FB Twitter

Skeldale

Skeldale

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.9


A charming self-contained ground-floor cottage, which has been recently refurbished, with complimentary WiFi, large enclosed private South-facing garden with patio on 3 sides, hot tub and parking adjacent.

Lovely minibreak

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Back to Wallopswood for the 4th time. We stay here because its so close to the Watercress Line and Meon Valley railway walk. 5 minutes away is The Old Forge teahouse that do fantastic cakes for treats
WW is the quietest place and most excellent sleep is always had. The sunsets are always impressive.
The pool and hot tub are great after a day out visiting. The games room adds to the fun. The people who work there are very chatty and friendly and it was great to see them again.
We will be back next year




The Wallops Wood Team replied 20 days ago
Hello! We're delighted you had a lovely mini-break here at Wallops Wood and it was lovely to welcome you again. Thank you for your kind review and we look forward to welcoming you again next year. Best wishes, The Wallops Wood Team

Mini break with grandchildren

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Aug 2022
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 2nd stay at a Wallops Wood property. We stay in many self catering properties over the UK but once again I can honestly say that everything was thought of by way of kitchen equipment and basic supplies i.e. salt, pepper, olive oil, tea, coffee, sugar right down to cling film and kitchen foil not to mention a good supply of Nespresso Coffee Pods for the machine. We will certainly come to Wallops Wood again as we love the area and all the facilities that the properties have to offer.



The Wallops Wood Team replied 20 days ago
Thank you for your review. It's a joy to know that you enjoyed your second visit to Wallops Wood for a mini break with the grandchildren. We really do try to think of everything you'd need for a stay here, and are always open to suggestions. And we're absolutely delighted to read that you will stay here again. We look forward to welcoming you. Best wishes, The Wallops Wood Team

Best ever

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our time at Skeldale cottage . Pleased that we were detached away from other cottages . The views were beautiful. The pool was one of best I have ever been as it was all one depth and I am not a strong swimmer so just right as could touch the floor . So nice to have pool to yourselves . So many places to visit within reach the watercress line in a must and Portsmouth! The welcoming cake and wallops wood Lemonade were a hit with everyone. Thankyou !



The Wallops Wood Team replied 20 days ago
Hello and thank you for your five star review. We're delighted your stay in detached Skeldale cottage with gorgeous countryside views from the patio and garden was the best ever! The bookable daily swim sessions per cottage are proving to be very popular and the pool depth is just right. But there's lots to see and do within half an hour of Wallops Wood and we hope you enjoyed exploring the area. Our welcome cake is made in our farmhouse kitchen. Yummy isn't it?! We look forward to welcoming your family again - your 5% returning guest discount applies to all future visits (just quote your previous booking number). Best wishes, The Wallops Wood Team

Beautiful cottage and amenities

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jul 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is beautiful with everything you could need for a relaxing stay. More than you would probably need actually! Use of playroom and pool just adds to they stay. Lovely garden and hottub.



Wallops Wood Team replied 62 days ago
Hello and thank you for your five star review. It's a joy to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Wallops Wood and that you had a relaxing stay. Don't forget that as a returning guest, you'll qualify for a 5% discount for all future visits. Just quote your previous booking number. We hope to welcome you again. Best wishes, The Wallops Wood Team

A gem of a place

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Jun 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Family holiday for two grandkids with their parents, Aunt and grandparents, and little dog Luna
The location is superb ad the children loved the pool and goes room
The local villages are a joy, Local restaurants are excellent, and Luna loved the dog walks, not to mention her welcome basket
Although a bit pricey, we will undoubtedly return




The Wallops Wood Team replied 62 days ago
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to review us. It's great to know that the whole family (and little Luna) enjoyed the stay here at Wallops Wood. We look forward to welcoming you again - don't forget that as a returning guest you qualify for the 5% returning guest discount from all future visits. Just quote your previous booking number when you book again. Best wishes, The Wallops Wood Team

Long weekend stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Feb 2022
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was meant to stay just before Christmas but ended up with COVID. Wallops Wood we’re extremely accommodating about changing our dates for us, customer service was second to none. Was greeted on arrival and left to our own devices which suits us perfect. Absolutely loved the property, size was fantastic. Location was lovely, great walks and local pubs and villages. Children LOVED the pool, we thought that the booking of individual time slots was a great idea that should be kept (even after/if COVID rules change)If we could have changed anything we did say we would update a few things within the property. We were a slightly younger party visiting but felt the property would massively benefit from bifold doors to really bring the outside in. We stayed during the winter months and we’re extremely lucky with the weather but would have been great to have enjoyed the view from the inside a bit more. Property was extremely well equipped with everything you could need and you can tell the owners really care and take pride in the whole facility. Would definitely recommend to family and friends and would absolutely book again.



