FB Twitter

Swallows

Swallows

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 51 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.9
Customer
Service
4.9


The apartment is equipped to a high standard with a recently updated kitchen/diner which contains a Microwave, hob and oven, fridge with ice compartment and a dishwasher. Off the kitchen you are led into a landing from which you access the generous sized bathroom, with a large bath, separate shower and WC. Continuing along the landing to a good sized sitting room with views onto the garden, sofas and chairs, equipped with freeview TV, TVD player, digital radio/CD player. The bedroom is accessed from the sitting room with a super king sized bed, if singles are preferred please advise when booking. Hair dryer provided, radio alarm clock with ipod docking.

An extremely comfortable place to stay if you wish to explore Dartmoor

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Please refer to my comments on our last stay at Swallows in April 2019 xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx.

Giles from London stayed at Swallows for 4 nights in October 2019


Lovely comfortable accommodation in an excellent location which is very peaceful.

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely comfortable accommodation in an excellent location - very peaceful. When we arrived there was a welcome basket and lovely flowers and you immediately had that homely feeling. We would recommend a visit to the Tom Cobley Tavern, just 1 mile from the Swallows and the Railway Inn in North Tawton as they both serve fantastic food and have a great atmosphere. We will definitely be returning to stay in Swallows as its location is perfect for visiting the beautiful surrounding countryside and is central to visit attractions in Devon and Cornwall.

Ann from Carmarthen stayed at Swallows for 4 nights in September 2019


Helen replied 87 days ago
Thank you Ann for your review, so pleased you had a nice relaxing break and enjoyed both the Tom Cobley and the Railway Inn. I look forward to meeting you both again soon.

Swallows by name

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful apartment/cottage, difficult to explain, but it fits both descriptions. When entering, you are met with a small but very well fitted kitchen, perfect for the couple who want to spend some time cooking and some time eating out. The bedroom, as with all the other rooms, is extremely spacious with an excellent 6 foot (super king) bed. The lounge has 3 settees, one of which is a bed settee which is quite uncomfortable as you can feel the metal bed parts below the cushions (I am not a fan of bed settees and therefore it could be just me?). The other 2 settees are good quality and very comfy.The bathroom is huge and possible the place where a washer dryer could be fitted as this was the only appliance that we did miss. We came to Swallows straight from another holiday and therefore with a lot of washing and didn't realise (my fault) that there was no washer dryer. In the end we hand washed our clothes in the huge bathroom sink.
Overall a very pleasant stay made better by Helen, who is a wonderful host.


Andrew from Camberley stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in July 2019


Helen replied 131 days ago
Thank you Andrew for your review and for leaving everything so clean and tidy. It is difficult to fit a washer /dryer, however I am happy to do washing for guests and or take to Johnsons cleaners who provide a wash/dry/fold service. I wish you well in your house search and move to the west country.

Fabulous weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 11 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked The Swallows at short notice. First time staying here and wouldn’t hesitate to go back. We were able to get in earlier than expected. The cottage is well laid out. Excellent interior with good touches like fresh flowers, complimentary toiletries and hamper with local eggs, bread, butter , jam etc... Good location to visit other places. Helen, the owner, is next door so they’re on hand if any problems. Would highly recommend this cottage.

Andy from Bristol stayed at Swallows for 2 nights in May 2019


Helen replied 211 days ago
Dear Andy, thank you for your review. Delighted you had a good weekend and hope to see you again soon.

a stopover for a Devon wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We searched on location for a place to stay for wedding, that we were attending and were lucky to find Swalllows, Helen the host is well organised and responds promptly, the accommodation is very well equipped, the welcome pack was sufficient for a simple breakfast, a very peaceful location with a lovely garden, a top choice - recommended

Chris from Cheltenham stayed at Swallows for 1 nights in April 2019


Helen replied 222 days ago
Thank you for your review and comments in the visitors book, "Like a luxury boutique hotel, without staff !" is my aim. I look forward to welcoming you again sometime.

Contented Customer

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fourth visit to Swallows which is located at Falkedon, a secluded hamlet , ideally situated if you wish to go for walks on Dartmoor. The accommodation is suitable for two persons with a spacious living room and bedroom with high quality furnishings.

Giles from London stayed at Swallows for 4 nights in April 2019


Helen replied 222 days ago
Thank for taking the time to do a review again! It was a pleasure to see you both, I look forward to seeing you again, possibly later in the year.

