FB Twitter

Marris Barn and The Wagon Shed

Marris Barn and The Wagon Shed

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 138 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


This truly ultimate spacious holiday home has been created from an original long barn converted and extended by addition of a contemporary bedroom wing; a leisure complex including indoor swimming pool, a sauna and a luxurious single storey annexe with fully disabled access. Marris Barn is a superb place for a holiday at any time of the year and will please the most discerning visitors. The design allows the barn to be fully sustainable using solar power and ground source energy. Surrounded by the beautiful rolling green hillsides of the Wolds there is an extensive footpath network leading to quiet unspoilt villages, rural inns and the National cycle route is just 2 miles distant. Lincolnshire is a beautiful county with a sense of antiquity and boasts an unrivalled selection of locally produced foods.

Xmas stay at Marris Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 5th stay and we’re planning our return. The barn has everything you need and has been done in such a way that it combines comfort with wow factor. We invited Simone Bowden to the barn to do our beauty treatments which worked well from the Wagon Shed. We love that we have this gorgeous facility for us to meet in once per year!



Best stay ever

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked with 15 friends absolutely amazing place photos don't do it justice. Excellent facilities, well equipped, pool and games room fantastic so was the hot tub. Wagon shed an added bonus. Would definitely recommend and will be going again.



Great Stay for a 70th Birthday

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marris Barn delivers on the wow factor in abundance and was everything we had hoped for to celebrate a special birthday with family from far and wide. There was ample space for all, the accommodation well thought out, beds and bedding extremely comfortable, the two dishwashers a fantastic bonus and the games area and pool a delight for young and old. Emma and team, thank you for all attention to details (dishwasher tablets, prosecco, milk, soaps in all showers to name a few) and always answering very promptly any queries, however small.
All the family were amazed by this superb accommodation and setting, a very memorable stay for all!




October Half Term at Marris Barn

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous return visit to Marris Barn & The Wagon Shed. Four very happy families enjoyed all this amazing property has to offer. Kids loved the pool and games room whilst the adults relaxed in the sauna and hot tub. Brilliant - Thank You!



60 th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked the facility for my wife’s 60th birthday for the weekend

We found the facilities first class in all aspects and would recommend it unreservedly .

Thank you for making a special day perfect




Fantastic barn with fantastic facilities

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic barn with fantastic facilities. The barn has everything you need for your stay, every little thing has been thought about



Splendid!

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again Maris Barn proved to be the perfect venue for a large family weekend. We all had a wonderful time and of course the pool was a highlight for the children. We were blessed with glorious weather which was the icing on the cake.
Thank you to all who make Maris Barn special.




Dream come true accommodation for our multi-generation family gathering

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From booking to departure, the whole process was problem free and simple.
The accommodation was immaculate, presented and maintained to an exceptional standard (credit must be given to the cleaning team).
Location allowed us to explore the Wolds Countryside and East Coast, or simply sit in the beautiful gardens enjoying the peace and quiet.
There was something for everyone. For those that wanted to relax, the sauna, hot tub or a quiet read in the Atrium. For the more energetic, the games room and pool.
Meal times were memorable for all being able to sit and chat round the huge dining table.





A most wonderful week - enjoyed from 80yr old to 3yr old!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marris Barn is a most amazing place for being suitable for all ages to enjoy spending time together - although the pull to the pool was stronger than chatting TOO long with the Granny’s!

We were all together, although there were plenty of opportunities for quality time in smaller groups. There are various ‘zones’ to have time to chat together or read quietly.

It was wonderful having the table tennis, snooker etc . It was quite competitive in the evenings when the children had gone to bed. The adults took part in all the activities where the poorer ones, like me, were knocked out fairly early on!!

One of the very best parts for me was having all our families together.
We all agreed - a most wonderful happy time together.




A fabulous family week

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an excellent place to stay for a family celebration. We were lucky enough to have wonderful weather which meant eating out, BBQs, long walks with the dogs, trips to the seaside... although I am sure the children would have been happy to spend the whole time in the pool, playing table tennis or darts. The kitchen was extremely well equipped...we cooked every day, bar one, so appreciated the thought that had gone into provided all necessary. (Though perhaps a knife sharpener). Loads of space inside the houses, extremely comfortable beds, good linen and towels provided, wonderful to have all en-suite, much appreciated by adults and teens especially..
Peace and quiet in surroundings, noisy and enormous fun in the houses!
I would recommend Marris Barn without reservation. Thank you and congratulations to all concerned.




Family gathering

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a fabulous weekend in the Marris barn with family and friends. Would highly recommend a visit. Great venue for a gathering.



We gathered together 15 of our family to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary.

Review submitted on Sat, 31 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every single one said what an amazing time they had. We were aged 5-70 and all agreed Marris Barn is a fantastic, happy place. The facilities were great especially the pool, sauna and hot tub and all were well used. In contrast there are plenty of quiet corners to sit and read, knit, sew and study. The little ones loved the outside space and when they needed a sit down the Lego and game cupboard came into its own. When the evenings got rather noisy with laughter, singing and games, we always had the peace of the Wagon Shed to retreat to. Many thanks to Emma, Sam and the team for all the memories made.



A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous place! It was all beautifully presented and well-equipped - we felt like 5 star guests! The beds are all very comfortable, and it was great having an en suite bathroom for every room.



Fabulous high quality barn

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great barn for a large group. Highly recommended. This is a very high quality renovation and the property is maintained to high standard. Pool room is great- has a kitchen area including dishwasher and sofas to relax!
Great dining table for meals and family games. Big enough that no one felt on top of each other.
A lot of things were provided over and above expected - tea& coffee, pool bathrobes, vast array of crockery, pool inflatables, and plastic glasses in pool kitchen.




Fantastic venue for a family party.

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There were 19 of us aged 1 - 70 and every one of us had a marvelous time. The facilities are fantastic which means it does not matter what the weather throws at you, there is plenty to keep all your guests happy. Can't recommend Marris Barn highly enough.



Girls weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 20 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay here and still hasn’t disappointed us. Fab weekend with friends and family..



Truely Stunning

Review submitted on Fri, 17 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third stay at Marris Barn - we love this place - the character, quality and super facilities, along with it’s beautiful rural setting make this a very special place. The attention to detail by the owners is remarkable - they’ve thought of everything. In a word, Stunning’ is no exaggeration. Already booked our return visit next year.



Great memories made.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I decided to book Marris Barn having stayed in The Beach Cottage at Anderby Creek with my own family. I booked in 3 of my closest friends and families and stayed at Marris Barn for 1 week and it was magical. While we were there we took the opportunity to re-book it before we left. It’s location is great and there are some quality walks to be done. The facilities are first class and there is plenty of room so your not under each other’s feet. A great holiday had by all and great memories made by all .