The Wallops Wood Cottages Team replied 217 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, and for your suggestions. Booking the pool for exclusive swim sessions has been very popular with guests and we will be continuing this facility for the foreseeable future. We're so glad your children loved the pool! It's great to read that you recommend us and would book again, it's appreciated by the whole team. Don't forget that you qualify for a 5% returning guest discount from all future visits (just quote your previous booking number). We look forward to welcoming you again! Best wishes, The Wallops Wood Cottages Team

Green luxury with a view

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Oct 2021
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Great cottage beautifully presented. Plenty of room and facilities with all essentials catered for. If you have a dog this place has the best ever facilities. Lots of beautiful walks around in the peaceful south down countryside and there are some spectacular views especially at sunrise and sunset . Good facilities on site and good location for visiting Chichester theatre and both seaside and the South Downs . Highly recommended



Wallops Wood Cottages Team replied 316 days ago
Thank you for highly recommending Wallops Wood Cottages, it means a lot to the whole team who work very hard to ensure our guests have the best possible experience here. We're glad you enjoyed the peaceful South Downs location and were able to visit Chichester theatre too. By quoting your previous booking number, you qualify for a 5% returning guest discount and we look forward to welcoming you again. Best wishes, The Wallops Wood Cottages

Perfect for our two families with small children.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Oct 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very happy with both location and accommodation. Watching the local farmer preparing his field for next year was a real treat for our little ones from the large windows in dining and lounge areas. The provision of child equipment and ride-ons were a real help as were the quality furniture and fixtures. Both swimming pool and hot tub were used most days, timed slots for pool an excellent idea.
Owners were friendly and helpful.




Wallops Wood Cottages Team replied 316 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review us, it means a lot to the whole team. Your comment that Wallops Wood is perfect for families with small children is great to read and we're so glad that the little ones enjoyed watching the local farmer! We'll be keeping the daily 45 minute swim sessions per cottage for the foreseeable future. Don't forget your 5% returning guest discount! We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Best wishes, The Wallops Wood Cottages Team

Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Sep 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved staying at Skeldale. The location and view were just stunning and the house was comfortable and clean. We loved being able to book our own pool slot. The customer service was fabulous, when we had an issue with the hot tub someone quickly came over to have a look and we were able to have a late check out.
The kitchen was really well equipped. Our only suggestion for improvement would be a few more home comforts in the living room: lamps, more side tables, and cushions would make this a much cosier and comfortable space. Apart from that small detail everything was great and we would book again.




Wallops Wood Cottages Team replied 316 days ago
We're so glad to read that you had a fantastic stay in Skeldale and that you loved it! Our team work very hard to ensure guests have the best possible experience at Wallops Wood so your comment that the customer service was fabulous means a lot to all of us. A number of items such as throws, cushions and lamps have been removed from our cottages to help us with the Covid Cleaning Protocols. When we can reinstall the items safely, we will do so. Don't forget that as a returning guest you qualify for a 5% returning guest discount from all future stays. We would love to welcome you again. Best wishes, The Wallops Wood Cottages team

Wallops Wood

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skeldale is a very well furnished old cottage, with a lovely welcome pack for both us and the dog. The property is very clean but a little dated. The pool was super and we enjoyed the views from the hot tub, which would be even better if the hot tub was rotated 90 degrees so you can see the sunset and then the lid would also provide some screening to stop you being overlooked. Lovely large enclosed garden. We liked the fact Skeldale was a little way apart from the other properties on the site. Great dog walks from the door and lots of places in the area to explore.



The Wallops Wood Cottages Team replied more than 1 year ago
Hello and thank you for your review. It's great to read you enjoyed your time here and the views from the hot tub. We look forward to welcoming you back again - don't forget that as a returning guest you qualify for a 5% returning guest discount! Best wishes, The Wallops Wood Cottages Team

A wonderful place for a countryside break

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jul 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great week at the cottage. The option to have hot tub and pool was a hit with our kids. The cottage was in the countryside but very close to all the activities we wanted to do. We will highly recommend



Wallops Wood Cottages Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for highly recommending Skeldale cottage. We're so please you found it a wonderful place for a countryside break and that your children enjoyed our beautiful indoor heated swimming pool. We look forward to welcoming you again (you qualify for a 5% returning guest discount on all future stays by quoting your previous booking number)! Best wishes, The Wallops Wood Cottages Team

Perfect in every way!