Relaxing walking break

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing Christmas break, beautifully decorated for Christmas. Good access to the main A.30 but very peaceful location. Huge bathroom with a bath and shower, Radox bath products and dressing gowns provided for post Dartmoor walking recovery, very comfy bed too.

Guest from Crediton stayed at Swallows for 2 nights in December 2018


Helen replied 334 days ago
Thank you for your review, look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Swallows, fruit cake and roses.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely to have swallows swooping in to feed their young just outside the bedroom window. No access to pretty garden but beautiful roses in vase. Very steep steps. Super quality extras.

Jane from Exton stayed at Swallows for 2 nights in August 2018


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jane, thank you for your review. I apologise if you could not get through to the garden via the blue door if it was locked. I have been looking after a friend's dogs which were in the kennels and locked for security purposes at various times during the day.

Swallows

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Welcomed with a home baked fruit cake and bread and jams and duck eggs. The place is spacious and has a lovely feel to it. What an oasis!!

Patrick from stayed at Swallows for 1 nights in August 2018


Our holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week staying at the swalllows it was our fourth visit. A perfect escape from home. Very relaxing week, Helen is the perfect hostess, thank you, we will be back soon

Heather from Poole stayed at Swallows for 4 nights in June 2018


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review Heather, lovely to see you and Brian again. I hope your wedding goes well later this summer and look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

Relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely relaxing break .
Very comfortable , peaceful and just what we needed .
Good location for local National trust properties and walking .
Nice touch with local produce in the welcome pack . Thank you


from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in June 2018


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, so pleased you had an enjoyable relaxing break, what holidays are all about. Where was it that you went fishing? I'll make a note for future guests along with Launceston museum.

Fabulous accommodation

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy and comfortable apartment which had everything we needed. Very warm welcome from the owner. Would certainly recommend it

andy from stayed at Swallows for 2 nights in May 2018


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, I look forward to seeing again in the future.

So warm and cosy.

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked Swallows at very short notice and Helen was very helpful. We arrived in snow and only just made it. It was our second stay and it was good to know that there was a warm and cosy place at the end of our difficult journey. The apartment is very comfortable and welcoming. The kitchen is small, but very well equipped. It’s an ideal place for couples.

Jill from Blackboys, Uckfield stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in March 2018


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. I hope your journey home was easier than the one down.

A warm welcome and a well-appointed apartment

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here to be near family members in the Exeter and Crediton area, and also near Okehampton and Dartmoor for walking and exploring. The location met all these criteria, and the apartment was clean, comfortable and warm even in extremely low (for Devon) temperatures. Helen was friendly and helpful, and provided a much appreciated welcome pack with lasted us most of the week. Wifi worked well; mobile phone signal (we are on Vodafone) was virtually non-existent.

Jenny from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in February 2018


A great place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything we needed, warm, comfortable, quiet and the best welcome pack ever. Approach easy from A30 too and a lovely area even in January but wellies advised for most walks!

Christine from Leatherhead stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in January 2018


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Christine for your review. I hope your son's business venture goes ahead but will miss you not needing to be near to Spreyton visiting.

5 Star accomodation

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful and tastefully decorated cottage, with everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing holiday for two, especially over the Christmas period.
Right on the edge of the Moors with National Trust properties on the doorstep. Lots of wooded walks and wildlife. Good Pubs also close by, especially The New Inn, Sampford Courtnay.



Heather from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in December 2017


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Heather for your review, so pleased that you had a relaxing Christmas holiday and enjoyed visiting this beautiful area of Devon.

New Year break

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Swallows based on family recommendation and were very pleased we did. The welcome hamper was a nice touch. The quality of the furnishing is first class and the bathroom facilities are excellent. The location is only a mile from my daughter's home and is therefore very convenient.

John from Littlehampton stayed at Swallows for 3 nights in December 2017


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, so pleased you enjoyed your visit and I hope we will see you again in the future.

November 5 weekend stay

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed at the Swallows for a long weekend break due to us attending a wedding on the Saturday.
we arrived late in the evening using only the directions provided, as the sat Nav did not work in this location. we found it with complete ease.
We were welcomed to a warm comfortable and surprisingly spacious apartment located adjacent to the house.
The welcome hamper and flowers was very thoughtful and provided a lovely welcoming touch to the accommodation.
I cannot fault the accommodation we were staying in. the location is so peaceful with only the sound of bird song from the back garden which the room overlooks.
We will be defiantly be coming back for a longer stay to explore the area in more detail.
Thank you for a hassle free and nice weekend.



