FB Twitter

Eden Cottage

Eden Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 74 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


Eden Cottage slps 2
Located on a quiet side road leading to the river.

Eden Cottage is the smallest cottage in the row of three, is ideal for a couple, and has a pleasant garden to the rear.

Luna's first holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An ideal location for us. Our retired greyhound, Luna, loved our walks by the Tweed, day and night. A stroll under the stars is not to be missed. Beautiful!



Ideal place to stay for a short vacation.

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good accommodation in a quiet setting but close to A1 for getting around. Would certainly use again.



Was exactly as described and we had a super stay. Owners were very caring, available

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Oct 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was exactly as described and we had super stay. It was very comfortable, warm and welcoming. Great situation and with easy access to everything this fine part of the country offers.
The owners were readily available but never intrusive.
We will be back.




A well needed holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had been recommended by a close friend. And were not disappointed. Everything about it was First Class,
Where it was situated,5 minutes from the River Tweed, beautiful countryside. Very comfortable accommodation, everything
Supplied, only needed to bring food. And even that could be delivered.




A lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage is well equipped and comfortable. Nice bathroom, great bed. Good location Close to Berwick. Owners are lovely. Everything is very well kept



Wonderful location

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a beautiful area. Carol is always very friendly and helpful (we have stayed a few times!). The cottage is well equipped and very cosy … we were here in summer, but I imagine it would be fantastic staying there in autumn with a fire burning in the sitting room! It’s a great location for walks and being outdoors, but also near to Berwick, Holy Island, and other places. Would definitely recommend



Home from Home

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely homely well-appointed cottage in peaceful surroundings. The location is perfect - in the middle of nowhere, but not far from anywhere! The guest information pack was very useful and covered interesting places to visit, where to eat and local supermarkets. Carol, our hostess is very friendly and welcoming and recommended some nice walks which start at the cottage. The River Tweed is only a 10-15 stroll away. Highly recommend.





4th return visit

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome from Carol and Sandy. The cottage always feels like home every visit. It is well equipped with every need for a self-catering holiday.



Another lovely week at West Ord

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fourth time in Eden Cottage, so homely and comfortable. No doubt we will be back. Such a lovely peaceful place to stay.



a great place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage. Wonderful location. aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa



Another comfortable stay

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third stay at West Ord and on each occasion we have stayed at a different cottage purely based on availability. Eden cottage was ideal for the two of us and like the others had all the facilities you need to make a home from home experience. The added bonus being the tranquil and well kept surroundings. We know the area quite well with family living nearby so West Ord cottages has been the perfect find. We hope to return.



Nothing to complain about. Totally refreshing.

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eden

Home from home, thick with ancient stone
insulated from the world you came to see
Isolated in the clean air of the borderlands.

Tiredness can kill, all feelings, more besides
and what if you had never arrived. What if …
but you did arrive and parked in the neat grey

gravelled rectangular space between the gable
and expanse of well groomed grass, picturesque
perfection that draws you into a glossy magazine

of holiday homes with pictures pulled from dreams
a kind of beauty that somehow isn’t, until you enter
the inner sanctum, an inglenook with warming fire

a deeply comforting, protective stone-walled cave
log basket, brass tools and sooty black highlights
all dressed by a vase of alstroemeria, consummated

by a simple, almost square timber frame of glass
set in thick and clean white stone, bearing a scene
that draws from your lungs a deep soul cleansing sigh.


© 2021 John Anstie




Carol Lang replied 138 days ago
Thank you John, for investing time to write such a lovely piece of prose. we were delighted to read your account of staying in Eden Cottage, and hope we may be allowed to share it with others. So pleased youenjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again.

Relaxing and enjoyable days in the natural beauty of Northumberland.

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An extremely well presented cottage on a working farm overlooking the River Tweed. Well equipped, clean, warm with storage heaters and log burning stove, spacious shower and small garden with convenient parking the cottage provides an ideal base for exploring the magnificent beaches of north Northumberland, the Cheviot Hills and Scottish borders. Within easy reach of St Abbs, Lindisfarne, Bamburgh Castle, the Farne Islands and the superb ruin of Dunstanburgh Castle many relaxing days were spent absorbing the scenic beauty and wildlife of this natural and undeveloped part of the world. In contrast the Cheviots provide an impressive backdrop to the coastal plain and are equally worthy of investigation - as are the many cup and ring markings scattered on the exposed bed rock of the high ground and the easily accessible stone circle at Duddo. Whether exploring the hills or coast I found plenty to occupy myself and easily exhausted the rolls of 35mm film I thought sufficient for my camera. An excellent base with friendly and approachable owners.



Fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Its so Quiet,brillient cosy cottage lovely location,plenty of nice walks in the area nice towns plenty to do.Warm welcome from Carol nothing too much trouble,



A wonderful place to be

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eden cottage is a place where we feel so at home. It’s a cosy space where we feel we can totally relax. After a difficult year worldwide our two weeks gave us the time and space to switch off completely and recharge our batteries. All the cottages are looking stunning after their lockdown external redecoration and the colourful planters are a beautiful touch. We will be back!!



Comfortable and ideally located cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
West Ord cottages were perfectly located in beautiful countryside yet only only a short drive to all amenities in Berwick-upon-Tweed. Eden Cottage was comfortable, clean and well-equipped and a great base from which to enjoy my holiday. Carol was an ideal host - welcoming but not intrusive and keen to ensure I had everything I needed. I couldn't recommend the cottages highly enough and very much look forward to returning in the future.



Fab cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eden Cottage was ideal for the two of us. A quiet rural location and a short walk to the River Tweed with its abundance of birds. We loved the log burner - so cosy.



Return visit to Eden Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There is very little to say about West Ord which hasn't already been said, it is a fantastic place to go if you are looking for a lovely cottage in a very tranquil setting. There is good fishing and walking available in the area and some good pubs and restaurants. We can recommend Foxtons in Berwick for an excellent Sunday lunch.
It is always a great pleasure to meet Sandy and Carol again. We have already booked again for next year.




Northumberland adventure

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy cottage with everything you need. Very friendly host. Lovely walk up the river from the cottage. Within easy reach of all Northern Northumberland highlights and Scottish borders.



Good touring and walking location

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent location for walking and touring the area. Close to supermarkets, pubs, golf courses and restaurants. This is the eighth year I have visited the cottages so that speaks for itself.



Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Highly recommend West Ord Cottages, the Cottages were recommended to us from a good friend, it really was home from home, everything you needed. Friendly owners and ideal base to visit places of interest. Lovely walk along the river to the oldest chain bridge in the world and a walk across the bridge took you into Scotland. Since back I have recommended to my friends and one of my friends has booked for October. Definitely will be back.



Lovely farm cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was absolutely as expected. Excellent location with a pleasant 200 yard walk to the riverside. We certainly enjoyed our stay.



Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to review Eden Cottage John, it was nice to meet you both, and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Stayed Eden cottage from August 18th for seven nights

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage in an amazing location just a short stroll from the river Tweed, very comfy and homely cottage enjoyed every moment of our stay there, will definitely be booking to stay at Eden cottage again .



Lovely warm cottage in January

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was perfect for our short stay in January. Always lovely, warm and cosy. Plenty of wood for the wood burner and well equipped throughout.



Northumberland fix.

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jan 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed at West Ord on many occasions,which speaks for itself.We have stayed in just about all the lovely cottages and they never fail to disappoint.Everything you need is provided.Cottage we stayed in this time is perfect for two and very cosy.The cottages are maintained very well and are set in beautiful countryside with lovely walks on your doorstep.Would always go back to this place.The owners Carol and Sandy are very welcoming and respect your privacy but always on hand should you have a query.Just lovely.





Lovely holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As it always is, everything was excellent. Eden cottage always feels like our home from home and we will be back!



A great place to relax

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Eden Cottage is a wonderful retreat close to shops and historic places of interest.

The fishing in the river Tweed can be wonderful so bring your fishing equipment.

Carol and Sandy are wonderful hosts and are always on hand for useful advice.

We had a brilliant time and hope to be back there soon.




Excellent cottage in a superb location.

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first visit to Northumberland but definitely not the last. Ord Cottages provide an excellent base fir visiting the area and for a foray into Scotland. Eden Cottage was exceptionally comfortable - many thanks to the Lang family.



Ideal cottage.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a beautiful location. Ideally situated for local attractions. Friendly welcoming owner with plenty of helpful information.



Return visit to Eden Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having visited West Ord and Eden Cottage in the past it's a pleasure to arrive and sad to leave. Will return.



Wonderful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely week break at Eden Cottage in a beautiful location by the river near the picturesque town of Berwick-upon-Tweed. Fantastic cottage with all the comforts of home and the dog loved it too. Will come back.



Outstanding accommodation.

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our third visit to West Ord cottages. The cottage is one of the best we have stayed in over many years doing self catering. The area is so peaceful and ideal for a relaxing holiday. The owners make us feel very welcome.