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skeldale was perfect for our whole family weekend. Slightly separate from the other cottages at Wallops Wood, it allowed us, seven parents and grandparents, a place of our own to relax and unwind. Amazing views, a wonderful outdoor eating and sitting area and excellent rooms.
Every possible utility was provided and the welcome pack made it home even before we unpacked.




Wallops Wood Cottages Team replied more than 1 year ago
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to review us, the whole team appreciates your words. To read that your stay was perfect in every way is just wonderful. We hope to welcome you again very soon - please don't forget that for all future visits you qualify for the 5% returning guest discount. Best wishes, The Wallops Wood Cottages Team

Skeldale

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jun 2021
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skeldale has a large enclosed garden that is safe for children and /or the family pet! The hot tub is a bonus and enjoyed a lot. We liked running and walking in the surrounding area - wonderful weather really was the icing on the cake and added to the enjoyment of a family reunion where we could be together outside as a group with family staying in other properties. We appreciated being able to store bikes and everyone we came across was helpful and went out of their way to be of assistance - especially with the hot tub which was used a lot! We rent holiday properties so it was interesting to be guests instead and I appreciate the value of feedback. I therefore have considered the following carefully; Wallops Wood places itself pricing wise at the upper end of the scale for this kind of stay and for over £3k for the week, we would expect there to be better beds (the mattresses in the twin room especially are basic and thin), maybe a smart TV in the sitting room and, perhaps most inexpensive to remedy -more equipment in the kitchen. With just one pyrex bowl we ended up serving enough bolognaise to feed 8, using the bowl and a pyrex jug! There should be plenty of crockery, oven to tableware, decent knives, serving dishes, jugs, a casserole pot, etc, not simply just about enough. Skeldale's decor is probably best described as homely but again for the price tag possibly a bit too much so... the lino in the bathrooms is discoloured (mould maybe underneath?) and the sitting room and dining rooms sparse - the lack of lamps, with just single overhead lights made the sitting room especially not a great place to sit back and relax. We are returning next year as we so enjoyed all being together again and we have specific disabled access requirements in the group; finding this sort of accessible accommodation for groups is quite difficult, but we are choosing one of the more modern properties instead.



Wallops Wood Cottages Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave this detailed review. We have certainly taken on board your comments regarding the beds and lino. In our 4-bedroomed properties, sleeping 8 people, we usually provide 12 sets of place settings (all chinaware, cutlery and glassware) as well as casserole and serving dishes. As you can appreciate, these take time to clean and in order to meet the COVID cleaning protocols we removed these items from our cottages to enable our housekeepers to complete the cleaning protocols in time for guest arrivals. Items were all available on request. We supplied extra equipment for your group over the week including aprons, etc, you only had to ask and we would have supplied anything else you needed! Skeldale cottage was the only one available when you placed the booking. Hopefully when you return next year everything will be back to normal and you will see us at our best!

Weekend break

Review submitted on Sat, 29 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my second visit to Wallops Wood, and would highly recommend it to anybody looking for a weekend break.



Wallops Wood Cottages Team replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for your review and for recommending us. We hope to welcome you again in the future - please don't forget that as a returning guest you qualify for a 5% discount on all future stays (just quote your previous booking number). Best wishes, The Wallops Wood Cottages Team

SUPERB!!!!

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Right there no words too describe this location honestly You have to visit it to experience how amazing relaxing time you will have. I can continue to write but won’t do any justice. You definitely need too book this place . You have everything on hand in kitchen and Tesco about 5-8 mins drive away. If anyone wants break away from the busy lifestyle this place shall not let you down. So clean and tidy and warm welcome when you arrive. This place deserves lot more than 5 stars.