Daniel from Southampton stayed at Swallows for 3 nights in November 2017


Helen Ford replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased you had an enjoyable visit to Devon and the accommodation at Swallows at Falkedon. I look forward to welcoming you again soon.

excellent apartment

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location, apartment was comfortable and welcoming, well equipped and the welcome basket was very much appreciated. And thank you very much to Helen.

L from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in October 2017


Contented Customer

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We have stayed at swallows four of five times and one thing that needs attending to is a new blind at the back of the kitchen door and a new bulb in one of the lamps in the bedroom . As usual we had a very relaxing stay in idyllic surroundings.

Giles from London stayed at Swallows for 3 nights in September 2017


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
The stiff blind on the kitchen door and replacement bulb have been addressed, I apologise for not seeing to it immediately but you had implied that they were not an issue since you were leaving the next day. A lesson learned. I hope your last visit has not tarnished your view of Swallows and look forward to seeing you both again soon.

A quiet peaceful location.

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had five nights at Swallows. Very clean & well equipped cottage. Excellent hosts , welcome hampers was a real bonus after our 5 hour journey. Wifi & mobile reception was difficult but is being improved with a new supplier.
Bed was very large & comfortable. Ample amount of equipment in the kitchen. Very convieient for central Devon touring, easy access to A30. No traffic noise only the birds.
We will be returning to this accommodation before the end of the year as it is so well placed for our many friends & relatives in Devon. Several good pubs in close proximity.


Alan from Eastbourne stayed at Swallows for 5 nights in July 2017


All round great

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovelly place to stay marred only by the hot water which took ages to come through and seemed to waste a lot of water ....

from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in July 2017


Swallows

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastically well appointed apartment, from the heaviest towels that wrapped around you twice to the smallest details were all of outstanding quality. A lavishly furnished and tastefully decorated interior. The welcome pack was of equal quality with home produced eggs from the chucks in the garden to the best pack of butter I have ever tasted. We were both absolutely delighted with everything and in a great location for access to the moor.
Many thanks Helen we will return again and again.
David & Fiona


Fiona from stayed at Swallows for 2 nights in May 2017


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you David & Fiona for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your last minute visit. I look forward to welcoming you again to Swallows.

A lovely relaxing break.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for a short weekend break at Swallows, wished we could have stayed longer! Very comfortable and peacefully quiet. Loved the rural setting, and found it a great location for exploring Dartmoor. We were made to feel very welcome, and the basket of goodies, including a lovely fruitcake and fresh eggs was appreciated. Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet relaxing getaway.

Alison from Penzance stayed at Swallows for 2 nights in April 2017


Wonderful Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 03 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very pleasant relaxed time was spent at The Swallows. For two people it was large, yet homely. So quiet, only birds to be heard. Television and wi fi kept us in touch with the outside world... With a major dual carriageway only two miles away we were able to travel to coast and moorland. An excellent welcome pack provided and a very helpful and friendly host.




Hazel from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in April 2017


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, I am delighted you had a wonderful time.

3rd visit back

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious cottage with walking books, attractions leaflets, books, games and a Dartmoor map. Kitchen is well equipped and all rooms are very spacious. Lovely hamper waiting for our arrival with homemade cake, eggs from the chickens, etc. Lovely little touches of toiletries in the bathroom. Cottage is in a ideal location for visiting anywhere in Devon. Both Helen and David are friendly and now feel we are becoming good friends. We will be back.

Maggie from Camborne stayed at Swallows for 4 nights in April 2017


A haven at the end of the day

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Swallows for 2 weeks whilst decorating our own cottage, prior to moving in. It was very nice to have a warm and comfortable place to come back to. The flowers were a thoughtful touch. I spent most evenings in the lovely bath, soaking away the aches of the day. We loved watching the dogs playing in the garden and the birds and squirrels on the feeder.
I would recommend Swallows to friends in the future, although as we live nearby, we probably won't stay there ourselves.
The kitchen is a little small for long stays, but the lounge and bedroom are large and airy and very comfortable.


Guest from stayed at Swallows for 14 nights in February 2017


Wonderful fantastic stay at Swallows

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is one of the nicest places we have stayed at. Superb accommodation and the welcome pack of flowers butter eggs homemade bread and cake, tea and coffee was fab. There were so many little touches that made the stay special. The bed was huge!! I would recommend Helen at Swallows in a heartbeat. Go see for yourselves!!!!