A perfect place to relax

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was so homely, I could have lived there! So clean and well equipped with all you could want for a short or long stay! The log burner is an added bonus for the colder days and nights and make the cottage very warm and cosy when a little extra heat is needed.
The cottage is situated next to the farm and has a lovely circular walk from the front door of approx 3 miles or you can walk along the river to the chain bridge or just a short walk to the river!
Perfectly situated for lots of places local to visit and great for taking a dog to the beaches!
Carol and Sandy have made our stay perfect!




Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Nikki thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was lovely to see you again, and we were delighted that you enjoyed your time at west Ord.

May 2019

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again we enjoyed the facilities on offer at West Ord Cottages an excellent place to stay with much to see and do in the area.



A lovely comfortable retreat with charming hosts who made us very welcome. Thank you.

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Would definitely recommend this cottage. Everything you need for a perfect, relaxing holiday in a quiet rural setting.



Relaxing Eden

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely week again in Eden Cottage. New carpets, oven and hob added to the comfort this time. We will be back again in the autumn.



Super stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Feb 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We come back to West Ord time and again.Always guareteed a good experience.The welcome is always very warm and you almost feel your amongst family.The cottages are beautifully kept and have everything you could possibly need.The grounds are always kept manicured and pretty.The cottages are well placed for main roots for all regions and if you don’t want to drive then the walks from the cottages are perfect with beautiful scenery on your doorstep.Would always return to this jewel of a place.



Autumn break

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Over a number of years we have had lovely relaxing holidays at West Ord Cottages. Beautiful area and surroundings. Very conveniently placed for travel to places of interest .Carol is a very friendly, kind and helpful person, and makes us very welcome.



Home from Home

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Eden Cottage a number of times and have always found it the most relaxing holiday. The location is perfect on the Tweed and Carol, our landlady, couldn't be more helpful. We have told her the cottage is home from home and we will be back.
There is always something to do whatever the weather. The week we were there was perfect so we spent most of our time along the coast. Lovely holiday.




Very comfortable stay, warm welcome by owner

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Eden cottage was very comfortable, clean and cosy in the evenings. Great shower and well supplied kitchen



Great Little Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the booking process through to handing the key back at the end of our stay, everything was great!
The location of this cracking little cottage is ideal to visit both Northumberland and also to cross over into the Scottish Borders.
Great walks from the door and beaches without the crowds.
It is a super area for spotting wildlife and sea life.




Comfortable, quiet enjoyable place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable , quiet enjoyable place to stay with nearby attractions and Berwick only a short car journey away.



So comfortable!

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with our stay at Eden Cottage. Carol was very warm and welcoming, and gave us a complete tour of the cottage when we arrived. The bed was really comfortable, there was plenty of hot water for showers and the fresh flowers in the sitting room were a lovely touch. There is a huge Tesco’s nearby, so we were able to stock up on provisions very easily. We would thoroughly recommend it.



fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic cottage in the middle of the countryside close to the river tweed.Quiet and relaxing
Would highly recommend this cottage.




A week at West Ord

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual the owners were very welcoming and checked we had all we needed for our stay. The cottage was roomy,comfortable and well equipped. There was a good number of brochures of places to visit in the area, of which there are many. From the cottage one can walk along the banks of the River Tweed .Already booked a return visit!



Back to visit hometown

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Many thanks to carol and sandy for another lovely break in their excellent cottages, this was our 2nd stay in Eden cottage, we have stayed in many of the others, it was as we expected immaculate, lovely and warm helped by the solar panels and wood burner. These cottages are all well equipped, comfortable, a proper home from home!!



A snowy adventure

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The beast from the east arrived half way through our 3rd stay at Eden cottage which made for an interesting week which actually became 9 days due to the access lane being blocked with 10 feet of snow! We were looked after superbly by the owners who made sure we were warm and well fed. It made for a refreshing and relaxing holiday.



Short stay

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Eden cottage for four nights mon - fri in February. We found the cottage to be perfect for a couple and our Border Terrier “ Frank”. The cottage is cosy with the log fire and back ground heating . Bonus with plenty of logs provided.
Cottage is well equipped with all need for a self catering break.
Will would definitely return.




A little piece of heaven.

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed with Carol and Sandy on several occasions and in just about all the cottages.We go back time and time again as the location is stunning.We always get a very warm welcome and the service was second to none.We were a little late arriving and it was just getting dusk but the lamps had been switched on and it was cosy and warm.The cottage was spotless and have everything you could need.Will always return to this little piece of heaven when we need a Northumberland fix.Would highly recommend any of the cottages.