Mandy and the Wallops Wood Cottages Team replied more than 1 year ago
Hello Mr Munir Thank you so much for your review - it's great to read that you think we deserve a lot more than 5 stars! We're so glad you had a superb stay with us. Please don't forget that if you book direct with us next time, and quote your previous booking number, you qualify for a 5% returning guest discount. We hope to welcome you again soon. Best wishes The Wallops Wood Cottages Team

Great place for a family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Skeldale was a lovely bungalow for a family holiday, and the pool and the hot tub were very much enjoyed - particularly by the children! The only complaint I have is that the beds were very hard. Wallops Wood is in a beautiful area, and the view from Skeldale across to the Isle of Wight (on a clear day) ws absolutely stunning. The location is ideal for Marwell Zoo and Paultons Park, and several National Trust properties.
After not seeing the family much this year, and having several holidays cancelled, this was a wonderful holiday, and much appreciated by all of us.




Skeldale

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very good stay again. We do feel that for health and safety there should be outside lights at the rear of the property. By the steps and the hot tub. A hand rail by the back steps would also be helpful.

A washing line to the side of the house would also be an advantage.

Everything provided within the house was well thought out.

Thank you





Mandy and the Wallops Wood Cottages Team replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Mrs Collings Thank you for your review, it's great to read that you had a very good stay again. It was lovely to welcome you back! We will look into the issues you raise, thank you for your feedback. We're glad to read that you think everything provided within Skeldale is well thought out, we try very hard to make our cottages a 'home-from-home' so that guests have everything they need. Best wishes, Mandy and the Wallops Wood Cottages Team

A wonderful family weekend away with the added bonus of the hot tub and Storm Dennis!

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had a wonderful weekend stay at Wallops Wood. We did it as the main Christmas Present for the whole family and what a treat it was.

There were 8 adults and a one year old. Skeldale is a slightly older stand alone bungalow within the Wallops Wood complex. We had our own parking and our 4 cars fitted with no problems.

The bungalow has 4 good sized double bedrooms and two bathrooms with a third toilet. The kitchen is large and well set up with everything you could need including a welcome pack to get you going with fresh bread, butter, apple juice, wine, beer and cake!

The dining room easily sat the 8 of us with the high chair for the baby. It was wonderful having everyone around the table at once just eating, drinking and catching up.

The lounge was huge and had plenty of seating. The log burner was a real added bonus and as we were there in Feb was a real focus in the evenings. All the wood was provided. Wallops Wood provided a box of toys for Patrick and he had much fun exploring all the new bits he could play with.

The main bathroom had a large bath, shower, sink and toilet with a second shower room with sink and toilet and a third toilet near the kitchen.

The added bonus was the private hot tub that we made the absolute most of!! Friday night after arrival and all day Saturday various combinations of people stepped into the hot bubbly piece of heaven with views down across the Meon Valley! So relaxing, if a bit chilly getting out in Feb!! Lol remember to take robes, towels and footwear to wear back and forth to the hot tub as these are not provided!!

Skeldale is set slightly further away from the main amenities such as the pool and sauna. So again make sure you bring appropriate footwear and clothing to get back and forth. The children all went off to the pool and needed hot drinks when they got back. The addition of the games room will be great once it is completed.

We had a really wonderful weekend and have already booked to go again next year. Even storm Dennis taking out the hot tub lid and electricity just added to the stories we will be telling for a while. A really great way to re connect as an extended family. Merry Christmas and thanks to all the team at Wallops Wood (especially Andrew who provided a torch and candles to get us through the blackout!)




Mandy at Wallops Wood Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Rebecca Thank so much for such a comprehensive and wonderful review! We're so glad you had such a great time spending time with your family. Staying at Wallops Wood Cottages for a family Christmas present is a fabulous idea! Merry Christmas to you too! We look forward to seeing you next year (or before!)

Wallops Wood visit

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay in the Skeldale Cottage was fantastic. The accommodation was comfortable, clean and cosy and the kids were delighted to have the pool to themselves most days. The staff were also incredibly helpful, assisting with various requests before and during our stay. Nothing was too much trouble. Our only tiny gripe would be that the kitchen knives were blunt and need a good sharpen! Thank you so much for a wonderful visit.