Gorgeous, stylish barn conversion in stunning countryside, perfect for family or group holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Family of 10 had a lovely stay at the Barn, warm welcome and super helpful owners, really well stocked and thoughtfully set up, very comfortable, great spa/pool and gardens. Worth noting that Wagon Shed is not adjoining Barn as we had thought and some internal steps. Lots to do in the area, great pubs!



Wonderful

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fantastic place to stay in every way myself and my husband and 11 other family members were very pleased with everything about the marris barn and wagon shed and enjoyed everything about our stay the accommodation is fantastic as is the pool sauna hot tub table tennis and pool table we didn't want the holiday to end



Fabulous place

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful weekend at the Maris barn for my sisters hen do! We had a great time it is really spacious and has all the facilities you need! The Maris barn was lovely and beautifully done out in stunning surroundings! Thank you we will definitely be back!



Thank you to Emma for our stay!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay, gorgeous facilities. Highly highly recommend! The house has a lovely warm feeling, perfect for parties and families.



Amazing Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I can fully recommend Marris Barn and the Wagon Shed. The accommodation is immaculate and the facilities were perfect for our daughters Hen Party. They provided everything you could possibly need for a successful stay.



High Quality Accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely quiet location, delivering everything promised. Loads of pool 'toys', games for all ages. Very clean, good quality furniture with plenty of crockery - all matching, serving platters and cutlery. Very well equipped and child safe with plenty of child gates etc. A very comfortable stay - would definately go back.



Great birthday weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a girls weekend for my 40th birthday, the house is magnificent, very clean with everything you need.
Beautiful location & Emma was extremely helpful when we needed her. Definitely recommend it.




Fantastic location for a family celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb set of buildings that are exceptionally well appointed, the staff were really friendly and efficient from initial booking through to returning our deposit. Everything you could need was considered - we were a multigenerational party and everyone enjoyed themselves.



Big Bolton Holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 3rd visit to Marris Barn, we love it, the facilities are first class, great for a large group.



60th birthday celebrations

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
15 family and friends from 3-60.
Stayed at Marris barn and wagon she’d.
The place for the week was home from home, comfortable and fantastic facilities for everyone.
The whole family were very impressed with the place and we all had a wonderful time, and made some great memories
Thank you




Superb

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is perfect for a large family weekend. This is our second time and once again 3 generations had the most wonderful time. Everyone wants to come again next year. It truly is fantastic. Thank you.



3night stay at Marris barn

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb property , short of nothing on site ,everything was clean and tidy , a very special place to spend a few days.
The only issue we had was the drains at the wagon shed bathroom were giving off quite a strong smell, and when leaving the wagon shed you would probably walk across the grass as we did , there is a metal strip on the edge of the grass held in place by some metal pegs , one of which was sticking up a couple of inches and my wife stubbed her foot on the peg and fell into the gravel, grasing her hands and knees ,so be careful.
We really did have a great weekend and would certainly return regardless of the two items mentioned above.




Emma replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for your review and guest feedback. We were very sorry to hear that Steve's wife stubbed her toe on one of the metal pegs. Please be assured that this will be sorted out, I realise that there is a temptation to walk this way, as this is a shorter route than down the paths. Although we used to have the occasional drain smell at Marris Barn, we are on top of this issue now, so we will be applying the same procedures to the reported smell at the Wagon Shed. I apologise for this. I am so glad to hear that neither of these issues retracted from your enjoyment of the Barn.

Great holiday.

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent facilities with everything at hand, we particularly enjoyed the hot tub and swimming pool. The Sonos music system we used every day and just for a change there were more than enough puts and pans for us to cook with. The games area we used heavily and we also made use of the large barbeque as the weather was so good.



Perfect self catering

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was the perfect family holiday for those of all ages(ours ranged from age 4 to 83).The facilities are amazing and spacious so that you can have your own space when you need it .The staff visited regularly and couldn’t have been more helpful . The beautiful setting gave encouragement to our artist and cyclists whilst others enjoyed the view with their favourite tipple from the hot tub! A great party venue or retreat depending on your preferred choice



Birthday celebration all week!

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Emma and her Staff are caring, thoughtful and efficient people. I took 14 family and friends for the week and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves, both visiting the interesting surrounding area and using all the facilities at Marris Barn. We all want to go again, so that says it all!



Idyllic location, beautiful accommodation, done to a very high standard.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Thorganby Hall, the accommodation had everything you need, pool, hot tub, bbq, games area etc. There was something for all the family.
The whole accommodation was done to a very high standard and everything had been thought about- from the gowns/towels in the pool area, to hand wash/dishwasher tablets in the kitchen- we were not short of anything! All rooms were en suite which was fantastic!
A very relaxing stay in the countryside and we will definitely return!
The only small problem we encountered was due to the unusual extreme warm weather it could get a little too warm on a night- however there were fans that could be used and we did also take our own. Did not have any impact on our stay though as we loved everything about this place.
Thank you!!!




absolutely amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stunning place and would highly recommend to families or special occasions! 5 ***** accommodation and facilities, just the perfect retreat ❤️❤️



Everything under one roof...

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The barn was the ideal venue for a large party group. Facilities were all under one roof and exceptional in creating an ideal atmosphere. There's a lot of instructions to take in, however, these were summarised within the information folder and all equipment, pool, hot tub, BBQ were easy to use and were complimented by associated equipment and games. The kitchen came with the basics but I would recommend guests bring additional dish washer tablets and black bags to ensure they do not run out. Additional hairdryers would also be of benefit. Our group appreciated the surroundings and glorious pool area were we spent most of our time. The upper bedrooms are rather stuffy but this is a barn conversion and one fan is provided for the upper floor. We particularly liked the continuity of the rooms which allowed us to meet together and participate in group activities. There is no question that we all agreed that this was a perfect venue and we would not hesitate in recommending it and staying again.



an outstanding venue for all the families to celebrate a big birthday

Review submitted on Tue, 01 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
booking, meet & greet, recommended caters, equipment, amenities, architectural design, spaciousness, pool ,hot tub .... all of the highest standard. All grandchildren tired out by the end of the day without moving off the location. Parents obviously supervised the water activities, but were able to relax and enjoy. grand parents revelled in the fun!



Wonderful stays in the Wolds

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A terrific stay at Marris Barn again - the character, ambience and facilities here are fabulous, and the attention to detail by the owners is tremendous - they’ve thought of everything. We’ll be back again next year - which says it all!



A memorable Hen Weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having booked Marris Barn and the Wagon Shed from just seeing photos online, we were absolutely blown away with the property and it’s amenities. The living areas were perfect, with plenty of space for 16 of us, with glasses, tablewear and all the equipment we would need. The pool area was such a luxury and we all enjoyed it and embraced the pool, sauna and hot tub. It took a while to sort the music out in the pool area as the Sonos speaker wouldn’t work in there due to the WiFi circuits, however thankfully we had a jack lead to use the other speaker available. We had an issue with the tumble drier but Alison popped in on the Saturday and was extremely helpful and provided us with alternatives to ensure we always had dry towels available! We all had such an amazing break and would definitely return in the future.