Excellent week

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Carol made us very welcome to lovely cottage in wonderful part of the country. Warm and cosy. Well kitted out. Good location. Very peaceful.



As below

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a beautiful location in an area of outstanding natural beauty. What’s not to like.



Good quiet week

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We both enjoyed a quiet secluded week in the Berwickshire countryside in this beautiful cottage. Everything was available including log fire, fine shower and all domestic appliances in the kitchen.
Couldn't ask for anything else and ideal location for walks and coastal attractions.




An excellent week in a comfortable cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable cottage for two with all the necessary bits and pieces that make for an enjoyable holiday. Warm and friendly welcome by Jim, busy harvesting, and Carol, making sure the cottages were ready to receive guests. An excellent base from which to visit the beautiful Borders countryside and coasts. Thoroughly recommend!



Fantastic holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have recently returned from a stay at Eden Cottage. The cottage was bigger than we expected and spotlessly clean. It is a lovely cottage in a great location. We has a fabulous week and are already trying to work out when we can go back.



Bliss!

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been staying in holiday cottages for many years but not one has matched Eden. The warm greeting from Carol was a tonic after a nine hour car journey, quite simply the most welcome we have ever felt on arrival.
The cottage was very well furnished and spotlessly clean. For the first time in 20 years of self-catering holidays, my standards were matched.(Believe me, that is no mean feat; I'm a fanatic!)
Kitchen facilities were excellent too. Another first, my husband didn't need to use any of his favourite cooking utensils/equipment, brought from home.
Outside? Well, a very brief stroll around the corner brings you to a gorgeous view of the Tweed. Walk down to the water's edge and enjoy the sense of tranquillity, particularly in the late evening and early morning.

Our holiday was also a house-hunting trip, in preparation for a move to Northumberland. We found our ideal home but, unfortunately, it wasn't for sale.
If Carol ever decides to sell one of the cottages,we hope she will get in touch. We will be the first in line!




Another enjoyable stay at Eden Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always enjoy our stay at West Ord and have booked again for next year in Geary Shiell already. It is a great spot for visiting the area. Carol and Sandy are always welcoming and helpful.





A lovely cottage .

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome from Carol Lang who remembered us from the last time we stayed, flowers on the table was a lovely touch.The cottage is comfortable and clean.The addition of the panels between properties is an excellent improvement since we were last there,as with the patio and BBQ.



Carol lang replied more than 1 year ago
Mandy thank you for taking the time to review us, great to hear your comments, and very nice to have you staying with us again. Hope to see you again!

Perfect Eden Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful holiday in a delightful cottage, Carole & Sandy are a lovely helpful couple made our stay even better.
No doubt we will be back.




lovely cottage, lovely location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great cottage in a lovely place. Peaceful & remote but ideal for our needs. Comfortably furnished, shame we couldnt stay longer. Brilliant place to go with a dog, unfortunately had to leave ours behind!



Review

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent and very enjoyable stay at Eden Cottage. I could recommend it to anyone who loves peaceful living in a beautiful area



May 2017

Review submitted on Thu, 25 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Peaceful rural location but easily accessible from A1. Cottage is warm and cosy, well equipped, good outside space to relax in.




Bliss

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have stayed in all the cottages at various times over the years.We keep going back because it's such a beautiful,peaceful place to stay.The cottages are all well equipped and every comfort catered for.They are always spotless clean which is very important to me.Carol and Sandy and the rest of the family always offer a very warm welcome and will go the extra mile to ensure you have a good stay.They were in full swing with lambing and we were encouraged to pop into the lambing sheds to see what was going on if we wanted.Even though they were so busy they still spared the time.Would definitely recommend a stay here.Cant wait for our next visit.



One month on the banks of the Tweed

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here a lot of times before moving into the area.

Then as now we have found West Ord Holiday Cottages excellent. Carol Lang is an excellent hostess, always there if you need her, but never intrusive.

Oh the bliss of a wood burning stove in the midst of winter along with the night store radiators.

I cannot recommend this accommodation enough.

Tony




Another delightful stay at Eden cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy cottage, always our first choice in Northumberland. Sandy and Carol always helpful if help needed. Log fire makes the cottage feel warm and welcoming. Lots to do in the area - it must be good as this was our third visit this year and we will be back again.