Emma replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Madeline, Thank you so much for your lovely review of Skeldale- a perfect place to have your family reunion. It was great to see the children having so much fun in the pool and the garden. We will make sure that all of those kitchen knives get a good sharpen for the next guests! We hope you had a good trip back home and can come and visit us again soon. Best wishes Emma

Jays stay away

Review submitted on Sat, 11 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked wallops wood for my wife’s 40th birthday & was absolutely blown away by it so much so we will be re booking for the next year perfect place for a get with a partner or a group of use



Emma replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, Thank you for your wonderful review- it is a great location for getting big groups together for special celebrations so we are thrilled your weekend went so well! We look forward to seeing you in 2020. Best wishes Emma

Easter eggs and sunchine at Wallops Wood

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a five day break over Easter. My wife and I shared the holiday with two daughters, two sons in law and two granddaughters age six and ten. Skeldale exceeded all our expectations and was larger than we expected. Plenty of room to keep out of each other way when needed. Granddaughters were first in and most excited to see that the Easter Bunny had been – compliments of Wallops Wood. Two large eggs were typical of the care and consideration shown by all the people at Wallops Wood.
Skeldale was slightly apart from the other accommodation and surrounded on three sides by a large south facing lawned garden with views that went on for miles. Outside there was a large table with seating for eight, a barbecue and hot tub. Watching the sunset from the hot tub was truly memorable.
Wallops Woods supplied plenty of information about the area and some lovely walks to even lovelier village pubs! The cottage was equipped to a very high standard, tastefully appointed and clean to a very high standard.
The pool was large, clean, warm and enjoyed to the maximum. Changing facilities were to the same high standard as the rest of the Wallops Wood experience.
We all would like to return either as a family or as individual couples. We all offer our greatest recommendations for a most enjoyable stay. The grand kids especially because of sharing the hot tub and unlimited use of the pool.

A tip recommended by Wallops Wood was to have your 'shop on line' delivered direct to your cottage. We did and it made life so much easier. My tip would be to take some binoculars if you are interested in wildlife.

Thanks Wallops Wood.




Spring break

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful break for three generations of our family, we made it slow and relaxing, using hot tub, swimming most days in the beautiful pool, water a good temperature for baby and us! I am a swimmer and did 50 lengths while the rest played. Not too busy if you pick the time cleverly.
The cottage was really home from home, spotlessly clean, and everything was thought of. Even had a hairdryer in each of the four bedrooms.
Box of toys and games supplied for kids....DVD s too.
The children were never bored!! They loved it. Age 1, 9, 16.
Close to a Premier store for any groceries and fuel for day trips.
The sunsets from the fenced garden were fantastic.
Cannot speak highly enough and will certainly come back.
Thanks to all at Wallops Wood.




Great spot for a weekend break

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn’t find a fault with our stay at wallops wood.
Every detail has been considered.
The property was very clean and well appointed.




review of Wallops wood Skeldale cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Dec 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Skeldale cottage for the weekend at the end of November. This is the second time we have stayed here, in the same cottage. It is extremely well equipped and very comfortable. The hot tub is great fun, even at night in November. We also used the new swimming pool and indoor jacuzzi which is lovely. We stayed with another family so there were eight of us but there is plenty of space. I would highly recommend it.



A relaxing escape with young kids

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Skeldale with our children aged three and six. The cottage was very well equipped with lots of room for all. The kids loved the pool and hot tub, as well as the garden which was gated and felt very secure. Mum and dad even managed to relax and properly switch off - something we find hard to find with two young kids! There was plenty to do in the area if you wanted and lots of nice, child-friendly pubs and cafes in nearby villages. Really our kids were just happy to be swimming every day! The owners are friendly and on hand to answer any queries. Skeldale is the only detached cottage with a large garden, so I would recommend it for those who prefer guaranteed quiet and privacy.



Emma, Wallops Wood Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay in Skeldale and that the hot tub and pool were such a great hit with the children. Fantastic news that mum and dad were able to relax too- not an easy task with little ones. Please do come back and stay with us again and make use of our 5% returning guests discount.

mid week relaxing break

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
cottage well equipped everything you need bit remote lovely indoor pool great in formation book will return many thanks



Superb!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a whole new experience of holiday letting. It started with the vast menu of items we could reserve, free of charge, to help with our baby: strollers, cots, toys, cooking aids, etc. What a help this was.

And it's a house where it seems like everything you might need has been thought of - from the kitchen items to the bathroom and beyond. After renting a cottage a I usually can't wait to get back to the convenience of my own home but after this stay I just kept think of the luxury and convenience I would miss.

And being a cook, I usually hate the experience of renting a cottage and finding the most limited supply of equipment. But Skeldale had everything we would need and abundant extra high quality cutlery and crockery.

And the owners and staff are so relaxed and friendly. I can't fault it the experience. Brilliant!