FB Twitter

Hall Beck Cottage (sleeps 6, dines 10+)

Hall Beck Cottage (sleeps 6, dines 10+)

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


This substantial Victorian Extension with its new Sun Lounge offers unsurpassed views over the lawns and pastures to the Lakeland Fells beyond. Hall Beck Cottage sleeps 6 and dines up to 10 people as standard but is often booked alongside another property as the hub for a larger booking (when more seating can be arranged).

Relaxing Vacation

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location to unwind after traveling from the USA. The accommodation was very comfortable, spacious and just what we needed. A great base within the heart of the Lakes countryside.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 22 days ago
Lovely to see you both again .. and your beautiful Grandchild (+ proud parents) and so sorry about BA's incompetance over your baggage .. I do hope that you meet up with it again soon before you have to go back to the USA. See you next time - Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

great cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
lovely cottage with all the required facilities , well equipped kitchen , ideal location near kendal & not far fm windermere & the yorkshire dales . did some nearby walks with great views and great meals at guide recommended pubs / restaurants




Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 110 days ago
Thank you for reviewing Hall Beck Cottage Akshay, We're pleased that you found the location ideal and well connected and enjoyed some great days out around about. We look forward to seeing you again at some point soon. Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

A short break at the Hyning Estate

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I recently stayed at the Hall Beck cottage for 5 nights. ( November 2021)
The location was lovely, (directions were very good but I advise arriving before dark) the cottage was beautiful, a real home from home. Everything needed was provided, including kitchen towels, cleaning products, soap etc which was much appreciated. The cottage was warm and welcoming with the lights left on for our arrival.
Plenty of information was provided about the estate and the area, as well as the cottage itself.
We were pleased to see that covid safety was very good and also grateful for the use of the EV charger. ( there are also plenty of EV chargers in local super markets).
The owners are easy to contact and respond quickly to any queries.
We had a great stay, very relaxing and peaceful. At this time of year the colours of the countryside were beautiful and lots of photographs were taken! We would whole heartedly recommend this property and will be returning.




Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 273 days ago
Thank you for such an in-depth review, we're sure that potential guests will find it very helpful. We're very pleased that you had such a relaxing and peaceful stay and we're sorry that we missed you when you left as we'd have loved to see both yours and Alan's photos (as you say) the colours were just wonderful! Hope you're enjoying the new Tesla - EV's are definitely the way to go and there is no need to worry when there's a charging point on site and many more in Kendal. Best Wishes, Richard & Jan

Summer Stay

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely place, we stayed in July during the week of a heatwave and it was extremly comfortable for us. Sitting on the balcony every evening gave us a front row seat to watch the sunset.

The accommodation was excellent, no complaints, if you want peace and quiet then this is the place to come. There are big supermarkets just down the road and so supplies are readily available.

We had an issue with the water but the response from the owners was fantastic, not only did we get frequent updates but we also got to see a picture of the part that caused the issue! The problem was fixed the very next day so no issue for us, they really do care about your comfort.




Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 314 days ago
Thanks Trevor, hope you don't mind us correcting you slightly that the problem with the water was fixed the very same afternoon rather than the next day (you probably meant that) - first time we've ever had an issue with water. We were also very interested that you had an EV and it was good that you were able to benefit from our EV Charging Point. We've been blessed with amazing weather this year but May, June & July tend to be very good generally. Best Wishes, Richard & Jan

Stunning place

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful place to stay it was out of this world,I would definitely highly recommend staying as we would love to go back one day



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied 316 days ago
Thank you for reviewing Hall Beck Cottage Sarah, and thank you so much for leaving such a beautiful "Thank You" card which was so very thoughtful of you. We are delighted that we were able to help you to celebrate your marriage (albeit slightly belatedly) and we wish you everty happiness and good fotune together for the future, Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

Excellent place to stay, quality accommodation with a homely feel.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second holiday spent staying at the Hyning Estate did not disappoint. The quality of the accommodation is excellent and all the little details help to make it a memorable stay. Richard and Jan provide a warm welcome and are on hand for any questions/queries that might arise.
It certainly matches the luxury description and we love the style of the properties and grounds.




Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for reviewing Hall Back Cottage Jennifer - we were delighted that you chose to visit us again this year. Thinking back to last year, you'd have been in The Old Forge shortly after the end of the initial lockdown and this year in Hall Beck Cottage in more optimistic times so it will have have been a very different experience although many of the features will have been very familiar, homely and welcoming. Hall Beck Cottage can be linked to The Old Farmhouse to create the very spacious Hyning House - perhaps the venue for the next family celebration? Hope to see you again - Many Thanks & Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

Beautiful versatile accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hyning Estate is an old country manor, converted to form a series of holiday cottages which can inter-connect to provide versatile accommodation. We stayed in Hall Beck Cottage, which has 3 bedrooms (one king, one double, one twin) but has a large kitchen and dining area (as, presumably, it would be the main dining area if you were inter-connecting multiple units). The standard of conversion is impeccable, with high specification throughout. As such, it has everything we wanted and needed with some lovely additional touches (eg coffee, jams etc) thrown in. Beds were very comfortable and all amenities were of high quality. The cottage and estate is set in glorious grounds - with each cottage having its own area, so feeling private at the same time as not being enclosed. The owners were very responsive and helpful. I would not hesitate in recommending.



Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to review Hall Beck Cottage Matthew, Yes, the two large dining tables you will have used each have two extending leaves and when fully extended can dine 20 or 22 guests on one joined-up table so when booked as Hyning House (Hall Beck Cottage joined up with The Old Farmhouse) or as Hyning Howe (adding Beckside Barns) the whole party can eat together and the kitchen in Hall Beck Cottage (backed up with the 2nd kitchen, and 2nd dishwasher in The Old Farmhouse) makes it the ideal venue for a family celebration. Sadly Covid has made large gatherings difficult but as we look forward to next year we are hoping to see more family celebrations throughout the year. [We already have a wedding booked for June]. Many Thanks & Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

Fabulous accommodation with stunning surroundings

Review submitted on Mon, 03 May 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the Hyning Estate several times. We have always been delighted with the cottages and this was no exception!
The cottage has everything you need and more. Due to Covid we cooked / ate in at the cottage more than we usually would and found the kitchen brilliantly kitted out.
Lovely to have outside seating with fabulous views over the fields and hills.
Great base for exploring all areas of the lakes. For us not a problem to be outside of a main town - but if you are looking to be able to walk into town, you will need to drive!
Once again a brilliant stay, we will be heading back soon!




Jan & Richard Hinchliife replied more than 1 year ago
Lovely to see you again Sam and we're delighted that you've rebooked so soon - you'll be one of the first to stay in The Byre following its extensive refurbishment. See you in May, Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.

A fantastic cottage that delivered eveything we hoped it would.

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Apr 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The whole family enjoyed our week at the Lakes - the cottage, the weather (i guess can't be guaranted) and location.

After a turbulent 6 months of lockdown Hyning provided the much needed R&R that we craved

Everything we needed was provided and the amenties where top notch

Definately recomend a holiday here




Richard & Jan replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you had a great stay - Hall Beck Cottage certainly provides space, views and everything you reasonably need, and a few things extra besides ... and the weather, well, end of April through June has been warm and very dry for the last few years and many's the day you'd see Jan out there watering the gardens. The changing seasons, the colour and drama of the Lakes is what we love. Best Wishes, Richard & Jan.