your second stay at The Hyning Estate David. It's been a strange couple of years but we know of many more people who've had Covid recently (albeit not generally life threatening) although as you say there are still many who are still very vulnerable. With our daughter's wedding just around the corner we're so aware of and the inconvenience that Covid could still cause to those who aren't .. holidays, work .. or weddings so we're continuing with our enhanced cleaning regimes including at least one empty day between bookings. We're delighted that you had a great time and kept well. The Byre is splendid! Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

Excellent property with great facilities, lovely views and a terrific location.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Apr 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first family holiday for over 2 years! The property was excellent with lovely views, great facilities and a terrific location. We thoroughly enjoyed getting out into the hills for walks and finding local pubs for evening meals, although we did enjoy using the well equipped kitchen on a few occasions. Even on very wet days we enjoyed shopping in Grasmere and Keswick and there were lots of facilities in The Byre to keep everyone entertained. We thoroughly enjoyed our week away and it was very much needed after the last few years of covid.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 110 days ago
We're so pleased that you had a great holiday in The Byre and thank you for your review Simon. As you say it's good to get out again after the last few years of Covid. Best Wishes, Richard & Jan

Leaves others behind…..

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’re new to the Byre but not to Hyning having stayed there many times before. All the cottages sit in tranquil and very well maintained grounds with ample parking. The Byre is very tastefully appointed with high quality furniture and fittings throughout….the beds are high end comfortable! The accommodation would easily take 6 adults in comfort. The mezzanine bedroom above the lounge is quite simply stunning however privacy could be affected should there be others (except family) sleeping below. The lounge looks onto a super large sheltered patio complete with outdoor table and chairs. This is a lovely place to stay and the images on the website reflect accurately your expectations on arrival (the Wi-Fi works too!) The owners are very helpful and friendly without being intrusive and are often seen maintaining the grounds. I’ve no concerns about recommending: The Hyning leaves most other places behind…..



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 131 days ago
Thank you for your kind review Robin & Joyce, It was lovely to see you all again and to enjoy such fabulous weather in March. We're delighted that The Byre worked for both you and your friends and we look forward to the next time .. Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

an excellent high end cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jan 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
a cozy and luxurious cottage. the owners have been impeccably helpful as usual. thoroughly recommended!



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 215 days ago
Thank you Dominik & Kristina, Lovely to see you and your growing family so well after a short break for Mary's arrival. Best Wishes for 2022 and see you April Richard & Jan

Beautiful autumn stay, super helpful owners

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Dec 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed as a family group of six in late November 2021.
Returning guests from an earlier stay in May, though in different parts of the Estate.
Byre-specific highlights - very big kitchen, handy for social cooking, beautiful view from living room and mezzanine bedroom.
Greatly appreciated the electric vehicle charging.
The end of the trip was made more exciting by Storm Arwen, which took the power out around 9pm on our last night. Luckily we had eaten by then and the emergency lighting worked for several hours. The owners were on site and gave us some candles. We didn't need extra heating as the insulation is so good.
Next morning still no power so we used the log burner.
Richard was super helpful and took his own car our to reconnoitre the local roads and then shepherd us down the best route to the motorway - going above and beyond.




Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 244 days ago
Thanks for reviewing The Byre, John.. our home for many years and with so many wonderful memories. It's a shame you weren't staying any longer as the combiantion of perfect snow and low orange sun after the storm was magical, particularly at Christmas time (anyone reading this can see the photos on the Hyning Estate's Facebook Page). Wishing you all the Very Best for Christmas and the New Year, Richard & Jan.

Bliss in The Lake District

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not have been happier with our stay at The Byre. The hosts have thought of every detail to make their guests feel comfortable, pampered, entertained, and enriched. Everything is made of excellent quality materials and in new condition. The cottage is well situated for walking, sightseeing, buying provisions. The massive skylight brightens the whole living area even on a gloomy day. I loved cooking in the kitchen and using the dining room table for our cribbage matches. Though it was too chilly to dine al fresco, the brookside patio is inviting and looks onto lovely views of the fields and hills beyond. We are grateful we had the opportunity to stay here after lockdown ended and look forward to visiting once again. Thank you, Richard and Jan, for sharing this blessed corner of the earth with us.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 286 days ago
Thanks for your kind review, Karen, it brought a tear to Jan's eyes - we have so much to share and learn from visitors from around the world and we would have loved to have spent more time exchanging enriching experiences and stories with you. Best Wishes and Good Health, Richard & Jan

Fantastic relaxing place. Quiet with excellent views.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place to spend with family. It’s spacious with everything you could ask for. The views are amazing, and it is so nice to sit, read/relax with the backdrop of country sounds - birds singing, sheep bashing. Absolutely brilliant.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied more than 1 year ago
It was lovely to see you and your family again Geoff. We always look forward to your annual visit and to catch up on what's been going on over on your side of the world ... and you no doubt, ours. It was fabulous to see your new Grandson (having two lockdown Granddaughters ourselves) and we're delighted that you found that The Byre provided the space and facilities for you and the family (and that you had some time at least to relax and enjoy the natural sounds and surroundings). Best Wishes, Richard & Jan

A comfortable week.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, well equipped and helpful people. I would recommend this complex for an extended family gathering.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks Mike - Family Birthdays, Wedding Anniversaries and Wedding Parties are a big part of what we do (except during Covid) - people so enjoy getting together and having a meal around the large table in Hyning House or on the lawns for a BBQ then being able to "escape" to their own space with little ones or maybe just to have a rest! With the relaxation of the rules for wedding ceremonies we already have a wedding booked for 2022. We look forward to seeing you again, Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

Beautiful Property

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully presented property in lovely countryside, in easy reach of both the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied more than 1 year ago
Dear James, thank you for providing the first review for The Byre which was new for 2021 as we came out of lockdown in April. Yes, both the property and the views it offers are amazing! Thank you & Best Wishes, Richard & Jan