Sharon from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in February 2017


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the lovely review Sharon , hope to see you again soon.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very cosy and welcoming cottage. Well equipped kitchen and comfortable furnishings.
Large and very comfy bed.
Food pack provided was excellent and the cake delicious.


Guest from Petaling Jaya stayed at Swallows for 2 nights in January 2017


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. I look forward to seeing you again soon and hopefully friends that will visit when you have returned to the UK.

Mini Utopia

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful self catering apartment ideally situated to provide total rest and relaxation.
Host was extremely friendly and warm.
I hope I'm able to return some time in the future.
Shane


from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in September 2016


Fantastic stay yet again

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second time in staying in this wonderful accommodation. Helen is so friendly but not intrusive. Our welcome pack was amazing especially the home made cake. The eggs laid by Helen's hens and ducks were gladly eaten for breakfast. The peacefulness of the surrounding countryside the quiet night lead to an amazing undisturbed sleep - often overslept. Managed to fit in some beautiful walks and visited many National Trust properties ect. We will definitely stay here again.


Anne from Broadstone stayed at Swallows for 6 nights in August 2016


Fabulous comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really lovely accommodation - more like a 5* hotel suite. Provided everything you could possibly need and more, including bathrobes and fluffy towels. Kitchen was the best equipped I have ever been to and very easy to use. The exceptionally large rooms were light and airy with a great view of the owner's beautiful gardens. Enjoyed watching the birds feed plus the entertaining running ducks and chickens, which provided fresh eggs for the lovely welcome pack. The furnishings were top quality and comfortable. Good mid Devon location with easy access to many attractions - Dartmoor, Eden Project, South Coast, Exeter, Milky way and many more. Would most definitely recommend.

Carol from Wymondham stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in July 2016


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review, I hope you will visit again.

Swallows highly recommended.

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Swallows is a lovely cottage for two, well equipped and maintained to a very high standard. Ideally situated for exploring Devon or further afield and quiet and relaxing to return to each day. We were met with a warm welcome on arrival and there was locally produced bread, butter, eggs, milk and cake waiting for us inside. We had a very enjoyable stay there and would love to return.

Peter from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in July 2016


A wet but worthwhile week

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Swallows is a comfortable, spacious apartment for a stay in a lovely part of Devon with easy access around. There are welcome, local goodies awaiting us on arrival and all that we needed to enjoy our stay. We would recommend it.

Guest from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in June 2016


Swallows holiday apartment at Falkendon, near Spreyton, Devon

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place for two people to stay in this lovely part of Devon. Very comfortable and well equipped with large living room and bedroom and a huge bathroom. Great views of the large garden and surrounding lanes from the living area and the bedroom, being particularly good as all accommodation is at first floor elevation. This aspect gives a feeling of privacy too. The friendly owners are near by if needed but access to the apartment is completely independent and we could come and go as we pleased.

All furnishings are of a high quality as is the bed linen and towels. There was a lovely welcome hamper on arrival including local butter and bread and nice fresh eggs from the family hens. The local village of Spreyton has a great CAMRA pub and the location is ideal for exploring nearby local villages, National Trust properties and of course Dartmoor National Park. Highly recommended!


John from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in May 2016


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, I look forward to welcoming you again to Swallows.

Another very happy stay at the Swallows

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in this lovely cottage and this is likely to become a regular destination as the welcome is exceptional, the cottage is so comfortable, and for us it is ideally situated in a beautiful part of East Devon.

Nick from Bicester stayed at Swallows for 3 nights in May 2016


Helen replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review, I am delighted you enjoyed your second visit to Swallows at Falkedon. I look forward to seeing you both again in the future to visit Mid/West Devon

Weekend break

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 2nd visit to Swallows. Once again a very warm welcome from Helen with lovely goodies, homemade cake, bread, milk, butter, eggs and little jars of conserves. This is a lovely and roomy cottage in a very peaceful area.

Maggie from Camborne stayed at Swallows for 2 nights in February 2016


Excellent cottage, had everything you needed plus extras.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Helen was a warm and friendly host. Arrived to find a welcome basket of goodies and little extra toiletries in the bathroom. A wonderful place to stay so spacious and very comfortable. An excellent location for exploring Devon. Thank you Helen so much!"


