FB Twitter

Benfield Cottage

Benfield Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 48 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.8
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Set in the heart of the conservation village of Morebattle, Benfield is a comfortable cottage for two people who enjoy walking and wildlife, Convenient for visiting the abbey towns of the Scottish Borders or the coastlines of Berwickshire and Nothumberland. Petfriendly

short break in the borders

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely little cottage ideally located to tour the borders ,good little village with all you need on the doorstep



Peace and quiet

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My stay in Benfield was wonderful. After a very stressful year, the relaxed atmosphere of Morebattle was just the tonic. The people in the area were so friendly. The Templearms was especially warm and welcoming, and the food was exceptionally good.
All in all I enjoyed my very much. The wonderful artwork in the cottage was indicative of the amount of care that has gone into the overall quality of the cottage.
I felt quite the local before I left.




Christine replied 44 days ago
Thanks for your comments. Peace and tranquillity are here in abundance. come again soon

Return visit to Benfield

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third visit to Benfield and although the sun didn't shine this time, we still enjoyed a relaxed and tranquil stay in a lovely setting. We met the owner John this time round who provided further tips on walks and where to visit in the surrounding area.



The perfect getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely little village to spend a week.
The local pub, the Templehall Hotel is super, food outstanding, cask ales, cakes and friendly locals - highly recommend.




Comfy week in this cosy cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week exploring the area and the cottage was a perfect base to come home to. Providing everything we needed and set in a friendly village, we enjoyed the setting and the pretty dog walks close by.

If we are in the area we would definitely stay again.




Everything I could have wanted

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely old cottage that has been recently modernised and with all the facilities and amenities you could want. Quiet, relaxing location in the centre of Morebattle close to local shop / pub and a short drive from Kelso and Jedburgh. Convenient for walking in the Scottish borders and Northumberland National Park.

John and Christine make great hosts and were there to meet me upon arrival and clearly take pride in making sure that the cottage is fully equipped everything you could need and more.




John replied 187 days ago
We are delighted that you liked our cottage and we would love to welcome you again either here or one of our other cottages for two

Return to Morebattle after walking St Cuthberts Way in June.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is ideally situated for exploring the beautiful Borders region.It is cosy and warm with all amenities readily to hand.
The access to the first floor is via a spiral staircase, which some may find difficult.
We hope to return in the not too distant future




Christine replied 203 days ago
Thanks for this thoughtful review. I hope to see you soon at one of our four cottages

We enjoyed our stay in Benfield Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Benfield cottage was warm, comfortable and convenient for out holiday. We were very pleased that the owner came to meet us and to show us around when we arrived as that made us feel welcome and was very helpful in terms of finding out how the heating system worked and what to do with rubbish etc. The cottage was cosy to come back to on the day it rained heavily while we were out cycling. Morebattle is a good centre for exploring the surrounding Borders countryside. Having the village shop on one side of the cottage and the butcher's shop on the other was very convenient too.
I have one very minor comment - it would be helpful to have a couple of small pans and casserole dishes with lids. The house is suitable for only two people and the big cooking pots were too big for small quantities.




Very comfortable and welcoming.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Benfield very comfortable everything was there for our use. The people of the village were very friendly and always spoke to us.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely little cottage, comfortable, and in a great location for getting out and about in the surrounding areas



John replied more than 1 year ago
Your review is so helpful to forthcoming guests. Thanks, and also for adding pictures to our Facebook page

A real hidden gem....

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Benfield Cottage is located in a very friendly and pretty village in the Scottish Borders. The cottage was very well appointed nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. It was very cosy and comfortable. There were some lovely touches by the owners such as a lovely welcome basket and toiletries. I had a very enjoyable stay here and hopefully would like to return some day. I would recommend the cottage and the area to others.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
John and I really appreciate your review and the kind comments. Do come again and you will receive a Returning Guest discount whichever property you visit.

Excellent

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful stay at belfield, cottage was excellent and location. Would definitely book again. Lovely.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for writing this appreciative review. We just love this part of the Cheviots and this is one of our favouite cottages. Come again and receive a discount by using R G on the voucher box.

Little bit of paradise in the borders

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked this little bit of wonder last minute and while you always have that little bit of concern when you book so late any fears we had were quickly dispelled.