95%

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very much as promised and expected. 13 of us spent a week in the property and although we did some sightseeing our five youngsters really need never have gone off site. Yes - the swimming pool and the wifi were equally good!



Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Returned from our 2nd stay at Marris Barn, everything is amazing pool, hot tub and sauna. Adults and children love it here. Nothing to fault, perfect in every way. Looking forward to visiting again next year.



Perfection

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marris barn and the wagon shed had everything you could hope for, I cant think of anything that would improve it, from the separate WiFi hubs throughout the accommodation down to the fact everything was provided even dishwasher tabs. the place was spotlessly clean. The accommodation is massive and the Sauna Hot tub and pool were amazing, the wagon shed alone would be an excellent place to stay.



Faultless!

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the accommodation for a Sales Meeting and every aspect of the stay was faultless. Perfect!



Special birthday weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We didn't use the Wagon Shed as our party fitted into Marris Barn. The location was brilliant and the facilities were superb.



Fantastic Holiday with Friends

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic property, beautifully presented with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. We will be back!



Simply perfect

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Marris barn to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday with the whole family, every last detail was thought out and there was nothing more we could of hoped for ! The barn in simply stunning and sam was on hand to answer any questions we had. The kids have cried today that we had to leave, the pool was most definatley the highlight of their stay! The whole place is equipped ready for any occasion, we even managed to have a BBQ as the weather was so nice. I'll be returning in Feb for a friends birthday and can't wait !!



WOW

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Words cannot describe how beautiful this place is. Me and my family are extremely grateful for giving us the opportunity to stay there.
Marris Barn had everything we needed and more. Cannot wait to go back.




Superb family weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marris Barn truly is the most stunning holiday house. Everything has been done to perfection with quality materials throughout. The main barn is truly spectacular and finished with artistic flair. Families and groups will all enjoy the wonderful facilities and we as a family all agree this is the best we have stayed in. Will we come again? Yes of course we will. Thank you to all who make this place so special.



Family Getaway

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow !!!! This is the word everyone used to describe the accommodation on arrival and the weekend just got better and better. Everything has been thought of and there was fantastic equipment and many beautiful finishing touches. We had a wonderful family weekend and can't wait to go again - plenty if room for the 16 of us to sleep, eat, play games and just have good old fashioned fun in the pool, sauna and hot tub!!!!



Great stay

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at the barn and once again first class. We took the opportunity to renew our marriage vows. Emma did everything she could to help and made the day fantastic. The 13th century church was perfect. Thanks to everyone who made our stay one of the best experiences we have ever had.




Another fabulous family holiday!

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay at Marris Barn and again the property was perfect for our family and friends summer holiday. The cleanliness and maintenance is excellent and nice touches like the fizz, soap and bath robes are going to be hard to beat elsewhere.
Some of us enjoyed the locality whilst others ventured further afield so lots to do with an excellent base and beautiful sunsets to enjoy.
Thank you again for a delightful stay x




Perfect holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having spent the week with our children and grandchildren we could not have had better accommodation.



Lovely location in an excellent property

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Property had everything that my family needed great location to get away
While in the property plenty to entertain
My family and friends had a great time
And would recommend it




Perfect for all the family

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I had the most wonderful week at Marris Barn to celebrate my 40th birthday. On the day of our departure my two year old niece was asked if she wanted to go in the pool before we went home. She replied "No, don't want to go home". That summed up how we all felt and we've already talked about going back.



30th birthday

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place was amazing ! I cannot believe it's only 20 mins from our home in Cleethorpes the surrounds are just outstanding and we would so book again ! It's beautiful



A Lincolnshire gem

Review submitted on Fri, 19 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marris Barn is a wonderful place to stay in the peaceful location of the Lincolnshire Wolds. Great vision and design in establishing this 5 star holiday accomodation, to the credit of the owners, with great attention to detail and quality fixtures, fittings, and finish. The facilities are fabulous. We'll be back!



Fantastic everything!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a a family weekend with 3 generations including small children. The house was perfect.
It's the best equipped house we have ever been too, the house had everything you could imagine for all age ranges across all the facilities.
Would highly recommend and we hope to be back soon.




Wonderful Family celebration venue

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A brilliant stay, gathering 4 generations of the family together from all over the place. Held a lunch for 30 without difficulty. We had a wonderful time and would happily recommend Marris Barn. A comfortable, well equipped kitchen and dining area, add in the leisure facilities and Wow! Thank you for making it such a special stay.



Ruby Wedding celebration

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just celebrated our Ruby Wedding Anniversary at this amazing property. Party of 14 (ages teenage to mid-70s) and there was something for everyone. Indoor swimming pool, sauna and hot tub (particularly pleasant under the stars) were immediate hits. Large impressively well-equipped kitchen made catering for a large party a breeze. American-style fridge/freezer in kitchen was supplemented by another fridge in the pool-side lounge. Nothing was lacking in any area and everything was well thought out, even for those less mobile. Plenty of parking space within the property. All rooms spacious, clean and welcoming. All bedrooms en-suite with the biggest, comfiest beds ever! Under floor heating made the place really cosy. Plenty of beautiful walks and good cycling just outside the door, quiet countryside, not a of of traffic; rolling hills, good views. Made very welcome on arrival by the housekeeper (Sam) and later by the owner (Emma); made us feel more like family guests than paying customers. Only downside to the whole stay was having to leave this morning. Sitting here even now trying to find an excuse to return at the earliest opportunity.



Friends on Tour

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We're seven couples - neighbours and friends - who like to spend a few days away somewhere different each year. Fnding equal accommodation is not always easy so Marris Barn was a real winner. The rooms on the ground floor although not over-large are beautifully light with very comfy beds and good quality linen with stylish modern shower rooms. We had a huge room upstairs with ensuite and a bath in the room. The two extra beds in the family room were not needed on this occasion but it would be great if you had the children with you. One couple had the Wagon Shed across the yard which is a self-contained -- again really well fitted out and also suitable for people with limited mobillity. We all loved spending time in the kitchen and dining area - big fridge/freezer, range cooker, two dishwashers, endless crockery, and the ambience was great. We made full use of the Sonos system too. Lots of lounging around was done on the huge leather sofas with TV/DVD if required. The pool area Is fabulous - warm and inviting with a really luxurious feel, a sauna with use of robes and towels, and a bar area with sofas, table tennis, pool, and TV! Outside there is a hot tub and huge seating area for finer weather and barbeques.

There's a little village shop a couple of miles away and a pub within walking distance which is ok.

On arrival we were met by Sam our friendly housekeeper who showed us round and offered any help we may need, and she came to see us off at the end of our stay.

Our party all agreed that it was the best place we had found so far and would certainly recommend it!





Review of our stay at Marris Barn and The Waggon Shed

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a super celebration weekend we have just had at Marris Barn. It was my brother's birthday and twelve of us spent a lovely few days there.
The facilities are second to none, it doesn't matter whether the weather is fine or not, you have all the leisure facilities you need under one roof. The Lincolnshire Wolds is a beautiful part of the country, the sea side not too far away, and plenty of foot paths for walking.