Maggie from Camborne stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in October 2015


Excellent Swallows

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I rarely give an excellent review for anything; nothing is perfect, but....our stay at Swallows was perfect. The pictures of it do not do it justice, and we discussed it with the owner who plans to update them. The apartment is so comfortable and welcoming, that it did not take long to settle into a really relaxing week's holiday. We feared that the we would be too remote given the location of Swallows, but it was not so. Handy for Okehampton, and Crediton. Good road and rail links to Exeter, and Motorways. Walks, villages, and shops in all directions; even the seaside is easily accessible. Our "Welcome Pack" was not the usual fare. Home-made cake and local bread, milk, eggs (very local!), butter, jams, and even the latest Devon Life magazines. Luxurious towels and dressing gowns await you. A beautiful vase of lilies was also provided, and we saw the flowers slowly emerge during our stay. No problems when it turned cold in the evening; the heating was already available. This is a very special "couples" retreat from the big bad world, and we will definitely be visiting again. Don't tell everyone, or you won't be able to get booked in!!

Lorna from Spalding stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in September 2015


outstanding quality

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The apartment is spacious and comfortable with high quality bed and bathroom linen. The kitchen is beautifully equipped with quality utensils and tableware. I couldn't find anything I needed that wasn't supplied. Superb.

Jocelyn from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in August 2015


relaxation personified

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just the most fantastic peaceful weeks holiday blessed with the most fantastic accommodation. I am pleased to have booked this venue and look forward to doing it again soon.

Guest from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in June 2015


relaxing at the swallows

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a lovely break at swallows, very relaxing. The cottage is beautiful Helen mad us very welcome, lovely location easy to access Dartmoor its just perfect.

Guest from Poole stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in June 2015


Great cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First class cottage made to feel very wellcome four star it should have been rated at five could not fault it a wellcome. Hamper and flowers on arrival absulutly superb

Peter from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in June 2015


Time to relax

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a most enjoyable stay at The Swallows and look forward to returning. Everything you could possibly want/need is there waiting for you, all we had to do was relax and enjoy. This property is highly recommended.

Guest from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in May 2015


peaceful and comfortable

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect hideaway for two. Well and comfortably furnished, all amenities provided, except a washing machine, which we would have preferred over the dishwasher. (The owner does offer to do laundry if you need it.) There is a welcome pack on arrival that includes milk, bread, butter, eggs, real coffee and wine. Unusual to have such a generous welcome pack. Situated in West Devon, close to Dartmoor and many other great places to visit. Close to Okehampton for supplies and near some great Devon villages. Just walking the lanes around the farmhouse was a delight, hedgerows full of wildflowers, fields full of new lambs. We will certainly book again.

Guest from stayed at Swallows for 5 nights in April 2015


A comfortable, spacious, quiet,and relaxing cottage.

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Swallows is our stand out accommodation, the most comfortable, spacious and relaxing cottage out of the six cottages and seven B&Bs we've stayed in. Ideally situated on the edge of Dartmoor, yet not too far from pubs serving good food, and the welcoming hamper was a bonus.

Guest from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in September 2014


swallows

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous place and welcome basket much appreciated. Lots of lovely scenery and walking nearby plus easy access to A30, but would probably go for somewhere in a village or on coast next time.

Guest from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in September 2014


Great place to stay and perfect location to unwind !

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Arrived to find a welcome basket of goodies and Helen was a warm and friendly host. It was lovely to come back to Swallows after a day exploring the beautiful countryside of Dartmoor. We hope to return again to enjoy another wonderful holiday. Thank you Helen so much !

Guest from Portslade stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in September 2014


Lovely accommodation in great location

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic week at Swallows. It was exactly what we had hoped for. The property is set within a beautiful farm house and was extremely welcoming and comfortable. The owners had kindly left us a hamper of food (including a nice bottle of red!) on arrival and placed flowers in the rooms. After a day exploring it was just the kind of place you would want to return to.

Being located 10 minutes from Dartmoor also makes it ideal. We spent most days out walking and in the evening headed down to the local pub, which is about a 20 minute walk from Swallows and makes for a great night time stroll on the way back, especially when the stars are out.

Set in beautiful rural Devon Swallows is just the place if you want a peaceful and relaxing holiday. Highly recommended.


Guest from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in August 2014


the swallows

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the swallows was the perfect place to stay very comfortable and well equipped with everything you need. excellent welcome pack on arrival the ideal base to explore devon

Guest from stayed at Swallows for 7 nights in August 2014


swallows in march 2014

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very nice place to stay and exceeded our expectations - highly recommended. easty to get to from the A30 and in easy reach of all major attractions in devon

Guest from Gerrards Cross stayed at Swallows for 2 nights in February 2014