It was pretty much perfect in every way .. owners met us ,took us through everything, left a ton of information on the area and a lovely welcome pack of local produce ... and to add to that the people of Morebattle are so welcoming




Lovely quiet cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lots of peace and quiet in this little cottage. Great local village shop and butchers. Welcome basket makes the stay extra special. Many thanks



A little treasure.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Benfield was just perfect for us. We are both in our 60s and we relished the nice touches provided by the owners. They provided a 'Welcome' basket containing 4 eggs, fresh milk (pint)' bottle of local ale, amongst others. All the kitchen equipment was clean and serviceable and the owners briefed us on the various switches etc for heating and hot water. John and Christine are perfect hosts with the property and we wouldn't hesitate to book again. One minor area to note is the metal spiral staircase. If like us you tend to wear nothing on your feet indoors then I recommend a pair of slippers or similar for transitting the staircase. The village has a good hotel and I can recommend the meals there as well as a lovely pint of Tim Taylor Landlord ale. Locals very friendly and willing to help with advice."



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
We really appreciate your comments and particularly the advice on the beautiful staircase. good news that we have been awarded four star again by V. S.

Peaceful

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Walking wonderland, home from home. Loads of historic sites and if you NEED shops there is 2 towns within 15 mins drive. There is a lovely pub a small shop and a butchers....
Go for it you won't regret it




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the lovely comments and for taking the time to let people know of the delights of Benfield cottage. Do come again and receive a Returning Guest discount

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Benfield Cottage over Christmas weekend. We arrived Christmas eve and were delighted with the finishing touches that the owners had done to make us welcome - decorated Christmas tree, Christmas crackers and a small welcome hamper.
Lots of local information available in the cottage and we went on a couple of nice local walks with our dog and paid a visit to the local pub.




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
We are delighted to hear that you had a lovely Christmas at Benfield and hope that you will come again. Returning guests will receive a 10% discount when booking another holiday at any of our properties

Five star Cottage and Service

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Though we stayed only for a few days we and our dog thoroughly loved the area and the cottage made a great retreat in the evening. The pub is very welcoming too. The weather was surprisingly good for December. We shall be back



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
thanks for your lovely comment. The bedrom now has a new king size and longerbed

Short break in the Borders

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy do friendly cottage in a small village with friendly people. Had a very good stay.
I would recommend it to my friends.




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
We love this lovely cottage with its spiral staircase. The Cheviot Hills nearby have wonderful colours in the Autumn and have just got the first sprinkling of snow on the tops. Thanks for your lovely review

A Border gem

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived, it felt like a little piece of paradise. Delightful welcome basket, marvellous and beautifully maintained amenities, in a gorgeous part of the world. It was the perfect place from which to explore the surrounding countryside and towns, and good for the soul-lovely to have the village shop as well. Benfield Cottage was a fantastic find, and the hosts were very efficient with bookings and helpful when we wanted to extend our stay.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
What can I say in reply to such a lovely review. It made John and I, and the team feel very appreciated. Thank you for sharing this

Benfield

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at Benfield Cottage, lots of places to explore. Its fine for 2 people. The stair case is very steep. The yard out the back was useful for storing our bikes but not a very nice place to sit, could do with some improving. Kitchen fairly well equipped although only 2 mugs.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. the garden does need some upgrading. We were quite surprised that you could only find two mugs as there are six provided.

Lovely wee cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a lovely cottage in a charming Borders village.
Well equipped with all you need and a great welcome pack!!
Good pub in village and a good walk to Kirk Yetholm where the Border Hotel is excellent




A quiet retreat for two

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very cosy and to a high standard, equipped with everything that you would need. Welcome pack on arrival was a very nice gesture. Very picturesque and friendly village. One minor criticism, the patio at the rear was a shabby condition, however this would not stop us returning, All in all we were very satisfied and it was good value for money. One final point of note for future occupants - the village shop closes at 1.00 PM every day.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for your review. Its great to have a lovely village with fabulous scenery around but even better when it has two shops and a pub. thanks for the review do come again and receive your returning guest discount

Loved the location dog friendly place people friendly and definitley going back for more relaxation

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a charming cottage had all we needed to enjoy our stay with Daisy our Labrador.
Friendly people in the village,well stocked shop and excellent butcher.
We look forward to going back sometime Christine and John are very nice people.




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
thanks for leaving a review. It does help future guests decide upon their holiday. The area is good for dog owners and the local butche is great for owners too. do come again please

Well worth a visit

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A charming little house in a great location. The property is well equipped and the welcome pack, containing the likes of local jam, eggs and real ale, was a lovely touch. The locals in Morebattle are very friendly and there are lots of other towns and villages nearby that are also worth a visit. Ideal location if you enjoy walking



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for talking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that we didnt manage to meet up but we are pleased that you liked the cottage and the area. Do come back again to here or another of our cottages and you will receive a discount of approximately 10% for any direct booking

fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 30 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a excellent week people were friendly cottage was excellent we had plenty to do nice little pub down the road with great food site seeing is a most very nice places to go



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, especially one with such lovely comments. The pub and the local butchers are really welcoming places and the location of the cottage is great for site seeing. Do come again and receive a Returning Guest Discount.