Birthday celebrations

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 15 staying at Marris Barn. We all had a fabulous time. The accommation was superb.



What a fantastic place

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's the most amazing place friends and family really enjoyed it. Only trouble is it spoils u for any where else.



Perfect long weekend destination

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marris Barn was booked for a celebratory 70th birthday weekend with guests ages ranging from 5 to 70. Everyone was really impressed with every aspect of the property and were sad to depart. Definitely a strong contender for our next big family get together.



Great for a party

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked Marris Bar, Wagon Shed, Marris Cottage and Little Walk cottage for a large 50th Birthday/New Year Party weekend. The properties were excellently presented with fabulous facilities and the Barn was well stocked to accommodate all 24 of our guests (sleeping across multiple properties.) We didn't make use of Little Walk Cottage in the end, as this is a mile or more away from the Barn (more than the Little Walk, I had imagined) and would not have been walkable at night after dinner/New Year's eve party.

We didn't venture very far from the properties in the midst of winter but found some nice walks.

The pool and hot tub went down very well with all the guests and the pool/table tennis/toys/books and games were enjoyed by the teenagers. The Sonos system was a great luxury touch, as were the bathrobes and pool towels.

Given the premium week we booked, the number of us and the quality of the facilities, the cost was understandably high. It was a shame we couldn't make longer use of the property because of the way the school holidays fell.

The Wagon Shed annexe is huge as a 2 bedroom place (and suitable for wheelchairs.)

It may be the last time we are able to get our friends together with all the rapidly growing up children, so we will definitely remember.




Family Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second trip to Marris Barn. We have five daughters plus spouses and grandchildren. The children spent most of the week in the pool and had a terrific time. We also got a bit of cycling and running in. We cooked family meals but there are ample facilities to cook individual meals if necessary. We took advantage of the Wagon Shed for quiet reading and study.



LADIES TRIP PRE XMAS

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
THERE WERE 14 OF US LADIES - RANGING FROM 42 - 69 - WE HAD BEEN FOR A FRIENDS BIRTHDAY A COUPLE OF YEARS AGO AND LOVED IT SO MUCH WE BOOKED FOR MONDAY TO FRIDAY IN NOVEMBER LAST YEAR AND HAD TO COME BACK AGAIN - THE DAY AFTER WE GOT HOME WE BOOKED AGAIN FOR NOVEMBER 2017! THE PLACE IS JUST AMAZING - PLENTY OF ROOM, EVERYTHING YOU NEED - AND AS WE GO IN THE WINTER IT'S LOVELY AND COZY AND THE POOL AND SAUNA JUST FINISH IT OFF - CANT SAY ENOUGH GOOD THINGS!



A Fab mini break

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic place to stay with a group of people and has everything you need all in one place. The facilities were amazing! There is so much space even with a group of people.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are great! clean, spacious and the beds are so so comfy! (All guests had great nights sleep!)
We stayed in the winter and it was lovely and cosy with lovely under floor heating!
The kitchen is brilliantly equipped with every utensil you could need for a self catering house. With a lovely double oven to cater for larger groups.
The pool, sauna and games area was fab with its own little kitchen area and seating to serve drinks from and a shower and changing room.
The wagon shed again is decorated beautifully and has fantastic disabled access.
This place is simply beautiful inside and out and We will definitely be retuning!




Fantastic

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow - absolutely perfect. Fantastic weekend away with four other families to celebrate our 20th Wedding anniversary. Amazing facilities, beautifully presented and even better than the pictures on the website. Thank you.



Mother and Daughter birthday celebrations

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an absolutely beautiful House and annex. Everything was has we had been led to believe from looking at the website , in fact, it was more . The crockery, cutlery, glasses for all different drinks ie flutes, wine and beer. The linen was immaculate the bath robes very white fluffy and very comfy. The hot tub , swimming pool and games room absolutely fantastic. Suberb beautiful worth every penny - no one wanted to leave. The wagon shed was suberb.

Beautiful country side for walking and running ( for those energetic enough)




Luxury Hen Weekend Retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently visited Marris Barn with 15 of my family and friends for my hen party....

All I can say is that from start to finish we were amazed by Marris Barn and its wonderful facilities.... This place is fabulous & I would recommend it to anyone!!!

We all had a brilliant time, from the hot tub to the pool to the sauna and the wonderful living spaces which all felt 5 star...

The barn is immaculately clean and everything is of high quality..

If you do stay please take the time to visit the local pub, The Click em Inn, the staff were lovely & the food was delicious...

I would give this accommodation eleven out of ten if I could...!

Thank you for a wonderful stay !!!

Rachel




Unique and stunning venue

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marris Barn at Thorganby is the most beautiful venue in the most stunning location. I have been there many times now, using the venue as a base for running Wellbeing Retreats - it couldn't be more perfect for offering an environment of luxury and tranquility and everyone who comes there is quiet overwhelmed with how beautiful it is.
The owners and management team run a very professional business at a very high standard but are friendly and nothing is too much trouble.




An excellent stay at a property of the highest calibre.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A really high end property which suited our needs very well. The 4 strands of the family could all get some space within the complex if needed which is something very rare to find. A great deal of thought has been applied to this project and it is difficult to think that anything of equal calibre could be found anywhere else.

The only minor issues were the bottom dividers in both dishwashers were continually collapsing and the drain to the pool shower seems partly blocked.

For families with small children, it would have been nice to have had some outside play equipment, swings, a slide etc; maybe even a trampoline.




Emma replied more than 1 year ago
Dear John Thank you so much for your complimentary review. We really appreciate it when our guests take the time and trouble to submit one. Thank you also for your feedback. Sam has already ordered some new dishwasher baskets as we completely agreed with you over the collapsing business! Your comments reference outdoor play facilities for young children were also very valid and I have added this to our upgrade list which we visit, review and act on when the funds allow. I was sorry to miss you on Friday morning but Sam said that you reported that you had enjoyed a lovely stay. She also cleaned the drain out on the day of your departure as you mentioned it to her. Kind regards

Wedding in the wolds!

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an incredible time hosting our wedding at Marris Barn and enjoyed staying there to relax for a week afterwards with our families. The customer service we received was fantastic, particularly from Alison who was there to help us every step of the way! Emma and James were so accommodating in letting us plan our wedding at this wonderful location. We hope to visit again soon!



Fabulous second stay in Thorganby

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second year running we have returned to Thorganby and we were not disappointed. The barn and cart shed still deliver great value for money with a 'home from home' feel. Nice touches like towels and robes are great. House keeper very attentive when we called and nothing too much trouble.
Highly reccomended.




A second wonderful holiday at Marris Barn

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week for the second year running at Marris Barn. The facilities are superb and Emma provides a very warm welcome. The pool and games area are brilliant for children and adults alike and the hot tub was very popular. The bedrooms and ensuites are excellent, and the kitchen is extremely well equipped. We took 8 adults, 2 teenagers, 2 younger children and 2 babies and they all enjoyed themselves.