Easy to see why so many return guests

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cosy and comfortable cottage .
Looking through the visitor book there are many guests who return and it was easy to appreciate why .
Various sizes of properties so something to suit couples or families .




home from home

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is immaculate, has all the facilities you could need, and is located in a lovely position close enough to civilisation that you don't feel cut off, but far enough away from the main roads that it is blissfully quiet. The bed was comfy the shower cubicle a large size so you could shower without bumping into the sides so all in all top marks.



Carol lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Martin, it was lovely to meet you both, and very pleased you enjoyed your time in our lovely area.

Beautiful Berwick!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to several of the West Ord cottages over the years, and have found them all to be well equipped, nicely decorated and laid out, comfortable and cosy. The views are stunning, and fresh air knocks you out, and we always find there is lots to do and see in the area, as well as just walking down to the river, or playing tennis. The Hosts are welcoming and helpful, but unobtrusive, so you really feel you are staying in the countryside without crowds around you!



Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to comment Ruth, it was lovely to see you again last week, and enjoy a little reminiscing...scary where the time goes, and thank you for coming back!

Bliss

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Idyllic location on the Tweed not far from Berwick but felt like you were miles from any where. Cottage fantastic & Carol very helpful and polite, we have stayed all over Northumberland this is one of the best for location & cost.



Carol lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us.

Relaxing countryside and walking locality.

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent weeks' stay at West Ord cottages. We could easily walk to many places from the cottage as it was ideally placed for hikers and walkers. It was so quiet as well and allowed us plenty of relaxation time. There was every comfort thought of as well. It was just nice to sit and relax with the wood burning stove on in the evenings. Berwick was an ideal market town as well to drop into with plenty of pubs, cafés and places to choose for shopping. There was a map Carol provided for walkers and all the tourist information as well so, we had plenty of choice for day's out.



A pleasant quiet week in June

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We know the Northumbrian coast fairly well after several previous visits, but were in need of quieter, neater and more professionally run accommodation. We felt that in West Ord cottages we found what we wanted and were very satisfied with the ease of booking, the friendly reception and general comfort and condition of the accommodation. If visiting Northumbria again we would certainly give preference to West Ord cottages as a future base.



We had a very good holiday west ord

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Every thing in the cottage was very clean. When we saw the washing machine and the dish washer we said anyone could stay a while and still have every thing they needed.



Carol lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you both for taking time to comment on your holiday, lovely to meet you and hope to maybe see you again at some point.

A week in Eden

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in this cosy and comfortable cottage. The owner was very helpful when we encountered a problem and dealt with it quickly. The location is excellent, with an amazing view of the River Tweed just a short walk along the lane.



Carol lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking time to review us Alison, I will certainly take on board your comments re welcome packs, and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Great cottage in a lovely location.

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the third time we have stayed at West Ord Cottages. Booking is easy via the website and Carol is always helpful if you ring her. The cottages are always clean and very well equipped. The location is convenient, being close to Berwick upon Tweed, and well situated for walking and enjoying the countryside, including the picturesque coast.
The garden area is well maintained and picnic tables are thoughtfully provided, as well as a washing line and pegs!!




Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Louise many thanks for your review, it was lovely to see you again and your business is much appreciated.

Peaceful, comfortable, clean and welcoming “Home from home”.

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Wife and I stayed in Eden cottage during July 2016.
Carol the owner greeted us and made us feel welcome throughout our holiday. When we first went into the cottage we were pleasantly surprised. The cottage was a real "Home from home", tastefully decorated in keeping with the style of the cottage, and its surroundings. The rooms were all very clean which was very important to us especially as we did quite a bit of cooking in the well equipped kitchen. Sometimes on a night the weather was cold but the storage heater in the living room, (all rooms have them), heated the room quickly. We slept well throughout the week due to the extremely comfortable bed and the quiet surroundings. There is also a lovely garden area at the back of the property with a picnic bench.
The cottage has lots information about where to eat and where to visit. Carol, (the owner), knew a lot about the surrounding area, which was helpful as we are fairly new to the region. The cottage is near to lots of interesting places within a short driving distance. We particularly enjoyed walking the walls in Berwick, shopping in Kelso, and visiting Bamburgh, Seahouses, Beadnell Bay, Holy Island and St. Abbs. Our favourite place was the village of Eyemouth, especially the small ice cream parlour in the harbour!
Thank you Carol for a lovely holiday, we would definitely recommend this cottage and hope to return in the future.




Carol Lang replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for sending in a review of your stay with us Colin and Carol. It was lovely to meet you and we were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your "last minute" holiday with us. Very much hope to see you again at some point.