Home from Home

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A small but charming cottage in the delightful village of Morebattle. Benfield is extremely well appointed and comfortable. As soon as you open the door you feel welcomed and the welcome basket of local goodies is a special treat. With the village shop two doors up the road it is conveniently located. I highly recommend this property.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thankyou for your very helpful comments. Its good to know that there are shops etc in the village

Cozy little place in a small quiet village.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
I am not keen on street parking, so any bigger car than my I30, I would not be comfortable with the parking space available at this property. The property itself is fine, but the rules regarding dogs would put us off booking this property again. We did Hoover up after our two day stay, but would expect the property to be spotless, but we found dust and cobwebs under the tricky spiral staircase.



Christine Ward replied more than 1 year ago
I am sorry you didnt enjoy your weekend. .As dog owners ourselves we welcome dogs at three of our four properties. Our 'rules' are not generally considered controversial. Dogs are not allowed in the bedrooms and owners are requested not to allow animals on the furniture. I will mention to our ladies that you found a cobweb under the stairs. Old cottages do have tricky corners This is a very quiet village where parking, on or off street, has not been considered a problem previously.

Terrific Short Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in the cottage. Everything you need for two people. Well equipped comfortable cottage. Well positioned within a beautiful and friendly/welcoming village.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for adding your lovely review. Most people love this cottage too and the area is beautiful at the moment with the Autumn colours

stress free break

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely touch meeting owner on arrival who gave us lots of information. Plus left a goody box which was much appreciated. The cottage is excellent cosy and very central. The village is very quiet and friendly with a good local pub, butchers and local shop. You will definitely leave feeling refreshed and regenerated.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to add a review, and one that was so positive. I do hope that you will have a look at our new web site which is online now and come again in the future

A most pleasant stay. Thank you.

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very helpful owners and plenty of information given to help our stay. Everything on hand and a welcome basket to get started. a handy central point to explore Border Country.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for leaving your lovely review Morebattle is not as well known as some villages but is delightful and an excellent centre for touring, as you mentioned

second stay

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in Benfield this summer. Yet again everything outstanding, from the personal touch of the owners to the tranquillity of the setting and the cottage itself.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
A big thank you to you both for writing a lovely review again. It must give prospective guests confidence

An excellent base for exploring the Scottish and Northumberland borders

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jul 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage in a great location with everything you may need for a short holiday.

The welcoming hamper and the numerous guides and leaflets were very helpful.




Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Benfield Cottage is in a really great village that has a pub, shop and an award winning butcher. Try his haggis it's good!!. Thanks for the review

Morebattle

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolute first class location, very homely cottage, Kelso has the best real ale pub -' The cobbles' worth a visit. Getting onto the St Cuthberts way and Pennine way was fabulous saw many sightings of red deer, will definately return to the area.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
You were lucky to see red deer and if you keep looking you can still spot red squirrel. Thanks for the super review and we hope to see you soon

Brilliant wee cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely stay in the Benfield cottage in Morebattle, was very relaxing and very cosy. Everything needed was provided and we got a perfect night sleep every night. The cottage it's self was very warm and the rooms were great the bed was super comfy and the bathroom was fabulous, plus with the wee garden too which just made it perfect. Would definitely recommend.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. Morebattle is a great location but it is better if you have transport, bike or car as the bus service is limited. Come again soon

cottage stay

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We recently spent three nights in this charming cottage in an idyllic setting with some fantastic walks and views. Even the weather behaved itself! Total bliss.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
John and I really appreciate our guests taking the time to add a review.It helps other guests get an insight into the cottage and area. Thanks for your kind words.

Fantastic stay at Benfield!!!!

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we entered the cottage to the moment we left we had a fantastic stay! it was even nice to ge back to the cottage after a great day out. The special complementary basket was a very nice touch! Will definitely go back. Well worth the money.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Benfield cottage and the area. The Cheviot Hills, Kelso and the Borders are great places to visit

cosy and peaceful

Review submitted on Wed, 27 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a most enjoyable stay at Benfield. it was tranquil and beautiful. the cottage was cosy and well equipped. plenty of border towns to visit in close proximity. would definitely stay again.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
You have described Benfield perfectly as it is in such a peaceful area of the Borders. It's good that the village can boast a general store, a great pub and an award winning butchers. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and please do come again

A truly delightful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 06 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Benfield was all we wanted and more. From the, literally, warm welcome on arrival one cold Sunday evening, to the wonderful welcome basket, fantastic bathroom, thick towels, wonderfully comfortable bed to the sheer convenience of being a bolt hole a very short walk away from the family Benfield ticked every box imaginable,and more, for my husband and I. We knew of the cottage from the outside but for two people it is truly amazing. So comfortable and truly a home away from home. When we next visit the family in Morebattle we shall definitely be looking to stay at Benfield.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
We REALLY appreciate your comments and for taking the time to write a review. Morebattle isn't as well known in the Borders as some other places but we feel that the cottage and the area are very special. Please do come again.