Wonderful family holiday at Marris Barn

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marris Barn provided exceptional facilities for all ages in our family group, every detail had been thought through by Emma and James right down to nice touches like the welcome message, bubbly and cosy bath robes. The well maintained facilities and gardens also added to our enjoyment.
Every care was taken to ensure that our holiday ran smoothly. We would love to return in the future and would definitely recommend a stay at Marris Barn. A*****




70th Birthday Celebrations

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Maris Barn had everything we needed for a fabulous family holiday, four generations, celebrating a 70th Birthday. Set in beautiful countryside the exquisitely converted barn had everything we needed to ensure we had a great stay. The lack of super fast wifi and broadband was not a problem, more a bonus as a our techi familiy left their electronic gadgets behind and enjoyed playing traditional games and sports. The leisure area was used by all and was great fun. No need to bring extra towels, as bath sheets were provided, all slightly different so you knew which was yours. Only 20 minutes drive from 2 towns with good railway links and shopping, although with Tesco delivering this was not a problem. Entertaining was easy, great fridge/freezer space and all the crockery & cutlery you need to create a four course formal dinner to an informal BBQ party. No need to worry about washing up with 4 dishwashers to choose from! All the bedrooms had ensuites, with bath sheets(always a bonus) and hand towels. Good quality hairdryers were in all of the rooms. All the bedrooms had TVs but they never got used! The Wagon Shed was a great self contained space, all on one level good for visitors with mobility problems. Emma and her team were lovely, nothing too much trouble, even before we'd arrived, we had emailed several times. We had a great time and have already booked to return next year.



50th Birthday Celebrations

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marris Barn & The Wagon Shed was booked for my 50th birthday celebrations with my close girlfriends and I have had the most fantastic memorable weekend. It was perfect. This place is just amazing and a credit to the owner, Emma. The location is so idyllic & you will not want to leave the amazing Marris Barn. The owner has created a superb holiday retreat, thought of absolutely everything and if you do not enjoy this place you are very hard to please. All 15 of my girlfriends did not want to leave. Three words sum this place up. WOW WOW WOW!





Lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jun 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second visit in 2 years and we really enjoyed this wonderful location and facilities. The children loved every minute of it and can't wait to come again.
It is a house that everyone would want to live in, perfection!




Team Building Event for our Management Team

Review submitted on Fri, 06 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In one word EXCELLENT!!! I came across this site whilst looking for a venue suitable for a minimum of 7 people (Our Directors/Consultants) to have their own rooms. Marris Barn, the Cart Shed & Wagon Shed, were a perfect venue for this. They could all have their own room, their own space, with their own en-suite bathroom/shower room - something which is very difficult to come across in many venues. I didn't want them to have to share facilities and this venue catered exactly to our needs. Upon their return, they all reviewed the venue as 'Excellent' and immediately said they would like to use this place again for our next Team Building exercise!
The venue is away from anything in lovely peaceful countryside. Both Tesco & Sainsbury's supermarkets deliver, so it was no trouble to arrange food/drink for everyone staying. There is a pub nearby for those not wishing to cook, which I understand has good food, but our team had no need to try this out, as they were more than happy to stay and enjoy the facilities on offer!
I would not hesitate to recommend this property for any occasion - Holidays, Business, Girlie/Hen Weekends, etc., you cannot hesitate to be impressed. Emma & your excellent team - thank you so much, you're all brilliant and we shall definitely be booking your lovely venue again soon!




40th Birthday Celebrations

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at Marris Barn to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday and it was just the perfect venue! The pool and hot tub was idea for both adults and children and the space Marris Barn had allowed us to have a party during the afternoon and evening with 40 adults and 20 children more than comfortably. It's location is perfect just a 20 min drive to the seafront at Cleethorpes but rural works from your door step. We stay ever year with Emma and James and this visit was just as enjoyable - just trying to find an excuse to book to stay at Marris Barn again soon!!



Short stay with friends/family

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay last week.

We stayed in the Marris Barn which is amazing. I really can't fault anything at all. Great kitchen, rooms, lounge, sauna, pool, hot tub...

We will definitely keep the place in mind for future group breaks.




Girls weekend away

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marris Barn is a lovely spacious barn with all fixtures & fittings to a high standard, everyone commented on the quality & comfort of the matresses & bedding. The dining table accommodated our large group where it became the main hub of our weekend as it was open plan & situated between the kitchen & living area, The Barn has lots of options depending on what you wanted to do which made it ideal so that you can make full use of the swimming pool, sauna, hot tub or relax within the living area. Despite the Barn being so large and it being wintry conditions outside it was nice & warm with underfloor heating being a bonus. Everyone was reluctant to leave. Marris Barn is one of the nicest self catering houses i've/we've stayed in, I would recommend it to family & friends.



Everything we hoped for and more!

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning well thought out property in an idyllic setting! A wonderful short break for two families and their autistic sons... The pool and hot tub provided hours of relaxation time and fun. We will return!



Fantastic Place

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed in Marris Barn complex between Xmas-New Year break. We were welcomed upon arrival by the owner - Emma who gave us a guided tour, explained the workings of the house. We were immediately impressed by the charm, quality, cleanliness, value for money.

The layout is excellent and pictures do not do it justice. The only challenge we faced was mobile signal and access to Wi-Fi were both limited due to rural location. In some ways it came as a pleasant surprise to have some time off from technology and allowed the whole group to communicate with one another rather than spending all day on Facebook etc.

I would thoroughly recommend to anyone considering and will definitely be looking to return.




Golden Wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent 3 nights here in November for our golden wedding with our family .Beautiful accommodation in a lovely area but I agree with a previous review when it is dark you have trouble finding the barn. We had 2guests go past and had to turn round to come back.But it did not spoil our weekend.The housekeeper was there to greet us as Emma was away to show us how everything worked.Plenty of crockery and pans. We had Becky Miller prepare a meal for us on the Saturday evening which was superb.Emma was there Monday morning to see if everything was ok which we have to say far reached our expectations.Thank you James and Emma you have thought of everything hope to return soon .



Our Barn Conversion gettaway

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Nov 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
From start to finish our stay at Marris Barn was wonderful. Emma was lovely and very thorough with the tour and explanations of how things work. The barn itself was magical. The only couple of things we picked up on is the signage for the barn. A few of our guests drove by and missed it and with poor signal in the area we wondered if that may cause problems to others and also the late arrival. We do large group gettaways at least once a year and feel that 4pm is perhaps a little late and that it didn't give us much time to take it all in before your unpacking and cooking dinner. All in all though is was a fantastic place and we are looking to book again in 2017.



Emma replied more than 1 year ago
It's always great to get customer feedback. This is not the first time that guests have commented on Marris Barn being difficult to find after dark and I just wanted to let future guests know that we are on the case! In fact we are busy trying to find the electric feed which we put in at the build stage to light up the outside sign, however it is proving a little elusive at the moment. We will persevere and should achieve our objective.

