FB Twitter

Howells Mere 97, Cygnet Lodge

Howells Mere 97, Cygnet Lodge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.7
Location
5.0
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.9


Sleeps 10
• Spa membership included
• Gym, indoor & outdoor pools

• Dual aspect doors allowing ventilation
• Broadband included
• 5 x bedrooms, 3 x bathrooms
• 3 x doubles, 2 x 3' twins
• Charcoal BBQ
• Sorry, no pets allowed
• Sorry, no smoking indoors
• Linen, towels and utilities included
• £300 refundable security deposit required

Three night stay for 100th birthday

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Dec 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the property to be as described. The kitchen was well equipped and the team had left nice welcoming touches for our 100th birthday celebrations. We contacted the team about early check in and later check out and they were very accommodating, since we had family ranging from 3years to 100 years to accommodate. The location of the property was lovely and it was quiet, but this may be due to time of year too! The house was lovely and warm on arrival and there were enough logs to light fires during our stay too which made it extra cosy. We all had a great time and would definitely recommend.



Orion Holidays replied 63 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to hear that you had a lovely stay and good time celebrating the Birthday and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Fantastic family trip

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a family ranging from 7yrs to 77yrs and everyone had fun! Access straight on to lake with our canoe & paddle board, great cycling & walks straight from the front door. Made lots of use of the pool! Plenty of room in the house and well equipped for cooking. Didn’t want to leave! We will hopefully be back!



Perfect for large family holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful midweek break here with a family group of 10 of 3 generations. The layout worked perfectly with the grandparents being able to separate themselves from the carnage on the top floor! The house is beautiful and has everything you need (other than a wine cooler). It was extremely hot when we were there and the direction the house faces on the lake meant we weren't baked by the sun when sitting out in the evening.



Perfect peacefullness

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a family holiday to celebrate my 75th birthday. I couldn’t have asked for more from the accommodation and location. The peace and tranquility of the surroundings were wonderful.

There was always something for the three generations of our family to do. Even just sitting quietly reading or soaking up the peace of looking out onto water was so relaxing

Orion holidays were friendly and efficient and always there if I needed help or information.

This was a memorable holiday and one to be repeated.




Good place, beautiful view, disappointed by information about booking the pool

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great place to stay with the children and grandparents. Unfortunately there was no information prior to arrival, or when we arrived, advising us that we needed to book to use the pool. And it was fully booked for our stay, other than one session available at the last minute (which we could not all get ready for in time). Considering the cost of the holiday included pool use, this was disappointing.




Orion Holidays replied 276 days ago
Thank you for your review. Sorry you missed the information in your email confirmation about booking the pool slots. I did check the correspondence and can see that this was sent when you paid the balance. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the property and its beautiful view.

Family Reunion

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Mar 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous weekend. We loved the house and the location. We spent time at the pool with the children and had a lovely meal at the restaurant.



A Great Short Break for the Family

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Dec 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb house in a spectacular location - plenty of room for 6 adults and four small children - well equipped and very comfortable.



Amazing house

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommend a start in the Cotswold Waterpark with Orion Holidays. The team from Orion and Also the Lower Mill estate have all been so welcoming, helpful and flexible through all the Covid challenges.

The house itself has a wow factor that is clear from the website. It's huge - easily accommodated 10 of us. You can go canoeing straight from the door on the lake and that joins to other waterways. It's so lovely.

The lower Mill estate is nice as well. Sort of felt like a low key Center Parcs with all sorts of activities available but none of the "managed fun" chaotic feel you get from bigger places. The pool and spa area were really relaxing and there is plenty to do with kids as well. As you can tell I'm a big fan, we are already talking about going back. Thanks to all the team.




Cygnet Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Aug 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an enjoyable week and there was something for everybody. We were three generations and it suited us fine.
A little tip – bring your own eggcups (there weren’t any)




beautiful spot

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jul 2021
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
a lovely place to stay and relax
beautiful views of lakes birds and lovely walks ( once managed to decipher the map)
we were only 4 people in accommodation for 10 so lots of room in our house
lovely layout and features in property, but a few fixtures and fittings broken ( broken freezer drawer)/ missing
cleanliness average - lots of cobwebs, no evidence that decks had ever been swept, outdoor cushions for sofa on deck were wet through and unusable for duration of our stay. Windows not clean and nor was the glass on deck edge.
the booklet said there was a cloth for outdoor use - there wasnt so we couldnt clean up the mucky outdoor areas.
There was only one electric car charging point available for the whole site ( and 1 for teslers) . with increasing numbers of e cars - this is not sufficient - added to which there was no booking system for these points - so in our experience one car "hogged " the point all day, with no "ticket" displayed in the window, which meant that the owner couldn't not be identified to ask them to move it and allow others to charge their cars.
the Lower mill estate is lovely - but almost impossible to navigate- particularly from the maps which were not very helpful.
the ipad check in system was nt v helpful and remained unclear throughout stay how to book things like tennis courts - why cant do this from the ipad.
my 2 14 year olds had booked a gym session and swim session - but on arrival was told at the spa no entry without an adult - we had double checked the website for any age related restrictions and found none - so this wasted spa swim and gym time - as no one else could then use the slot either.
spa staff didnt seem particularly helpful, nor was there any enforcement of appropriate face mask wearing, and they didtn even ask people to take off their shoes ( and in some cases muddy wellies) before entering pool area.




Sarah Sykes replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review we were very pleased you found Cygnet lodge relaxing and a lovely place to stay, we were also happy to hear you would stay with us again, please note we offer a discount to repeat guests. We were very sorry though to read your comments regarding the cleanliness of the exterior of the house, as you probably experienced this time of time of year the cobwebs and pollen do come back quickly, we can see this was magnified by housekeeping not leaving the outside cleaning cloth. Thank you too for the general site feed back which we will pass on to the site management. We have noted your suggestions on where we and the house can improve, thank you for this feed back. We are sorry for the issues but pleased to hear overall you enjoyed your holiday. Thank you The Orion Team

Fantastic weekend away

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great weekend away. We love the lower mill estate, and sitting out on the balcony have a bbq!



Great family weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were a party of 10 staying for a long weekend to celebrate my father’s 80th. The house is in a perfect location backing onto a lake and close to the shop and spa. It is really well appointed and works well for 10 people. Just be aware that the majority of the bedrooms are on the ground floor as you come in and the living space is on the middle floor. The resort is rather more densely populated than we expected so don’t expect to feel away from it all as you are surrounded by other properties. You must book ahead to do water activities etc. All in all we had a great weekend and the house suited us very well



A fantastic property with a beautiful and relaxing location.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault the lovely property and beautiful location. However, being in the middle of the countryside the wifi was rather slow and was an issue when several people were using their devices; a good way though of reducing screen time and getting out and about. Would love to visit again.



What a place

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic house with an incredible view and surrounding area, I only wish we had more time to stay there.



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here for a long weekend and the cottage is very spacious and has everyone you need and more, the bedrooms are spacious and the decking area lovely, the only thing we had to do was sweep the decking the day we got there but they was all, excellent location near the children’s playground and swimming pool, would definitely recommend and would go back.