Ideal cottage for two

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 3 really nice days in this boutique cottage. Everything you could want was provided, although you would need to bring your own shower gels/ shampoo. It's very cosy and warm for winter months but in the summer you might find the outside seating restricted. Parking for a large car is quite tight outside the cottage but there is plenty behind the school. A very quiet village with a shop and pub, the pub having fine beers and very good basic homemade food.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Benfield is a lovely cottage, we feel, in a delightful village which is really unknown to many visitors to the area. Your comments will help guests find this gem of an area.Thanks and do come again

cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jan 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely quiet break over new year. The cottage was cosy , modern and well worth a visit. The extras such as welcome pack were much appreciated and a lovely touch.



Pretty little cottage in good location

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Nov 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Generally a lovely cottage but the cooker needed a good clean, not that we used it much as we ate out most evenings. The location was very good for exploring the Borders by car & also excellent for walking in the Borders as well as for walking in the Cheviots & on the Berwickshire coast. The locals were very friendly & we used the local shop, ate out in the village pub twice & used the Roaming Chippy which visits Morebattle one evening each week. We also ate out in Kelso & Kirk Yetholm. Although we were on a walking holiday, we would recommend the cottage to non-walkers as there are plenty of interesting places to visit in the area.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. You are absolutely right about the attractions of the area to both walkers and non walkers. The mobile 'chippy' is also a great asset!! I am really sorry that the cleaning of the cooker had been missed in the servicing and can only apologise. I have forwarded your comments to the cleaning lady. Do come again to any of the properties and receive a Returning Guest discount

Clean cottage good location

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Sep 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice location, clean cottage, spiral staircase was a bit of a challenge. Back door would not open for most of our stay
so we lost quality time sitting out in the good evening weather. Accidents will happen. Otherwise it was fine. Local
amenities were good. Ideal location for exploration.




Christine Ward replied more than 1 year ago
We are really sorry that the security lock on the new door jammed when you were using it on your second day. We visited you on four seperate days spending time trying to release the lock while waiting for the manufacturer's engineer to come out (not possible over the weekend). It must have been inconvenient for you both and the dog but we hope the complimentary wine helped!!. The published details about the cottage make clear that it is not ideal for guests who have mobility problems because of the spiral staircase and we recommend our properties where all the rooms are on one level. The cottage has a four star grading from Visit Scotland and many returning guests.

Our short break...

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It is the second time that we have visited Benfield Cottage and we will definitely be back! It is a lovely cottage in a beautiful location. We did some great walks that are accessible from the cottage.



Christin replied more than 1 year ago
John and I are so pleased that you came for a second visit and had such a super time. We look forward to meeting you again here, or at one of the other thrree properties. Don't forget that you will get a returning guest discount

Enjoyable stay in a lovely location

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay in this comfortable cottage. Located in a Morebattle which is a lovely little village near to Kelso and Jedburgh. The village has a fantastic local butchers and shop which stocks most things needed for a stay. A great location to explore the Scottish Borders. We received a great service from the owners and would recommend their properties to family and friends.



Christine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to send a review. The location of the cottage and village amenities are really excellent, and the makes a good centre for exploring this historic area. The cottage is about to be recarpeted as it has had heavy use recently. Do come and visit again if you come to the Borders. Remember you receive a Returning Guest discount.

Benfield Cottage, Morebattle

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thanks for a wonderful stay. Your cottage is perfect - spotlessly clean and and really comfortable and fitted with everything we could want. Importantly for November the heating was great. Welcome basket was appreciated. The food in the local pub was top quality and the locals very welcoming. Thanks again.



Christine Ward replied more than 1 year ago
John and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and, most importantly, at this time of the year that you were warm and toastie

Benfield Cootage

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a fortnights holiday at Benfield nothing was to much trouble for our hosts.The village is lovely and the people very friendly.Benfield cottage was very clean and comfortable with added the added bonus of a welcome basket.We would have no hesitation to recommend staying here.



John and Christine Ward replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your really nice comments. We've been coming to Morebattle for over 40 years and still love it!

Idyllic setting for a cottage for two.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2013
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good situation in beautiful countryside. Village people very friendly and good local pub serving food.

Well equipped in kitchen and lounge - a doormat needed by the outside kitchen door. Would have liked more luxury bedding.

Spiral staircase could be a problem for some people.

Owners met us and were very helpful and friendly.




Christine Ward replied more than 1 year ago
You will be pleased to hear that work is beginning next week, 28 October on the new porch which will provide extra space for coats and boots. Hope you will come back soon