A fantastic holiday in a luxurious and comfortable Barn Conversion.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After having spent a few fabulous days at a friend's 50 th birthday celebration last August at Marris Barn, 10 of us girls decided to spend 5 days there again last week. We had a marvellous, relaxing time, enjoying a warm welcome from Emma and then the gorgeous facilities. Marris Barn is spacious, airy, decorated and furnished to a high standard, and very well equipped. The beds are very comfortable and the games area, sauna, spa and pool all add to the relaxing atmosphere. We're already planning our next visit. Highly recommended!



Hen weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place, hen weekend heaven, very spacious and comfortable, everything we needed. Internet and sonos connection poor but did not spoil the weekend



Magnificent Marris Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have been patiently waiting for a chance to stay at Marris Barn for many months and when an occasion presented itself on a last-minute basis, I seized the opportunity. Am so glad I did. This beautiful property with outstanding facilities lived up to every expectation and more besides. Surrounded by stunning countryside with only the sound of birdsong in the air, it is an absolute haven, with fittings and fixtures of the highest quality. It was immediately obvious why Marris Barn is so popular. The Wolds are lovely but as the barn was so wonderful, we were reluctant to leave and explore the area. I guess we will just have to return........ (not that we need an excuse to go back other than to enjoy another stay at this exceptional barn conversion). If you are considering staying here, my advice would be to deliberate no longer.



Marris Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing place, it had everything you could possibly need and more for home from home experience. Lots of space indoors and out to enable you to fully enjoy the experience.



Fab, fab, fab.

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place, our 8th big house holiday and our best. Kitchen items (we Do cook) the very best, everything provided, towels etc, robes for the pool room, loads of garden furniture on all sides of the property to seat everyone, including large table just off kitchen very handy for the more chilly of us to eat outside while the rest were indoors. Plenty of freezer space including in the Waggon Shed. Good BBQ with handy herb bed next to it (could have done with a wire brush).

Loads of local walks only managed a few, I could go on but as we have already booked to come back next year that says it all.

Emma was very attentive, there at the end of the phone if needed, greeted us on arrival and departure and genuinely interested in our comments about the barn.

The gardeners among you would love the planting in the well kept garden, I could go on and on (even the very best car park)

My husband had his mobility scooter and the paths were perfect for it so he could be included in everything, his only complaint! was that the bed blocks (to raise the height of his bed) were a little high - I thought they were perfect.




Wonderful Place for a Family Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in Marris Barn and it was worth every penny. The accommodation was excellent and very well appointed, including a well equipped kitchen. The pool and games room was superb and the children and adults alike loved it. We have already booked for next year!



An Excellent Venue

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marris Barn is just what a large group of people require to celebrate an important event. Accommodation first class with excellent facilities eg swimming pool and sports room. Our 50 th Wedding Celebrations with all our family lived up to all our expectations. All ages agreed that this was the venue they would love to return to. Congratulations to the owners who undoubtedly have a winner in Marris Barn. Deservedly so.



Amazing hen do

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
20 hens could have been quite hard to please - we all loved it! Lovely staff, lovely barn, can't fault it at all, will be back. Don't hesitate just book, you won't regret it!



50th Celebrations

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at the Barn and were delighted to find it was everything the reviews had said and more. It has been lovingly restored into a fabulous holiday home. The interior is designed to a high quality very tasteful. The crockery is of a high standard and is plentiful. The layout of the barn is perfect for entertaining and we will go back again.

This would suit anyone including families with small children.

A perfect retreat for people of all ages, we were very depressed when we had to leave




A perfect week!

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place! The Marris Barn provided us with the perfect location for a family reunion, with everything we could possibly want to entertain ages 17 months to 84 years. Emma was there to show us round when we arrived, and was happy for us to text or ring her if there was anything we needed during the week. Everything was set up beautifully for us, and the welcome package included prosecco, which was a lovely touch. Finally, the quality of the appliances and décor is excellent, and having our own private pool, sauna, jacuzzi and games area was a real treat! Definitely worth a visit.



Marris Barn is out of this world

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for my hen do from 10/6/15. We were welcomed on arrival and couldn't believe how amazing the house is... Everything has been thought about, even down to the inflatables for the pool. It was a perfect weekend in absolute luxury, just going to book again for next year



Holiday Heaven

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Exceptional barn conversion, Ideal for large family group of differing ages. Wagon Shed a welcome haven for tired grandparents. A most relaxing experience.



Colleen's Hen Do

Review submitted on Mon, 11 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful barn! Had an amazing weekend with my wonderful friends and family, the facilities were superb and o can't wait to come back with the family in the near future!



Lost for words!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Trying to find the words for our stay is difficult. On every aspect imaginable, It was amazing, fantastic and magnificent all rolled into one! There is a luxurious feel to the whole property and the surrounding outside is beautiful, adding to the feel inside. All our needs were catered for, and nothing appeared to difficult for Emma and her team. I would not only recommend to others but I think I would struggle to stay in other similar properties and my standards have been set so high. Thank you again for allowing us to use your property for the most amazing weekend.



beal party weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
stayed the weekend of 13-16/03/2015. this venue is fantastic, there is something for everyone. Very well laid out it is difficult to criticise anything. This was our second visit and was even better than the first. Every thing is so professional and catered to enhance your enjoyment.



Simply beautiful

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A group of 15 of us stayed at thorganby hall in early march for my hen weekend. Every single guest was amazed at how stunning the house is, and the pool, sauna and hot tub were enjoyed by every one of us. Many of us spent the majority of the weekend lounging around the pool reading and relaxing.

We all loved that the barn is in a very quiet area, overlooking beautiful hilltops and fields.

The kitchen and living area was also very well used- especially by one friend who was in her element in the kitchen! The room was plenty big enough for the 15 of us where we could all enjoy meals together, as well as a few hen party games..!

Each and every bedroom is beautifully presented, and it's a real bonus that every room was en suite. The master bedroom upstairs is particularly stunning- definitely a must to find some time for a soak in the bath!

My parents also stayed in Marris cottage two minutes down the road at the same time, and were so excited to show me around! Great area for dog walks and the local pub isn't far away.

Not a single negative point to make, apart from the fact we couldn't stay even longer! Fantastic weekend enjoyed by all




fantastic

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Barn to celebrate my husbands 70th birthday with all the family. The ages ranged from 3 to 70 and the Barn is a superb venue for such an occasion.
It is very well designed and the layout works. The leisure centre is fabulous and the children spent many happy hours in there, as did the adults!!
So much thought has been put into the design and decoration of both the Barn and the Wagon Shed. As the grandparents, it was heaven to be able to retreat to the Wagon Shed and take a break from the rest of the family!!! Much as we love them all it was nice to have a bit of peace and quiet occasionally!

Emma was great. Any minor problems that we had were swiftly ironed out and nothing was too much trouble.

The area is beautiful and there are many walks for all ages. There are lots of places to visit and the beaches are wonderful.

We would like to return in the Summer and make use of the BBQ and outside areas.
We would recommend Marris Barn without reservation.




Another great stay at Marris Barn!

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you all for a wonderful stay. The team are fantastic! We could not wish for a better venue! The owners and House keeping staff are so helpfulThank you xxx



Amazing

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WOW! Everybody loved it, what a gorgeous place. Never stayed in a self catering property so well equipped. Pool area a big hit. Will definately return



A superb venue !!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked marris barn to enable a family get together to help celebrate my husbands 50th birthday and it exceeded all our expectations! Our group ranged from 14 yrs to 80yrs and everyone had a fantastic time. The attention to detail is wonderful and the barn is equipped to a very high standard. The leisure facilities are amazing and most members of the group made full use of the pool, sauna, hot tub and games room. One member of our family is disabled, the wagon shed was a wonderful area which enabled him to join us in our celebrations. A truly 5 star experience which provided lots of memories, would definitely recommend and hopefully return in the future !!!!



Amazing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely fabulous stay at marris barn, the barn itself is stunning and spotlessly clean with all of the facilities we could have asked for. We will definitely be booking again soon!



Brilliant group accomodation for people all ages!

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautif barn finished to an extremely high standard, providing everything anybody should need in pristine condition. The pool room & hot tub were the icing on cake! Fabulous accomodation for big groups whatever the age. Looking forward to a return visit!



A very special place

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic place to escape to . Great for all ages , occasions and groups . It is very well equipped and spotless . This was my second visit with different people all of us would go again as we had such a fab time .



Platinum Healing retreat

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you Emma and Team! We had a fabulous time and the retreat was a huge success. Looking forward to seeing you in January. Best regards from The Platinum Healing Team x



fantastic weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a family gathering aged between 8 and 75 all ages were catered for.we all loved the high spec accomodation and facilities at the barn and would definetly return.



Marris Barn - Perfect for a Family get together!!!!!

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic accomodation in a beautiful area of the country.

Perfect for Adults and children alike and every little detail has been considered by the accomodating

Will be back next year for sure!





Marris Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Let's just say, we had booked again for next year before we even left! I think that says it all! Excellent accommodation that catered for all our needs.



Another perfect stay in Marris Barn

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time that we have used the barn, including the Wagon Shed for our annual girls weekend away. I have to point out that we have organised 12 annual weekends away and this year has been the only year that we have returned to any of the houses that we have rented. This was because, whilst at the upper end of our price range it is absolutely outstanding in all aspects. Of course the pool and the hot tub are fabulous but the rest of the house from the cleanliness to the standard of the fixtures and fittings are second to none. This year we hired two beauty therapists, who came along for the whole day to provide us with spa day, we would recommend these ladies highly. If you go out and about for a little wander then remember to take a carrier bag for when you find the potato phone box......enough said!!



60th Birthday Family Get Together

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had planned and book 18 months in advance and selected Marris Barns because of its location and style. Everything was excemplary. The attention to the smallest details by Emma and her team meant that we had the best of stays. All of the rooms are amazing and fully equipped. We had no need to think 'oh they haven't got ?????' It was all there. Anyone thinking of booking with Emma should not hesitate as you will get value for money and a space to relax like no other. Thank you to Emma and her team for making this an idealic short break. Would not hesitate to advise others to book Marris Barns if they want a special place to stay.



You can still party at 50!!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marris Barns was the perfect location for 11 50 year Old's celebrating there birthday this year.

We all partied the nights away in this superb 5 star property with every single amenity required you could imagine.

The rooms, lounge and pool area was just outstanding,

Many thanks to the team at the barn for a Fab weekend.




An amazing stay.....

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time of staying at Marris Barn and once again everything is of the utmost quality and standard. The owner, Emma, greets you on arrival with the warmest of welcomes and explains where everything is and how things work. Following user feedback certain things had even improved which is very difficult to do when things are near perfect in the first place.
Our visit included four families with children from two to fourteen years and no one had any complaints - no mean feat. We highly recommend Marris Barn especially if you can share the cost with friends or family. We are looking forward to our next visit.




12 people, two dogs and a baby

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Oct 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As a group of friends who needed somewhere to get away together to play board games and just relax, Marris Barn was perfect. The pool was excellent, as well as the pool table, ping pong and darts, and the dining table provided excellent space for games and meals.

Rooms and bathrooms were great, with plenty of privacy and space for everyone to have their own corner.

The two dogs also enjoyed their stay, with plenty of walks to go and explore, and lots of space to get away from people when they needed to hide. Would definitely return!




Adult Autumn Painting holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We would certainly return, possibly with family. It is a beautiful conversion in lovely country with the greatest care taken by the owners to ensure a happy and trouble free visit.



The Marris Barn - The Best Family Holiday Weekend Ever!

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I know exactly what you're doing, you've scoured the internet and found this Marris Barn place and now you're reading the reviews, because you really think that this place can't possibly be as good as all that website blurb and those glossy photos would have you to believe. Well folks, here's the surprise, it's all that and much more!
Having spent a wonderful weekend there with all my family, 14 adults, two small boys and a baby in arms, (aged from 70 yrs to 7 months), I can assure you quite categorically that it really is a truly amazing place.
This complex of wonderful old farm buildings has been very lovingly restored and redeveloped, sparing no expense, to provide visitors of all ages with the self catering holiday experience of a lifetime. Everything has been very, very carefully thought out to make best use of the original building space and all the individual areas have been fitted out to the very highest specification to ensure that it all is just perfect, nothing at all has been forgotten or left to chance.
The kitchen would be the pride and joy of a Premiership Footballer's new house, the only difference is, that it is there to be used, not just for the 'Wow Factor'! It's drawers and cupboards contain every implement and appliance that you would ever need for cooking and it has a fridge freezer the size of a small garage. There's more crockery and glasses than a top restaurant and that's probably why there's three dishwashers! There's also a huge dining table that could host a medieval banquet. A very large comfy L-shaped leather settee dominates the lounge area which also houses a large screen TV and a Sonos music streaming system.
The bedrooms, six in the main building and one extra in the Wagon Shed Annex are all en-suite and, well, just beautiful, they vary in size but all very roomy with en suite with all top spec. equipment once again of course.
With it's heated indoor swimming pool, sauna, hot-tub, table tennis table, pool table etc. etc. the weather is totally immaterial at the Marris Barn, you never have to leave the place, and anyway why would you want to?
Emma, one of the owners, and her team provide a very efficient 'nothing too much trouble' customer service both before and during your stay, they are all very friendly and very, very efficient, such a rarity nowadays.
Everything about the place is unbeatable, so no more doubts, just get in touch with Emma and book it, you will really, really never regret it.
Oh! and by the way, we've all decided we're coming back just as soon as we've all come back down to earth and saved up enough pennies.




What a perfectly wonderful place to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed at the Marris Barn and Wagonshed in early September - what a perfect setting! We celebrated both a 60th and a 21st Birthday all in one - so you can imagine we had a vast mix of ages and couples staying. The facilities were so vast and the building so comfortable the age range matter not one bit, if anyone wanted there own space they would have a choice of various rooms or areas to escape for some peace, and if everyone wanted to get together then the pool, lounge, outside BBQ/Patio area, were all perfect areas for every one to sit, stand, swim, eat, and drink and enjoy themselves.
The kitchen was fantastic with an enormous range of equipment, making my first time catering for 16 people manageable!
The pool and games area were used the most, we had a hard time keeping out of the pool as it was nice and warm and spacious enough to swim lengths if we wanted, or more so jump around and have fun!
The sauna and the hot tub were also used a lot - nothing says relaxation like sitting in a hot tub with a glass of bubbly on a cold evening! (vast amounts of plastic glasses available in case of accident).
Everything seemed to have been thought of down to even a separate dish washer in the pool lounge area so we didn't have carry everything back and forth to the kitchen. There were large amounts of towels and dressing gowns to use around the sauna, hot tub, and pool area.
The bedrooms were perfect, having the master bedroom ourselves we were a bit lost with such a large room - with an en-suite bathroom, roll top bath, TV etc. etc. etc. it was like staying in a 5 star hotel. Every room had their own bathroom which is ideal for a bit of privacy with such a large group.
All in all we would recommend this venue to any one, and any group of people for any event - we will definitely look to return next year.
Thanks 'Marris Barn' - it was an excellent weekend.




Excellent comfortable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit with slightly different guests this time. All loved it and fully appreciated the facilities. You forget how luxurious the barn is and lots of new mum's and hard workers enjoy the peace that can be had here. The owners are helpful and friendly but we also enjoy the privacy here. Thank you for this wonderful retreat we will look forward to enjoying it again next year!



Superb!

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and a group of friends stayed at the Barn from Monday until Friday. When we arrived we were kindly greated by Emma who gave us a history of the barn followed by a tour of the house along with instructions on how to use features such as the SONOS system etc.

The stay was greater than we could have expected. The house is of the highest standard and the facilities kept us all occupied throughout the week.

We took a trip to the local pub up the road but most of our stay was spent enjoying the hot tub, pool and sauna.

10/10 and would recommend!





perfect holiday home for families

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
excellent house for large family gatherings,we had a brilliant time,lots of happy family memories made! we never left the house,peaceful location, but attractions near by if you want to go out.



Old Friends Annual Holiday.

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our group of "Old Friends" (5 Couples) have been on many self catering holidays over the years. As we get older our demands for luxury seem to increase. Marris Barn has everything! Set in an amazing location, this barn conversion has been carried out to the highest standard possible. From kitchen equipment, entertainment area, pool/sauna/games area to bed linen, all is top quality & everything has been provided for & is certainly the best we have ever seen. (Sometimes 5 stars is just not enough !)
Emma, James & Team should be very proud of their achievement & are extremely brave to let us mere mortals make use of this wonderful house. Thanks for a great holiday.




Review on Marris Barn

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place with lovely owners who were very helpful and accommodating. The men thoroughly enjoyed their stay, just a shame it was booked up and they couldn't stay for longer.



Superb all round!

Review submitted on Tue, 20 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Marris Barn was brilliant in every respect, thoroughly enjoyed by young and old members of the family alike. We all very much hope to be able to pay a return visit in the near future. Five stars all round!!



Amazing weekend set in tranquil countryside

Review submitted on Mon, 19 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a 60th birthday for a long weekend! Wonderful facilities in lovely surroundings, all the family enjoyed it! Would highly recommend for large families who want to enjoy a break together



Great place for a family get together

Review submitted on Mon, 19 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning property in a beautiful situation. Everything was of a high standard in terms of quality and style; bedrooms all beautifully appointed, kitchen and dining area excellently equipped. The swimming pool, sauna and hot tub were wonderful - again high quality and very well-maintained. Staff really helpful and responsive to any (minor) problems.

We were a large family group spending time together gathering family history; the seating area was perfect for this and the smart television allowed us to look at photos and website content in comfort. Internet connection was poor, however, which was frustrating - better at the Wagon Shed (separate bungalow fully equipped for disabled guests).




A great memorable holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 05 May 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place for bringing families together - everything you could need is here and more. Facilities are excellent and everything is thought through beforehand. The main living area can get noisy as it is kitchen/living/TV all wrapped into one. Emma the owner could not have been more helpful.



Excellent family venue!

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We are just back from a brilliant family weekend. Marris Barn is an ideal venue for a family gathering. It has everything you could possibly need for a family ranging in ages from 2 to 89! Lovely local walks too and very helpful and friendly owners.



hen do

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place for a group to meet up, relax and celebrate. Everything you could possibly need has been already thought of and any problem is swiftly dealt with by the lovely Emma.

We allcoukdnt speak highly enough of accommodation and several of us were trying to book for later in the year only to be disappointed but not surprised to see that us booked up.

Thank you Emma and James you are both very helpful with every query I had prior to our arrival.

Would definitely recommend this place to any large group.




the fantastic marris barn

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely fantastic stay. Only let down was that the sauna wasn't working and lost use of hot tub for a full night due to filling it up as per instructions and it took from afternoon to lunch following day to re-heat. But we would still recommend to anyone the place and setting etc. is fantastic. They have even thought about the outside as our pets were able to go out and we wre confident they could not escape from the grounds,(not that anyone would want to)



Mum's Big Birthday Family Gettaway

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Apr 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is absolutely gorgeous, a lot of thought has been put into its renovation and decoration, as well as the comfort of guests. It was the ideal place to host a special family holiday



Superb!

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is such an easy review to write.
We stayed with a small group mid week - it was easy to book and reasonably priced. Communication from the owners regarding everything was easy and efficient. We found the barn in amazing condition - I could hardly believe it has been 2 years since it was converted - it is is such good condition, and so clean. There is EVERYTHING you could wish for in the kitchen - tea, coffee, sugar, an amazing array of utensils, great toaster, double ovens, a multitude of crockery, glasses, jugs, teapots, milk jugs, chopping boards, mixing bowls, pots and pans - it took a while to explore it all but we found it breathtaking and will most definitely make the effort to come back here. The bedrooms are all wonderfully decorated with comfortable pillows and beds. The swimming pool and sauna are just fantastic, as was the hot tub! They have even provided plastic glasses for near the pool and a dishwasher in this area (as well as two in the kitchen!) and extra swimming towels, gosh there is just so much!
A SUPERB place to be.




An excellent New Year break!

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have spent Christmas at Marris Barn 2012 and New Year 2013/14 with friends and all had a fantastic time. The Barn is exceptionally well equipped for large parties and there is plenty to keep everyone amused with the beautiful indoor pool complex. Any problems although rare are quickly dealt with by the staff who keep the Barn in first class condition and cleanliness.